We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Time at Hacienda Encantada!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days in October 2012 at this resort. We found a very special Internet deal, 5 nights, all inclusive for $349! We were required to attend a timeshare presentation. We checked in on a Tuesday so it was not difficult checking in. Our room was on the first floor in phase 2. We did have a ocean view and our room was very beautiful. Our timeshare presentation was really ok. D.C. was our salesman and although he did put on some pressure, he was respectful and after we firmly said no he sent us on our way to enjoy our vacation. The property is lovely. The infinity pool beautiful. The food at the pool bars were great. The restaurant was ok. The resort is about 15 minute drive into town. The resort provides a free shuttle for all inclusive guests and $5 each way for all others. A great place to go if you do not want to spend time in town. Quiet and relaxing. If you want the night life and the excitement of town you would be better off to stay somewhere in town. We did enjoy our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rinnahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Hi rinnahgirl,
We truly appreciate your recommendation on Hacienda Encantada and are pleased to know that you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed your five day stay. Sitting by our infinity pool with a drink and relaxing is only one of the many ways to enjoy all that our resort has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,681 - 2,687 of 3,197 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The view, the bell boys/cart drivers outstanding. The pool wait staff ( Maria, Fredrico outstanding!!!) however mess ups on bar tab is often too common. Fernan LOVE him!! He makes things happen. Love his cooking and cocktail classes! But most of all his smile, his canter and his friendly outgoing manner. He NEEDS to stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabobling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Was there for a week in October on honeymoon. We personally really liked it, the reviews are right, it's really not an ideal location if you want to go to town all day every day. It's 7 km, but if you want go downtown a lot, definitely stay on in that area. The people who worked there were nice. We had NO issues with incorrect bills, extra charges, towels, etc. They were NOT pushy on doing the timeshare. They asked, told us the benefits, said we could just sit through it and accept the benefits, but we said, no we really weren't interested. I think the 2nd day we were in the lobby again and they asked if we were sure and we said ya, and that was fine. There were a lot of people there to make the place run, they were up early and very not in the way. We also had zero problems at check in, maybe it just depends what you book through? Ours was an interval exchange. Oh, also I was concerned, but we were in phase 2, almost all the way to the end of the building and we had a great sea view, 2nd floor, I think it was 2251. I could definitely see if we were more in the middle of phase 2, the view would be the pool and not AS cool, but really who cares? How long do you spend staring at the ocean?

We did the all inclusive because we wanted to be lazy and drink, worked for us. I actually didn't find things THAT slow, surprisingly. Definitely tip around the pool and you get better service, a little cash goes a long way. Not that you HAVE to, but we had amazing service after that. Food was good, nothing special, but nothing bad either, but we enjoyed it. We did the breakfast buffet every day, and that was pretty good, as was the omelet station.

People who stayed there seemed pretty nice, wet met lots of friendly people. There was heavy drinking, for sure, but not crazy party atmosphere. I have no idea why someone said the music was SO loud, it really wasn't at all. Getting a chair was cake, especially for us bc we got up early. Even if you got there at noon, you could sit somewhere.

Lastly, decor wise, it was nice, lots of space. We had no issue with sounds from another room. The AC was great, lots of closets in the room type with a living room and a king bedroom. I do agree though, the pillows were lumpy, but whatever.

Overall for a relaxing vacation, it was a good choice. Felt safe, good service, full kitchen in teh suite. If I went back to Cabo I would try somewhere else, only because I would want to stay downtown again (last time I stayed at Casa Dorada), JUST for the ability to go to more places. I really liked the setting at hacienda though, all of the pool space, all of the chairs. Good times!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cbus1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We absolutely loved this place. Everything was really nice. We really like the food. We did get some food vouchers by attending their presentation so maybe it was better because it was free but I really liked the food. The view from the restaurant overlooking the water was incredible and in my opinion a must do at sunset for anyone that stays here.

We stayed with people who had been here before so we knew exactly what to expect. People were friendly we didn't get charged for anything extra at all. We were looking for a relaxing trip and didn't leave the resort a ton so the cab fares weren't as big of a deal for us. Also we were there with another couple so we were able to split some of those fees which was nice.

I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a 7-night stay at the Hacienda Encantada. While the property has some good features (nice views of the ocean, extremely helpful and nice property staff), there are too many negatives for someone to spend their hard-earned money and more importantly, vacation time here.

Our biggest complaints are below:

Virtually all of the food here was average, even their Mexican food. And it is not necessarily cheap, although far from expensive. Let's just say it got old very very quick.

The rooms have thin walls and ceilings/floors. We could hear our neighbors having sex, others throwing up for 2 days and the people above us walking across their room every morning. Also, the pillows are so lumpy and uncomfortable that they feel like they are rolled up towels stuffed inside of pillowcases.

The front office staff seemed to screw us in a number of ways, no matter what we said or did. We were supposedly upgraded from a studio to a luxury junior suite, only to find out that they are one in the same (there is no such thing as a studio now).

We were forced to attend a presentation despite paying in full in advance of our stay. We couldn't use the certificates they gave us at parts of the property (only $50 per place/time, not at the market, not for room service). Not a big deal since it was a "gift", as part of our forced 100-minute presentation, but we ultimately left with $150 of these because we couldn't use them.

The place is 10mins from the Marina, which costs $10 round trip per person to their Marina Fiesta property (which is kind of a dump). Also, for anyone without a car, you need a taxi to any other restaurant around, which also costs money. A taxi to literaly the next exit to eat at the Sheraton cost us $27 roundtrip (3mins away).

Oh, and I feel obligated to say this: you would be absolutely crazy to consider buying a time share here. Who in their right mind would choose this location 8km away from the Marina, with mediocre food, loud noise from neghboring rooms to stay with fellow entitled timeshare guests/owners who seem to complain about everything? There are tons of better places and ways to spend $20-30K. I guess if you're from Jersey, the Midwest or somewhere like Bakersfield you might think this is the greatest place ever, but for my money I wouldn't even spend another $1200 for a week's stay here.

I could not possibly recommend this place for someone considering a spot for a vacation. Stay at the Melia, Casa Dorado or if you want a special trip, Las Ventanas or Palmilla.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near the south side of the phase 2 area by the pool (no view) or by the hot tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wine6uy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This gorgeous property is perched high above the Sea of Cortez on Punta Cabeza De Ballena about 8 kilometers from the Downtown/Marina district of Cabo San Lucas. You enter the property on a serpentine drive that winds through he local vegetation featuring saguaro cactus and arrive at the main lobby where you are greeted by an enthusiastic staff. Guests are treated to complementary Margaritas while enduring 30 minutes of check-in hell (you’ll see). Then the attentive bellboys will load your luggage on the cart and whisk you away to your room. The property is very attractive featuring colorful stucco facades and manicured grounds. Many but not all rooms have an ocean view. There are two pools, the lower pool is an infinity pool overlooking the surf crashing on the rocks below with views of Lands End and El Arco, the upper pool is located in front of Phase II. Service and food at both pools is very good. About 10AM the serenity at the lower pool is shattered by blaring rock and roll from the last century. It’s so loud that I can hear it in my room with the patio doors closed. If you love Cyndi Lauper and Pat Benitar, you’ll be happy. Personally, I hate it! They won’t turn it down or turn it off, so I’m off to the upper pool to sacrifice the view for the quiet. The loud music really destroys the seaside ambiance. Beach access is dangerous, and not advised.

At the upper pool you will encounter the activities director, Fernan. He is charming and funny! He is great with kids, and they just love him! Fernan provides a number of activities including volleyball, cooking classes, cocktail classes, Spanish classes and card games. Fernan is one of the best things about this resort.

The restaurant, Las Marias has the best view on the property. Dinner with a sunset overlooking the cape is very romantic. The food is average, service could be improved, most dishes are over priced.

The rooms are very clean and the maid service is very good.

This property went cashless a few years ago. The constantly screw up the pool tabs, they offer no receipts. Check your tab carefully.

The restrooms around the pools have polished tile floors and are slick as ice when wet. Always wear footwear.

As beautiful as this property is and as attentive and wonderful as the staff is I rate this property 3.5 – 4 stars. This was a 5 star property a few years ago when we first started coming, but each year there are less amenities and way too much tired and broken stuff. Our room had broken and missing patio furniture, broken tracks on the patio doors, a microwave that worked some of the time, broken drawer in the wardrobe, no iPod dock/alarm clock, no laundry bag, no paper towels in the kitchen and none for sale in the store, no face cloths, and soiled upholstery on the chairs. The pool chairs are rickety and the cushions are torn and dirty. Some umbrellas are broken. There was no ice in the ice machine on our floor. We were here for two weeks, our keys stopped working after the first week and it took two trips to the lobby to get it straightened out. The carts that shuttle guests up and down the hill are on their last legs, we witnessed two breakdowns during checkout last Saturday.

Great location, great views, excellent staff, everything else… not so much!

Three and a half stars out of five because the property is noisy and tired and no longer provides the “little touches”.

During the last four years we have stayed here a total of 7 weeks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

As you may have previously read in reviews from me we purchased a couple of weeks at Hacienda Encantada when it was still dirt. We were blown away with the view of Lands End and the craggy rocks upon which it was to be built. Then the economy tumbled and we got nervous, but the first unit was completed on time and we spent our first week about four years ago. We've seen it go through growing pains like fumbles with checkins, service, etc. They've continued to build new phases and spruce up the place, such that we've been continually impressed by evolution of the facilities each of the seven times we've been back. In some cases, staff has not kept up But we arrived yesterday for another week, and it's like there's a "new sheriff in town" . We parked our rental car and before we even got out of the car a waiter was standing by with a tray of margaritas and other beverages. A representative from reception was also there to verify our reservation and take us to the check-in clerk, who speedily completed the process of assigning us a room and made sure we had the proper room keys and wi-fi information. We then were met by one of the bell staff who had already loaded our bags and groceries onto a cart and sped us to our room. He explained along the way that the restaurant by the second pool was now exclusively Italian, so that now there were three distinctively different restaurants on the property. Since our last stay here last December I had read some reviews about poor service at the pool bar and Las Maria's Restaurant, so we kept our eyes open, but didn't see any of it. In fact bar and restaurant staff seem almost over attentive, taking orders, whisking orders to patrons. They've really got their act together.

All in all we're thrilled. As one of the original "owners" we take pride that a decision we made early on has been validated. The buildings were there, and now the management has an exceptional staff who make this a truly world class resort. We still have five days to go and are looking forward to every minute. Now if the weather would only cooperate--they're expecting thunderstorms for the next three days!

Room Tip: The first phase has the best view of the Sea of Cortez and the best ocean noises, but the second and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovecabo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,141 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
3.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,897 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
4.3 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $145 - $1,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular contemporary hacienda style luxury all-inclusive resort located on the tourist corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing