We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Just got back yesterday from a wonderful one week stay at Casa Dorada and we could not have had a better time!

We booked a Junior Suite on Expedia.com and check in was a breeze......We asked for a room on an upper floor and were given a beautiful suite on the 5th floor. Room was not quite ready when we arrived....but no worries....took a short walk around resort, had a margarita and an hr later (330pm).....had keys in hand! Room was very modern, very comfortable bed, fully equipped "mini" kitchen, spacious bathroom etc. Air conditioning and fans worked wonderfully . Free wi-fi was included in our booking and worked beautifully the whole week in our room.


No pressure whatsoever to go to Time Share tour. In fact we were somewhat (pleasantly) surprised that we weren't shuttled over to the "Activities Desk" until our room was ready upon check in. Also, not one one phone call bothering us the entire week we were there!

Pool area very nice, but the first day (while at breakfast), we came back to our poolside chairs and found our belongings had been picked up by hotel staff and other people in what we thought would be our chairs for the day. We were somewhat annoyed as we had only left for about an hr, but apparently this follows hotel policy of no reserving chairs. We made our way down to the beach where the hotel has a roped off area of chairs and beach umbrellas, and found what would be our "daytime home" for the rest of the week! There was an abundance of chairs on the beach, and we found that there was never a problem with leaving chairs unattended for an hr or two at a time to partake in beach activities, lunch, swimming etc. Our favorite waiter "Martin" attended to our refreshment and drink requests most of the week and we found ourselves looking forward to seeing him most days of our stay. Drinks were very reasonably priced (mostly 2 for 1) as was breakfast and lunch which we had a couple times during our stay.. Lots of entertainment on the beach from people watching at the Mango Deck to cruise ship crowds and beach activities. The location of the resort is in the center of Medano Beach activity and is a short walk to town and the Marina. Best views and location in my opinion.

We never had dinner at the resort as we enjoyed the MANY wonderful restaurants that Cabo has to offer. We did return to the resort most evenings around 10pm for an evening "nightcap" in the lounge bar, and found things to be very quiet at the resort. No loud music or partying around the hotel grounds or beach bars to interfere with sleep. A couple of nights there was a live band across the street at one of the neighboring hotels, but we just kept our balcony door closed with fan/air conditining on and slept very well.

We are already looking forward to coming back to Cabo very soon and will definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDFamily_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    404
    121
    55
    51
See reviews for
542
827
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We booked a suite with a king size bed and a living room with a sleep sofa. Very very spacious, nice, clean, new furniture. The view from room 515 was awesome. Has a big balcony. The food is not outstanding , few options in the menu but it was ok. The service at the beach is great. Walking distance from marina where you can find lots of restaurants and a shopping mall. Worth the money. Tried the spa which was also great. The location is right beside mango deck restaurant at the beach which is somewhat like Carlos and Charlies, if you want party just walk beside, if you don't it won't bother you. Not a quiet beach. Hotel beach area separated by a rope and just in front lots of people that come from cruises and vendors all day long. Very easy spot to rent jet ski, banana, boat.
The view is unbelievable . Right in front of the arch. If you want a relaxed secluded beach this is not the place to go.
Beautiful swimming pools, great great service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titibert-Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marceline
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed at Casa Dorada from 4/8 to 4/15/2011. Everything was beautiful! The rooms were spacious and well maintained. The pool was very clean and the area very convenient. The resort has a roped off beach area that was very nice. The Mango Deck area could be very loud at times, but we would just go back to the pool if we needed a break. We could take a boat the Lover's Beach or rent a wave runner right on the beach. I took over 500 pictures and would post a few but I lost my camera on the flight back home. I am devastated over this since I wanted to make a book of our anniversary trip to Cabo. If anyone was in Cabo at about the same time and would like to share some shots that would be great!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sewigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

The hotel was a great as we remembered it. Being a new member and trying to understand the membership "perks" would have been nice with an orientation or something. Trying to speak with anyone at the membership office was really a challenge. When we joined we were told that we would receive discounts at the hotel resturants and activities. We did receive a VIP card that gave us activitity discounts but nothing to talk about and No discounts in the Resturants, as promised- dissapointing. We were also told that as Diamond members we would have free internet- NOPE. The exucse provided was that they just signed up with a new provider and were no longer offering that service and wanted to Charge me $50.00 for the week. I felt like a hotel guest I would have expected a little bit more for services that I understood my membership would buy.

The pool Staff was excellent as was their Service. We really love the Hotel just make sure that you get what is promised.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CervesaPor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

We recently went for spring break. We had our 3 teenagers with us and stayed at Casa Dorada for the location. My kids lovd being down where the action was at Mangos and The Office. It was rvery convenient to be able to walk to town and the marina. The downside to the whole beach area is all the peddlers who constantly harrass you. The hotel does have roped to keep them back but they are constantly standing there hollering to you. I decided after the first day to hang out at the pool. I only went down to the beach to eat at The Office. The Office is very expensive but has great food. The fish tacos taste like they just came off the fishing boat.
The hotel is very nice and our room was very nice. My only complaint is that the sewage was backed up and the smell would knock you out. The hotel came up to fix it and it did help. However, on the day we left the smell was coming back. I hope they fix this problem. They were very prompt about fixing anything. The staff at Casa Dorada is great! All of them are very nice and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The man at the front desk was great and the concierge made great dinner reservations for us. Housekeeping was great also. There are no complaints about the staff! I would defiantely stay here again if I had my children with me. If it was just my husband and I we would go somewhere more quaint and quieter dwon the road.
All in all a great experience - my kids can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug30004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

Have been to Cabo several times, have stayed at many resorts & hotels. We've now stayed at Casa Dorada twice, the past two years. At this point, we have no reason to stay anywhere else!

Love that this isn't a super huge hotel, which was one of the main reasons we've chosen to stay here. Love that it isn't full of spring breakers either. Lots of couples, of all ages. Saw a few families too.

We had a one-bedroom suite, we typically request away from the Office & Mango Deck at the time of reservation and have been granted this both stays. We're not sure that it is loud at night or not, if it is we've never heard it. Rooms are incredibly spacious and very clean and are quite nice and updated. Bathrooms are very spacious too ~ double sinks, big glass shower, plenty of room. Seperate vanity for the ladies! Bed is fairly comfortable, not home but not bad enough where it wakes you up in the middle of the night.

Tip of the cap to housekeeping, Mary! What a sweetie! She did the dishes for us, gave us extra pillows. Please tip the housekeeping crew and all the employees at Casa Dorada ~ they work so hard and do such a good job! Best to bring a couple hundred dollars in ones and fives! And if you are too cheap read the book Nickel & Dimed ~ you'll never not tip graciously again.

Pool is great, quiet & relaxing, great poolside service, good happy hours, good fish tacos! If you want more activity walk down the stairs to the beach, great chairs & umbrellas and lots of people watching and a beautiful view of the sea of cortez. We spent a few days at the beach, couple days at the pool when we needed a break from the loudspeaker & spring breakers at Mango Deck & The Office.

Fitness center is pretty good, not a lot of equipment, they do get booked but we never had a problem getting the equipment we needed. Only suggestion on improvement would be to get more fans, it gets quite warm from the sun (even with the shades down, which the staff keep them 1/2 up, 1/2 down) and all the heat from everyone working out. But, all in all, worksouts were great. Treadmills & equipment is very nice. Newer too.

So many great places to eat that are close, you can walk from Casa. All time favorite restaurants, has the most amazing food and service is La Golondrina (la-go-lawn-dreena) straight down from the hotel, 3-4 blocks on the left.

Also, great new classy bar & restaurant right accross from the hotel, Bar Esquina. Great wine list, great oven fired marghareta pizzas!

Great job Victor Gomez on running an amazing resort, I know you get your fair share of complaints, but you are doing a great job at keeping Casa Dorada one of the best places to stay in Cabo!

Also thank you to Nora in reservations! Great customer service!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenandShenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

beautiful resort, superior service! Gorgeous views, close to everything! Walking distance to marina & downtown. Great childrens area. Wonderful spa, love that hot tub , sauna , steam room and workout area free and great ambience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekbett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,320 reviews
10.2 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Property: Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing