We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, good food for way too much money.”
Review of Sunset Mona Lisa

Sunset Mona Lisa
Ranked #17 of 601 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Sunset Mona Lisa Novel Mediterranean Cuisine in Los Cabos! Our unique location at the tip of the bay of Cabo San Lucas offers breath taking views of the ocean and the arch. Our world famous venue is considered a must when visiting Los Cabos for its magic atmosphere.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Marvelous views of Land's End, the arch and the city of Cabo at night. Great place to watch the sunset. The staff was nice and efficient. The food was very good, but stay away from the coconut "pie" for desert. We would definitely go there again except the prices are WAY TOO HIGH for what you get. Next time we will have drinks, watch the sunset and go somewhere else for dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank billh1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we work as a team for our clients and the fact that you are happy, make us happy as well.

Best regards from all of our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,332 - 2,336 of 2,748 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

This place was the highlight of our Cabo trip, from scenery to food. When we got there, the host commented, "this is your table for the evening", and said it in an assuring way to convey, 'take your time and enjoy!'
My dinner was Sea bass - it came encased in a salt brick. When the waiter broke it, he unwrapped banana leaf to reveal the fish, then poured a shot glass of herb-infused oil on it. Incredible tasting! My spouse ordered crab-filled ravioli. At first glance, it was small and we thought, he'd need to order another meal. But it was rich and satisfying. From wine, to dessert, to service, to ocean and sunset scenery - it couldn't have been better...well, maybe one thing, a family with a small child sat nearby, and the child was unruly the entire time. It was the only thing that tainted the evening.
This is definitely a must for us when we return to Cabo. I would recommend it for couples and special occasions.
Also - we both thought prices were very reasonable, at least comparable to anything in the U.S. You could have been "paying" for the scenery, but I didn't think so.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PalmTreeAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

From our bad experience on the Mona Lisa Charter, we were suppose to get complimentary drinks to see the sunset at the restaurant and never received them. I have become a regular to Cabo and will never recommend this place.

2  Thank ellemg411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Manager at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

After having used our Mona Lisa Charter, a complimentary drink is offered upon arrival to the Sunset Da Mona Lisa, with a dinner reservation only.

We are sorry that Mr./Mrs. Ellemg411 misunderstood this information leaving the restaurant with this impression.

We hope in the future you decide to stay and enjoy dinner at out Restaurant, we would be happy to have you.

The Management @ Sunset Da Mona Lisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I attended a wedding here last sunday (10/10/10) - it was soooo beautiful. The bride and groom said the staff were fantastic to work with, the food was very very good, and you CAN'T beat the scenery. This restaurtant is built into the side of the hills above the beach - you can watch surfers, or get your picture taken in front of the very tip of the Baja peninsula.

We went back a few days later for a sunset meal - the food was again fantastic - service was good, and the sunset is not to be missed.

Highly recommended!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shandie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

My mom and I travel to Cabo about twice a year and had never been to this particular restaurant before. We had several friends with us on this trip and the restaurant was recommended after another restaurant we were headed to was closed for the evening. When we pulled into the parking lot we were very unsure of what we were getting into, but boy were we wonderfully surprised when we arrived! the walk from the door to your seat is magnificent! The views were breathtaking and the sunset was beautiful. We were there at the end of July, so it was not busy, but I would recommend making reservations and requesting outside seating so you are sure to have the best views. The restaurant sits on top of a cliff overlooking the water. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was great, and the service was excellent. We will ALWAYS go back here when we visit Cabo,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anje_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Mona Lisa also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Sunset Mona Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing