We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Front Desk Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Casa Dorada never has to worry about me booking a stay. They are very rude and arrogant. There are other properties in and near Cabo that offer much friendlier service.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank WindyCityGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManagement01, Guest Services Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2008

We want to apologize for the inconvenience due the front desk experience; we take great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed, although on this occasion we have clearly not succeeded in meeting your expectations. Even though we receive frequent commendation regarding our staff attitude & friendliness, I apologize for underperforming on this case.
I hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and you found our staff to be helpful and courteous, and let me express yet again our apology for the shortcomings you encountered.
Sincerely,
T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,962 - 1,968 of 2,068 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2008

Drive from the airport is about 40 minutes and they pick you up (always nice) pay for the toll road (also nice) and drive you to your unfinished destination where the timeshare hell begins. The entrance to the hotel was nowhere near finished (literally, dirt road and broken fountains under construction) but it kind of makes the hotel foyer really stand out once you enter. The architecture and design is really beautiful, very clean and tastefully decorated with sculptures, sandstone, cherry finished wood, etc. The real attraction is the view through the main arch of the entry - looks right out over the ocean and at the island chain of lovers beach (the famous arch). Our first introduction at the lobby was a stall tactic where "your room will be ready in 10 minutes" and you are asked to go to such-and-such to receive your "welcoming package" which is really just a time-share bait and switch routine (you're offered fabulous amenities and adventures at deeply discounted rates or for free IF you sign up). After successfully waving off our "welcome" we were shown up to a spectacular room with a king bed and two queens. The bellman asked us if we were expecting guests to which we shook our heads in confusion. We were later surprised by random "guests" walking about in our suite while we were unclothed (to say the least). Apparently they didn't understand that they had given us two suites about 30 minutes before showing someone into "the other half" of our room. Once we figured out how to explain their own suites to them ("them" being the management) our vacation commenced to a constant barrage of hotel employees knocking and barging into the room for every imaginable reason. My fantastic husband had, unknown to me, booked a honeymoon package. Apparently he had to remind them several times about our room "surprizes" (i.e. rose peddles on the bed, champagne on ice, chocolate strawberries, etc.) and they still only forgot about 60% of the time. Straightening out the bill was a disaster - apparently there is great confusion about how a package works and the definition of "included". Despite all of this, the place is really beautiful and in a great location (walking distance to downtown and the marina). We had many delightful hours just lounging by the pool and sipping drinks. The beach is nice, the jet skis are fabulous (there ARE advantages to not having any rules or successful lawsuits)! Would I recommend it? If you're able to ignore the constant ploys for time-shares and peddlers EVERYWHERE, then...maybe.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ParadiseAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed here for nine nights. We arrived late on a Friday night and they stuck us in a room right next door to the bar. We have a one year old and a four year old so sleep was an issue. But the real problem was the dead bolt on the door didn't work. We called that night and they sent someone right away. They couldn't fix it so the next moring they moved us to a much much better room. We had a two bath one bedroom. Very nice view.

Although room service was promt and friendly the food was eh. This is a new hotel and I think its still working out some of the kinks. I have to say though that the food at the pool was very good and again, the service was incredibly fast. Unusual for Mexico.

They have a Budget Car rental company representative right on sight. We rented a car for 24 hours and they made it so easy. The rep also told us that we didn't have to have the car back right on time. That a three hour diffrence wouldn't matter. So the next day we drove again and returned the car after 3. I had noticed there was no car seat and they brought one over right away. It was a hassle free experience.

They are a time share but they didn't hassle us at all. We did get a letter asking us to pick up our welcome kit in the morning. We didn't bother as we knew it was about time share. Other then that one other guy asked us if we had seen the time share presentation and I just said yes. And that was that. Unusal since sales all over Cabo are down 50 percent. But so nice we weren't hassled.

Check out was a breeze. We had a 5:00 AM shuttle and I called down for help with our luggage and they were there straight away

We plan on going to Cabo again in 2009 and I plan on booking with them again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Heidinichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

This hotel was beautiful, the staff is great, and the view was excellent. My husband and I stayed in a one room suite on the 6 th floor. Our room was gorgeous, the bed was super comfortable, and we had more space than we knew what to do with. We listened to the timeshare presentation just for the discounts and kickbacks. It was fairly non-aggressive and we didnt here from them for the rest of our stay. This resort is in a great location. Right on the safest beach in Cabo San Lucas and only a 5 minute walk to the nightlife. The hotel was peaceful and serene. I did not care for their restaurant, 12 Tribes. Big prices for very little food. We went next door to Mango Deck for a second meal. Great place on the beach. Good foods, good drinks, and fun (adult) entertainment. Another great place if you like Italian food is Casa Nova right down the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lele4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We just returned from a great 5 day stay at Casa Dorada. It is a great location and great property for the most part. They offer great service and it is a very nicely kept resort. The rooms are spacious and offer a contemporary, relaxed environment. You also have the ability to cook if you would like to. We did use the kitchen to keep milk, juice, cereal and water that we bought at local market.

All of the reviews that I read about the sales pitch for the time shares when you arrive was pretty accurate. We were able to tell him "no" and said that we might do the tour later. They did follow up later in the week with a call where we politely declined. There was a crazy encounter that we had three days into our trip, where there was a woman who works at the beachfront of the property that literally chased us down when she heard that we had not done the time share tour. She is there to offer excursions but she is obviously incented to get guests to tour. She wore a big brimmed hat and sat under an umbrella; she asked if we were "members" at the property, and was offering everything under the sun to get us to tour. It was very uncomfortable. We saw her do the same thing later on in the day to another guest and watched him squirm.

Our only other thing that we would say to be negative about the place was the tacky music that was blared all day at the pool. They keep on a great "spa like", international sound while they are touring people in the morning. Then at 1:00 until about 7pm they played a loud 80's sound. Not very relaxing when the theme of "Wierd Science" and Belinda Carlisle were playing all day on repeat. They have a great bar and lounge area in the lower level that looks like it would be a great place to hang out in at night. It was obvious that they had no one in there night after night because of the awful music. This is also a reason that we would not wish to invest in the time share program at this resort. Great place otherwise though!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Laur915915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

The Good - beautiful location with incredible views from the majority of rooms, very clean grounds and first class maid service, well furnished tastefully decorated rooms with huge balconies and large living spaces, quiet and relaxing resort poolside, walking distance to tons of restaurants, bars and shops, great pool area with cabanas, umbrellas, and padded lounge chairs, beautiful beach, free internet access

The Bad - prepare to get hit with pressure to go on timeshare presentations - will get it at the airport, Casa Dorada, on the beach, in the shops, at restaurants, etc., the beach peddlers are nonstop in your face on the beach trying to sell their souvineers, very little entertainment onsite if you like music, drinks, dancing, etc., $8 drinks also had us going offsite

This resort caters to couples who are looking to relax, not for the wild crowd, those who like to have entertainment, or those with small children.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank masemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

I stayed at the Casa Doradao for a full week in mid August. Here's a breakdown of our experience:

ROOMS: We booked a jr. suite. The room was surprisingly huge, with a sitting area, four person dining table, and kitchenette (complete with a fridge, microwave, and two-burner stove!). The king size bed was pretty comfortable, though a little firm for my own preference. Both the living room and bedroom area had flat panel TVs. The best part about the room was the balcony!! With a table and chairs and two loungers, it was great having breakfast outside or lounging there in the evening watching the sunset. All the rooms at the hotels have these balconies, by the way. Our room was on the eastern side of the hotel (closer to ME Cabo), but we faced the pool area. We never had any problem with nighttime noise like some of the other reviewers...couldn't hear a thing from ME Cabo, and never any loud music at Casa Dorada itself (our last night there was a Thursday, and though they did have a live band at the B Lounge that night, it was fine with our patio door shut).

FOOD: I was very surprised and pleased with the quality of the food at the hotel. We had several poolside lunches, and all were good. Tried the Boston-style hot dog, salads, nachos, vegetable sandwich, etc. Poolside drinks were good too, though inconsistent based on who was making it for you (as in, some days the margaritas were awesome, other days, just okay). Poolside service was excellent -- all the guys did a great job checking in on us to make sure we were okay, or if we needed water or anything like that. It was also really convenient to ask our pool server or the pool concierge about activities or to make a dinner reservation somewhere. Also, the prices for all the food and drinks were very reasonable, I thought.

If you get a chance, I would definitely recommend attending the Tequila Tasting at 12 Tribes (this was on a Wednesday evening). The Food & Beverage Director at the hotel hosts the event himself, and for thirty ($30!!!) USD, you get a 5 course meal and 5 tequila pairings to go with it. Some of the tequilas they were pouring were really interesting, and he gave a great lecture about tequila making in Mexico and the differences between all the spirits. For whatever reason, a lot of people bailed on their reservations the night we did this, so we got a one on one lecture and essentially a private dinner for two, looking over the ocean. Amazing. At any rate, the 12 Tribes restaurant has a diverse and interesting menu (albeit a little pricey), and you definitely can't beat the setting -- the view is gorgeous.

SERVICE/AMBIANCE: I thought service at the hotel was great. Any time we had an issue with something -- burned out light bulb, toilet clogging -- we called downstairs and maintenance came up right away. The grounds at the hotel are beautifully kept -- I noticed people gardening or wiping down surfaces all the time. The hotel itself was relaxing and beautifully decorated. Some reviewers said that they had trouble getting a chair by the pool, but we never had any problems. Also, I saw tons of people claim spots with a towel, then leave for hours on end and no one would touch their stuff, so that's definitely an option. The pool itself was very relaxing, though because of the hot summer air and sun, would tend to get really, really warm by the late afternoon...so don't worry about the water being too cold!

LOCATION: Super convenient. The marina is a 5 to 10 minute walk away, and though you walk down some random alleyways, is still very safe. There are plenty of other restaurants around the hotel itself (Mango Deck, The Office, CasaNova, and down the beach is TABASCO!!!), and if you want to do water sports or other activities, there are a ton of vendors just outside the hotel on the beach.

TIME SHARE: Okay, a word about time shares. Now, my gentleman friend and I weren't hassled too much about this once the staff found out we were both 24...apparently, they can't sell it to you if you're not at least 25 years old. I will say that after spending many mornings out by the pool, we saw tons of people going by on the tours and the salespeople all did seem nice. One guy at the hotel tried to offer us the sales pitch anyway (even though he knew we were "underage"), and said he'd give us a free breakfast at the Maydan Restaurant....well, I saw plenty of people having that "free breakfast" downstairs, and they were dining WITH the timeshare salespeople! So if you take them up on that, don't count on having a private meal or anything. My advice is that if you are going to take the sales pitch, try and at least haggle your way into something better than free breakfast (which, by the way, is the absolute cheapest thing they could give you) -- where are the free spa treatments??? :)

Staying right on Medano Beach wasn't necessarily the most relaxing or romantic choice, but it was still a lot of fun. In any case, if I chose to stay on Medano Beach again, I'd definitely stay at Casa Dorada.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank vmac56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.9 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
10.2 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $309 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing