We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review RIU Santa Fe Los Cobas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Review RIU Santa Fe Los Cobas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Feb 14 - 21, 2013
This was our first experience with a RUI Resort and would book again with them.
The Sun Wing check in process at the Airport was fast and efficient, the quickest I have experienced. The Express check out at the Resort on the last day was appreciated. The Sun Wing Reps were easily / always available for questions.
Hotel / Resort was clean and the landscaping beautiful. The pools / areas were well maintained. The beach was fenced off and you did not get bothered by local vendors. If you want to swim in the Ocean the undertow was strong and we were advised not to swim in the water in front of the resort.
We were in building 6 (conveniently near the main lobby area); the noise was not bad as several reviews said it would be. The rooms were spacious and clean. There was hot water for showers and the beds were comfortable with lots of pillows and blankets. There was only soap and shampoo available in the rooms. The stocked fridge (pop and water) and liquor bar in our room was a nice touch.
We found the General Manger assessable and helpful. Resort Staff friendly and accommodating, the entertainment was good, and we enjoyed the Michael Jackson and Grease shows.
There were plenty of seats in the buffet and restaurant areas. Food okay, (what we expected for a foreign country). The breakfast buffets had a good variety of items. We did miss our Heinz ketchup. Lunch and dinner buffets were much the same each day. We ate at the Mexican, Italian and Steakhouse a la carts and we thought it was good. Restaurant Staff was well trained and pleasant. We found that the bars offered a variety of tropical drinks.
Pool areas had sufficient chairs most days considering the Resort had no vacancies. Guests were not allowed to reserve pool lounge chairs before 8 am and Staff on the resort were policing this.
Most of the excursions were reasonably priced. We went off the resort into Los Cabos shopping, and felt safe and the taxi ride was reasonable priced. Golfing was nearby, but you needed a group to go with as the taxi ride to the courses was pricy.
We did have a few members of our group get sick for 24 – 36 hours; we cannot say for certain it was the food. It might be partially self induced too much fun and sun on the first full day on the Resort.
The weather was prefect at 25 – 27 degrees during the days, but the evenings were cooler and you need a light jacket and pants to watch the evening shows.
Overall a good vacation.

Room Tip: If you like the beach area book building 7, if you prefer closer to the lobby building 5 or 6 is bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,319
    2,893
    1,251
    558
    458
See reviews for
1,649
3,203
127
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We traveled to Cabo with a group of six and joined a group of four who stayed two weeks (ages mid 40s - mid 50s), Feb 14-21.
We stayed in building 7.
We thought the resort was beautiful and the food plentiful, tasty, but a little on the cool side. Could turn up the warmers. We enjoyed all the a la cartes, except the Mexican, and had no trouble booking, we went to all 4 during our week. The concierge in Building 7 is a nice touch and prob worth staying in that building. In the Mexican, we had the Red Snapper and Flank Steak and we all left our plates. Try the fajitas, our friends loved them the week before!
We thought the drinks were awesome, far better than we had in the Riu in Cuba. We had no trouble getting all the drinks we needed, and then some.
The rooms were nice, but the building was noisy. Noisy doors and halls that echoed. And I must agree with some former reviews that said Building 7 had a smell sometimes in the hallways, which I believe was coming from the kitchen below, but we didn't ever notice it in our rooms. We also realized later that we traveled to Cabo during Spring Break and many of the guests were young and there to take full advantage of the all inclusive. Didn't bother me, but some would want to avoid that.
We traveled by water taxi to Lover's Beach, a must do.
We parasailed, fun!
We took the bus to town and enjoyed the shopping and lunch at Cabo Wabo. And we walked to Walmart. Busy highway, not sure I would walk again.
Took the Sunwing Pub Crawl, and although we were well above the average age onboard, still had fun, well most of us!
The sand on the beach is very, very rough but the views are awesome and we love to sit near the vendors, we were down there a couple of days.
We did go in the water, although you are warned against it. There is a sharp drop off and strong undertow, but I think much worse other times of the year.
I was a bit annoyed with the wifi in the lobby. The resort is very large, so after walking to the lobby to get wifi you want it to work. You could only sign in 24 hours after your last session, It was down lots and when it was working it would drop the connection lots, causing my imessage's to turn to texts so I am not looking forward to my phone bill. In the Riu at Mazatlan it was free anytime in the lobby and that is so much more convenient.
You can't beat the views from the resort and there is always someone cleaning.
A few of us ended up sick our last day, and it seemed something was going around there, but one never knows what is making you sick. I hope the bug moves on soon as it certainly sours a vacation.
I would recommend this resort to my closest friends and would return. I think that is the highlights. Wish I was still there!! Enjoy and if you have any questions, fire away!! Oh, and it was chilly at night. Take a warm sweater and I wore pants at night

Room Tip: We liked the location of 7, but it was a bit noisy, but I think most of the rooms would be. 4 or 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskgal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is large, beautiful and spotlessly clean. Pleasant employes many of whom speak little
English. They have two infinity pools one of which is heated. Food is only fair and I like Mexican food. They have buffet breakfast and lunch. For supper you can eat in the buffet or you can make reservations in one of four restaurants. Unfortunately you must go early in the AM to get in line to make reservations for the next night. You cannot make reservations for more than two days in advance. Needless to say this is a major inconvinience. Wifi broke down for three days with no explanation and that includes those who paid 15.00 US dollars a day. To top off the vacation Apple was allegedly there to help us 24/7 did little more than sell tours at a price higher than one could get for himself. And finally when Apple told us we would be picked up 4:25AM on Monday AM for transfer to the airport. By 5:AM no apple bus so we tried to call all the numbers they gave us but either no answer or a machine. This resulted in $150 taxi to the airport. So Riu 3 stars Apple 0 stars. Quess who won't be using Apple again.

Room Tip: Try to pick a building that has an elevator. I am aware of only 1 building that has one. Carrying L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went down for a wedding with about 30 other people....almost everyone ended up getting sick, to the point of one of the groomsmen almost collapsing during the ceremony. There is absolutely no toiletries in the rooms so make sure you bring your own shampoo and conditioner. Our tequila bottle stayed empty in our room for the whole stay.....we left a tip on our pillow every morning for the people who cleaned our rooms (which were not cleaned very well at all) and one morning we came back and the tip was gone but our room was not touched (not cool). We actually had to go up to the front desk to ask for toilet paper because they didn't replenish it. The entertainment was repetitive and only had a couple of good show's for the whole week. The scenery was beautiful and they did take very good care of the grounds. The food was horrible, the room cleaning was horrible, and the fact that so many people got sick was horrible....I would never stay here again and would defiantly never recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

the resort was very clean, people were hospitable and location great but the food was dangerous. My son 19 yrs old was hospitalized for food poisoning in San Lucas. he was out of it for a few days + $ 3000 later of hospital bills. it was a scary experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was here in March 2012 the staff were awesome, food was good, and they put up with a lot! We were there with a group of 30 for a wedding, everything went off perfectly without a hitch! The pools are to die for and the view is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryCuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Santa Fe from Feb 10th th Feb17th
We were in building 7
The first 3 days were good, but then we all (4 of us) got violently ill ! We were in our rooms for 3 days throwing up !-
Lots of people were getting sick, So I talked to the Sunwing Rep(Julie from building 7 ) on Thursday, to Change Hotels, and she made it almost impossible to do,so we ended up staying
in the Hotel .- She actually told us word for word, people get sick here all the time and they aren't changing hotels, so what's the problem. As well as that we need to adjust to the food.

There was no room service, and had to call the from desk 3 times for water !
We tried to get the front desk to call the in house Doctor, and they gave us the number and told us to call ourselves (and then charged us for the calls)
I broke a glass on the floor at late at night ( not drunk, because I was sick), and called to have someone clean it up, and no answer over and over again ! so my BF had to walk to the front desk (sick) to get someone to come to the room ! ( 10 min walk)
The bedsheets the had mold on them ( I have pics)
There was no amenities in the room, so bring your own everything (even Lotion and conditioner)- No ropes or slippers in the ocean view room
Building 7 was the best building to be in , and the pools were great, but if you want more than nice pools and clean grounds , go somewhere else !
The so called snack bar consisted of Hamburgers and few sandwiches in a fridge ,Hotdogs and nachos and cheese (not what I would call a snack bar)
Okay maybe thats okay for 1-5 am at night but after 10pm, that was your only option.
I see some of the reviews say you can use the Hot tubs in the spa... well you can as long as you have an appointment to do so, unless you sneak past the front desk ( they are free)

Yes, people get sick on Vacation, but the way it was dealt with was awful. The manager insisted no one was getting sick, yet I met so many people that were getting sick. They only put out hand sanitizer in the buffet on thursday night after people were getting sick, but apparently according to the manager no one was sick?
Location was really great though, just be very careful with the food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.8 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#18 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,260 reviews
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
16.0 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing