We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms, great location, but pool service disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2010

A little background about us... My husband and I are in our mid 30's and travel quite a bit. Among other places, I have been to Mexico 4 times in the past year (Cozumel, Playa---twice, and Cabo). This was our first time to Cabo and we traveled with another couple our same age. We chose Casa Dorada mostly because of the Tripadvisor reviews about the location. We were looking for a non-inclusive resort in a great location where we can walk to restaurants and be in the middle of the action. We like to drink while we are on vacation also, so when you read my review, keep that in mind. :)

Ok, onto the pros and the cons....

Pros:
1.Loved our room! We had a large suite with a full size kitchen and living room, a huge and comfortable (great for Mexico!) bed and a large whirlpool tub. Very nice and Very quiet. We upgraded for an extra $50 a night for this room when we checked in. We stayed on the quiet side of the resort. Our friends stayed on the opposite end, and they said they could hear the music from the Mango Deck at night. Make sure and request the side away from the Mango Deck unless you like to hear thump thump through the night. ;)
2.Loved the Spa! I had a facial and a combo massage and loved both of them. They treated me very well and I was very very relaxed! Had a steam room, a sauna, a hot tub and a cold tub as well.
3. Food we ordered at the pool was great! Had breakfast every morning at the resort (downstairs by the beach--don't know the name) and it was excellent. $16 for all you can eat. Best fresh squeezed juices!
4. Other vacationers we met at the resort were so nice and we had a very nice time getting to know fellow travelers and their stories. At the end of the day and before dinner, we would get in the hot tub with a bunch of people and have the best time drinking and talking to people.
5. Location of the resort is the best around. You walk down the steps of the resort toward the beach and there are beach bars lined up one after another. All kinds of water taxis, wave runners, and activities at your disposal. Tons of venders (We said "no gracias" about a hundred times! pretty annoying) It was interesting to us that when you are at the resort pool you don't hear or feel any of the "spring break" vibe but once you walk out of the resort and on the beach, it's a whole different feel! Lots of action on the beach (and not much action at the resort----see my con on this)
We walked about 10 minutes or so to the Marina. Restaurant central! Very fun! You can either walk there via beach (which is a beautiful sunset walk) or by the streets. We might be more on the paranoid side of things, but we didn't feel super safe walking back late at night on the streets. The streets aren't all that well lit. We never had any problems, but it did make us a little bit nervous.
6. Never got bothered by the time share folks. We checked in on a monday at 12:00 (check-in is normally 3:00). I don't know if it is because it's off season, a monday and before normal check-in, but we were never once bothered by Time share reps. Never even saw them.
7. Very very clean! Beautifully kept.
8. Felt very safe.
9. Fitness center has pretty decent equipment... 3 or so ellipticals and 3 or 4 treadmills all with individual tv screens. Weights. See Con list for other remarks about fitness center.

Cons:
1. Not much action.... The resort was very "ho hum" as far as any entertainment or any action of any kind. The pool was very boring. No one was at the swim up bar and nobody was partying at all. Not that I need the partying, but there wasn't any kind of fun vibe at all. It was very zen, relaxing. We pretty much napped at the pool because it was pretty lame. Granted it is the end of May, but I was surprised by the lack of partying which leads me to my next con....
2. Terrible and I mean terrible bar/drink service at the pool! There is virtually no waiters, waitresses at the pool. We had to beg for someone to come bring us beers. We ended up buying beers by the bucket because they just would never come around. Probably why my # 1 Con is happening. If it was an all-inclusive resort, I might understand why they don't want to serve many drinks, but we are PAYING for our drinks. You would think the management would have a herd of waiters by the pool to serve drinks since it's a huge money maker. If you are looking for a party atmosphere, this is not your resort, but if you are looking for a relaxing resort where you can choose to go to the beach for the party, then Casa Dorada is perfect for that. We just couldn't get over the terrible pool side service.
***an exception to this are two stand-out employees. Alma was our waitress one day and was excellent. The pool concierge, Pacho or Pablo?, was great but we only saw him one day (our last day).
3. Fitness center was a Sauna. We worked out almost every day of our trip and the workout room was SOOOO HOT!

Overall, we had a great trip! We loved Casa Dorada for a relaxing and beautiful resort with a great location. Disappointed in the party atmosphere, but at least we got lots of R&R! If you have any questions about Casa Dorada, please feel free to contact me. :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlondieOklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, General Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2010

Dear BlondieOklahomaCity,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and abundant review! We are very pleased to know that most aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and that the room’s size and appointment, the services and facilities at the Saltwater Spa, quality of food & beverage and property’s location, met or exceeded your expectations. Great!

As per the cons:

1. We understand that our pools are not the most 'partiesque' in Cabo; nevertheless, most of our guests –of all ages– like and value that… specifically since Medano Beach, packed with a fun, vibrant and festive atmosphere, is just outside our gates. As a matter of fact, it has come to our attention through different forums that many travelers choose Casa Dorada, amongst other things, for this particular fact: it gives them the opportunity to have a more relaxed mood which they compensate with the party of Medano Beach and visits to the pool of our neighboring (and sister) property, Me Cabo.
2. We are very, truly sorry for the subpar service received at the pool. We apologize and, as of today, we have increased our staffing level at this vital area.
3. We are working to solve a problem with air conditioner supply to the gym area. I am sure that within a couple of weeks, it will be permanently solved.

Thank you again for your preference and for your honest feedback!

Sincerely,

Victor Gomez
General Manager
Casa Dorada Los Cabos, Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,748 - 1,754 of 2,051 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

We just returned from a week at the Casa Dorado and what a wonderful experience. The location is dynamite - just a short walk into town, a few minutes from great restaurants like Peacock's, Edith's and more. The hotel is beautiful and elegant from the room furnishings to the great deck lounge chairs. The service is the best feature though. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite with a fantastic view. Everyone on the staff is amazing - warm and helpful to the nth degree. Lesley at the front desk is so welcoming, Arturo also. Alejandro in the B Lounge and his beautiful partner were so great. The concierge was so helpful; he gave me great dinner ideas and made reservations for us. Hydy (sic) is the best! She cheerfully went over every feature of our room, and gave us that beautiful smile every time we saw her during the week. The ONLY negative of this location is the noise from the Medano Beach Club and the Mango Deck bar. Someone seriously needs to take the microphones away from the guys in these two clubs. But they quieted down pretty early in the evening so that helped. The Casa Dorado is truly a special destination and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJacksonSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife And I stayed at the Casa Dorada for the second year in a row. This place is excellent! Everything about it! The rooms, pool, restuarants, bars, employees, the whole resort is wonderful! Our home away from home. The people here are like family. There is so much to do and so many places to visit. The resort can help with any trips you can imagine.
We drove up to Todos Santos to visit Hotel California and have lunch. Great spot for lunch and lots of shopping in this quant little town. Only about a little over an hours drive up the beautiful Pacific coast. We met another couple on last years trip who took us here and became friends. We are here the same time vacationing together with their 23 month old daughter. She is a sweetie!
Lots to do from shopping, boating, fishing, golfing, wave runners, parasailing, dinner cruises, atv-ing/jeeps in the desert, spas, downtown bars, restaurants, the market and so much more. All within walking distance from the resort. You will have a great time. This trip, we relaxed alot by the pool with pool servers taking very good care of our needs. The pool concierge, Paco Morales, gave us many ideas for our stay. He is a great amego and will take care of anything you need.
This resort sits right in the middle of where everything is happening! So close to all the fun! Beautiful sunrises and sunsets! The May weather is great! We can't wait to go back! Maybe for two weeks next year! I'll have to talk to the wife, shouldn't be a problem.
One thing to not let bother you are the timeshare people at the airport and venders on the beach. Yes, it can be a pain, but just say no!! If you stay at this resort and are interesed in a time share, our salesman was Richardo del Rio. We had a great experience and he was a great preson to deal with. Good times, friendly people, great food & drink, a beautiful place! Go and see it! We love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatboybobbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We loved this place so much we are going back this year. Right on Medano Beach. Walking distance to Marina and into town. Everyone is very friendly. This July will be our third trip out here.

Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank DThaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Room 629 is the BEST. Some staff told us they liked that room better than some of the penthouses. It's a one bedroom suite with a wrap around balcony which looked over the sand bar. My only negative, not with the room, just in general...please pick up your chairs before dragging them around your balcony. It sounds like someone's coming through the roof, espeically at 6:30 in the morning and if you have early birds above you, you will be sadly awaken. We've suggested that the staff put some sort of felt or something on the bottoms of all the chair legs but until that happens, Please please please pick up those chairs if you need to move them. The staff is awesome, especially Paco, the pool concierge. He will do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. Room was nice, staff was nice, everything clean. We go every year and will keep coming back. Oh! don't forget to try the Hacienda Cocina y cantena. Start with the chorizo con papas, and try any one of the "shared" platters. The best! and walking distance down the beach and priced reasonable. Not like how Edith's has become..a bit too touristy but Hacienda is still a sleeper that hasn't been that discovered yet with many tourists so highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poproczs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Just returned from 7 nights at Casa Dorada and I was soooo pleased. We had a great view of the ocean from everywhere in our beautiful 2 bedroom unit. Service throughout the week was wonderful, from front desk to those manning the entrance, from housekeeping to room service, from the buffets and restaurant staff to maintenance. At the pool, Paco is very good at his job - routinely checking on us, helping with pool chairs, umbrellas, cold towels in the afternoon, and even restaurant suggestions (which, may I add, were amazing!). His helper, a young man named Hector, was also so accomodating, with the nicest smile and a winning personality. And...he worked so hard... ALL DAY!!! He was definitely worth his weight in gold, so I'm hoping management gives him a bonus! Thanks for a fabulous time at a beautiful resort. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I love this luxiours hotel. The rooms are fabulous, spa bathtubs in the basic suite, comfortable beds (that we took lots of naps in). Hotel staff was excellent, we did not get pressure for time share. We were left alone, and not bothered at all.
Spa was good, nice people, but not US five star quality. More like MX 5 star, and there is a difference. The pool is so relaxing... we dont go during busy times, as we dont like crowds. Smoking is allowed, so thats not good at all. Its the biggest issue we had with the resort. We ate at the hotel every night, as their on the water resteraunt, is a great value. Live music every night, and choices of very good food. Beach is busy, and Cabo beach line is disappearing, so not easy to walk since it sloped.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetucsonweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
3.5 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.9 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
10.2 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $425 - $1,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing