We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A phenomenal experience”
Review of Sunset Mona Lisa

Sunset Mona Lisa
Ranked #10 of 634 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Sunset Mona Lisa Novel Mediterranean Cuisine in Los Cabos! Our unique location at the tip of the bay of Cabo San Lucas offers breath taking views of the ocean and the arch. Our world famous venue is considered a must when visiting Los Cabos for its magic atmosphere.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had reservations for sunset, and we weren't disappointed. The sun sets to the right of Sunset da Mona Lisa, behind the desert, and in the moments just before the sun disappears, the servers come out with a huge gong and conch-shell horns to "announce" the setting of the sun. The type of Prosecco was not available, and our server Eduardo recommended another bottle -- we were not disappointed. We ordered the fried seafood and vegetable appetizers, which were served in a tempura-style batter with a house-made mayo. Both of us had the steak -- usually, it's cooked at your table on a volcanic rock, but the evening we went was breezy, so it was prepared in the kitchen. It was delicious. For dessert, we shared a chocolate lava cake with vanilla ice cream, and were then treated with a complimentary dessert of house-made strawberry-and-sea-salt marshmallows, vanilla cookies, and two shots of chocolate liqueur. I would also add that given how breezy it was, it got chilly once the sun went down. The servers offered each outside diner a soft Mexican blanket to wrap up in -- what a thoughtful touch! I can't wait to go back with my sweetie.

1  Thank emmanbensmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing this detail review. We appreciate all your nice comments and descriptions. We hope we get welcome you back soon, of an other Sunset da Mona Lisa experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,217 - 2,221 of 3,173 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a beautiful place! The views were breathtaking! I felt like we were sitting on the water. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our dinner. The service was fabulous and the food was good as well. One thing I love about Mexico is their willingness to make food anyway we want it, within their power! Definitely a spot to go for couples.

1  Thank onefortherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We are glad to read that we fully met your expectations and appreciate your kind comments. We hope we get to greet you again in a near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

awesome!!!! the view, the service, the food and hospitality..... just perfect! I was there on my birthday and couldnt have customized a better night!

Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for letting Sunset da Mona Lisa be part of your special night. We are glad to know you had a great birthday with us, It will be a pleasure to have you back for your next birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location is special in Cabo, when we arrived, we were welcome with some aperitifs on the main terrace with a view on the Ocean, suddenly an amazing sunset appeared, in that moment the sound of sea's waves was broken, a wild sound came from shells played as instruments. it was a stunning beautiful moment. One of the best experience in my life. The exquisite Italian food was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mariaemanuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing such amazing full of emotions review. We hope you created long lasting memories enjoying the Sunset da Mona Lisa experience. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We've heard about this restaurant for a couple of years and decided to try it on this trip. It's really very good. The atmosphere and setting can't be beat. The service was excellent in all regards. The food was very good. Everything was very fresh. I've read the comments on here about the expense. Yes, it might be a tad expensive. But if you're in Cabo, this is one of the places you really need to experience. I had the ribeye steak....it was extremely tender and very flavorful. The ladies had one of the seabass dishes and liked it a lot. Desserts were excellent. The ritual at sunset was very cool and an unexpected surprise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank klb990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank for this kind review. We are glad to know you enjoy the Sunset da Mona Lisa experience to the fullest. Next time you are in cabo please come visit us, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Mona Lisa also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Sunset Mona Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing