We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Dorado..Casa We Will Never Again..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Casa Dorado..Casa We Will Never Again..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

We heard such great reviews, so were looking forward to a much needed trip.

1) One of the Two pools was closed for remodeling. Which would have been OK, but we endured not one, but eight jackhammers for 9 hours a day. Beware, this will be going on for most of September and October

2) Despite the fact only eight of us were at the pool and two 'pool concierges', service was miserable. You literally had to scream in order to get service

3) The pressure on the beach by both vendors and the hotel staff is nearly intolerable

4) Although to try and make us whole for the pool closures, the hotel offered a 30% discount...beware, they try and trick you by saying 'oh, it will be handled at check out' You would be wise to double check your bill

5) The few times I returned to my room during the day, we were usually greated with construction sounds (read hammering) most of the daytime

6) The rooms although nice at first appearance, suffer from poor craftsmanship. The faucets all twist in ways they shouldnt...hot water is hard to come by...the shower head leaks and blasts water in odd ways

I would highly recommend staying away from this resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iowahawkeye1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    409
    121
    58
    52
See reviews for
564
836
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We loved Casa Dorada, the rooms are spacious and clean and they all have a view of the ocean. We found the staff to be extremely friendly - we were taken care of by various staff members, Paco, Lupe and Hector to mention a few. Great restaurants were recommended, service at the pool was friendly and efficient and everyone always had a smile on their face. The 2 pools are large and inviting and the beach area is also a fun place to spend a few hours. I highly recommend staying at Casa Dorada, it's a 5 minute walk from the Marina and about as central as you can get. I would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolwarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband and I LOVE going to Cabo...so much we decided to purchase a timeshare! We were staying at the ME nextdoor in Jun 2008, so after we got the tour of Casa Dorada, we were in love with the place! HOWEVER.....we have not been able to stay at the resort yet!! Everytime we try to book our timeshare week, we are told that the Junior Suites are fully booked, which is not true, bc you can go to their website and book rooms....even hotels.com has rooms available!!! What they tell us is that the Junior Suite we paid for is not available so we have to upgrade for $800-$1000!!! I feel like they are just trying to get us to pay more $$$$ for an upgrade that we don't want when in reality there are Junior Suites available. This is just TERRIBLE customer service!!! I have friends in the market for vacation rentals and I will be telling then all about this experience! I already talked my parents out of buying...at least at this resort. They are still looking, and very disappointed bc they really loved the rooms and grounds at Casa Dorada. Hopefully they find somewhere in Cabo that has good service! So if you go to Cabo, stay at CD, just don't purchase a timeshare there! They are so nice and wonderful, but once they have cashed your check, the customer service goes right out the window!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WeHeartCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Our trip to Cabo was overall good...But I have to mention the DAMN time share Sales people they do not leave you alone and they don't take no for an answer!!!! When we arrived at the hotel they wouldn't let us go to the room until we agreed to do the stupid time share Sh-peel! They call it the welcome package!!! Anyway the local are very aggressive, so be aware of being constantly harassed!!!! I'm not sure we'll come back to Cabo because it is a very nice place...Casa Dorada really needs to put the time share sales people in check They ruin your vacation!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olie071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

This review is coming a little late but I wanted to make sure we posted a review since we had such a great time as Casa Dorada. This was our third trip to Cabo but first time at Casa Dorada. We stayed the first week of July and will make this hotel our first choice on future trips. The grounds are kept spotless, the pool was very relaxing, and the spa treatments (tequila massages) were excellent. We loved the location and were able to walk to town and even to catch a boat for an early morning fishing trip. We stayed in a beautiful one bedroom suite with fully equipped kitchen, dining area, living room, and amazing balcony. The food and service at the pool was great and although we didn't participate there was even festivities set up for the 4th of July. We also went to the onsite restaurant 12 Tribes which had a fabulous ocean view. Our other restaurant recommendations include La Fonda (Authentic Mexican food), Alcaravea Gourment (wonderul seafood - hidden gem), and Salvatores (Italian - yummy homemade lasagna!). We hope to come back in January and bring friends!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaBeachaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

This was our first time visiting Casa Dorada at Medano Beach in Cabo San Lucas. The facilities were beautiful, clean and spacious. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous and the food, when we ate at the hotel, was delicious. The hotel is situated in the center of Medano beach and our view of the sea was very memorable. Starting in the morning, my husband and I took advantage of the well equipped fitness facility, then followed by time around the two pools. One pool is heated and the other is cold for a very refreshing dip. We all went back and forth between pools. The beach sand is nice and we all loved taking dips into the sea, plus the kids loved to build sand structures. Of course everyone has to put up with the travelling beach merchants, but if you have ever been to Mexico, it is just part of the Mexican experience. That being said, the hotel has a cordoned section of the beach next to the hotel, where you are left alone. We used the spa and treated ourselves to a massage. Heaven... I liked the location of Casa Dorada, because there are so many great restaurants in the area and we certainly felt very safe to walk to all of them. We ended the day by either hanging out on the spacious balcony (we had the 2 bedroom, that comes with 3 balconies), or sitting by the fire pits overlooking the sea.

The only thing I did not like was the noise from the beach bars, as it was spring break for many college students, but they all seemed to shut down by early evening and we could enjoy peaceful evenings.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeerParkMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

I cannot say enough good things about Casa Dorada. The service was perfect, the location could not be better and everyone was very friendly. The staff really went the extra mile to make sure that we did not have to worry about anything during the wedding. Our entire family had the best time. It is a very classy place. After visiting a few other hotels in the areas, I can say that Casa Dorada is the best. Thank you Casa Dorada!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionperpich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Property: Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing