We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing romantic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing romantic getaway!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I just got back from an amazing stay in Cabo! We left the kids in AZ this time and went to Cabo alone. The resort has a lot of great family activities but also a lot of relaxing areas for adults. We spent a lot of time by the cliff and on the beach very quiet and relaxing. The weather was great and the resort has such great views it was just so peaceful. Service is really great as well, my wife loved the spa and the service there was top notch. The resort is not in downtown but they do have a shuttle and it is very quiet there. Our room has a really nice view of the Pacific and the rocks will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Higher floor on the cliff seems to have a better view of the Cabo arch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    728
    195
    91
    97
See reviews for
946
1,237
41
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just finished a week long stay on our honeymoon at the Hacienda Encantada and could not have been happier with our stay. We stayed in one of the Studios with a king sized bed with a kitchen, full sized fridge/freezer, cookware, patio and a fantastic bathroom with a jet tub. The grounds are immaculate and pristinely cared for. There are two pools (both with swim up bars), hot tub, fire pit, and plenty of area to lay out. The staff was INCREDIBLE. extremely kind and courteous, remembered our names, always went above and beyond what was needed. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. What we also liked was that the resort is a bit secluded and not home to the "party crowd" that wants to be crazy and loud until 4 in the morning. We had a lot of fun getting to know the other guests and the staff. There is a shuttle ($5 each way, free for owners) to their other property which is right in the hear of downtown Cabo with beach access, and you are 15 min from downtown San Jose where there are a plethora of great restaurants and art galleries! We definitely recommend staying here and we will definitely be back soon, as we are now owners!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Phase 1, as it is closer to the ocean and infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I bought into this resort before they finished building it, so I own some responsibility in my dissatisfaction. After 6 years they have abandoned the original plan of a nice substantial resort. Now it is more of a boutique hotel. Those who paid tens of thousands to own the right to stay here are usurped by those willing to pay by the night. This was my third week at this resort since purchasing and subsequently upgrading my ownership to a presidential suite. The rooms are falling apart and are worn with cracked tile, rust stains and hardware that falls apart in your hands. Showers go from freezing to scalding and back without warning. My kitchen had a fridge which looked like it was a prop in a wrestling match. What started as a beautiful and upscale vacation spot, now rivals a Motel 6. If you try to address a concern the only route you are offered is a "owners update" aka another timeshare presentation. I am dissatisfied and disappointed in the property and staff. I will likely just exchange my weeks for another resort before stAying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jpedRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The resort itself is very nice, and we enjoyed the location (about 10 minutes away from the downtown Cabo touristy area). It felt very quiet and isolated and romantic. The views from the main dining area are amazing. The breakfast buffet is amazing. The lunch/dinner food is average. The multiple pools are great with excellent views. The bar staff is excellent and very friendly - we especially enjoyed the service of waitress Azucena during our stay. She did a great job of remembering our names and making us feel very welcome! Thanks! We'd come here again for sure!

Room Tip: enjoy the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just finished another stay at this beautiful, quiet resort! Our family of five had an incredible week! Once again, we have to thank Fernan, the activities director, for his energy, friendliness, and compassion for our kids! We don't know how a resort could ask for a better activity director who never ceases to amaze with his ability to "teach" Spanish, do magic tricks, get people involved and keep everyone of all ages entertained! Thank you all for another great family vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is truly paradise! My hubby and I almost bought property here but couldn't make a final decision on our last day. This is a place we would want to stay for peace and quiet. Its a few miles away from all the action. We're going to back to Cabo next May, and may possibly stay here the entire time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First time in Cabo, but a number of visits to Mexico and to all-inclusive properties in other countries.

We came for a week for our honeymoon, and in terms of peacefulness and relaxation, we had a great time. We were on the 3rd floor at the bottom end of the property (I have no idea what building number it was) and still had a terrific ocean view from our balcony. The grounds are well-kept.

The food was okay. Breakfast foods in the buffet line seem to be prepped once in the morning and then left to disappear with no one ever refilling them. We came in at different times in the morning between 8am and 11am (breakfast is served until 12pm), and the only time all of the items were present in the buffet without mostly-finished containers was the morning we went at 8am. If we weren't there for the all-inclusive, the breakfast experience hardly seemed worth the $25 USD/pp the receipt claims it's worth.

Not all of the bars' alcohol is part of the all-inclusive plan. When you order cocktails, they're made with sugary mixes and were extremely watered down. Margaritas are made with lime juice from a bottle, not freshly-squeezed. When you ask for straight alcohol, it's also a bit watered down. The best cocktails we had in Cabo were the ones we had off the property when we went to check out the nearby towns.

Lunch can be ordered by the pools and the beach, which is great--as long as you're patient enough to wait for the slow service. The food is a range of expected staples like fish tacos and hamburgers and Caesar salads, all decent enough for lounging by the pool and eating!

Dinner is a mediocre affair at both the premier reservations-only restaurant (La Trajinera) and the casual Las Marias restaurant. Not horrible, but if it wasn't part of the all-inclusive package already, there would be no reason to visit either restaurant on its own as a regular-paying customer. We had much better food the two times we ate off-site.

The sushi bar is a bit gross if you actually know what sushi is supposed to taste like. But if you like fake crab and cream cheese and no rice vinegar in the sushi, then this is the sushi for you.

All tips and taxes are supposed to be included in the all-inclusive package, but that just means that the servers are super nice to you until they realize that you're not going to tip them extra (even in the all-inclusive package, you are given a receipt to sign with the meal's cost and a place to write in an extra tip for service).

The worst experience was the massage in the spa. I spoil myself with massages quite often, and this couldn't even properly be called a massage. I would call it just an inexperienced mineral oil rubdown, followed by multiple reminders (three) that I needed to leave a tip because massages were not part of the all-inclusive package. We already had been comped the massages by the concierge since they had canceled another activity on us--so at least I wasn't out $100 USD for this massage disaster.

The gym was decently equipped and clean. It was small, but never crowded while we were there.

We had rented a car, so we didn't use the property's free shuttle to the sister property downtown. The valets always promptly had our car ready, and they were the only staff members were tipped extra even though our tips were included for these guys.

The timeshare push at check-in was pleasantly dropped within 1 minute of us saying that we weren't interested, and we weren't bothered again about it during the rest of our stay.

The beach next to the property is very clean, has no peddlers, and has lots of fun rocks and tide pools to explore.

So why am I rating this a 4 and not lower despite some of the issues listed above? Maybe because it was my honeymoon and I had great company to make up for it; or the ocean view; or our room with the ocean view; or the infinity pools with the ocean views.

Room Tip: There are elevators and golf carts to take you around if you have mobility issues, so don't let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMoveALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Your comments are excelent and very acurate. We like to know our guests experiences. We are sorry of not being able to fulfill your expectations to a 100% but we´ll work on it, so if you come back someday we may show you how we´ve improved on the topics you mentioned.
Thank you for your visit, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.6 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,159 reviews
4.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,654 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences

Property: Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular Contemporary Hacienda style Luxury All Inclusive resort located on the Tourist Corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican Hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing