We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST VACATION EVER!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST VACATION EVER!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Hacienda Encantada was absolutely fabulous. This was our first time to Cabo and will not be our last. (April 9th - April 16th) We bought a timeshare at the Hacienda. We travelled with another couple and had the time of our lives. I do not like the crazy party scene and this place was perfect. It was not far from the marina and also had enough things to do at the resort. We liked the friendly staff and loved Ferdinand & Cenac. (the activity guys). They were so friendly and helpful. They smile all the time and really enjoy their job. I can't say enough about this place. AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    674
    183
    88
    89
See reviews for
844
1,130
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

We just recently stayed at the Hacienda Encantada on 4/9 thru 4/16/11. We exchanged our timeshare in San Diego for this resort. Let me start by saying that the resort and location is very beautiful and is only about 10 minutes away from Cabo San Lucas and about 30-40 minutes away from the Los Cabos Airport. The staff is very friendly, but I was dissapointed at the lack of local information they gave us. They would only recommend their sister resort location in Cabo San Lucas and neighboring restaurants which are also owned by the same company. WARNING! Although this resort is right on the beach there is no swimming allowed or sand there to enjoy it. Instead you must walk about 15 minutes on a dirt road to access a neighboring beach which is nice, but you must pay a security guard about $5 to let you through the gate. Or you must drive to Chileno Bay which is about 10-15 min. drive and has public access. At Chileno Bay you also must tip the security guard where you park. Once there you will find a great beach with awesome snorkeling!

The Hacienda Encantada has a odd set up where you cannot drive into the resort, you must either walk a long distance to your room from the lobby or be taken to your room by a golf cart. The golf cart rides were very cool for my 7 year old son, but they became a hassle to me after a couple of days. Not being able to just walk out of your room and jump in your car for a quick trip got annoying. Although the way they set it up we felt very secure at this resort with two security gates just to get into the lobby area.

The pools are very nice and heated and are kept very warm and clean, probably about 75-80 degrees. My only complaint was that the pools are set up great for adults, teenagers and 1-5 year olds, but are either to deep or to shallow for a 6-10 year old. There are areas that are about 1 foot deep and others at 4' 6" deep, but nothing in between. There is the upper pool that is set up for fun and games and if you want a more peaceful pool experience you can visit the lower pool with the infinity edge and set up more for adults with no games or toys allowed.

Please note that if you do own a timeshare and exchange to this resort there is a daily fee of about $15 per day to stay there as a non-owner. That is in addition to the fee you already pay to exchange thru Interval International or other company. I was not aware of this fee and I contested it and they did remove it from my bill. They also include a charge of approx. $7 a day for tips to the room service workers that will show up in your bill.

I would say that I was fully enjoying my stay at this resort even with the minor things that were bothering me, but once I got hit with the hidden charges that they did not mention to me before I was put off. I don't mind certain charges as long as I am aware of them in advance, but to try and sneek them in upset me.

If you rent a car then this resort location is decent because you can get to most areas very easy, if you do not have a car you must use their shuttle service that takes you there sister resort in Cabo San Lucas at the main marina.

Fair warning, they will try and sell you a timeshare and get you into a presentation that they claim only take 90 minutes, but actually take 4 hours. If you are okay with that it will get you some free snorkeling tours or other things, but to me it is not worth it. If you don't buy at the Hacienda resort they will try and get you to look at another presentation at their sister resort in Cabo San Lucas and that also take 4 hours. From personal experience avoid them no matter what they promise to give you.

Although our experience at this resort was nice I would not want to stay there again. I would choose a resort that has beach access instead of this one. If beach access is not an issue with you then this resort may be fine for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tony619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Fantastic resort!
The rooms, view, staff and pool areas are wonderful. The activities are typical of this type of resort. The people staying there are easy to get to know and respect your privacy. The architecture and decoration of the complex is wonderful. It even gives a very subtle, underlying attention to your spiritual side.
The food at the pools is good. The new formal restaurant is very good and the service excellent.
The food at the main restaurant, Las Marias, is below par, often cold and the service is slow. With limited restaurants, this really detracts from an otherwise exceptional resort.
It is overall a breathtaking resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TioTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

Spent a week at the Hacianda and the week at the Barcelo Deluxe in San Jose. I should have never left the Hacienda. The staff was atentive, friendly, knowlegable and happy to see us coming. Our room was spacious with an unobstructed view of the sea of cotrez. I love to cook while on VC and the kitchen was great. The Hacianda mush have the only "HOt" jacuzzi in Cabo and I enjoyed it nightly. When you visit stay for two weeks one week is just not long enough to get your vacation mojo working. If you have a time share there hold on to it this place is great and getting better. Can't wait for the spa and permenant gym to open next year. Simply had a blast I will make sure to go when the wales are playing in the bay. We saw many but they were in the migratory mode but still they were great to see. Only nice things to say about the Hacienda, liked the new road and front gate. Be sure to catch the sunrize next to the resturante it will take your breath away. Adiose Amigos.

Room Tip: get a room above the first floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madryte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

Magnificent hotel and view of the Ocean. A find. Only a couple of years old and they are working out the kinks but the staff is very friendly. They will go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The food and drinks at the pool were perfect. I wish there were more restaurants to choose from on the premises. If you decide to use the spa the massage given by Lupita Guadalupe was one of the best I have had. Overall it was a great find and vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltedchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

My title says it all -- this was our 7th Mexican or Dominican Republic vacation and this is the ONLY resort we've ever returned to and we WILL be back again! At every other resort, we've done the All - Inclusive, but we don't do it here. Instead, we rent a car, allowing us to enjoy many restaurants in the Cabo San Lucas and San Jose Del Cabo. It is very safe to drive once you learn a few road rules there, and the main highway along the corridor makes it virtually impossible to get lost. But back to the resort: the new road is nice, but the dirt road wasn't a deal breaker for us before. The rooms are nice, large, comfortable and very tastefully decorated -- just like the pictures on their website. Like others have said, the beach is not swimmable (although most beaches in Cabo are not) and not even walkable -- but the views are incredible!! The resort is on the cliffs, very high, but you can still hear the waves crashing on the rocks below through closed doors -- wonderful to fall asleep or wake up to. The beds were very comfortable, too -- and that can be unusual in Mexican resorts. The workers are all extremely nice and ready to assist. Like others have said, a call to the front desk is all you need if you want a ride, but most days we walked everywhere (and we're not spring chickens, either). Our room was always meticulously cleaned by mid-morning and we were greeted by towel art in both the kitchen and bathroom and sometimes even on the bed.
We do tip for valet service, but I don't think that affected the service we received. If you go to Cabo, check out the America's Cup Tour and the Camel Safari Tour. We've been on many, many tours and these rate at the top of our list! If you want more details, look up reviews for these tours. We originally went to Cabo in 2009 to catch Marlin. Thought we'd never return once he caught it, but now we go to Cabo for other things, too. Hacienda Encantada is our home away from home.....can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachLoverfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed in a very clean, very large junior suite ocean view. The rooms are very large with full kitchen (no oven though), and all appliances, dishes, pots and pans. We were in phase II, which was farther from the beach. The rooms were the same, but the view wasn't quite as good as phase I. Our housekeeper kept the room spotless, and we always had fresh towels and wash cloths.
The resort is not close to anything, so a rental car is necessary. They do provide a shuttle to the Marina Fiesta, but if you want to be on your own schedule, rent a car. We stopped at the Mega Market in San Jose, which is on the way from the airport, and loaded up on groceries and snacks, so we didn't eat at the resort restaurants. We did eat at Alexander's on the Marina in Cabo, the prices and food quality were excellent.
The beach is rocky and not swimable, but is still beautiful. It wasn't warm enough to swim in the ocean anyway. The pools are heated, and perfect for swimming.
The staff is wonderful especially Manuel and Orlando (Holas Amigos!!) and all speak English.
We went for rest and relaxation, and got what we went for. This is not a party place. If you want nightlife either rent a car, or stay someplace else.
We will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talisa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
1.2 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#11 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
1.0 mi away
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
#21 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Property: Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular Contemporary Hacienda style Luxury All Inclusive resort located on the Tourist Corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican Hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing