We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and great patio space”

Manta at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #49 of 777 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Inspired by the views from one of the most desirable and secluded playas in Cabo San Lucas, chef Enrique Olvera conceived Manta with an intriguing double meaning: The manta ray symbolizes the kitchen’s focus on seafood, while manta, the Spanish word for blanket, conveys the chef’s emphasis on comfort. Olvera celebrates Pacific coasts traditions—taking inspiration from his native Mexico, as well as Peru, Japan and beyond—while maintaining a distinct and tastefully casual Baja sensibility with a commitment to sourcing local ingredients from Baja Califonia Sur. A curated beverage menu focused on mezcales, tequilas and sakes complements Manta’s fresh local ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: Inspired by the views from one of the most desirable and secluded playas in Cabo San Lucas, chef Enrique Olvera conceived Manta with an intriguing double meaning: The manta ray symbolizes the kitchen’s focus on seafood, while manta, the Spanish word for blanket, conveys the chef’s emphasis on comfort. Olvera celebrates Pacific coasts traditions—taking inspiration from his native Mexico, as well as Peru, Japan and beyond—while maintaining a distinct and tastefully casual Baja sensibility with a commitment to sourcing local ingredients from Baja Califonia Sur. A curated beverage menu focused on mezcales, tequilas and sakes complements Manta’s fresh local ingredients.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Elegant and great patio space with private booths inside . Great views of Lands End. Great restaurant and a fabulous hotel. We went to Manta our first night and we are happy we did.

Celebrating a birthday and they made it special. Our server Manuel was amazing. He anticipated every need we might have. The pace of service was perfect. The ambiance at Manta is great

We had fish tacos , ceviches and several other items. All were fabulous. Manuel is a fantastic waiter. his approach to service is great. Always there to help but never being overbearing. He made us very special and took great care of us.

Do yourself a big treat and head to the Cape and Manta and ask for Manuel.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank LABill75225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerardoO381, Director General at Manta at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear LABill75225

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and all the details about your dining experience. Thank you for considering Manta on the top of your list, we will let know your kind words to our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good good and service. The server, Leonel y Leonard was very attentive. We enjoyed his recommendations.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank sakurakiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerardoO381, Director General at Manta at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear sakurakiki

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip and many more occasions to come.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are making a reservation at Manta, try to make it for sunset because the views from the balcony are insane! The staff was beyond amazing offering to take pictures, wrapping us in ponchos, bringing heat lamps to our table- the complete attention to detail set us up for an unforgettable dinner. Once we were settled in, Michael (whom I cannot recommend enough), gave us the most in depth recommendations from cocktails to the personalized options of the chef's tasting menu. We decided on four savory dishes and one sweet. Let me tell you that Michael has been impeccably trained to provide the most immersive experience that truly highlighted the masterfulness of Enrique Olvera's cuisine. Michael guaranteed that if for any reason we did not enjoy a specific dish or cocktail, he would find us a replacement that we would love. Unfortunately, I am not a huge fan of mezcal. Most of the cocktails were mezcal based, when he noticed that I was raving about everything except for the cocktail, he brought us one of his and Ricardo's creations. WOW... At the exact same moment that I was now enjoying this beautiful cocktail, my friend mentioned, "I wish I had a hot chocolate right now.." I am not kidding, within 10 minutes, Michael sent his colleague, Juan-Manuel to a neighboring hotel to locate a Mexican hot chocolate for her! Talk about amazing service! We didn't want to leave the restaurant after dinner was over... The most notable dishes of the evening included: the mushroom ramen, cochinita buns with homemade sriracha, the vuelva a la vida dish, and most notably the tres leches cake (which was like no other I have ever had). Anytime that we travel, we always intend to try new restaurants and avoid returning to the same spots, so we can have a diversified experience. That next night we could not help ourselves! We cancelled our **** reservation and called Manta to see if they could fit us in, and they did! We were able to sit on the balcony again with Michael and Juan-Manuel as our servers, and Ricardo as our bartender. I truly cannot wait for the next time we return to Cabo so I can enjoy the amazing cuisine of Enrique and his beautiful staff at Manta. I can only imagine how incredible the mole is at Pujol!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jaelyvetteavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerardoO381, Director General at Manta at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jaelyvetteavila

We have no words to thank you for an amazing description of your evening. Always an inspiration to continue improving and keeping all the good aspects of our service. We hope you join us again in the near future to enjoy the beautiful show that nature has to offer.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve been to many nice places in our travels and we found the food and service at Manta to be unparalleled. Manuel and Sofia were gracious and warm. The food provided a perfect bite in every mouthful. We would recommend Manta to anyone looking for a superb dining experience.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank christinedH7584AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerardoO381, Director General at Manta at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear christinedH7584AJ

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip and many more occasions to come.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros: all of our food was absolutely delicious and our server was gracious

Cons: upon purchasing a bottle of wine which was unfortunately corked, one "sommelier" told us we were incorrect and attempted to teach us about wine on two different occasions. We finally just let our server know they could take the bottle and glasses because we weren't going to drink it. After this a different somm came over to let us know they'd take it off the check but that we should "be educated" about this type of wine before ordering. It is a strange wine (white rioja with some oxidative qualities) and if I wasn't super familiar with it I might not have been so confident about the defective bottle. I don't know if the somms had any qualifications or were as familiar with the wine type and producer as we are, but either way this kind of treatment at a restaurant of this caliber (whether or not they agreed that the wine was corked) was shocking and made us feel extremely uncomfortable and unwelcome. Whats more, if they had not spent the whole meal telling us we were wrong, we would have ordered a different bottle to go with our meal. Unfortunately after the whole ordeal (three confrontations total not to mention three employees tasting the wine while angrily shaking their heads/throwing up their arms in full view of our table out on the floor two different times) our meal was almost over and I really just wanted to leave the situation. Despite the delicious food, we will never be back :(

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amandabI7069VO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Manta at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing