We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week, July 13-20th, at the Riu Santa Fe. We had read the reviews posted on this site in the weeks leading up to our trip and we were VERY concerned. We were so worried that we even attempted to change resorts. Thankfully, there was no availability at our other choices.
For those of you concerned about the reviews that involve theft out of the safes, I can set your mind at ease a little. On the map and list of restaurants, that is given to you at check-in, there is a statement from the resort, stating that the hotel is not responsible for items stolen from the room UNLESS the items are locked in the safe. We locked our valuables in our safe each time we left the room and we came back with everything we brought with us. A quick note on the safe, it may not be large enough to hold a lap top computer.
We had a room in building 6 which is centrally located and close to the swim-up bar at the quiet pool and near most of the the restaurants and entertainment areas.
We were able to obtain dinner reservations at all 4 specialty restaurants, as my brother would get up each morning and have coffee and use his 90 minutes of free Wi-Fi in the lobby while he waited for the reservation desk to open...at a different time each day. The Asian and Italian were great, the steak restaurant was mixed, my steak was perfect, and the Mexican was VERY disappointing...which was very surprising.
The food at the buffet was great, with a huge selection for breakfast and dinner, lunch was pretty repetitive.
We spent most of our time at the quiet pool surrounded by buildings 1 through 6. We really enjoyed they pool and swim-up bar. Our 6 year old loved swimming up to get drinks, and the play a variety of music most days.
We did spend on day at the pool near the beach, which is fantastic with it's great views of the ocean and huge waves. The actives staff spends all of their time at this pool and we had a great time playing pool volleyball and water polo. The drawback is the frat-house atmosphere, complete with annoying late-teens and early 20 somethings falling down drunk by noon. this pool gets very crowded by early afternoon. There was even same boys playing their own very inappropriate music from a boom box at 8am near the pool. Some of these kids do not get that this is a family resort.
We did a tour to CABO Dolphins, which was great and worth every penny and spent a second day in town shopping.
I highly recommend hiring a water taxi, Jesus had the best price, and going over to Lover's Beach to see the arch and snorkel at Pelican beach. Just be prepared to have to climb into and jump out of the boat at each shore.
Overall we had a great time, but the far house/dorm room atmosphere at the building 7 pool needs to be controlled by the staff, possibly raising the minimum age that a person can stay at the resort without an adult could cut down on the number of drunk and rude young people keeping families away from the best area of the resort.

Room Tip: A room in building 6, in my opinion, is the best location, as it is close to everything but the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,328
    2,918
    1,267
    570
    466
See reviews for
1,677
3,230
127
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SCRANTON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I had been reading and watching the reviews months, weeks and days before my family vacation. I became a little concerned with some of the reviews a few days before our July 14 reservations. The issues with the theft or safe problems did not occur during our stay. My check in time was less than 10 min. The only delay revolved around some last minute changes because one of the members in our group was unable to attend. The manager was cooperative and accommodating. He provided us with Two excellent options/ changes to our room.
We were able to get reservations for the four restaurants. Although you need to get there between 7:30 and 8 am to make the reservations.
Food was excellent at the Asian and Italian restaurants. The steakhouse was good and the Mexican could use done improvement.
Pools were not overcrowded. Beach was ok to swim in the morning during low tide. We did take a water taxi to a beach One day for calmer surf.
The bars and Buffett were excellent. Great vacation. Relaxing week. We would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troutman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Overall: The hotel is very well maintained and the multiple pools have beautiful views, swim-up bars, nice bartenders and fun/nice people. We would definitely go back to Cabo and the Riu.

Check-in: Check in is at 3 but if you arrive early they store your luggage, deliver it to your room and give you a bracelet so you can enjoy food and drinks while you wait.

Rooms: I would recommend calling 3-4 days ahead and requesting a room in buildings 4, 5, 6 so that you are located close to everything (food, pools, gym, etc). The beds are hard but we slept well on them. They replenish your minibar every 2 days with complimentary water bottles, soda and beer. The wall bar has mediocre tequila, vodka, gin and rum.

Pools: The pool in the center of the property is mostly for families with smaller children. By the ocean and building 7 there are 4 more pools that are very loud and fun. 2 of the pools cater to families, 1 to singles and the other to couples. The bartenders are great and don't expect a tip, although we did tip our main bartender at the end.

Food: The main breakfast & dinner buffet, Baja California, has 3-4 hot stations 2-4 cold stations depending on the service. There was a large variety to choose from each day. We tried the mexican restaurant (great fajitas), steakhouse (great steak, ribs & chicken) and the asian restaurant (buffet style appetizers with a ordered meal). Overall we loved the asian restaurant best because they had real sushi & sashimi, noodles, seared tuna, miso soup, etc. The mexican food is mostly true to the region and not the tex-mex/ new mexican food we were used to.

Nightlife: The club, Pacha, was fun and the sports bar (open 24hrs) always had people, drinks and food available. We took the bus downtown ($1) during the day and the taxi ($12/4 ppl) at night. Downtown & the marina is only a 5 minute bus ride. We felt safe and were able to walk around with no problems.

Room Tip: Call ahead and request buildings 4, 5 or 6 if you want to be centrally located. Building 7 is right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c0c0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We traveled as a family of four with an 8 and 9 year old, overall we had a great trip. This resort had excellent service, very clean, great location and pretty good food. The activity staff, wait staff, housekeeping and nightly shows were excellent. I was disappointed however in the accommodations, what was booked as 2 queen beds were actually 2 full beds pushed together which is kind of tight when traveling with your children and husband. Also, the pools near the beach are very much for the party crowd which is fine, and the other pools near the lobby are quieter but it would be nice to have some of the Activities as family based near the more family friendly pools. The only very frustrating issues were calling the customer service from our room multiple times and never getting an answer, then having to walk quite a distance x 2 to the front desk to ask for extra pillows twice and after 6 nights still never receiving any.
A special thank you to Diana at Baja California she is awesome, and Ramon in activities who my kiddos loved having fun with!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof2Bellville_ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This resort was pretty unbelievable. The only thing that we weren't too happy with on this trip was the food at the buffets. We were there celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and this resort was really great. The restaurants on the premises are incredibly good; food was tasty and the staff was so helpful with everything. The staff is incredible. Harder working people are hard to find. The pools are unbelievably refreshing and the views from the pools are great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband &I traveled to Cabo 4th of July week & were so pleased with the service we received. Check-in was smooth & a super friendly bell hop took our bags to our ocean view room. The view was amazing! Any issues we had (which were minor- needed more towels, couldn't figure out the shower) were handled immediately. The staff was fun, curteous, & made our stay extremely enjoyable. We saw some families, but mostily couples &young groups at our hotel. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was b/c of the dinner reservation process. You have to get up early to make a reservation otherwise they book up quick. I would recommend staying here if you want to relax, have fun, and enjoy Cabo.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmccarthy116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our first stay at a Riu and we would definitely go back. The hotel is located 40 minutes away from SJD and we found the best deal for transportation was to get a one way Transcabo shuttle (pre paid before we left) and then take the hotel shuttle and share it with a couple going back to the airport ($60 per shuttle/ $30 for two of us when shared).

The hotel was only 5-10 minutes from downtown and cost a $1 by the local bus and $12 by taxi. The food was fine, you need to keep in mind that it is all inclusive so dont expect lobster tails. There are specialty restaurants that put out good meals and the buffet that is offered daily offers a huge variety.

The ocean waves are really rough. There are a ton of pools so if you're an ocean person like me, you wont really mind that swimming in the ocean is limited.

The staff is beyond nice and keeps a positive energy each day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.8 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
1,976 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
6,389 reviews
16.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,198 reviews
16.0 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,581 reviews
18.8 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing