We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“El Patrone Now One of Our Favorite Cabo Restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“El Patrone Now One of Our Favorite Cabo Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The entire food staff was replaced last year when a Ritz-trained operations manager took over the management of La Estancia and Villa Del Arco. He hired Gabriel, a young chef trained in Argentina, who established a strong reputation in Chicago and Teluride before bringing his family here. We have avoided the ocean side restaurant in recent years. It now ranks as one of our favorites in all of Cabo, right up there with Hacienda. Food service, preparation and flavor were simply outstanding. Two items stand out -- the three mole sauce dinner with superb and distinct flavors on beef tenderloin medallions and shrimp -- and the red snapper entree. The restaurant reminded us of finer dining experiences in Europe. Rather than the monstrous portions served in so many Cabo dining establishments, the portions were reasonable and the sauces and other dishes designed to create a melody of tastes. We paid $250 for a much less enjoyable experience at Ruth's Chris on Christmas night at the Puerto Paraiso Mall; the meal we enjoyed tonight was $49 after our Gold Card discount. That gets a five star value rating from me. If only we could spend that money in town and come away with a similar taste sensation.

It's clear hotel management is working to improve all aspects of service. We do own a time share for Christmas week here. We have been coming for ten years and the reports of bad experiences suggest to me either hard to please people or we've just been very lucky. Wait staff here is terrific, friendly and service oriented.

We purchased our time share here and can't wait to return each year; the food was the only thing that made this a generally four star experience for us. Today, it's a five star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View rooms on the north side of the building and you will receive a clear view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSBTheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients.

I love to see you back to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,
Sr. Jorge Herran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,642
    492
    112
    58
    39
See reviews for
943
844
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wow! Just returned from our vacation and have to say, it was by far, the best experience ever! We work a lot of hours and really want to make sure each vacation we take gives us the best bang for the buck. We absolutely hit the jackpot with VillaDelArcoCabo.com and DestinationCabo.com. I did a lot of research and price comparisons and Destination Vacations beat them all. AND they have a ton of information on the resorts, Cabo, activities, and advice on everything from where to eat to where and when to pickup groceries for our group. They are in Cabo several times a year, and more importantly knew who to work with to make our vacation the best. They even worked with the resort on some special requests we had talked about. One of our group had a flight delay, but Destination Vacations helped us contact the transportation company, kept in contact with us until they were on the way to the resort so we could greet our missing friend with a chilled local tequila! Every time we ate out, it was on the recommendation from Destination Vacations and we all thanked them with a toast at each meal ;-). We had an exceptional vacation and can't wait to do it again! This time we have several more friends who are going, after hearing all of us rave about the incredible room prices and overall great experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients.

I love to see you back to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
VDA-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

There were lots of negative reviews on this property, which we booked via Costco travel on the advice of a family friend who stayed here in spring. Someone said they were accosted, someone else said they were ripped off, there were lots of negative comments on timeshare sales tactics, etc. I took these seriously and had my guard up when we got there.

But not once were we bothered with timeshare people (we have dealt with them in Whistler, same game--free stuff if you sit here and let us try and get you to prepay for the next 20 vacations, etc.). The staff was not only helpful but very pleasant. Given the wide range of guests we mt at Villa Del Arco, language & cultural differences, etc. it's to be expected there are some issues as there always are with hotels no matter the country or how much you spend.

Our room was very nice and relaxing, plenty of room with kitchen & washer/dryer combo. They pool area was well taken care of and the food was very good. We did not go all inclusive because we wanted to spend time and meals in the town, and we are glad we did that. Doing the math it was cheaper to get a few meals per day from Costco and/or nibble at the taco bar as wanted, and hit the town for the fun restaurants. I will say I am very sick of Mexican food but it's still my favorite, had some great food at Del Arco in the Pearl restaurant and the Bucanero has a great daytime menu. The location is perfect for us--close enough to town we can walk the beach to Mango Bar, etc. but far enough away to be quiet and with fewer party animals (you know who you are, I love you but now I have little kids). Lots of families with kids and this made it fun for ours as well.

Do make sure you understand the checkout procedures, with people from all over the world coming and going they do have some procedures that are slightly different viz a viz checkout, paying your room tab, etc. but they were flexible in our checkout time (we have two little kids who needed a nap before a long day of travelling home).

Loved this place, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldmund1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients.

I love to see you back to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.


Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
VDA-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

During our recent honeymoon stay at the Villa Del Arco, valuable diamond earrings were stolen from our room. Without a doubt, this resort is beautiful, if your want to risk losing your valuables though.

Oh sure...the so-called Chief of Security visited the room to investigate. However, we required a translator to assist, at this Hotel which caters to 95% English Speaking Americans.

As part of the investigation, it was determined from a review of the electronic lock that there were 3 separate incidents where different members of housekeeping entered our room, during our absence. Initially, we were assured that there would be "lie detector tests" administered on all 3 of the personnel. Later, we were informed that that would not be the case. Inside job maybe?

After nearly 30 days of exchanging communications that involved (1) The Director of Sales (2) The Regional Director of Operations and finally (3) The Rooms Division Manager, they informed us that they couldn't prove that their hotel employees were involved and that we needed to file a claim with our personal insurance carrier.

The worst part is that we are timeshare owners with the Villa Group and had expectations of a more reasonable outcome with some form of restitution.

Overall, be sure to place everything (except your suntan lotion) under lock and key. Be assured that the tiny safes provided in each room are incapable of securing all of your personal valuables otherwise. Don't waste your hard-earned money investing with this Company. You can do better by purchasing a vacation package through Expedia, Orbitz, etc.. Their new gimmick is to try to charge you 15K or more, to convert all current owners from a 30 year term ownership to a point program. No wonder the Resort owners are debt-free.

BEWARE.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and come a little late so our standard room was taken so we were upgraded to a jr suite the view from the bacony was great we could see the Arcos right in front of us the rooms were great and very clean only down side is the time share they do bug you the first day you get there just learn to say no yhank you

Room Tip: get the upgrade forthe view its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orozcofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear customer,
We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Resort and We will be very happy to host you again.

Thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
VDA GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a beautiful stay and booked through Bob Easton at Destination Vacations. Bob always does a great job getting us what we want. Beautiful 3bdrm penthouse! The service was great too! The waiters at the pool were always very attentive - especially Cristino (hope I spelled it right). If you just avoid the time share folks everything always works out great. Also, a staff member named Irene that is a chef at the breakfast buffet was fabulous!

Room Tip: Of course you always want closest to the beach on high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Client:
It was very nice to host you in our Resort and we trully appreciate your comments. We sincerely hope to see you back and provide the Services you deserve.


Sincerely

Mr. Jorge Herran
Villa del Arco Mananager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

On November 23, 2012, during a stay at a Universal Vacation Club location, Villa Del Arco, my cousin and I were subject to assault, battery, duress, and harassment by Universal Vacation Club employees.
Our families were guests at Villa Del Arco from November 16-23rd. I arrived several days after my family on November 19th. On November 22nd my aunt and mother received a bill for charges associated with the room. Numerous charges on the bill were inaccurate, inflated, and occurred during time periods prior to the November 16th arrival. Among these charges were several breakfasts that were included in our stay. My aunt and mother spent hours going over the disputed bill with the front desk attendants. My mother and aunt informed me that the front desk was being completely uncooperative and while they did remove many of the false charges, they simply refused to remove others, even where no bill could be produced. The bill dropped several hundred dollars after the false charges were removed, however there were still many in dispute. The front desk told my aunt that she would have to take it up with the credit card company.
Neither my cousins, nor I, were a party of any of these discussions. Our names were not associated with the reservation. At approximately 12:30 pm on November 23, 2012, my cousin and I asked for a taxi to take us to our international flight. We had left sufficient time to taxi and make our flight without issue. However, when we asked for the taxi, we were told with much hostility, by the manager, Eduardo, that we could not leave the premises until the primary person on the room signed for the charges. I calmly informed him that neither of us was that person and that we needed to catch a flight. He once again with great anger told me that we would not be given a taxi and that he needed the primary person to sign for the credit card he had on file. This exchange went on for some time, with me explaining that I was not that person and that I was now in danger of running late for my flight.
Finally, after getting nowhere, my cousin and I said we would walk to get a taxi. We left the front door and got to the gate where we were told that we would not be allowed to leave without first paying. Once again, I explained that they had a credit card on file, that it should be used, and that we were going to miss our flight. As we continued to try and leave the gate, we were subjected to assault and battery as the man at the gate physically grabbed the bags in our hand and began to try to drag us back into the hotel. I yelled at the man to stop touching us that this was illegal, that I was an attorney and he was assaulting us and had now harmfully and offensively touched both myself and my cousin. Still, he refused and a screaming match and tug-of-war ensued. My cousin was visibly upset and trembling as was I. I continued to explain that we needed to catch our flight.
After much struggle at the gate, I finally marched back up to the hotel and demanded that they stop holding us hostage and allow us to catch our flight. The manager admitted that he had a credit card on file for the person named on the room, but that he knew that she was going to attempt to dispute many of the charges.
In the end, I was forced to put the charges on my credit card despite not being in the country when many occurred and them having an accurate card on file. Exhausted, assaulted, battered, and harassed, we were finally able to leave the premise in a taxi and barely catch our flight.
Upon return to the states I learned from my aunt that she had in fact signed for the charges and been told that everything was taken care of! When she checked out with Jorge at the front desk, he asked if she preferred to leave the incidental charges on the card on file and she said yes. She signed the bill and also signed on behalf of her sister, Sylvia, since she had already left, which my aunt let him know. He asked her to write on a piece of paper that Sylvia had left, which she did. She said to him, "Are we good then?" He replied, "Yes" and my other cousin and her left.
We travel for business and pleasure frequently and it is common practice to leave charges on the card on file even if the person whose name the reservation or credit card is in has left. If there were any issues with this, she should have been notified at the time I checked out.
I’ve never experienced worst customer service. I’ve never been physically attacked by an employee of a company. I’m planning to file litigation and I am demanding the following: (i) A formal written apology to myself and my cousin, (ii) immediate resignation of the supervisor who ordered the assault and battery, and (iii) a return of all funds charged to my account.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
45 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.4 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
1.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create magical memories the minute you walk into Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa in Cabo San Lucas, an idyllic and delightful retreat, where the staff is committed to ensuring you get the best of the 3 Rs: relaxation, recreation and romance. This sophisticated five-star, all-suite property, often referred by past guests as calming, beautiful and comfortable, offers secluded stretches of beach where you can shut out the world and relish in the surroundings. Our comfortable, yet luxurious suites feature unbeatable views of sand and sea, including the exotic El Arco rock formation, the official symbol of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing