We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, food just okay”
Review of Sunset Mona Lisa

Sunset Mona Lisa
Ranked #18 of 596 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Sunset Mona Lisa Novel Mediterranean Cuisine in Los Cabos! Our unique location at the tip of the bay of Cabo San Lucas offers breath taking views of the ocean and the arch. Our world famous venue is considered a must when visiting Los Cabos for its magic atmosphere.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

View is gorgeous. You pay for it in the price of the meal. The food was quite good but not memorable.

Thank cjreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments, we will work on that particular issue. We hope next time you join us you will have a memorable food experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,951 - 1,955 of 2,704 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Awesome, romantic, service was weird, we had 6 different servers, and food was just a bit above average. View was incredible.

Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thnak you for your comments. We will work to be more careful in the service. Thank you for pointing that out.

We hope next time you will enjoy the whole experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Sunset Da Mona Lisa had the most breathtaking, most equisite view of all of Cabo. Not only was the view amazing, but the restuarant itself had a spectator athmosphere.

We got the luxury of spending our Valentine's day at Sunset da Mona Lisa. We got there right before sunset and were able to take beautiful pictures around their outdoor area. There were little ponds, and bridges and places to sit and have a drink while overlooking a magnificant view of Cabo just outside the actual restaurant. They also have people around to take professional pictures if you would like, and they are able to fix them up while you eat so by the end of your meal, you have beautiful retouched photos sent your email (at a fee, of course). We have the most amazing pictures we took outside there.

For being such a fancy restaurant, it is actually a very relaxing and pleasant meal. They have live music that walks around that also gives a nice little touch. The beautiful lanterns above your head allow for romantic lighting as well. They go all out for special occasions which was very nice.

We had a 5-course meal from a fixed menu that you got several options to chose from. We ate like kings! We had tortellini filled with swordfish, ahi tuna, fish wrapped in banana leaf, and many more. This was my first time trying a bunch of these types of fish and I was more than pleased which each course. The portions are perfect sizes as well! The staff was super nice and attentive.

Overall, this was the most magnificent, once in a lifetime Valentine's Day meal and it was absolutely perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for sharing such wonderful review. We work every day so you can have a great Sunset Mona Lisa experience. We hope to see you next Valentine´s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I could not have asked for a more professional or welcoming team for our
wedding. Our guests were blown away by the beauty of the location, the
service from a fantastic team of waiters and the incredible food.

I would like to thank you the entire team for their attention to detail and assistance in
making our day a unique and gorgeous experience.

David, the events manager was gracious, accommodating and a true professional. Many of the other wedding locations we looked at were much less flexible in accomodating our requests. Sunset da Mona Lisa went above and beyond to grant all of our wishes. I could not have been a happier bride.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JoannaTutwiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for letting us be part of such a special day! We hope to have you back for your 1st anniversary. Congratulations once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I surprised my wife for her birthday and had dinner at Sunset Da Mona Lisa in Cabo. We were told to arrive at 5pm so that we could get seated ahead of the sunset.. Make sure that you get cliff side seating- you look directly at the Cabo Arch and West. Sunset that night was at 5:46pm and it was worth it. The wait staff all came out and positioned themselves on the cliff and signaled sunset with the blowing of conch shell horns. The margaritas are the best by the way while waiting for sunset. The pasta is made fresh and to die for. My wife had a trio selection of pasta and there was so much she ended taking some back to the hotel. I would recommend if you like beef try the steak cooked at your table on a hot lava rock- you will not regret it. The view, the sounds of the waves crashing on the rocks, a slight breeze coming of the ocean and a perfectly clear sky just added to the great experience. For you star gazers out there , they conveniently have telescopes set up on the cliffs for you viewing pleasure. The staff was outstanding, waiting on your every need. This is a place where we come back to when we visit Cabo next year for sure. To top the evening off our waiter brought a birthday desert for my wife, we had to take that with us also , just to much great food. They use infused olive oil with Rosemary or garlic when they serve you bread. Pace yourself with appetizers, main course and desert, just so much good food.. I made the reservation online and was very easy, with an acknowledgement back promptly confirming the reservation. I would recommend that you get reservations since it so popular. If you do not have a car it was a 10 min ride form downtown Cabo and they can call for you a taxi when you are ready to depart. Great Place, great food, great time, Muchas Gracia Sunset Da Mona Lisa

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Mona Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing such beautiful review. We are glad to know you enjoyed the experience, we hope to have you back some time in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Mona Lisa also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Sunset Mona Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing