We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at the Riu”
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The wedding was our daughters and we had quite a large amount of people that were booked as a group.This property is very spread out and they put the guest all in different buildings so it was a lot of walking. It would have been nice to have kept the group a little together. The only elevator was in building 7 so if you were in any of the other buildings you had to carry your luggae up 3 to 4 flight of stairs (you didnt see much of the bellboys). Its almost a half mile from building 7 to the main buffet so you do get alot of walking so bring good walking shoes. The hotel was very clean and the food was pretty good. It was a little hard to get into the specialtly restaurants because the wedding partys used them for their dinners. If you put your towel out in the morning before 8am the pool help picks them up, They dont just take the towels they take your shoes or what ever you left on the chairs. The beach is not a walking beach it very steep. we were there the end of February and the weather is a little cool, at night it got down to 57 degrees. The wedding turned out beautiful they do a nice job. We had a few little problems like mis communications with the wedding coordinator she didnt show up for the wedding rehearsal but we just did it ourselves and there were no reservations for the grooms dinner, so the waiters made a special place for us and it turned out fine. We had one of the wedding guest brake her wrist so it cost her almost as much as it did us for the wedding. The funjet Rep went with her to the hospital to translate for her and he checked on her the rest of her stay.This was our first stay at a Riu and I would stay at a Riu again just not in Cabo its to cold for me.

Room Tip: Building 4 and 5 are more in the middle of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 237KarenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,095 - 4,101 of 8,025 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We travelled (a couple 40ish :) in Feb 2013. All I can say is awesome!!! We will definitly be going back. The service was wonderful, everything was very very clean from the rooms to the grounds and even the pool area.
The bars were busy but it never took too long to get a drink, they give you higher end booze if you ask for it. The hotel definetly has a party feel to it, but you can "get away" from it all if you want.
I highly recommend requested building 7, there are perks to being there, quiet at night, close to the main pool and beach and the breakfast lunch restaurant are right there.
The food was great, we are a couple that likes to eat whatever time we feel like and not be stuck to a schedule, so we stuck to the buffets and they were great. New things every night.

Cabo San Lucas is an awesome place to go in to visit. We felt safe in the town and a sure place to visit is a bar called Happy Endings. Very welcoming and friendly and the prices are great...:)
Staff was awesome!!!
Overall all we can say it Riu Santa Fe we will be back!!!! Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLcanada_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Riu Santa Fe Febyurary 21 to 28 th


We loved our stay at the Riu
Everyting was so organized from the minute we got there.
The food drinks service was spectaculer.. This was or farmost cleanest Resort.
The staff was great we never had any problemes at all.. We met great people whom made our stay so much better. We took a cab to the Marina safe and great and we went to Sammy Hagguar bar , walk back to the Marina and took the bus for a 1$ .. The people were more then helpful to tell us where to go . :) ...We had amirican money but Canadian money was just has good. We could not swim in the ocean took pictures of the crazy waves i get why we can't swim there. we did the Pirate ship that was alot of fun. By this experience the only thing i can say is all the reviews i read everyone would like building 7 I had building 2 .. I was so glad i was close to everything Lobby buffet and a la carte Italian was my favorite the steak Marsala was delicious....
Booking a la carte was easy you can book 2 day in advance.get back to block 7 you are close to the beach and the 3 infiniti pools nights are cold you really need a good sweater because the sun is so hot during the day ..well hope this is helpful this place was great we really loved it ..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearlywolrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Feb 23 -March 2. Our timing was great because the spring breakers came in on the 1st of March and it got a lot busier and loud! The place is beautiful, The staff are so friendly and polite. Food was great, especialy loved the tacos by the pool at lunch time. We ate at the Mexican and Asian restaurants. The views of the water and lovers beach are amazing. We hired Omar a local to take us whale watching and over to lovers beach, We got some cool pictures of a mother whale and her baby jumping out of the water! The workers are constantley cleaning the grounds, everything was imaculate. More bathroom facilities by the pool and beach area would really help out. We stayed in building 4, on the fourth floor and actually could see the water from our balcony. The rooms are really nice and kept very clean. No problems with noise or loud people from our room. We took a taxi into the marina area for supper one night, ate at the office. Wow the food was delicious! It was fun to walk around the marina area and the shops and stores down there too. This is our 12th trip to an all inclusive, if you can't find something good to say about this place, or the people, stay home! We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank absolutemudslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice property but a little odd. There are two primary sections. Building 7 is on the beach, has an elevator, it's own restaurant and pool. The pool area is lively but surprisingly few people on the beach probably because they discourage swimming due to rip tides, although people do go in and also partake of water sports.
The other buildings surround another pool area which is quieter. The a la carte restaurants are pretty good. The buffets are extensive and better than the norm. Even the evening entertainment wasn't bad.
But, two of us got ill. Don't know how, and we don't really blame the hotel, but obviously some bug got ingested. What was really surprising was how noisy the rooms were. We obviously spent more time in bed than normal and you could hear lots of extraneous noise.
Golf is important to some and there is good golf available. The Country Club is very close but you need to take a taxi because there is a highway in the way. $10 trip but if you pay the rack rate for the golf you will be paying too much. You can either negotiate in advance for a discount or use a web booking agency such as ezlinks to get a reduced rate. We paid $80 and were satisfied. We played the Palmilla course as well for $140 and preferred the COuntry Club. As well you need to rent a car to get to Palmilla or a very expensive taxi ride. Anyway, without pre booking or a package, golf in Los Cabos is pricey
.

Room Tip: Building 7 is the ocean view upgrade but a bit of a walk to the main dining room. Also the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M_and_the_Mavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We have been to numerous all inclusive resorts and many Riu resorts and this was not a 5 star resort, 3.5 at best. That being said it was an enjoyable vacation, the weather was more disappointing (see below) than the resort and they have no control over the weather!

Cabo itself in late February is a bad choice to visit unless of course you like to freeze in the morning (cold 50s F) Til about 9-10, and freeze in the evening (after 7pm like low 60s And by 9 pm high 50s). As for the daytime, lots of son, 78-82 F. Cancun, Cozumel, Mayan riviera, Bahamas, Dominican Republic, playa del Carmen, all better choices for February warmth!

Pros: Riu has many choices of food at the Buffets. Rooms are clean and no bugs, staff was very friendly in the restaurants, the chamber maids, and bartenders.
-only went to Asian and Italian ala carte restaurants because reservations were not available unless we ate at 9pm at the others. Asian was good, Italian was great. Many Italian favorites at the appetizer Buffet -minestrone soup, lasagna, spaghetti, cheeses, ceaser salad, numerous other things to eat all excellent, Main course ordered to table-filet mignon was excellent and cooked to liking-med rare perfectly done! Other stuff to order as well but the filet was great.
-great selection of drinks with plenty of alcohol, good domestic selections:Bacardi, Smirnoff, j&b scotch, Tanquery gin. Not top notch but much better than only local boozes!
-3 of the 7 evening shows were great-Michael Jackson, Grease, and another(cant remember)- those we're the shows with the dancers who were probably the best resort dancers we have seen at over 15 all inclusive stays. The regular activities staff shows were kind of lame and the action at the bars was better than the shows they put on.
-Go downtown for an early evening 5pm enjoy the marina in daylight, at sunset, and in the evening. Many great places to eat "ole, ole" great food and view of marina. Markets for local stuff, Cabo Wabo (Sammy Hagars place-was there 2 nites while we were in cabo of course not the 2 nites we went into town!)
-vendors on the beach are willing to barter and have the same stuff with them that you can get at the market in town!

Cons:
-they were unable to keep Buffet stocked at breakfast and lunch. Long lines, empty food stations that took forever to replenish. Food was repetitive from day to day with no real change in selection. Not really set up like other all inclusives, others divide food lines into 2 halves with the same stuff on each half, but here they had one long line from right to left for hot foods with only some stuff repeated at different stations (not sure why but awkwardly like mashed potatoes at 3 of the 4 stations???)
-not enough lounge chairs at the pools. I saw every cold sunrise at 6:00 am to get a place at the pool by the ocean. The back pool was not as bad, but still had to be there by 7:15 or you couldn't get a lounge chair. I have to say, they did pull towels from unattended chairs in the morning if no one was at the chairs, not a bad thing though.....Memo to the morons who put towels on chairs in the am and don't get to them until after lunch time or not at all----stay home, have some consideration for others.
-heated pool was cool 'Til later in the day only because its freezing most of the time (I watched the steam all morning as the sun rose leaving the pool) in am.
- NO Waiter/waitress service at the evening shows. It was difficult to get drinks at the bars as a result, no snack like foods available in evening at bars (unlike most of the other places we have been have had)
-my biggest complaint as a business person who can't stop working was the "free 90 mins of wifi" was only if used continuously! Example check email in am 10 mins. Log out, no more Internet for the day. Log in and stay on for 90 mins no problem. I decided to pay the $75 for unlimited wifi access "throughout the property" needless to say the first day I was there I spent an hour with an offsite person on the phone, who came to resort the next day for an hour to apologize that he couldn't get it to work for me in the room or elsewhere except in the free reception area but unlimited. Oh well.


Summary: resort average nothing spectacular, but not a dive. Go to the yukatan in February if you want warmer weather!


  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spikerbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Santa Fe in early January 2013. This was our first time staying in a Riu. We enjoyed our stay immensily. The staff was great and our room was very nice. We loved the Sports Bar as we were there in NFL Playoff season.

Room Tip: We have a good room overlooking the pool. Building 7 is closer to the beach and more of a part atmo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markushnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,008 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,974 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#33 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
6,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.4 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $191 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing