We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No worries”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
MN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“No worries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

We stayed at the Riu 2/14 to 2/19. Check in took a bit longer than it should have, but we were in no hurry and they were friendly so we just relaxed with our welcome punch. People who get all fired up about things like waiting a few extra minutes are probably the people who are never satisfied and always complaining about the little things. The hotel is beautiful. Everything is new and very clean. There is always staff wiping, mopping, dusting, etc. everywhere you look. Always smiling with a greeting. Our room was two double beds pushed together for 3 girls. No problem for us, but we said if two couples were sharing a room you might be a little too close! The restaurants have a large selection of food. Not gourmet food by any means, but a person should be able to find a few favorites every meal. The drinks were pretty good too. You can request it the way you want it so if it is not strong enough they will add, or too strong they will fix it. If you are a wine drinker, which I am, don't plan on drinking the wine, it is horrible. There is not a lack of pools chairs which I have found at some resorts wherein people get up at the crack of dawn and save their chairs. There are plenty of chairs here. The beach is not a swimming beach so the pool is where most people are, but they do set up loungers on the beach. The weather during the day was perfect, but it did get chilly at night so bring a wrap or jacket. I stayed at the Riu Palace in Playa last year which was more expensive than the Santa Fe, and must say not all that different besides the specialty restaurants. I'm guessing this has to do with the fact that the Santa Fe is brand new so everything still is in great condition. You get what you pay for here. It is a moderate priced place so I felt like we were very satisfied with what we got.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — No swimming beach
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank St.PaulieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,330
    2,924
    1,268
    570
    469
See reviews for
1,679
3,237
127
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

This was our 6th trip to Mexico, all different cities and hotels and the riu sante fe was the best so far.
The food was fabulous, we ate at each of the reservation restaurants (except for the Italian-per previous bad reviews) and they were all terrific.
The pools were kind of cold and the sea was freezing but very beautiful. Make sure you take a water taxi to Lover's beach-it was breath taking. We saw dozens of sea lions, cool tropical fish, and a couple of whales while there.
All of the bars had name brand liquor (j.d., absolut, etc...) and the bartenders were terrific.
Our room, the grounds, the lobby, and pools were all very clean and well maintained.
We were there 7 days and it was pretty much 80 degrees and sunny every day. The nights were way colder than we expected (although we were warned on this site) we're from Minnesota and we were cold...next time, I'm bringing more hoodies.
Cabo is a short bus ride away and a $10 cab back. Can't really speak on the night life because we brought our 9 year old. There was plenty for him to do-ceramic painting and swimming. The guy that cleaned our room was especially nice as he made different towel animals every day for the kid.
We got a really good deal and will come back for sure.

  • Liked — the food was great
  • Disliked — everything was great
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank Minnesota1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

Stayed at the Riu Santa Fe from Feb. 8 to Feb. 15. Did lots of research beforehand and had stayed with Riu several times before (in Playa del Carmen and Jamaica). Can't say the Santa Fe stood up well to previous stays. Food was nothing special at all. Specialty restaurants were okay, but food could be cold. Breakfast was a disappointment - generally, it can be and is one of the best meals at an all inclusive - this one was not. The weather was very cool at night - this was a drawback, but it comes with the territory at this time of year.

Resort is sort of disjointed. Building 7 is huge and is almost its own destination. Had they served breakfast at the restaurant poolside, you wouldn't need to see the rest of the resort - ever. The rest of the resort is off the beach and behind the Palace.

Like others have written, the pools were cold, the grounds were nice and the drunks were rowdy at times - too much for kids. I felt sorry for those with older youngsters - (10 - 13 yrs. old) who were exposed to a bit more than they should see and hear. Weird mixture of singles, couples and families will produce that.

Would I go again - no, Why? Not crazy about Cabo - like a mini Cancun in the Desert. Too much America, not enough Mexico. Some of the restaurants in town were ridiculously expensive (Lorenzillo's, Edith) and the food and quality did not justify the price. Duty free shopping was sub par and there were no deals that couldn't have been bettered by shopping on-line and out of state (no sales taxes) in the US. Its a beautiful area, a beautiful resort, but it lacks something and I can't put a finger on it. I've just had better holidays elsewhere. Riu Santa Fe was a good buy, pricewise, but you did get what you paid for - little pampering and lots of do it yourself.

If you're curious about Cabo, want a good buy on an all inclusive and are willing to sacrifice some Mexican ambience, try it. You might like it or you might not, but you won't feel like you overspent at this particular resort.

  • Liked — New - well kept, great beach location
  • Disliked — Food - reservation system, rowdy drunks........
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank Mayan_Rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Mb. Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

This property is new, quite large, very nice! Good location,
great food, even ala carte restaurants were good, buffet was
very good, lots of selection, and they had seafood too!
The bars had a good selection, martini bar made a "to die for
chocolate martini". Sports bar was fun.
Beach location good, cost $3.00/each way for a water taxi.
The staff really try hard to please everyone, and our group would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — good location,
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank CabosCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

We stayed at the Riu Santa Fe from 2/8 til 2/17. We had a great time. I have stayed at about 5 or 6 different all-inclusives in Mexico and Punta Cana and found them all to be pretty similar. I guess each has its good and bad points. Same case with Riu Santa Fe.
Good Points: Grounds are beautiful. Rooms were clean and new. Most of the workers were friendly and helpful. Pools are beautiful. Location was great, as was the view from the ocean pool/deck area. I think the resort was a nice size. Big enough to offer plenty of restaurants and bars, but not too large to navigate. We did not find it to be too much walking at all. Some resorts that we have stayed (Occidental Grand Xcaret, near Playa Del Carmen and Melia in Punta Cana) was larger and involved more walking I think.
Bad Ponts: I thought the pools were too cold. I never really got past just hanging my feet in. We sat by the ocean pool every day, so I can't really say how the other pools are. Reservation system is a little crazy and too much trouble for speciality dining that wasn't all that special. Not enough bathrooms by the pool areas.
Other Ponts: Food is okay. I was never hungry but also not very excited about the food. It does get boring quickly. We went into Cabo 3 out of 9 nights and really enjoyed those meals at Cabo Wabo, Lorenzillos and Hard Rock. Enjoyed walking around downtown and stopping for drinks in the little bars. We went to Lovers Beach and whale watching and that was great. We went to Wild Canyon for zip lining and loved it! Weather was beautiful during the day, sunny and warm and no rain or clouds. Evenings were really cool I thought and most everything is outdoors (entertainment and most bars). Entertainment is okay, some of it was enjoyable, but a lot was not worth staying very long for. Met a lot of great people there and most everyone seemed happy. There are always a few people that seem to look for things to complain about. We did walk over to the Palace and I was not impressed. The pool area seemed a little run down and maybe could used a little maintenance and cleaning. Although their gardens and grounds were prettier because the plants were more mature. Did not see any rooms there though.The lunch buffet looked about the same as Santa Fe. The man checking in before us was moved to the Palace to accommodate his ocean view room reservation and then after lookng around over there, I would have been upset if the same thing had happened to us. You can easily turn your arm band around and walk over there to eat if you like. Another couple we met had done that and said the food was the same at the dinner buffet as well.
All in All it was a great trip. It was our first trip to Cabo and we will return again!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
26 Thank diane614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

After reading the reviews, we were also a little nervous. We have traveled a great deal in Mexico and always at all inclusives. The Riu Santa Fe was not the best, but not the worst. When you leave 3 to 4 feet of snow on your deck at home. You go to relax and enjoy the sun. I recommend doing just that, and don't expect to be lavished in luxury, you probably didn't pay enough to get that if you came here. Our biggest complaint was lack of sleep due to noise from party people (which we aren't) we were in building number 1 on the ground floor. Great access to everything, near the main pool and front lobby. An upper floor might be quieter than a ground floor. But when you have "all you can drink" 24/7 some people are going to do just that. Deal with it or pay more and rent a private home and wait on yourself. Would go back to Cabo, probably not here. San Jose is a quieter area for relaxing and would recommend it for more quiet time. Food was buffet, nobody got sick or went hungry, Eat a larger breakfast (it is the best meal) then enjoy and pick the other. Theme resturaunts are not worth the time or effort.

  • Liked — Very clean grounds good staff
  • Disliked — The noise and the over drinkers
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Plumbandheatfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at The Santa Fe the 1st week of Feb/08. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous and always immaculate.
Arrival; No problems - Just remember as stated in many reviews, go directly outside to catch your transfer - to avoid the timeshare people. Once on our bus - (Sunquest Tours) , we received our bracelets. We arrived at the hotel at 11:45, rec'd our envelope with towel cards and hotel information. Our room wasn't ready, so we changed into our bathing suits, and had lunch and headed to the pool and bar. We got our room keys by 2pm.(they only give you 1 key, just ask for more)
Room; We were in building 4 on the first floor. Very cental location to the beach & restaurants, we didn't find that it was too much walking at all, actually enjoyed it. Bar fridge stocked daily with 6 corona, water, sprite, and coke. Beds were comfy, large bathroom , no complaints.
Pools; were refreshing.Swimup bars- tons of fun, met lots of great people, wonderful service, good music, - bring insulated mugs.
Food; Baja California- is the main buffet restaurant. Open for breakfast and dinner. Lots of choices, not gourment , but always found something, Breakfast always delicious.
Italian- didn't like it at all, limited choices, food cold
Steak House; Excellent , wonderful service, - salad and appetizer is buffet, meal is served ,choice of steak, or chicken, maybe ribs?
We didn't try the Mexican or Asian .
Beach- very hard to walk on, lots of vendors, but the scenery is absolutely gorgeous.
The staff are always trying to please here, if you need something, just ask.
We went snorkeling with Pez Gato, saw lots of whales, the arch, went to Santa Maria Bay to snorkel, highly recommend them , loads of fun. We also went deep sea fishing and were lucky to catch and realease an 8 ft marlin. Enjoyed Cabo Wabo, and bars near the marina,
We took cabs into town- $10.00, took the bus once - really cheap.
Also did the go-carts near the hotel- what a blast!
Have fun, enjoy the Santa Fe- we sure did! We will be back to Cabo for sure, its amazing!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
28 Thank catcharay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.8 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,414 reviews
16.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,210 reviews
18.8 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
16.0 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing