We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is the place to go.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is the place to go.”
Reviewed March 21, 2009

For us, this was the perfect vacation. The rooms are beautifully appointed and clean, the beds are comfortable. Yes, as you will read in other reviews, the check in is a bit slow, but have a mamosa or 2 and chill. Most of the staff was exceptional. Very friendly and always willing to help. Kindness is always returned. We can't say enough about Las Marias, the restaurant up on the hill. The food was really good and the staff was great. We are owners at H.E. Last year we purchased only every other year there, but after our stay this year, we are now owners of 1 week every year. We love the view..especially from Las Marias...it was wonderful to sit and watch the whales! Can't wait until next year!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank twozit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    732
    195
    91
    97
See reviews for
953
1,239
41
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2009

customer service, it might be more important then the property itself, too bad this resort doesn't know what it is. if you don't mind being harassed by timeshare salesmen, staying in a room that has at least 5 things wrong with it, or receiving the worst service you can imagine, then the hacienda encantada is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flopez5490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a week long stay at H.E. We are somewhat picky about where we stay and this place meets our requirements. Staff is amazing. Just remember -- you get what you give. If you are nice to them and take care of them, they take care of you. If you are rude and arrogant, then you will be treated the same. Other reviews complained about check-in/out. It does take a while, but they are still building and the lobby is make-shift. My advice, drink the mimosas and chill. And check out on Friday night!
We are owners and stayed in Phase II. It wasn't ideal, but we could still see the ocean and the Phase II pool is almost always empty. Make friends with the people in Phase I and they might save you a seat at the pool. Worst case scenario, you have to sit at the pool bar and talk with Daniel. Take care of him and he'll take care of you.
Secret Happy Hour notes:
1:00-2:00 Phase I pool -- 2-for-1 DRINK OF THE DAY
3:00-4:00 Phase II pool -- 2-for-1 Anything
4:00-5:00 Phase I pool -- 2-for-1 Anything
Love this place and can't wait to go back. When you go to town eat at Edith's! Spendy, but worth it. Please email me with ANY questions -- rog@elitepromo.com

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hacienda Encantada for our honeymoon and we can't say enough good things about it! We're not members, we merely stayed as guests, but were treated like royalty nonetheless. We booked the honeymoon package online and were impressed with the photos but nothing compares to seeing this place in person! The hotel was beautifully decorated and was the cleanest hotel weve ever stayed in. The staff was very friendly, the food was great, and the view from our room was amazing! The hotel is only about 10-15 minutes from downtown and they have hourly shuttles taking its guests into town. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a great Cabo experience. We had an amazing time!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichelleSD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Check in was a 45 minute wait in line. Check out was a 1:10 hour wait in line. Service checking in and out was slow and under staffed. Rooms in phase 2 have no view. We were in room 3275 (If you get this room you will not have a view -and if your room is close to this room you will not have a view) Moved to Phase 1 (Nice views from here) Spa is a hotel room converted into two small rooms for massage. I would not call this a spa. Go to Cabo! City is great, skip this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrsiatianChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Be very aware of buying anything from this group. They pulled the bait and switch on us. Sold us 40 weeks and claim it is only worth 20 weeks. They will not return phone calls or answer emails. The booking group confirms that it is a contract for 40 weeks but Hacienda will not directly respond. There are many other honest places to buy and staty. Please be very cautious of there sales pitch.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank tiredofbunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego,CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed Feb 7 thru 14th and stayed in Phase II, one bedroom. My husband and 13 and 9 year olds just can't wait to come back. We were on the top floor and had the most amazing views to the ocean-- lower phase II rooms views are blocked by Phase I. I don't recommend 1st floor in any phase since you'll hear the morning cleaning crew at the pool about 630a. Phase II is located near Phase III contruction but since the framework and exterior of the building are complete, there is minimal noise mostly from an occassional tile saw in the distance.

The staff was wonderfully attentive. The onsite market was reasonably priced-- you are a captive customer but when compared to prices at other resorts (and we did visit two other hotel/timeshare mini-markets), these prices were at most 20 pesos (or $1.30) above Walmart for key things like coffee and milk and bread, etc. Food there was good but great items were the pool bar's chicken kabobs and the main restaurant's tortilla soup. The kids enjoyed the hamburgers... I do not recommend the ceaser salad as the dressing was unpalatable unless you like extra fishy dressing. At the Phase II pool bar, I have to give a shout-out to Alejandro. He prepared the best Michilada--basically a local drink made with beer similiar to a bloody mary. Alejandro's version was called a Cuban Beer that no one else could duplicate and I miss having it in my hand now.

It was our first trip to Cabo and we visited many other resorts but we agree that location (both view and proximity to Walmart, Costco, and Downtown) were hard to match. Some of the other larger resorts like Westin and One and Only were lovely but really very remote and we wouldn't consider going there (unless it was nearly free!). Due to the location, you'll still get to see full sunsets where other resorts further down the tourist corridor don't since they face more south or east. The stature of the resort even when complete will be boutique-like compared to the monster resorts like Sheraton and other places.

We exchanged our timeshare to this location and will request again we like it sooooo much. At checkin we agreed to the $7/day service assessment . I went so far as to ask staff their thoughts on the $7--- since I"ve been to other resorts in the world that do this and the staff intended to receive it didn't even know about it. Any staff I asked said that the owner not only distributed all $$ monthly and kept none but that the owner also matched it so that the distribution pot actualy worked out to be $14/day. This $7 does not include valet or wait staff. We didn't stop at the $7.day... really, who could get away that cheap!!... hand over a few more pesos for people who are really making it special for you.

We did attend the timeshare presenation becz we liked the place so much but resale is a 10th of the price after looking online so we declined. Internet was free but, weirly enough, hotmail and gmail were blocked and no one at the front desk could explain why, correct, or give us access. Although email access was blocked when using the laptop, my iPhone did get my gmails without problems. They don't have a business center but were very generous and didn't charge when we requested copies of some documents.

We rented a car from a local place called Turimaz at the airport which had the best overall deal. Becz we're fair skinned, we had to look for things to do alternate to pool days. Driving and parking everywhere is easy-- getting past entry guards at other resorts needed some creative interaction. We even found the local animal shelter and donated time and food there. I highly recommend a trip up the coast to Todos Santos (tour buses will also take you there). After dusk, avoid driving anywhere but the tourist corridior--free range cattle is everywhere and according to locals the main cause of road accidents. The tourist corridor has frencing so that's why that area is safer to drive.

Downtown, eat at Gordo LeLe for best tacos, Senor Sweets for best breakfast, continental Mexican, and dessert, The Office for dinner. All easy to find. In Todos Santos (an artsy town without timeshares or heavy street vendors) eat at restaurant across the road from Hotel California- famous for Shrimp Renellos.

Cant wait to return.

  • Liked — Large Rooms, excellent decor, amazing balcony.
  • Disliked — No oven or washer/dryer.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TruthfulGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.6 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,161 reviews
4.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
799 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences

Property: Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular Contemporary Hacienda style Luxury All Inclusive resort located on the Tourist Corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican Hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing