We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Nido at Hacienda Escondida
Ranked #3 of 27 Cabo San Lucas B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here and absolutely loved it! So peaceful and unique! Xotchil and Gary were very accommodating and friendly! We enjoyed beautiful breakfast both days we stayed! Included breakfast, may I add! Only advice I'd share is make sure you use the included mosquito spray! The jacuzzi in the room was a godsend. We chose the palapa (outdoor) room, and it was just as described. Thanks a lot Gary and Xotchil!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for El Nido at Hacienda Escondida
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 67 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We love love love this place. Xochil, Gary & Jose have created the most perfect place to stay in Cabo. This is our second trip and we love it so much we will most definitely be back. Xochil goes out of her way to open her home and make it yours. She is truly one of the most welcoming and generous hosts you will ever meet.
The property is beautiful, from the cobblestone paving, the flowers, the mangoes dripping off the trees and the light and airy rooms
The only regret is that we ever have to leave!

Room Tip: If you like quiet, privacy and aircon ask for a downstairs room...if you want to sleep in the open a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memphismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been going to this uniquely awesome B&B for years. Xochitl, Gary and Jose make you feel like family with the best service, food and accommodations. But there – that made it seem all formal, didn’t it? Which is exactly what they don’t do. They make it all seem easy and personal, like you’re visiting a friend’s home. A friend who knows when you need your privacy and when you want to chit-chat. You know, the best kind of friends.

When you first walk through the courtyard door, it’s like you’re walking through to your perfect imagined Mexican paradise – like the movie set that never really exists. Only here it really does. Every inch is unforced perfection, which could be the tagline for the whole place.

Now let’s talk about the food. I’m not a huge fan of American B&Bs with their lace and overwrought waffles and dainty coffee cups. But this is entirely different – chorizo scrambles, mushroom quesadillas, Mexican omelets and – this is addicting – homemade guac and salsa fresca every day. Yes, every day. Plus, fresh squeezed juice and fresh fruit. Hot coffee. I think I even saw some cinnamon buns put out last time. Xochitl will basically go to any lengths to make you happy, so if you want some eggs cooked to your liking, just ask. And, hang on, can’t believe I forgot to mention the potatoes: sliced, golden brown and studded with red peppers. They put hash browns to shame.

The rooms are cozy and pretty. The palapa rooms make you feel like you’re sleeping outdoors with the birds, but protected from the mosquitoes and varmints. The big room even has its own Jacuzzi right under the stars. How nice is that? There’s also another outdoor Jacuzzi if you don’t score that particular room.

We took my boyfriend’s parents this time and they totally fell in love as well. We all agreed it’s a complete waste to go somewhere as beautiful as Cabo and stay at some anonymous, douchey, all-inclusive high-rise. El Nido is special. Treat yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

All the pics are no exaggeration, it's a beautiful, tastefully decorated place.
However, we had to move to another hotel after few hours we checked in.
The palapa rooms, 2nd Fl, facing the neighborhood rooftops below - though they have enough privacy with an open wall, soon we realized there are constant and loud traffic noise from nearby main road and all the life noises (shouting, kids, dogs, etc.) directly coming into the room. We were really tired from traveling and tried to take a nap, it was impossible. It was as if laying down next to a highway.
There were earplugs in the room, but when the noise is so constant, it's not only a sleeping time issue. We can't have normal conversation wearing earplugs all the time. It's just not peaceful enough.

I had a chance to visit other rooms - I believe downstairs rooms (no palapas) and upstairs room w/private hot tub should be quieter. We couldn't switch to these rooms since they were all taken.

The owner couple was very kind and friendly. They told us the neighborhood is changing (busier). Very unfortunate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tabibito_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our third stay at El Nido and we LOVE it!!!! I consider them like family and will continue to stay here every time we come to Cabo. Jose, Xochitl and Gary are amazing people and they treat you like gold! It feels like you are right at home! They deserve one million stars!!!! We'll be back again next December!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Reba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have never submitted a more positive recommendation for any hotel in my life.
I travel for work every week, to different places in the US and internationally, so I’ve stayed in my share of hotels. El Nido simply topped the scale!

The entire place is beautifully decorated with a lot of care. Every single piece is unique by a local artist, and every single piece is essential to the decoration. The owners/designers really knew what they were doing.
We stayed in the “palapa” room, which is half open and there is a mosquito net over the bed. It also has a private jacuzi in the bathroom, also half open.

The owners were EXTREMELLY gracious, and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as they could. Free beers/water bottles every day, free breakfast cooked on demand by the owner, fresh fruit cut every day.

The hotel has only 6 rooms, so you should be sure you will get the attention you need. It also has several common areas, like the huge jacuzi patio, 3 dinning rooms, a breakfast area, full service hair salon…

I couldn’t recommend this place more, if it I could rate it with 1000 starts I would.

Note that this is NOT a perfect-style resort. This is as authentic Mexico as you can get, as close as staying to your beautiful private hacienda in Cabo. You should expect a few bugs, some imperfections to the furniture, to the amenities, etc. just as you would in your own place.

Room Tip: Ask for the Palapa room with the mosquito net, when the weather is good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copperalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Amazing property that offers a visit you won't find anywhere else. Stayed in an open room, and even with the temperatures staying close to 80 at night, it was comfortable thanks to the overhead fan. Only real problem was the private jacuzzi tub wasn't working, but with the place at about half occupancy, we pretty much had the main tub to ourselves anyway. Breakfast is made to order each morning with choice of omelette, chorizo scramble, etc.

Room Tip: Unless you're majorly freaked out by sleeping outside, go for one of the open air rooms. They a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.2 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
885 reviews
1.3 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.4 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido at Hacienda Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido at Hacienda Escondida

Address: Road towards Sunset Beach | Blvd. Miguel Angel Herrera & Callejon el Dorado, Cabo San Lucas 2350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $141 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Nido at Hacienda Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed & Breakfast is located on a quiet cul-de-sac in old town Cabo San Lucas, three blocks away from the original town square and five blocks away from the Cabo marina. This authentically Mexican bed & breakfast has a total of six uniquely decorated rooms, as well as a restaurant and cantina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Nido at Hacienda Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido At Hacienda Escondida Hotel Cabo San Lucas
El Nido At Hacienda Escondida Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing