We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location and hotel, little details make it not perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are a timeshare owner in the villa group and this was our first stay at the Arco in Cabo. We got a full two bedroom with a great ocean view. The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff did a good job of responding quickly to maintenance needs when we needed it (flickering light, running toilet). In addition, the waitstaff and pool service were both very friendly and attentive.

The spa and gym on the property were both very nice and the people managing the spa were very professional. The hotel does not have water in the gym, which is a little unusual though.

The food at El Patron was very good, it was one of the better restaurants in the resort. Avoid the Italian restaurant at Villa del Palmar as the pastas are very watery.

While, the place is nice there are a few cons and watchouts:
1) The walls are a little thin, so it's pretty easy to hear any repair work going outside or your upstairs neighbors walking around.
2) The wifi service is a little slow and at least in our room we had to be closer to the balcony to get stronger service. (Would be nice if wifi was free).
3) The "timeshare tour" was really unpleasant. Avoid "Mike from Oregon".
4) I found it odd that there wasn't a room service menu in the room. Some times, we didn't want to eat out, but didn't have the option to order in.
5) For both breakfast and dinner, we sometimes had waits of +30min, even though there were plenty open tables. Not sure if the staffing is low. Take a later breakfast to avoid the morning rush and make dinner reservations the day before or earlier in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yohon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients and to make sure that all your needs are exceded.

For the few cons and watchouts I am passing this to the proper departments to avoid this in the future.

I love to see you back in to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,
Mr. Jorge Herran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,214 - 2,220 of 2,808 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our 1st visit to Villa Del Arco time share. We went with more experienced travelers who requested suite near the Sea of Cortex....we got great view. Rooms are fairly large and very comfortable. Pool was a bit warm for my taste and beach was really lovely...water a bit strong and sudden drop off seems typical of region. The pool side service was very good and food/drink reasonable..the turkey burger and salads especially good. Several local places in walking distance on the beach or into town. really convenient location. Special offers desk helped us get discount golf [no strings attached], snorkel trip at discount, and ATV ride that didn't turn out so good. The on site restaurants got good review from our group but I never ate there... Cleaning services good and we really had no complaints expect for the lack of internet in the room [$50/computer/week fee]. Not the right place for young kids....the sister timeshare next door caters to younger crowd and teenagers. Don't forget to watch the sunrise!!!

Room Tip: request room as far away from lobby as possible....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients and to make sure that all your needs are exceded.

I love to see you back in to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,
Mr. Jorge Herran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The entire food staff was replaced last year when a Ritz-trained operations manager took over the management of La Estancia and Villa Del Arco. He hired Gabriel, a young chef trained in Argentina, who established a strong reputation in Chicago and Teluride before bringing his family here. We have avoided the ocean side restaurant in recent years. It now ranks as one of our favorites in all of Cabo, right up there with Hacienda. Food service, preparation and flavor were simply outstanding. Two items stand out -- the three mole sauce dinner with superb and distinct flavors on beef tenderloin medallions and shrimp -- and the red snapper entree. The restaurant reminded us of finer dining experiences in Europe. Rather than the monstrous portions served in so many Cabo dining establishments, the portions were reasonable and the sauces and other dishes designed to create a melody of tastes. We paid $250 for a much less enjoyable experience at Ruth's Chris on Christmas night at the Puerto Paraiso Mall; the meal we enjoyed tonight was $49 after our Gold Card discount. That gets a five star value rating from me. If only we could spend that money in town and come away with a similar taste sensation.

It's clear hotel management is working to improve all aspects of service. We do own a time share for Christmas week here. We have been coming for ten years and the reports of bad experiences suggest to me either hard to please people or we've just been very lucky. Wait staff here is terrific, friendly and service oriented.

We purchased our time share here and can't wait to return each year; the food was the only thing that made this a generally four star experience for us. Today, it's a five star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View rooms on the north side of the building and you will receive a clear view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HSBTheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients.

I love to see you back to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,
Sr. Jorge Herran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wow! Just returned from our vacation and have to say, it was by far, the best experience ever! We work a lot of hours and really want to make sure each vacation we take gives us the best bang for the buck. We absolutely hit the jackpot with VillaDelArcoCabo.com and DestinationCabo.com. I did a lot of research and price comparisons and Destination Vacations beat them all. AND they have a ton of information on the resorts, Cabo, activities, and advice on everything from where to eat to where and when to pickup groceries for our group. They are in Cabo several times a year, and more importantly knew who to work with to make our vacation the best. They even worked with the resort on some special requests we had talked about. One of our group had a flight delay, but Destination Vacations helped us contact the transportation company, kept in contact with us until they were on the way to the resort so we could greet our missing friend with a chilled local tequila! Every time we ate out, it was on the recommendation from Destination Vacations and we all thanked them with a toast at each meal ;-). We had an exceptional vacation and can't wait to do it again! This time we have several more friends who are going, after hearing all of us rave about the incredible room prices and overall great experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients.

I love to see you back to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
VDA-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

There were lots of negative reviews on this property, which we booked via Costco travel on the advice of a family friend who stayed here in spring. Someone said they were accosted, someone else said they were ripped off, there were lots of negative comments on timeshare sales tactics, etc. I took these seriously and had my guard up when we got there.

But not once were we bothered with timeshare people (we have dealt with them in Whistler, same game--free stuff if you sit here and let us try and get you to prepay for the next 20 vacations, etc.). The staff was not only helpful but very pleasant. Given the wide range of guests we mt at Villa Del Arco, language & cultural differences, etc. it's to be expected there are some issues as there always are with hotels no matter the country or how much you spend.

Our room was very nice and relaxing, plenty of room with kitchen & washer/dryer combo. They pool area was well taken care of and the food was very good. We did not go all inclusive because we wanted to spend time and meals in the town, and we are glad we did that. Doing the math it was cheaper to get a few meals per day from Costco and/or nibble at the taco bar as wanted, and hit the town for the fun restaurants. I will say I am very sick of Mexican food but it's still my favorite, had some great food at Del Arco in the Pearl restaurant and the Bucanero has a great daytime menu. The location is perfect for us--close enough to town we can walk the beach to Mango Bar, etc. but far enough away to be quiet and with fewer party animals (you know who you are, I love you but now I have little kids). Lots of families with kids and this made it fun for ours as well.

Do make sure you understand the checkout procedures, with people from all over the world coming and going they do have some procedures that are slightly different viz a viz checkout, paying your room tab, etc. but they were flexible in our checkout time (we have two little kids who needed a nap before a long day of travelling home).

Loved this place, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goldmund1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients.

I love to see you back to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.


Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
VDA-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

During our recent honeymoon stay at the Villa Del Arco, valuable diamond earrings were stolen from our room. Without a doubt, this resort is beautiful, if your want to risk losing your valuables though.

Oh sure...the so-called Chief of Security visited the room to investigate. However, we required a translator to assist, at this Hotel which caters to 95% English Speaking Americans.

As part of the investigation, it was determined from a review of the electronic lock that there were 3 separate incidents where different members of housekeeping entered our room, during our absence. Initially, we were assured that there would be "lie detector tests" administered on all 3 of the personnel. Later, we were informed that that would not be the case. Inside job maybe?

After nearly 30 days of exchanging communications that involved (1) The Director of Sales (2) The Regional Director of Operations and finally (3) The Rooms Division Manager, they informed us that they couldn't prove that their hotel employees were involved and that we needed to file a claim with our personal insurance carrier.

The worst part is that we are timeshare owners with the Villa Group and had expectations of a more reasonable outcome with some form of restitution.

Overall, be sure to place everything (except your suntan lotion) under lock and key. Be assured that the tiny safes provided in each room are incapable of securing all of your personal valuables otherwise. Don't waste your hard-earned money investing with this Company. You can do better by purchasing a vacation package through Expedia, Orbitz, etc.. Their new gimmick is to try to charge you 15K or more, to convert all current owners from a 30 year term ownership to a point program. No wonder the Resort owners are debt-free.

BEWARE.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and come a little late so our standard room was taken so we were upgraded to a jr suite the view from the bacony was great we could see the Arcos right in front of us the rooms were great and very clean only down side is the time share they do bug you the first day you get there just learn to say no yhank you

Room Tip: get the upgrade forthe view its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orozcofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear customer,
We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Resort and We will be very happy to host you again.

Thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
VDA GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.4 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,052 reviews
3 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $258 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create magical memories the minute you walk into Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa in Cabo San Lucas, an idyllic and delightful retreat, where the staff is committed to ensuring you get the best of the 3 Rs: relaxation, recreation and romance. This sophisticated five-star, all-suite property, often referred by past guests as calming, beautiful and comfortable, offers secluded stretches of beach where you can shut out the world and relish in the surroundings. Our comfortable, yet luxurious suites feature unbeatable views of sand and sea, including the exotic El Arco rock formation, the official symbol of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing