We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent another week here. They have much improved their internet which makes it so much easier for us to stay in touch with our offices.

Had dinner at Las Marias, fabulous view, great service and food. Excellent value.

Looking forward to returning in a month with our family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,082)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,445 - 2,451 of 3,082 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a different room each year. They were all great with a beautiful view of the sea thru the patio doors. The interiors are all very spacious and luxurious. The two pools are beautiful and very well maintained. If you want to get a good spot at the infinity pool, get there early in morning. It would be nice to have more shade available in the form of additional umbrellas at both pools.

We were pleased with the improvements we found this year. The check-in process was streamlined and very efficient. The dinner menu at Las Marias restaurant has been improved. We had dinner there our first night. Sunday was grill night and all our dishes were very nice. Usually this is where we have breakfast and we are always pleased with what they serve. Antonio is there in the mornings making sure that the guests have a good experience and always takes very good care of us. A sushi bar along with the entertainment for several nights during the week at the tequila bar was another pleasant new addition.

Something that has fortunately remained largely the same, is the menu and food at the patio restaurant (next to the infinity pool). We like eating lunch there and always find it enjoyable. The staff there, especially Susy, are terrific. We were also happy to discover that they are open an hour later in the afternoon.

I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bighohnhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our son got married at the resort overlooking the Sea of Cortez at sunset. Staff were all marvelous and went out of their way to make this a wonderful event for our entire party. Great food and drink at every meal. Edith the wedding planner had everything so well organized and every event went off like clock work. Fernan, the activities director makes sure there is never a dull moment. A wonderful vacation! We will be back next year. The view is stunning from sunrise to sunset.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Everyone is an ocean view. The hotel is built on the side of a mountain.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cred1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Upon arrival, the bell hops create the first impression which is fantastic. These guys earn their money and more. The second stop at the resort is check in. That's when you back up and say, I didn't plan on a hassle! That is what the front desk is. It is not the employee's fault as I am sure it is management policy. Having read the reviews about this, I was prepared. Our trip was a gift and we were promised an ocean front/or view room. We were told that was not available and the only room available was a garden view. She insulted me by stating that their property was ocean front/view and then I showed her my confirmation and told her that was not acceptable. We had traveled over 4,000 miles and were not willing to settle for less. With some persistence, the she finally acknowledged she had a room on the third floor overlooking the Sea. We graciously accepted it and went on our way. We were given an information booklet about the place, but it wasn't until the second day we were able to get a map. Don't leave the front desk without it. They boast numerous restaurants, but actually, they change the menu and the restaurant name during the week so it looks like there are more restaurants than there really are. The food was mediocre at best. Actually, we found the bar food better than the restaurant food. One of the higher end restaurants requires reservations which we made for a Friday evening. We were the only customers in the restaurant, inside and out and found the food here less tastier than the one next door. Desserts at all restaurants are the same and taste like they come from a box. Drinks are fine, didn't seem the skimp on the alcohol. The rooms are spotless and the golf cart drivers are there within two minutes of when you call to take you any place on the resort you wish to go. There was a little noise above us that kept my husband awake, but it didn't bother me. The view is fantastic, but you cannot walk the beach within the property. The property is gated and they offer a free shuttle to/from the marina which feels like all the tourist traps at most island ports. The only shop at the resort is a little convenience shop to pick up necessities and snacks. The pools are beautiful, but the most magnificent thing about it is the climate. While our trip was free and it was beautiful, I believe there may be better choices. Plan for cool evenings. The outdoor restaurant actually provides blankets when needed.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, then they'll be no noise above you and the view will be better.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noisettiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

In a last minute desperate arrangement due to a shipwreck of my friend's yacht off the coast of Mexico, I ended up staying here instead of sailing around Mexico... for almost 2 weeks in 2 different rooms. I was so bummed out but.. Hacienda was the best last minute solution I could have booked. There are two buildings (plus new construction on the way) and newer complex is further from beach but way nicer interior, extremely tasteful sophisticated Mexican interior design, gorgeous patio, stunning sunrise & sunset views from the upper floor and toward the end of the building row. Front property in older part is reserved for Owners only. Stayed there one week as well, absolutely fantastic view but interior is not as opulent and new as Phase 2. To be honest, these rooms should be of the quality of Phase 2, but you sacrifice this for falling asleep to the sound of the waves and of course ... you have killer views from the patio because you're right on the ocean with only the endless pool between you and the water. Loved to relax by the cliffs overlooking the dramatic rocks, waves and of course, Lover's Arch from a distance. We did not spend much time in the other pool between the buildings, albeit beautiful, but no comparison to the scene that unfolds from the endless pool on the cliffs. I HIGHLY recommend all-inclusive. I had my lunch in the comfortable beach lounges every day, room service...all service was prompt and frequent, unlimited alcoholic bevs (they make grrreat drinks at the pool bar ;)) and whale watching. Restaurant up on the rock offers magnificent views over the Sea of Cortez, we always sat at the very end to have breakfast for the most brilliant view, breakfast was also very tasty, everyone served with a smile and attentiveness, waiting staff was magnificent. Only person I remember negatively was the Omelette lady who never cracked a smile. I don't understand why people criticize the all-inclusive thing. I was glad we booked it... worth every penny. One thing: I don't eat much meat but my friend who ordered Steaks, complained they were never done right, so make sure you get that sorted out before finishing the order. At one point I had one issue with an overcharge of the rental car company on site (read careful before you sign) but the Manager of the property himself sorted the issue out and made sure charges were removed prior check out. Thank goodness, because the Rental Car Agent was a jerk and refused to help. Can't recommed this car company. All in all I had a brilliant vaca here and if you are unable to enjoy this marvelous place, I don't know what can make you happy. I travel quite a bit ( see my other reviews) and would like to think I am capable of differentiating between a good and bad deal. Hacienda Encantada in my opinion offers a great upscale product, outstanding service and good food for what you pay. It's not the Ritz but regardless, I enjoyed every minute of my stay. The Hacienda sister property in downtown Cabo - Marina Fiesta - did not have the sophistication you will encounter here (actually ... when we visited the pool area there while waiting for the hotel shuttle I felt some weird vibes from seemingly very lonely middle-aged US tourists, yuk...lol). I was soooo glad to have booked outside town. We rented a Jeep to explore and made it to Todo Santos' Hotel California et al. Definitely worth it. Booked boat tours and did the Marina thing, but were sooo glad to be back at Hacienda every time we returned. Tip: if you like photography -walk down to the rock beach at sunrise or sunset. Incredible photo ops, beautiful display of colors, movement of the water and texture of the rocks. Another Tip: book AP/Hotel transfer ahead, hotel will arrange contact,.. if you want to spend the extra few hundred bucks get a private town car for a 20 min transfer go ahead, but the shuttle will stop most likely first at Hacienda because it is one of the first hotels on the way ... ... when you exit Airport walk STRAIGHT through the lounge to avoid the timeshare hawks. They will tell you they are your transport company, but they are not. All drivers are OUTside, make sure you request a sign with your name. These timeshare sharks are swift and smooth and will try anything to get you onto a tour. If they don't have your name on their list, then don't talk to them, move on steadfast and don't waste your time. I read the timeshare staff at Hacienda was putting too much pressure to get people on tours at the hotel during check-in, but I can't say I experienced that.. maybe because I am from Dubai, basically Middle East, and it 's too far from Mexico to travel to regularly... they may not have attempted to be more aggressive , but I can honestly say, I was not bothered nor pressured at any given time to attend a presentation.

Room Tip: Phase One: older rooms, could use some help, but magnificent views and the sound of the ocean. If in...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sistatravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My partner and I bought a two bedroom timeshare in October 2011. We have been here four times in the past eighteen months and plan our next trip as soon as we get home. If you go to the presentation make sure that you see Karla, she will treat you like family. The resort is incredibly clean and the staff is always welcoming and know you by name. The waitstaff at the pool is always happy help and keep you nice and tipsy. If you're at the infinity pool make sure to ask for Martha, she is the sweetest thing! The only complaint would be that the food could be a little more high end. So get off your rear end and book your flights!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryanmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went to Hacienda Encantada for a wedding, everything about this place is wonderful! The staff truly go out of their way for you. Paul and Rigoberto are fantastic!! I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation with a breathtaking view.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriscans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.6 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
4.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#18 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
4.2 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $165 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular contemporary hacienda style luxury all-inclusive resort located on the tourist corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing