We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"One of the best Resorts Interval has to offer"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My sister and I traveled together and had a wonderful time at this Resort. In my 17 years of owning a time share, I have never stayed at one as nice as this through Interval. Well done!
The room was absolutely gorgeous, well appointed and the fact that both of us had our own bathroom was a plus. We had a view that overlooked a pool and you could see the ocean, but not as much as we would have liked, but we still enjoyed the accommodations. When we first checked into the room it was a bit musty smelling, but the hotel staff did some minor repairs to the main shower and the smell was soon gone. The cart drivers and the restaurant staff were fabulous, but who really wowed us was "Fernan", the activities Director. He ran nonstop from sunrise to sunset to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We did the morning meditation with him, cooking classes and water sports. He always had a smile on his face and had quite the sense of humor too. We even ran into him at the Marina and at one of the best Mexican restaurants in Cabo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noseeums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,509 - 2,515 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Got a good deal at Marina Fiesta Resort in exchange for a "90 minute presentation". So, we attend our timeshare presentation as required, but be aware that even though they say it is a 90 minute deal it is not. Try 3-4 hours unless you are steadfast that you don't want to buy into the deal then you MAY get out of there in 2 hours minimum. After the mediocre breakfast and the tour (beautiful property, however) they take you into another building (palapa) and serve you alcohol. We all know what that does to inhibitions, right? Don't drink the kool-aid! They get on a computer and calculate out what it would cost you for 30 years of vacations and then comes the "have I got a great deal for you!!!" Long story short: watch out for the "bait and switch" on the contract. My husband and I, after much deliberation, decided to dive in and go for it. We signed up for what we thought was a 30 year timeshare deal. We got back to our resort where I pulled out the contract. I almost couldn't believe my eyes when I saw that the dates on the contract and the "right to use" clause were both for 10 years (not 30 years as discussed)! We emailed our sales rep immediately to inquire about the discrepancy. No reply was sent so we took the shuttle back over to the resort the following day to cancel the contract as we were completely spooked at this point and we knew that Mexican law allows for cancellation within 5 business days without penalty. We got the run around from multiple people and no one helped us. So, we ended up wasting another 1.5 hours of our vacation. That was a Friday. Sat and Sun we had activities booked so we asked them to shuttle over the appropriate paperwork or just fax it to us at the resort. Oh no....they couldn't do either one of those things either so guess what....they said we had to come BACK over to HE AGAIN to sign the paperwork that was waiting for us over there. I agreed to do this under the condition of the shuttle waiting for us and bringing us right back over to Marina Fiesta. Well, guess what....got the run around again, and was told that they had simply made a "human error" when they drew up the contract. So, they continued trying to rope us in by brining out a different contract with the 30 year expiration date on it, but at that point there were other items that were not accurate as well and who knows what else was different than what we discussed. By this time they had lost all integrity in my eyes and I wasn't signing ANYTHING except the cancellation paperwork. Thank goodness for wi-fi which allowed me to do research to find out about consumer protection laws in Mexico and thank goodness I had some down time and decided to thoroughly read our contract (should have done that BEFORE signing the first time...lesson learned) otherwise I hate to think of what would have happened in 2025 when our contract would have shown being expired. Would they have realized their "error" then? I sincerely doubt it! The resort itself is beautiful (which is why we signed the contract to begin with) and for 30 years it would have made sense $ wise IF we intended to travel the same way in 30 years as we do now ($300/night avg on lodging). I guess the take home message is to EDUCATE yourselves before even thinking about signing one of these contracts. There are SO many things to know about these deals (float weeks, fixed weeks, deeded, right to use, etc...) I told our rep that I couldn't travel during the winter because I am faculty at a local college and our vacation schedule is fixed, but our contract said "winter float". That sounds like it was going to limit us to traveling during the winter months which would not have worked.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank hollypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

I'ts a shame all the problems you have during your stay with us, this situation really upset us and of course it's going to have consequences to prevent this happen again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived to free ice-cold margaritas and beer: very refreshing as we were quite hot and tired from the travelling: excellent first impression! We visited the resort with family friends and had two rooms in the original building. Both rooms had outstanding views of the water and rocks. The infinity pool is the most beautiful I've ever been to. Very dramatic crashing waves and cooling breeze! Pool and lounge chair area was not crowded either, which was really nice. Rooms had small cooktop for light meals. Staff that drive you around were friendly and fun. They kept our teenagers entertained! We enjoyed the tequila bar area behind the original building: the hot-tub and pit fireplace were beautiful touches. We enjoyed the "birdcage" couches and had some great conversations with our group. I would definitely return to this resort if I had the opportunity!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moochie-La-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Perfect, thanks for your words. We're glad you were pleased and come back. Thank you very much for your comments and hopefully back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Arrived and was warmly greeted by the staff with refreshing margaritas and cervezas. A very easy and quick check in process. After check in we were directed to a lady to give us an overview of the property. She proceeded to give us a review of the property and what our all inclusive package entailed. Next she began to give us information about a breakfast and "informational" seminar. I let her know immediately & politely that we were here for a family vacation and would not be interested in taking the time out of our vacation to spend in the time share presentation. She was very polite and did not push the issue.

A bell boy immediately attended to our luggage and a cart took us to our room. For reservations we arranged for a family 2 bedroom suite. To our surprise the family 2 bedroom suite was actually 2 connecting full rooms, one with a king bed, and the other with 2 queen beds. The view from our first floor room was spectacular.

After settling in we visited the sushi and tequila bar. The staff was very efficient and pleasant, the sushi very good and the drinks excellent.

During our stay we enjoyed both pools, but the infinity pool definitely has some of the best views in Cabo. Service from the bars, bell boys and all restaurants was top notch. All the staff members did all they could to make our trip pleasurable. We ate at Las Marias each morning and had the breakfast buffet. There was a wide variety of fresh fruit and a variety of dishes every day. The variety and quality of breakfast was good.

Lunches we typically ate at one of the pool side grills and always had good food and service. During the day the bartenders were very quick and efficient. They were able to make a wide variety of refreshing cocktails.

For dinner we did have the buffet at Las Marias one evening which was ok. Later in the week we ordered off the menu at Las Marias and had a very enjoyable meal. In fact the dinner we ordered off the menu at Las Marias did surpass in quality to the dinner we had at Trajinera next door. I do not believe that Trajinera held up to the quality that was represented. We did have an all inclusive package so it really wasn't an issue.

One evening the resort had a Latin night with an Argentinian style barbeque. The food was excellent and the entertainment enjoyable.

During our stay we were able to meet friendly and gracious staff members and even get to know a few of them personally. A few of the staff went beyond our expectations to ensure that stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Paul Lopez (bell boy), Jaime (infinity pool bartender) and Lorenzo (waiter at breakfast), went well beyond what I would expect from any staff member. I hope on our next trip to Hacienda Encantada that they will still be there.

In all this was our second trip to Cabo and the staff and resort exceeded our expectations, and would definitely stay at the resort again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

It's great reading your vacations where just what you where looking for. Thank you so much for taking your time for such a detailed explanation about our services. W hope you visit us soon with your beautifull family, regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and the Hubby went in May but after reading some bad reveiws I felt inclined to write on on my stay.

First- Do like everyone says and keep walking all the way through the terminal to get to your shuttle. They will lie to you that they are your shuttle service knowing full well they are not.

Second- The shuttle ride is about 30 min to the resort, no worries just be aware when you are leaving.

Third- We were greated with margarita's and beer. Didnt wait long to check in and yes there are golf carts for everything. The room was spacious and clean with drink int he fridge. beer and water. Enough for the day and I think its restocked mid day (I think) . We never really dran all that was in the fridge becuase we had the all inclusive package and the drinks were included at the bars. Pretty good brands and the service was great. The food was also good for it to be bar food and the morning buffet was awersom (chille -quiles) .
We were only there for 3 days so we never did the time share thing and have learned, dont answer the phone. and act like you have to pee when they ask you at check in.


The shower was horrible though, could never get warm water. It was either buring hot or cold. The drain in the tub didnt work , so we couldnt take a bath either. But since we were there for 3 days , who cared. We spent ther enitre time by the pool drinking, sunning and eating. Did go downtown and i got the best fruit/veggie smoothie. I would most def take some pesos next time. I would go again in a heart beat. But i would check the tub and shower first.

Also the resutrants where not that great for a dinner option, go downtown for that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katktoure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience. Your comments will be sent to the shower maintenance management. Hopefully'll check back. Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We will be bringing our family here. Great proximity to beach and water activities, shopping, dinning... they have single family style homes that are 4 bedroom 4 baths with kitchen, own pool and hot tub and right on the beach.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank colemanjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Regards to your family. Thanks for your words and you waited again on your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for 5 days and had a great time. Except for the timeshare hassle, it was a very nice place to stay and relax. No loud music or kids partying until 0400. Restaurants on site are ok, not outstanding as advertised.
The room had a spectacular ocean view, and the bed was very comfy.
The staff was very friendly and attentive.
Cabs and shuttles into town were approx $20USD each way. We used Transcabo from airport to hotel. Dollars used as much as pesos, which I really didn't need to get before leaving the US.
Cabo airport is very clean and modern; be sure to go all the way outside of the terminal to catch your shuttle. The timeshare bandits are relentless and will catch you inside the terminal just past immigration if you don't go all the way outside!
Would absolutely return to Hacienda Encantada!

Room Tip: Phase 1 is closest to the ocean. Neighboring facility has fireworks display on Thursday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

It's lovely to read that you spent a great vacation. We will focus on timeshares. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,046 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,815 reviews
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
4.3 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $149 - $1,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular contemporary hacienda style luxury all-inclusive resort located on the tourist corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing