We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- Subpar experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location- Subpar experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

New year's holiday travel package via Travelocity for a 2 bedroom suite including airfare. As mentioned in a few previous reviews on this site, I was sold(prepaid) a 2 bedroom suite only to be told there was no 2 bed room suite upon check in on Christmas morning for a 7 day stay! My choice was to take a 1 bedroom suite on the second floor in the corner with no beach view at all (don't ever take one of those fyi) or to not checkin at all. Well xmas morning and the town is sold out of course I had to take the room and nothing said by the stone faced front desk manager Oswaldo Vazquez was going to change my predicament.

The good: It's all about location with this hotel. You want real beach? Check. You want to be close to downtown bars/nightclubs? Check. You prefer to just sleep there and spend your day next door at a beach club with a younger crowd? Check. There also happens to be 2 of Cabo's best restaurants(office and Edith's) next door so no need to ever actually eat at the hotel itself. The bed was very comfortable.

The bad: The walls and ceilings are very thin and you will hear people above you walking around on the tile floor which can be annoying especially in the morning. There is the most annoying bar in the front of the hotel Mango Deck which you definitely want to be far away as possible from it's just total cheesy music and carnival barking all day and all night. I did notice the salesman in the public areas as mentioned by other users but they didn't bother me at all because I never made eye contact with them. Forget the overpriced mini bar items and go across the alley to the market and buy your items there and carry back you will save a fortune.

The most important thing I would like to emphasize is to avoid at all costs pre-paying for this hotel via sites like Travelocity. There is no recourse for you to be compensated they will stonewall all your efforts and make up facts to support their case. Book direct and take a lower class room and then pay for an upgrade when you are actually there if you want because taking the most expensive room via the website does NOT guarantee you will receive the higher room category during checkin. Lesson learned. I will not make this mistake ever again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Rick S, we really appreciate your comments and feel rewarded for the good comments about your experience at our hotel. Regarding the cons of your experience, we will contact you directly in order to speak in detail of all the details and understand what happened and give you an appropriate feedback and solutions.
Regarding the room rates, you can ensure that the best available ones are promoted on our website, and we will honor your room category at the time of booking. If available, we will be always glad to upgrade your room to the next category based on the difference of the rates in effect at the time of your check in.
The hotel is always improving and innovating and hopefully in your next visit to Casa Dorada you will find a renewed and more vibrating property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    417
    122
    59
    52
See reviews for
569
859
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel rooms are very nice and all face the ocean with balconies. The beds are comfortable but the pillows are lumpy and not very good. The room had a tiny fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, sink, blender, toaster, etc. the bath tub is enormous with jets! There are two large pools, a swim up bar and hot tub. There is roped in beach front property with chairs and cabanas. Don't sit in the front row unless you want to be constantly harassed by vendors! The ME hotel, Cabo SUP and Mango Deck are right next door. You are within walking distance of all down town nightlife and the marina.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, General Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Xenawman

Thanks!

We take our guests comments very seriously...they make us improve.

We already reorganiced the beach area for more privacy and added some new activities in order to make it more amused but also high class area.

Would like to have you again in order to enjoy it.

Trully yours

Leonardo Perli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel is very nice, clean and well kept. The pool is great and the beach is perfect for swimming, jet skiing, paddle board of scuba. Everything you need is right in front of the hotel. The JR Suites have a king bed and a sofa bed. All rooms seem to have a full kitchen. The 12 tribes restaurant is very good. The restaurant on the beach is ok, the staff at this restaurant is very slooow but friendly and nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the pool. 1st floor rooms have an open balcony straight to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buenhec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Gerente at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear buenhec,

Thanks for sharing your experiences!

Centainly our location is one of the best in cabo. We are adding new activities like sand sculpting and beach volley ball tournments.

We are improving the beach services and also food variety.

Hope to see you again in your "Casa"...

Leonardo Perli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have reviewed Casa Dorada on Medano Beach in Cabo San Lucas before, but I had to let everyone know, that I still think it is the best resort my husband and I have ever stayed at. This is our 4th or 5th time staying here and it just keeps getting better. If you read other reviews, you already know that the location is first rate, close to everything, etc. so I won't elaborate on that. I have to say that I was so impressed this time with the staff, whom are all so accomodating and friendly, not only with the guests but with each other. There has always been a few in our past visits that we really got to know and enjoy, but this time it was different. It is so nice to see people enjoying what they do. Everyone is all smiles and they do not pass you by without greeting you with an "Hola". Upon arrival from the airport we were welcomed with a hearty "Welcome Home"!

The best area for relaxation is by the pool, and Ivan Barrios, the pool concierge, makes it his personal mission to see to it that each and every guest is not wanting for anything. His staff, in particular, Emilio, Bismarck, and Marvin are the most upbeat, friendly people. Always professional but will joke and cut up when it's appropriate. They will even help you with your Spanish if you ask them too. When they aren't too busy they will play in one of the poolside ping pong matches, but you may have to wait a few seconds during the game if someone needs towels or umbrellas. Service always comes first! It is a blast to watch them with their guests, every one has a good time! The staff at the Okanius outdoor bar/restaurant are amazing and the food is great for poolside fare. Gustavo and Pepe are our personal favorites and run all day to serve the guests, but always have a moment to chat and smile. The rooms are kept immaculate and the property is beautiful and is always being tended to. The Twelve Tribes restaurant on site has become a source of pride for this resort. They have a new chef, who can prepare high quality delious meals, from lamb and lobster, to chicken fingers and fries.

For those of you who just can't leave it all behind, internet is available but is not free, so be prepared to pay upwards of $50+ for the week.

I have to say, from check in to check out, the only complaint I had was, that it ended to soon! We will be back!

Room Tip: We have stayed on both sides of the property, the rooms on the east side are somewhat quieter just b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClydeandLisafromKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear ClydeandLisafromKY,

Thank you for your kind words! We are absolutely delighted that you had such a good time at our resort. Every single detail that you have shared with us reflects the hotel´s essence.

We are pleased to know that all our staff in particular Ivan, Emilio, Bismarck, Marvin, Gustavo and Pepe, provided an outstanding service, we are so proud of our team.

Certainly, the views from Casa Dorada are stunning and unique, is the reason that our Restaurant 12 Tribes with its amazing menu makes the guest´s experience a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again in this your second home.

Regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We picked the hotel in relation to location and getting around town easily and we hit it right. Great restaurants in front of the hotel and a super easy and short walk to the marina for more options. The pool was great with lots of specials for food and drink. We did not have any issues getting a pool chair at all. We requested a room away from the west side so not to have a lot of late night noise. One thing to be aware of is the constant need of workers to get you to attend their vacation rental sales pitch. It was not a one time pitch at arrival but a continued attempt upon leaving/entering the hotel. If you are not interested you must be firm and walk away or they will keep talking. Can't wait to go back soon. Great hotel and location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Stacy O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Casa Dorada. We are pleased to know that you were able to relax and have fun in our property! We hope you will visit us soon, we will more than happy to host you again.

Regards,
Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have Made 30+ visits to Cabo over the past 25 years and have stayed at numerous hotels, beach resorts & golf resorts. Bottom line is Casa Dorada is my permanent future visit place to stay. It has everything I want when I travel to Cabo. Besides being on the beach it is walking distance from all my favorite places to eat and visit. As far as rooms go, I have stayed in there entry level room to there 2 BR Suite and never have been disappointed yet. Great Sevice, great food, excellent spa services for my wife and the list goes on. No bad experience to date on many stays there.

Room Tip: The 1 BR suite cost a little more, but I really like the extra space after a long day of fishing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BadBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear 1BadBull,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. In the name of Casa Dorada and all the staff, we are very proud because of your positive comments.

As you have mentioned, our location is unbeatable. We are close to most of the Cabo “Musts”. Also, we feel very proud of being your first option after coming down to Los Cabos for 25 years.
We will more than glad to welcome you at Casa Dorada again in your further trips.

Best regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great weather and wonderful water. The resort met all expectations, as usual. Nice, casual and relaxing vacation with no new activities experienced except a trip to Lovers and Divorce Beaches. The tour and time spent there were well worth it. Great to be close to town, the marina and all of the beach bars and spent some time in almost all of them. All in all, it was a very good vacation and we can't wait to get back in October with another chance to see Sammy at Cabo Wabo for another birthday bash.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the north side and higher than the 2nd floor for better views and no morning sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear LAFreddy,

Thank you very much for your post. We really appreciate our guest´s feedbacks. It is very important to us to know about your positive experience staying at our Resort.

We take this comment to keep working hard to offer you the best during your stay.

We hope to host you on your future trips to Los Cabos.

Regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Property: Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing