We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxing property, gorgeous views and perfect pools.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing property, gorgeous views and perfect pools.”
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Stay for 5 days with my wife last week. The property is very quiet, but they have a bus that will transfer you to their sister property at the much livlier Marina. The bus departs every two hours. We booked an all-inclusive trip and felt like it was worth the money. We ate most meals at the resort, and took the bus to the Marina a few times to have a meal and grab a drink.
Everyone is very friendly, we did not participate in the Time Share Presentation and didn't at all feel that we were overly pressured to do so. We had a master suite in phase II, and it was enourmous, way too big for two people, but it sure was nice, we did have an oceanview, in phase II, all rooms above the second floor are oceanview.
I read alot of people complaining on here about having to ride the golf cart to different parts of the resort...unless you are morbidly obese or have a handicap there really is no reason at all for a golf cart ride to any part of the property, it is not difficult to get around.
The views are amazing, right on the cliff. We could see whales surfacing from the infinity pool in phase I.
I would recommend Hacienda Encantada to EVERYONE. If we ever get back to Cabo, there is nowhere else we would choose.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HendoNCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    749
    204
    93
    101
See reviews for
1,053
1,280
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (857)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We purchased a timeshare here in December 2008, every other year so this was our
first year using our week. What attracted us to this resort was the beautiful view of the ocean and Los Arcos as well as the hacienda architecture of the resort. It is top notch in
our opinion. We came back last year to look around and were a little disappointed that the road off the highway still wasn't paved but when you get up to the resort your forget about it. They are working on the road now and hopefully it will be done soon. Our room was a studio on the 4th floor in Phase 1. We had two queen beds but kings are available. The view from our large balcony was spectacular. The room had a large refrigerator, microwave, 2 burner stove and every appliance we needed. The bathroom had double sinks and a huge tile shower with a rain showerhead. It also had a jucuzzi tub with stain glass windows that could be open to the rest of the room. They have free Wi-Fi in the room which is a big plus. They have a nice fitness room which will be relocated to the top of the hill but it was still very nice and we used it every day. There is a shuttle that takes you down to Marina Fiesta and they say there is no charge to owners. We were told you should have that written in your contract as they could possibly start charging owners to use it. There is free parking if you rent a car. The staff there is very friendly and helpful. Since this resort is built on a hill they have gas powered golf carts to take you wherever you want to go. There are two beautiful pools, one in front of each building. We had dinner at one of the restaurants on site and we were very pleased with what we had. We rented a car this time but may not next time, use the shuttle to get to town and a taxi to get groceries at WalMart. We' ended up upgrading to a fixed unit in Phase 1 and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This was our first trip to Cabo...we usually vacation in the Carribean. I will say, for half the price of going to the Carribean, this was an excellent value. We only had 6 days to vacation and didn't want to make the trip from Seattle to Carribean for that short of a vacation...so we thought we would try out Cabo. We loved Cabo and can't wait to go back. Our expectations for vacation is RELAXATION, good service, mindless travel, nice accomodations, ocean view is a must and we preffer all inclusive (again, so we don't have to deal with $$ on vacation.) Now, the nitty gritty review:

We booked through expedia--included our shuttle (to and from the airport), stay at HE, flight and it was All Inclusive.

Trip from the airport was easy. We arrived at HE in the evening-the lobby was beautiful and the staff were welcoming. We were escorted to our room on the top floor of Phase 2. We had a 1 bedroom. It was too big for two people on the all inclusive package as we didn't touch the kitchen or the second shower, etc. A Studio would have been plenty of space. Regardless, it was a beautiful room with all of the fancies...jetted tub, walk in stone shower, huge balcony overlooking a full view of the Sea of Cortez and the "rocks" and vaulted ceilings. So all in all, the review for acoomodations = two thumbs up.

Next morning -- we did the time share breakfast. They were really nice and we felt no pressure to buy. We skipped out of there with half priced booze cruise and dining credit for restaurants in town...it was worth it...just be prepared to say no and get out of there asap to get back to enjoying your vacation.

Food - If we were not on the all inclusive plan I would have been pissed about the price of food. There is one nice restaurant that had ok food and there is a little cafe by the pool (which isn't open for dinner.) This is where we would go for lunch...sushi bar and tacos were the best!! The service is slower than our typical american restaurants--but hey, you are on vacation...where are you going in a hurry? A couple times we were actually in a hurry to grab a bite and run to the next activity and we told them in advance to speed it up. They did. I can't stress how much the (dinner) food is NOT worth the price if you were not AI. If you were not all inclusive--you have a full kitchen in your room, so you can head to Costco to cook..but again, you are on vacation...why are you shopping at costco and cooking your meals!? Maybe if you had a big group..? Definatly not our style.
The golf carts that roam around the property pickjing up guests that can't/don't want to make it up the hills are loud, but they certainly did not affect our trip. Oh yeah, this place is built on a hill, so you better like walking up them unless you want to wait for a golf cart to come get you. We are young athletic folks, so we took it as an opportunity to walk off the calories from all the margaritas from the night before.

Nightlife - if you are looking for nightlife, you need to head to town or stay closer to town. There is nothing going on at HE. HE is abot 4 miles away from town and it is an easy and cheap (or complimentary if you are all inclusive) shuttle/taxi ride away. Town was fun--we went to many of the hot spots...felt safe and had a great time. We went on a cruise for my birthday--it was fun and got to see the sunset over the famous rocks. The Princessa I think was the name of the boat. Chilly after the sun went down though...they have blankets. We loved being outside of town to relax and have luxurious accomodations but then only being a shuttle ride away from the madness of town. If you want to be right in the action--this place is not for you.

Spa - great massages...they have a small spa right now, but they said the huge spa being built will be done summer of 2011. Can't wait to go back and check it out.

Gym - witht he all inclusive plan you need to attend a gym--as you will eat and drink more than you would normally. Gym was nice, small but all nice equiptment.

Pools - We have never vacationed at a resort (togethere) where they allowed kids. I am not going to lie, I was very worried about this as I really don't like children when I am on vacation. There is a great unwritten rule that the kids are up and the upper pool out of ear shot from the adults with out kids that just want to relax. The bottom (infinity) pools are awesome. Swim up bar has heated water--so great place to hang while watching the sunset. Never had an issue getting a chair to sun tan at any time of the day (unlike other resorts we have been to.) Oh, there is a teeny tiny beach you can walk down to. If you are looking for a larger beach you need to find a resort just north of ours--those resorts had great beaches. (still can't swim in the water though.) Fine by me...I like looking at the ocean, not being in it, so our resort was perfect for me.

Service - overall, not amazing...but good enough. We are used to over-the-top service and cuisine in the Carribean. That said, for half the price, absolutly worth every penny.

OVERALL - we had an amazing vacation and have already booked our trip back to Cabo for a quick getaway in the spring. HE just needs some fine tuning, but if you don't sweat the little things, you will have a great vacation. We are a laid back couple looking just looking to go pass out on a beach and soak up some rays with a margarita in hand. It was a great resort for doing just that!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EarthOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

My friends and I visited this resort to celebrate our 40th birthdays. Our room, 2 queen beds and a kitchenette, was very spacious and clean, the room was located in phase II and the view from our room, #3254, was Spectacular, we slept with the door open every night to hear the waves. We bought the all-inclusive package and definitely got our money's worth. The breakfast buffet and omelet station were Excellent. The food at Maria's and the pool restaurant was great ,such a large selection, the guacamole, fish/shrimp tacos, nachos and Sushi, etc. If I were to make any suggestions, it would be to improve the dessert selections at the restaurant, none of them tasted very good at all, the pistachio ice cream was very good but that was about it. The service at the pool was excellent, Martha and Greg, were so attentive and a pleasure; along with the rest of the staff the service exceeded our expectations. They are adding on to the resort and the construction is not even noticeable. The spa services were very good, we had the swedish massage(massage was included with purchase of the all-inclusive package) and pedicure, my technician for both was Melissa and she was very professional, efficient and knows how to give a very good massage.
We used the fitness center every day and the equipment was top of the line and there was quite a variety of both cardio. and weight training equipment. The pools were beautiful, swim-up bars, the infinity pool had the best view, laying on a lounge chair on the sandy cliff watching the whales was ideal.
The ride to and from town was a breeze and cost $20USD each way($5/person) via taxi, we never used the hotel shuttle. We visited town 2 times, one for dinner the first night and the 2nd time was to shop and have lunch, no issues either time. The area was safe and the people were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillydog331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We will never stay here again. Let's see....the shower was broken (it wouldn't turn off and it alternated between warm and scalding hot water), the toilet leaked all over the bathroom floor, the lights didn't work if the door is open, you have to valet your car, you have to take shuttles to and from your room, you can't have any outside food or beverages at the pools (even if you purchase them at the hotel mini marts. The towels in the rooms were in shreds and they use the same bath towels out by the pools. Oh, and you are only allowed one towel at the pool. If you don't bring it back, you're charged $25. And...you are only allowed one hotel room key per person. I asked for one more, so I could put it in my beach bag. No deal, no way.

We moved to the Hacienda Encantada after staying a glorious week at the Hilton Los Cabos. We thought we would try a few days somewhere new. Like I said, NEVER AGAIN! The HILTON LOS CABOS is hands above this place.

No cash is allowed at the resort. Everything must be charged.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swertfager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

It is about a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport (we used Cielito Lindo for our transfers, and they are really GREAT!!). You definitely want to bring your own coffee, water, snacks. There is a nice ‘mini kitchen’ with a two burner electric stove, microwave, full size fridge/freezer and coffee pot.

We were in a studio unit. It had a nice view of the infinity edge pool and the swim up bar. There was also a peek view of the ocean. Beds were comfy. The clock radio was horrible… two employees later, no one could figure out how to set it, so we had to use our cell phone as our clock (we requested another clock, but it never arrived).

Check in was brutal! The line moves SLOWLY, since there are only three employees to do check-in’s. Fortunately, as you are standing in line, a waiter comes around with margaritas and bottled water (free except for a tip). Also, we met the nicest people in line and ended up having dinner with them! So, even though the line was awful, we ended up having a lot of fun with new friends and margaritas!

After check-in, the hard pressure time share presentaion sales people attack! This was a mom/daughter trip and we left the husbands at home. Typically, if you are married, both spouses must be available or you are not allowed to do a time share presentation. The attack sharks here said that missing spouses were not a problem, and were relentless. We finally had to get a bit gruff and told her to flat out, leave us alone. She was truly like a pit bull on our pant leg, but the bellman, saved us!

Other than a very rare seafood buffet, your ONLY choice for dinner, at the hotel, is Maria’s. We each had ‘Tres Enchilladas’, NO cocktails, ice cream for dessert and our bill was $50! The waiter made a mistake and brought us another tables appetizer. We did not know that this had happened (thought that the appetizer which was chips/salsa/guacamole was complimentary) until our bill arrived. This mistake (clearly NOT our fault) cost us $10.00 . The waiter did not speak enough English to make him understand that we had been wrongly charged, so we ended up being frustrated, but just paid it and went on with our evening.

Be prepared for VERY slow service. This comment is not intended as a negative; just a warning for all of my fellow Americans who are always in a hurry. The Mexican culture is so, so, so friendly, but it is just their culture not to rush and hurry, when dining. Often times, in Mexico, we have had to ask for our check, since the waiter/waitress does not want to make you feel rushed.

Overall, Hacienda Encantada is lovely. The pools are gorgeous, the setting is spectacular and the rooms are spacious. Also, since this is a timeshare, many of the guests that you meet, are owners and there is a very friendly ’vibe’ throughout.

The All Inclusive package is $85 per person (when you book at check in and they will throw in an 80 min. massage!), and normally, I am a big fan of A.I. packages; however, with only one restaurant at night to select from, it would be easy to get bored with your food choices.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TACOMA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

This was the worst vacation experience ever. Let me start by saying it took FOUR days for the Hacienda Encantada to confirm our reservations. That should have been my warning. Unfortunately things only got worse from there. We were given a studio room in the ‘phase one’ of their property. In this particular room the blender didn’t work, the tv remote didn’t work, the patio door wouldn’t open and the coffee maker was broken as well. We didn’t realize the coffee maker was broken until the next morning when we tried to use it. The filter basket that holds the filter and coffee would not close all the way. As I was standing there the filter basket swung open and the scalding hot water (that was supposed to drip into the coffee pot) sprayed out the top and burned my right forearm. I sustained 5 2nd degree burns to my right arm… and this was DAY ONE! We went to the lobby and requested a different room & the concierge took pictures of my burns which were blistering and horrible looking. The second room (in Phase 2) was better except for the fact that in the room next door were 2 kids that screamed from 6:45 am until they went to bed. Once that family left, another couple with their two kids arrived. Same thing. Kids crying and screaming all day from the crack of dawn. I truly felt like I was at a motel 6.
We purchased groceries at walmart. The bellboy that helped us move from the first room to the second room, dropped our grocery bag, breaking a glass jar of salsa that we had just purchased. Now I understand that a jar of salsa is not that big of a deal, however, one would think that the bell boy would have offered to pay for it (since he dropped it) or at least get us some from the restaurant. But no, he did nothing to compensate us.
The nightly entertainment was a huge joke. There is absolutely nothing to do at the hacienda encantada in the evening. If you go for a walk (which we love to do) you can either go down to the cliffs and just sit, or walk up the hill and do the same…… sit. It’s dark, not lit up, and down right creepy.
If walking is difficulty for you, they have motorized trams. However, they are very loud and the exhaust fumes smell awful. The trams sound exactly like lawnmowers…. All day, all night, all you hear is the sound of lawnmowers……
The restaurant, Maria’s, provides a poor excuse for food. Besides being overpriced, the food is terrible. Let me tell you about our experience.. The night we chose to eat there their special was “all you can eat Chinese buffet”. not a single person was eating from the buffet and the reason is obvious. Gross. They had a nice looking fruit salad with apples, pineapple, mango etc…… and (are you sitting down??) they mixed SHRIMP into the fruit salad. First of all, that is extremely dangerous, not to mention unacceptable.
Since this is a Mexican restaurant, you would expect tortilla chips and salsa, right? This place gave us a basket of stale bread rolls and little pats of frozen butter. What the…..?
Then they brought out the tortilla soup that I ordered. No joke…… it was a bowl of enchilada sauce. I guess they think that if they feed people in the dark they wont know what they are eating. It was so awful I had the waiter take it back.
Like I mentioned, the restaurant is very dark. It was so dimly lit that a little older woman, in her 70’s, tripped over a step that wasn’t lit and fell face first onto the concrete floor and dislocated her left shoulder. What did the staff do??? Absolutely nothing. Luckily there were two other people and myself in the restaurant to help her up and get her arm into a make-shift sling that we made out of a table cloth.
After that drama, we sat down to eat. I ordered the chicken fajitas. At least half the chicken was fat and grizzle that I had to spit out. Needless to say we were quite disgusted with the experience at Maria’s.
The Hacienda Encantada provides soda and water in your room for a STEEP price. DON’T DRINK ANY or you will be paying $3.00 for a small bottle of water. You should also know that ‘someone’ (it was a man) comes into your room during the day to take a count of the soda and water that you have consumed so they can charge your account. The fact that a stranger comes into the room to count soda cans is beyond maddening.
I hope I haven’t bored you too much because there’s a lot more to tell.

STAY AWAY from the time share salesmen. This place is not worth your time, effort or money. It doesn’t matter what they offer or how good it sounds, DON’T BUY at the Hacienda Encantada.
There is absolutely no beach access. There are cliffs and rocks. No blue water to play and splash around in. if you do decide to climb the rocks be careful. They have made no effort to make it safe.
One night they had a ‘welcome guest’ party. They provided enough food for about half the guests. We waited an hour for someone to bring more food, which never showed up, and ended up just going back to our room.
In summary, the HACIENDA ENCANTADA is not worth your time and money. Your vacation will be filled with regret and frustration. Just avoid this resort at all costs. There are plenty of other higher quality resorts in cabo. Go somewhere else and enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hispuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.6 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,204 reviews
3.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
899 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,755 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
4.3 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences

Property: Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular Contemporary Hacienda style Luxury All Inclusive resort located on the Tourist Corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican Hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing