We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great resort but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great resort but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just came back from Cabo. We had a good time but it will take a while before I go back there and it's in large part because of the location and not the resort. If don't mind if it will be colder, don't go to the beach much and love to go out (restaurant and bars), you will love Cabo.

In my opinion the weather and the beach is much better in Nuevo Vallarta and Cancun. There were 3 consecutive days that were very cloudy. One afternoon we couldn't really stay by the pool. We didn't mind too much because we were there for 2 weeks but 3 bad days when you only have a week will have an impact.

As for the beach, the sand is not great and you can't really play in the waves. You also can't bring a chair close to the water to watch the kids. The chairs must stay in the defined area (some federal law). They did delimit a swimming areas where the water taxis can't go which is a great improvement to the previous time we were there.

The resort in itself is very nice and clean. Staff is great and service is good. We had dinner at both El Praton and El Farro and we had a great time. We did try to restaurant at the Palmar and would recommend that you don't :). Bad service and food.

Fro breakfast if you are not in the all inclusive you can go to the Palmita market and get pastries (the cinnamon buns are great) and coffee. We'd get a bunch of pastries and lattes (that are also good) for about 10$.

You can do some groceries there but you will pay twice as much as you would at the Walmart (you get there with the city bus (10 pesos) and come back in a taxi (8$). There is also a liquor store with a great wine selection in the same shopping center.

The gym is well equipped and there are also 2 tennis court (recommend you make a reservation).

The biggest disappointment is the activities team. They don't do much other then loan the paddle boards and kayaks. There is a list of activities but the only time they did one is when we asked what they were doing. Too bad because the kids loved it. Note that there are many families with kids and they are welcomed.

A must if you go there is to take the water taxi to lovers beach and spend a few hours. Totally worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yokomony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Member,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your last vacation at Villa Del Arco Resort. We are always striving in providing Quality Of Services to all our valuable guest. We hope to host you once again soon.

Sincerely,
Miguel Angel Rodriguez.
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    464
    106
    56
    39
See reviews for
866
772
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The mobs of spring breakers ruined an otherwise great vacation. This resort has to figure out if it is going to cater to families or spring breakers gone wild. I would suggest that the resort bring in loads of extra security to control the drunk, out of control spring breakers. I could not believe the behavior I witness and the lack of response from the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colossustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey, chosing our resort and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We will be more than happy to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future in a more quiet season that will allow you to enjoy and rest pleasantly.

kind regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent 8 days in Cabo, and packed those days with activities ranging from snorkeling and whale watching to zip-lining, ultralighting, fishing, and shopping, from San Jose Del Cabo to CSL to La Paz and Todos Santos. We rented a car, and wanted a hotel in a central location, accessible to all the above, that was clean, pleasant, safe and priced somewhere between the highest priced resorts and the lowest priced local hotels. Villa Del Arcos is a very easy choice. It is a beautiful self-contained resort-style hotel, with its own circular drive entrance/parking, and resort features (nice pools, restaurants, bars, beach, spa etc.), yet shares the immediate area with 2 related hotels (Villa La Estancia and one other) that you can access and use by walking or taking a 1 minute San Francisco Cable-car like transport to. You can access the city 4 ways - drive your car, take a taxi ($8), take a bus from a bus stop one block from the entrance ($1-2), or take a water taxi from the beach $3-8 - city and El Arco). The hotel by car is just 3-5 minutes from downtown, where there is parking in many public lots ($1-3.hour, easiest at the Puerto Paraiso Mall), 20-30 minutes from San Jose Del Cabo, and located directly on the junction to the road that takes you to Todos Santos (about an hour) and La Paz (about 2 hours). Everyone on staff (from front desk to very helpful concierges to the bellmen and parking crew to the barkeeps) we dealt with was most pleasant, spoke excellent English, and were always helpful. The rooms are spacious, squeaky clean, with full air conditioning/heating, mini kitchens with coffee maker, small refrig/freezer, dishes and silverware, microwave, and the room also has a safe, iron/ironing board, pay as you go internet, warm showers and really nice beds. We had just a garden balcony view and that was just fine. All ages were staying here from young parents with toddlers to grandparents, and all fit in just fine. We ate out every night so cannot comment on the hotel's restaurants, but they looked nice. We visited over a dozen other medium to highest end hotel/resorts on our trip, and for the cost Villa Del Arco is top flight yet reasonable. We can highly recommend to anyone at any level - and comparing this to resorts at 3-4X the price, unless you seek total seclusion and will never leave the property, Villa Del Arco will likely suite your needs. PS we are not timeshare owners nor were we bothered even once by salespeople

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottFromJersey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We are delighted to read you spent a wonderful time at our resort. We will be more than happy to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

kind regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were very satisfied with this beautiful resort. Beautiful pools, spacious suites, good food, friendly staff, right on the beach. We travelled with our kids 4 and 7 and they loved the pools and multiple hot tubs. Big balconies are lovely. Location is excellent. You can take a water taxi from the resort into town. Glass bottom boats pick you up right in front of the beach. Lots to do! Jet skiing, parasailing, kayaking all right there.

We've stayed at a few different all-inclusive resorts in the past few years, and this one was by far the best. We plan to return next year.

Only disappointment was that the kids club wasn't what I had hoped. They walk with the kids on the beach and will supervise them in the pool. I was hoping for more games and crafts -- and a big play room packed with toys would have been really nice. The babysitting was equally disappointing due to the price. It's $15/hour which isn't that bad, but there is a 3 hour minimum and then you have to pay a $15 fee for the sitter to get a ride home. That means your minimum payment is $60 for 3 hours. Very expensive if you want to have a few dinners to yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborahandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your last vacation at Villa Del Arco Resort. We are always striving in providing Quality Of Services to all our valuable guest. We hope to host you and your family once again soon.

Sincerely,
Miguel Angel Rodriguez.
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My actual stay was in June 2012. Looks like the newest resort on the beach. Very Clean. Like having a kitchenette. I had an all inclusive package through Living Social:
I thought the breakfast buffet was just ok. Liked the fresh juice.
The a la carte restaurants were the best. I'm glad that I didn't have to pay.
The taco stand was very good. I tried all the tacos!

Liked the option of going to sister property Villa Del Palmar for their nightly entertainment and food...but I like my resort better.

Staff was very nice and professional.

The resort is like a ghost town around 10pm. So you don't have to worry about noisy guests. But I was expecting a little more action at night. Glad downtown Cabo is a short cab ride away!

I would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Negrilgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We are delighted to read you spent a wonderful time at our resort. We will be more than happy to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

kind regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It is very disappointing to find that the member services office has been closed. We prefer dealing with Lydia and Mary because we find them to be honest and helpful.
Booking rooms thru San Diego we are not offered the members rate and are always told there is nothing ever available for additional days at the Villa Del Arco. It is very disappointing after purchasing a fixed week that we always have to relocate to the Del Palmer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear member,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us as we are always striving in providing Quality Of Services to all our valuable guest, we decide to close that office but now you can book your next vacations through our front desk staff, they will be more that happy to help you. We hope to host you once again soon.

Sincerely,

Miguel Angel Rodriguez.
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our first stay at Villa del Arco with the All Inclusive package. The two previous years we stayed at Villa del Palmar, the neighboring property.

Going to VDA was the best decision we made! I loved the quiet and serene evenings and it never got crazy and wild around the pool areas.

We booked the 2 bedroom suite which really was two adjoining rooms, but it worked out perfectly. The larger room was a true 1 bedroom unit. With one bedroom with a full bathroom and a separate living room and full sized kitchen and full bathroom. The adjoining room had 2 queen beds, a full bathroom, and a small kitchen.

This worked out perfectly for our family of 6 travelers. The three kids shared the 2 queen room, my husband and I used the one King bed room, and the other adult family member used the Murphy bed in the living room. Before we got there we were a bit worried about the living room sleeping arrangements (expecting a traditional fold out couch) but were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the Murphy bed was.

Each room had its own full bathroom so there was never an issue of waiting for the bathroom or shower. Everyone had their privacy at night, and the kids enjoyed having their "own" room.

When we arrived in our room we had a welcome basket of treats welcoming us to our room. Each night we had turn down service and a plate of cookies, or other baked treats waiting for us. The one thing that I absolutely went crazy for was the aromatherapy candle that was lit when we checked into the room. It smelled absolutely divine!

We booked through Funjet Vacations, with whom we'd booked the two previous trips. Everything was as advertised, except the hotel didn't honor our request for an ocean view which we had submitted but told were not guaranteed to get. We actually ended up very happy with the room they gave us because it got the late afternoon sun and was very quiet at night. No noise from guests or pools which was nice. The late afternoon and evening sunsets were beautiful from our balconies, which were nicely furnished with lounge chars and tables.

The pool and beach service was perfect. The waiters were attentive and quick, and kept checking back with us. We would tip one or two dollars per order. The food was good and fresh, and the drinks were excellent as well. We realize that it's not top gourmet cooking, and the drinks are not top shelf liquor, but the convenience of All Inclusive overshadows that. The main thing for us is the convenience of everyone eating and drinking what they want, when they want. One time when the waiter brought my margarita I was asked to fill out a survey. I said that it was tasty, but too sweet. Within minutes, the pool bar manager was down at the beach with a new drink and asked me to taste it to see if I liked it better. That was impressive.

The restaurants were quite tasty and there was plenty of variety to eat something different each night. The adults really enjoyed the seafood restaurant - the creamy bell pepper soup and the seafood soup were really spectacular! The kids enjoyed the Mexican restaurant and also the pirate ship restaurant.

The breakfast buffet was not as large and with as many selections as VDP, but there were definitely enough choices for everyone to be happy every morning. The whole breakfast experience was much calmer and not as noisy and overbearing as VDP. Most morning we were lucky enough to get a table on the balcony overlooking the beach which made breakfast so much tastier! We always had wonderful and attentive service in the restaurants, both breakfast and dinner.

During our stay, it seemed that most guests preferred to be at the pool. We prefer the beach, so we ended up having most of the beach area/chairs to ourselves. On any given day, there were never more than 20 or 25 people in the beach chair area. At VDP it always seemed extremely crowded with lots of smokers which was not the case at VDA.

My mom and I booked several spa treatments and we also used the gym facility. The massage therapy was fantastic. My mom said the facial was ok, but would probably not do it again. We would both definitely go back for the massage treatments. My mom took the group exercise classes which she really enjoyed.

We will definitely come back to this resort again. We really enjoyed how basically mellow and quiet it was. None of us like "organized" resort activities and none of us liked the theme shows at VDP, so it was really pleasant to have the VDA resort experience.

We were approached once about the time share presentation and I was very firm and upfront that we had ZERO interest in it. We were never asked again after that one time during check in.

The front desk was very helpful and friendly. I don't think they were telling the truth when they said there were no direct ocean view rooms available, but in hindsight, we were actually really happy with our room on the side of the hotel facing the city. We had a 3/4 ocean view and a full blown view of the city and hills. And, with the gorgeous sunset every night, it ended up being a perfect location.

We will definitely come back to Villa del Arco.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first building, closest to the beach, on the right side of the hotel. Building 3? T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WorldTraveler201194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We are delighted to read you spent a wonderful time at our resort. We will be more than happy to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

kind regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#3 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#11 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create magical memories the minute you walk into Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa in Cabo San Lucas, an idyllic and delightful retreat, where the staff is committed to ensuring you get the best of the 3 Rs: relaxation, recreation and romance. This sophisticated five-star, all-suite property, often referred by past guests as calming, beautiful and comfortable, offers secluded stretches of beach where you can shut out the world and relish in the surroundings. Our comfortable, yet luxurious suites feature unbeatable views of sand and sea, including the exotic El Arco rock formation, the official symbol of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing