We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mona Lisa impresses!”
Review of Sunset Mona Lisa

Sunset Mona Lisa
Ranked #17 of 587 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Sunset Mona Lisa Novel Mediterranean Cuisine in Los Cabos! Our unique location at the tip of the bay of Cabo San Lucas offers breath taking views of the ocean and the arch. Our world famous venue is considered a must when visiting Los Cabos for its magic atmosphere.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Nine of us made a 5 pm reservation to this highly recommended restaurant. Our two cars were valet parked for free ( we added a $5 tip for each car) . The time was recommended so we could see the amazing sunset at our outdoor table overlooking the spectacular view of the city and Arcos. The restaurant is located a few miles out if town and being perched up high on the cliff right above the ocean, one gets to experience a breathtaking view. It is very romantic setting, however , come dresses with an outer jacket, as the wind can really kick up, and when the sun goes down it can get chilly. However, the restaurant has blankets for all who need them.

Our waiter, Irving was great, attending our every need. The service was first class.

Now about our food.

The menu is Italian in style and small with no more than six choices for appetizers, pasta, seafood or meats in each category. We ordered a variety of choices and they were all played beautifully and tasted delicious. The portions are small, especially the ravioli. The salads were very fresh and crisp. The prices for the food are in the medium to medium high range , but not over the top by any means. The entrees were from $17 to about $40. Because we were outside and the trip from the kitchen to our table was close to. 200 feet, our meals weren't super hot, but we understood.

Some nice touches:
The chef had delicious bread brought to the table and before the first course was a complimentary taste of gazpacho in an elegant cup! During dessert he had delivered, a small tray of little finger treats that were to die for.

The dessert list was small and we enjoyed the Italian treats.

The wine list is fairly large, however the prices are high, with the lowest bottle being about $38 and up to hundreds per, if you want to spend that much.

In conclusion, this is Avery fine restaurant and is highly recommended. The bill was lower than eating in a high end place at home but the view was world class.

Brava Mona Lisa!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank boneblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset da Mona ... S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are happy to know that you lived the Sunset da Mona Lisa experience to the fullest.

The chef and the staff work really hard every to enhance your experience with us. It would be an honor to have you back at the restaurant on your next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,625)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Mona Lisa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,608 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

View is the best in Cabo...hands down!! Better when it was deGeorgios!!!
But the pizza is quite good, gustavo upstairs makes it all worthwhile!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank di4cabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset da Mona ... S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review, we will be glad to welcome you back at our upstairs bar Sunset Point for a great sunset time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I had dinner here with several friends. The restaurant is terraced, with outdoor seating on multiple levels extending down towards the ocean. There are Amazing 180 degree views of the bay and out to sea.
Definitely has the feel of eating at a high-end resort. The staff work hard to create an exceptional experience for diners. We stayed late at the restaurant eating great food and drinking wine. As the night grew colder, we were brought warm blankets to cover us. Most of the other diners chose to stay outside under blankets to enjoy the ambiance, rather than go inside. After finishing dinner, we were shown to a lower level where an Astronomer employed by the restaurant trained a high powered telescope on the stars above to show us amazing images of the Moon, Jupiter and various star formations. Then we headed back up to our table for desert. It was truly a unique and satisfying dining experience. I highly recommend Sunset Da Mona Lisa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset da Mona ... S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We are happy to know you enjoyed the full Sunset da Mona Lisa experience. We work every day to make your visit special. We are glad you enjoy it. It would be a pleasure for us to have you back in a near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went to this restaurant for my friend's birthday which was a great decision. The food was remarkable! They also had GOOD WINE which our all inclusive resort did not have. Everything from the appetizer, soup, tequila, wine, main dishes and dessert was decadent. The service was also great, our server was tentative, knowledgeable and very experienced while remaining respectful of our space. The view is the best part of the restaurant. It is built into the side of a mountain facing the arch/lover's beach, allowing you a beautiful mid-day view as well as a remarkable view of the sunset. The pricing may seem high if you have an all inclusive hotel, though the resort we stayed in could not give us the same experience we had at this restaurant, even if they tried. I would give this restaurant a 6/5 if I could. Highly recommended!

Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset da Mona ... S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing Sunset Da Mona Lisa for one of your evenings in Cabo.
We feel very lucky for having the view we do and we love to share it with everybody. We hope this was the first of many more to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Don't miss out on this beautiful location to dine. Head waiter was fantastic as well as our waiter. They have a photographer on site as well who will snap pictures for you. The food was delicious too.

Thank Casita28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset da Mona ... S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your preference and kind words. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cabo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Mona Lisa also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Sunset Mona Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing