We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hacienda Encantada Resort and Spa for 7 days with another couple. It was a wonderful time! The couple we travel with did an interval time share exchange and we couldn't be more than pleased with the property and staff. We stayed in a 2200 sq ft 2 bedroom/3 bath villa. The rooms were spacious and clean with a ful kitchen and large living area. From our balconies we could whale watch and definitely saw several humpback whales during our visit. The view of Lands End and the Sea of Cortez is breathtaking! We were luck enough to be on the top floor which I think also aided in the fantastic view.
The property is going to be expanding over time and from the plan it looks like it will be fantastic. I cannot say enough about the staff. Always friendly, always helpful...and always smiling!
The property is situated on hills, but the resort offers golf cart service to and from wherever you need to go on the property. We had our own transportation for site seeing in town, but there is a shuttle service to the sister property located at the marina (scheduled every two hours so be sure to check with the concierge)
Really cannot say enough about the property itself...beautiful rooms, several restuarants on site (including sushi bar, taco bars by the pools), infitinity pool overlooking the Sea of Cortez with beautiful sunsets.
I would go back in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsaTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    674
    183
    88
    89
See reviews for
844
1,130
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our third trip back, that may tell the story right there. It is removed from the hustle and bustle of the tourist area. A truly quiet and Relaxing vacation once we finally got checked in a just past 6pm. Our rooms weren't ready at 2:30 so we went to lunch at the pool. At 4 still not ready so we went to Walmart to get supplies for the room. At 6 our room still not ready but they finally gave us another room. We traveled with our daughters (23 &25) they are good at adjustments, for the week before Christmas. The food was very good, the taco and Tequila bar was excellent. The pool bar staff is just wonderful and the food was always hot when served The first 7 Days on an interval exchange we weren't on the all-inclusive, but they treated us great, we went to all the restaurants there were delicious choices. The last 3 days, we moved rooms (bit of a Bother, the description is the same but a different configuration) surprised we couldn't stay in the same room, we did the all inclusive. Same great service and just a friendly as can be. Next year, probably Yes even with the minor issues of rooms.

Room Tip: The first phase is for "owners only" but the rooms are wonderful in Phase 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had the Premium All inclusive.Room 425X. Hotel has great facilities. Very good beds and great view.
Restaurant Service (patio and Pergola) very very slow, after more than an hour of waiting, finally they sent food,,but different dishes, no the ones I asked for. They were out of rice, instead gave us just lettuce. Shrimp Skewers with just one shrimp??.
One server from Pergola ask us to sign a check from other family who left and didn't sign their bill, he said that wont affect us because we had All inclusive other wise he will be charge for that.
Front desk Staff and some waitresses needs to be more friendly and polite
Pool service was just OK. Esmeralda and Paul (pool restaurant and bar service) were good, so friendly,, doing always their best. Drinks (pinas coladas, daiquiris,) with no straws, they forgot to put them on.
Internet down for 3 days and when it was working was weak signal.
Insects in the kitchen.
We were lock out from our room for more than 1 hour, supposedly the Hotel does same thing every single Saturday. La Trajinera was the best restaurant, great service (Lorenzo), good quality of food.
I called to the front desk, NO answer, I tried later, and same thing: NO answer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roslo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Reviews for this property seem to be a bit all over the the place so I recommend you check out the context of each person's recommendation...

We just loved our stay and had to look hard for anything negative to say...

- 5 of us (parents + 3 young adults)
- 2 rooms
- both located on 41xx (meaning 4th floor of phase 1, closest to the ocean). That is VERY important.
- premium All Inclusive
- we were there for 6 days the week of Christmas 2013 (short staffed?)

I think all agree that the property is stunning. Beautiful cliffs and rocky seashore, nice hotel & decor. A number of pools, infinite pools. pools for kids, large (20+ people) jacuzzis, etc. Good landscaping, play area for kids (both dry and water fountains).

Food-wise we were actually very positively surprised by the quality of the food in the various restaurants.
- We had all our lunches by the lower pool: typical mexican fares. I recommend the shrimp cocktail as an appetizer.
- We had dinner as one of 4 places:
+ Eden (by the upper pool) where we had sushi (nigiri, sashimi, sate). They are open as early as 4pm (not sure why...) and Alberto was the sole but super nice and effective waiter the 2 times we went. Not the best sushi I've ever had but very decent stuff. I recommend the shrimp satay, encatada rolls and spicy tuna rolls. Had one of the best sakes I've ever tasted: cold unfiltered pear.
I believe the other side of Eden (closer to the bar) serves pizza & hotdogs during the sunny hours but didn't try them.
+ Trajinera (close to the top of the resort) is the slightly fancier restaurant they have. They do have a bit of a dress code (pants, no jeans, no flippers, etc.) which makes sense for a resort but they didn't really enforce it when we were there.
We had a live pianist on two of the nights we ate there.
You can eat indoors or outside (we choose outside) and the setup is quite nice. Very little light (unless you're by the wall) but the waiters have convenient little flashlights.
Lots of good dishes: salmon carpaccio, every soup they offer, great steaks (which they did cook exactly as requested: I like mine rear).
Deserts are ok. The flan is surprisingly good.
+ Las Marias (is just across Trajinera).
We had breakfast buffet there every day. All quite nice, except the juices (supposedly orange and grapefruit but really some powdered stuff). Ask the waiters for a pineapple or mango juice from the bar. You can also get eggs cooked to fashion at the egg station (some Spanish or clear pronunciation will help getting you what you actually want, or ask one of the waiters to help translate).
We also had lunch there a few times. Fairly open area with some seating squarely outdoors. Food is fairly similar to Trajinera.
+ Los Riscos (is really the terrace hanging on the cliff side beyond Las Marias).
However they have their own menu (again similar to the previous two), some nice flame heater pods for a dramatic effect and some heat if needed. This is also where they launch a couple of lantern balloons every night. Definitely more intimate and secluded than the other two.
It wasn't all the ay clear how to get to sit there to eat (at least the week of Christmas) so we ended up making specific reservations over the phone.
+ Las Terrassas: is above Las Marias and can be accessed through a stair case between the entrances to Trajinera and Las Marias. We didn't eat there so not sure what the deal is.

With the All Inclusive we had access to all the above as well as all drinks.
Food-wise: lobster and lamb are additional cost (we didn't go there).
Drink-wise: premium cocktails are clearly labeled on the cocktail menu and premium spirits are extra too. We never found that to be a limitation AND the staff is always happy to tell you what's included vs. not.

Service: dinner easily took 2 hours minimum (7pm-9pm).
We ended up ordering lunch and then either eating from the chaise or grabbing a table when it was served 45-60 minutes later.
Drinks do come a lot faster though :-)
Always friendly and lots of people seemingly working hard so maybe they're understaffed or the system is just very inefficient.
We took it as part of the relaxing mexican vacation pace and all was fine.

Rooms: we had two identical rooms:
2 queen beds, big sofa, round table with 4 chairs, safe, mini-kitchen, large fridge, double sink bathroom with jacuzzi tub (window opens to room so you can actually see all the way to the ocean :-), big shower, separate toilet.
Also had a balcony with small table and two lounge chairs.
Good beds, fairly quiet though being above the lower pool and with outside corridors on the backside you'll likely be awake by 9am or so.

Internet: they have wifi at the lobby at the very top of the resort. We purchased a wifi pass for the whole resort for $50. It worked more or less half the time. Again not sure whether that's better during a normal week. Not a big deal when you're on vacation and want to check in but could be an issue if you're trying to get some reliable service.

The resort is basically built on a steep hill/cliff with water, then pool and phase 1, then another pool and phase, then the 4 major restaurants, then the lobby. 5 minute uphill walk tops but if walking isn't your thing they have nonstop golf cart service (too bad these are gas engines rather than electric for noise and smell).

Horseback ride: with the package we had a ˜30-40 minute ride on the property. Just a nice little walk through the cacti.

Shuttle to town: free with our package (apparently $10 for some other setup). They gave us a bit of grief for taking a duffle bag with snorkeling gear and a boogie board with us. A bit of sweet-talking and a couple of $ smoothed things out and we had no issues on the way back.
Shuttle is only every two hours though...so plan your trip. 15-20 minute ride with no traffic.
The shuttle goes to the sister hotel close to the port. We used it to go to the local sand beach.

Talking about beaches...No such thing on the resort. There is a bit of sand area (big grainy sand) before the rocks but nothing you'd want to lounge on, play volleyball on or use as your entry to a nice ocean swim.
With proper water shoes and a lot of care we were able to get some snorkelling done at the resort and the fish was amazing (as always in Mexico) but I did manage to get some cuts on my hand when I caught myself on a rock pushed by a wave.

Whales: we saw whales every day (a few hundred yards out), mostly in the afternoon but pretty spectacular. There is typically a flotilla of boats following the most active group as well as a handbell waiters will ring when whales are around.
Also saw some flying fish early morning and what we think were jumping barracudas once.

Airport transfers (40 minutes or so):
- We took a cab from the airport (no reservation) by going directly to the window marked Taxi at the end of the exit corridor (Alaska terminal as they have two) bypassing all the timeshare and other dealers. That cost us $90 for 5 people with 7 pieces of luggage in a nice white Suburban.
- On the way back the cost was $75 in a decent red van.
The hotel provides shuttle transportation but that's $20 to the airport so...not worth it for us.

Overall we had a wonderful time, great weather, superb grounds, very nice food and drinks.
Just the kind of do very little vacation we were looking for.

Room Tip: MUST be phase 1. Prefer floor 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank transnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We are staying here on an all inclusive vacation for a week with three kids. We got a king suite in phase 2 in the fifth floor. This is great actually and you can see the ocean. Close to the pool for the kids and quiet.
The rooms on the lower floors are very noisy as their balconies are at the pool level and it's noisy.
The resort is beautiful. Really. However I wouldn't stay here again:
1. The food is very repetitive. For breakfast there is las Maria's. Every day you can get the usual fixtures for breakfast. Fruits are plenty and yummy. Eggs, cheese, sausage meat and breads and croissants. It's a buffet. I can't complain.
For lunch you can eat at the pool. Two restaurants. Similar menus. Mainly burgers nuggets fries and me dishes. Salads are very limited. You get sick of it after two days. The food takes hours to arrive so you order at 11 and get it at 1. It has nothing to do with the amount of people. Things are SLOW. Never saw that. It doesn't seem to bother anyone local. That's the default here. For hungry kids this is a bad setup. Same goes for any other restaurant or service here. For dinner we arrived at 6 when they open - we were the first table for 30 minutes and it still took 2 hours to be out of the door. With kids it's difficult.
2 the swimming pools - there are two. One for kids and the infinity pool that is supposed to be no splash no kids one. However you get bored with one pool and you want to go to the other but they aren't happy about getting the kids there
3. Rocky beach not for swimming. Not much fun you have to pay 15 bucks for a cab to go to a beach
4. Location is far from the downtown and pretty much away from anything. Cab to walmart is 20! Bucks. Yes. Not sure who said its 12. The mini market in the hotel is very limited. Very.
5 the resort is hilly not easy with strollers and in general lots of stairs

During our stay there was a system shutdown that got all the keys to stop functioning. They don't tell you anything. People just got locked outside. Me too. Ridiculous. And of course it takes time to get new keys.
Also the kids pool got contaminated so it's closed which leaves all guests going to the pool down and it's very crowded. At 9am you can't get a chair.
Of course this makes lunch impossible. So you order at 10 and at 11 they tell you the kitchen is closed. At 12 they tell you they have no chicken. At 1 you get some fruits and then later some food comes
The food is very expensive if you're not on all inclusive plan.
We had a few days that they ran put of chicken.

Maybe it's my first time in Mexico and I should adjust my expectations but I really felt this is just cheating

Alberto the waiter in the upper pool was always very helpful. Fernan did some water activities with the kids but maybe 2-3 times during the entire week.

Room Tip: High floor otherwise you hear everything at the pool and people see everything in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We just returned from our second trip here. Love the old Mexican decor. Our one bedroom suite was large and comfortable. Sunsets over Lands End were gorgeous. Saw whales every day. The resort sits up on rocky ledge so the waves crashing on the rocks is great to watch and hear. Shoreline reminds me of the Maine coast. If you want a beach this isn't the place for you. Staff is very friendly and fun. Antonio took great care of us at the pool bar out front by the water. They all make the place a great friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms with 1 as the second number are the best in the front building but are mostly owned by fixed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbliz129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo san Lucasl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I and another couple just returned from 7 wonderful days at this beautiful property. Everything was absolutely perfect!! We stayed in a 2200 sq. ft. villa - 2 large bedrooms, 3 baths, large living area, a full kitchen, and 2 balconies - on the top floor with a view that was to die for! We watched the humpback whales from our balcony as they spouted and jumped in the sparkling blue waters of the Sea of Cortez. Lands End was well within sight - creating absolutely stunning views and breathtaking sunsets. The villa was gorgeous, immaculately clean and well stocked. The staff was extremely friendly, courteous and helpful (with special kudos to Manuel). The property and amenities were superb. From the linens to the beautiful ceramic tile, from the many fountains to the fire pit, from the infinity pool to the restaurants - in every way, Hacienda Encantada exceeded our expectations. This is an extremely comfortable and beautiful resort and we will most certainly be planning a return visit!!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer stunning views. We were there on an exchange through Interval International and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
1.2 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#11 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
1.0 mi away
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
#21 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Property: Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular Contemporary Hacienda style Luxury All Inclusive resort located on the Tourist Corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican Hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing