We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camels in Cabo San Lucas? Yes!”

Outback & Camel Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.99*
and up
Baja Ranch Tour and Camel Safari from Los Cabos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This adventure takes you on a voyage of discovery as you journey away from the tourist areas and delve deeper into the stunning outback and secluded wonders of the Baja peninsula. Enjoy spectacular views, a gentle nature walk, camel ride and delicious cuisine as you explore Rancho San Cristobal on this exclusive adventure.Explore a seaside ranch, which includes a working sea turtle sanctuary in our unique and fun Mercedes Benz® Unimog 4x4 truck. Along the way our expert guide will introduce you to Baja and the surrounding area.Experience a guided nature walk and learn about the area’s spectacular flora and fauna. Head to a beautiful and peaceful beach for a once-in-lifetime camel ride overlooking the sea. Enjoy a tequila tasting and tortilla making lesson before a delicious lunch.Enjoy stunning views of the Pacific as you savor an authentic Mexican lunch prepared with regional spices and flavors and sip cool refreshing beverages. Spend time with your new friends on your journey back to Cabos, sharing stories along the way.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cabo San Lucas, BCS, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Camels in Cabo San Lucas? Yes!”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

A group of 12 ladies got together to experience this wonderful adventure. Starting at the Dolphin Center, one of Cabo Adventures' activites, we were whisked away in a huge Unimog truck and taken to the outback of Cabo San Lucas on an easy trail led by an experienced, knowledgeable and entertaining guide explaining oddities about some of the flora found on the trail. Next, onto a private ranch fronting the Pacific Ocean beach where the Dromedary camels were sighted. All eight of them! They all have names. My riding companion and I rode "Powder ", a well-behaved, clean, and docile animal that was led out onto the beach for our nice, gentle ride. We shuffled and swayed in the double saddle and enjoyed the beautiful seaside vista. After dismounting on the stair-led platform, we were then guided to an open-air kitchen where a lovely senorita prepared our delicious Mexican lunch while we sampled and learned about tequila. Sated and relaxed, we returned to town. What a fabulous adventure to share with our children and grandchildren!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank globalgal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    106
    28
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barrieont
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic Adventure”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The Outback Camel Safari offered by Cabo Adventures in Cabo San Lucas was a great adventure. Our tour guide "POLO" was fantastic and very educated on the area. We took the morning tour which leaves the Cabo Dolphin building at 8:00am. You ride in the back of a Unimog offroad vehicle so make sure you have warm clothing for the drive, it is very windy and cool. Once you arrive at the secluded ranch, you leave the highway and drive through the desert outback to the beach where you go for a short but I'm sure you'll find a long enough camel ride along the beach. For safety precautions, you are required to wear a helmet and you are not allowed to carry a camera while on the camel. This beach is also a secluded sea turtle santuary where depending upon time of year, I'm sure you would experience seeing the hatching process.

Next you go for a reasonable hike through the outback where POLO explains the various cactus, plants, and trees. The path leads you from the top of a hill and you walk down the small canyon to the waiting unimog that takes you to your next stop overlooking the ocean for a great homemade Mexican lunch. You learn how tortillas are made and if you choose you can give it a try yourself. There is plenty of food and beer, plus fruit waters. After lunch it's tequila tasting time and if you dare try the roasted cricket with your Mexcal.

Other little things, we were able to see the whales in the distance while on the camel ride and photos of the camel ride are available for purchase with no pressure sales. Tips are optionable but I'm sure well appreciated for our cook, driver & tour guide.

You have the option of being dropped off back at Cabo Adventures downtown or they will drive you to your hotel if near Cabos San Lucas. Total length of the tour was approximately 5 hours.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank steelback24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sand and Surf: A Camel's Eye View”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

An opportunity to spend a day touring this stark, yet beautiful desert environment is only be surpassed by the unique opportunity to ride a camel across the sandy ocean beach. A traditional Mexican meal (including homemade corn and flour tortillas) is complemented by tequilla-tasting and cricket crunching. The ride in the back of the caravan is a little bumpy; staff are keen to assist those less agile at hopping in and out of the vehicle or who may need some assistance climbing the steep narrow trail. The tour is hosted by knowledgeable staff, facilities and hospitality are great, and fun is the name of the game. Don't miss this adventure if you are in Cabo!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

My wife and I were in cabo at the end of january 2011. we had an open day so we booked this tour. we beleaved that we were going to be riding in the back of the 4x4 they showed in there add but when we got to where we were leaving from they put us all in a mini van 12 of us. it was about a 45 min ride to where you get out and start your nature walk. on the way there you could not see out the vans windows because they had some kind of shade on them that looked like a screen.

when you arrive at your destination then your nature walked started. approximately 30 mins, every thing was dead except the cactus. after you walk down this long hill then the 4x4 was there to take you the beach where the camels where. the camel ride was ok about 10 mins ( wont let you take pictures unless you have some one not going on the ride to take pictures for you )

after the camel ride back on the 4x4 for maybe three mins to ride up to where you stop for a bite to eat and taste taquila. we were not shown how to make tortilla.

after that back on the 4x4 for about 5 mins with a speed ride back to the front gate get off get back into the van for ride back to town.

we feel that even with the camel ride and the lunch this was not worth the 45 min ride out and back even if on the 4x4 .

our guide was excelent and very funny but the cost for this was not worth it.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank kateflknr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super funny, enjoyable and interesting!!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Every minute there is something to see, listen or drink!. The transportation 4*4 off road Unimog make it different, all the knowledge that our Tequila and Expert Polo (our guide) shared with us make this excurtion really interesting and funny! . The beautiful view we enjoyed while we were riding the camel was amazing and relaxing after the delicious green tea we drank there. The food with the fresh hand made corn Tortilla... Delicious!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Analicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback & Camel Safari also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Outback & Camel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing