We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday and Mother's Day”

Sunset Da Mona Lisa
Reserve with OpenTable
Sunset Da Mona Lisa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 553 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Sunset Mona Lisa Novel Mediterranean Cuisine in Los Cabos! Our unique location at the tip of the bay of Cabo San Lucas offers breath taking views of the ocean and the arch. Our world famous venue is considered a must when visiting Los Cabos for its magic atmosphere.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday and Mother's Day”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been visiting Cabo for many years. And 10 years ago we were fortunate enough to discover this fabulous restaurant. I had a fantastic dinner on May 12th for my Birthday and Mother's Day. The Chef prepared a few special tastings that added to our experience. This restaurant along with the spectacular views always creates a memorable experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Da Mona Lisa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We find ourselves with your comment. We love when our guests, keep coming back. We are certain you have seen the evolution of our place, since we love to keep growing. Thank you for being part of our family, see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,814
    342
    125
    68
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, BCS, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Destination”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Even though it happens every day, there is something magical about a sunset, especially sitting on a terrace high above the rolling surf, witnessing a ceremonial tribute to the sun performed by the wait staff at Sunset Da Mona Lisa. Go for the view, but be prepared for one of the most romantic evenings you will ever experience. There may be a wedding ceremony being performed on one of the many terrace levels, or a renewal of vows, and undoubtedly a proposal being made amongst the diners (it happens often, I’m told). If in doubt as to what to order, opt for either of the tasting menus. The Bounty of the Sea of Cortez consists of 5 courses, but if you are especially hungry (or undecided), choose the 7-course Gran Mona Lisa. You may be served a baby Caesar salad, followed by gazpacho with salmon and crab croquette. Then comes a sampling of pastas: ravioli stuffed with mozzarella cheese, shrimp and porcini mushrooms topped with cherry tomatoes, or traditional pasta with clams, squid and scallops with a pop of just the right hot. There are several fish and meat dishes. In fact, there is something for everyone and every taste. For the adventuresome, try either beef tenderloin or rack of lamb cooked tableside on a volcanic rock. Bear in mind, even though the chefs hail from Italy (and there are 3 experts overseeing a total of 15 in the kitchen), this is not your ordinary Italian restaurant. True, there is some resemblance to Italy, but the ingenious blend with local seafood and creativity is to be experienced. The house-made gnocchi filled with mozzarella and tomato in a pesto sauce is to die for. Start your evening with a sparkling Italian prosecco, and proceed with a wide variety of fine wines to pair with your meal. I have to chuckle when I say, “Save room for dessert”, but the crème brûlé is worth feeling more than sated.




  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globalgal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous location! Get there about 30 minutes to an hour before sunset for the best effect. The food was fantastic. Waiters were excellent. The entire experience was wonderful. The prices were quite high but it was definitely worth it for a special night.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
“Beautiful and Delicious”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were there for the sunset. It was so beautiful and the tradition of blowing conch shells was a nice touch. Our waiter was fun and attentive. The food was so delicious and beautiful too. The photographer on staff took pictures of us with our cameras and then invited us to look through their big telescope at the moon. He even took a picture of the moon through the telescope with our memory cards in his camera so we could have the picture. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular View and Ambiance”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

For that special occasion you cannot miss with dinner at Sunset Da Mona Lisa. The view is spectacular, especially at sunset. The tables are arranged outside at various levels down towards the Sea of Cortez. At sunset the staff stops and blows through Conch Shells at each of the four directions, north, south, east and west per an ancient tradition. This is very cool. The food was very good but we would not rate it excellent. Portions were slightly on the small side but not over priced. The staff was very professional and service was excellent. From our Resort at Playa Grande it was about a $40 round trip taxi ride so this has to be added to the cost. However; for a beautiful view and an intimate dinner you cannot beat this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garymstoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Da Mona Lisa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. It´s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your experience with us; as for the ceremony we blow the seashells right when the sun goes down as a way to offer thanks for all we have, it would be a honor have you dining with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Da Mona Lisa also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Sunset Da Mona Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing