We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely A Five Star Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely A Five Star Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2005

We celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary at the Sheraton Hacienda.........WHAT A HOTEL! The grounds were beautiful and the hotel staff was very professional in dealing with hotel guest. Upon arrival, during our stay and departure we were treated like ROYALTY..........and I'm not exaggerating folks. Service at all levels, room, front desk, pool side and restaurants was top of the line....very professional and consistent. I must agree that the food prices were on the high side of the price scale, but the food was worth every penny (our should I say, every dollar!). For those who found the food prices outrageously high, I say, what were you expecting at a five star resort.........MacDonald drive through window prices? Come on, get real! I disagree with those who have said the food was bad or terrible.......we dined in all the hotel restaurants and the food was great every time. The only minor complain I have with the restaurant experience at the hotel, was that they seem to take a bit longer to bring you the bill.......but heck, we were in no hurry........we were on vacation!
The one-way taxi cab (actually a van) was a bit pricy ($20, yes US dollars) but the vans were clean, air-conditioned and the drivers were very friendly (maybe being bi-lingual helped us socialize better with the natives).
We did a few tours and visited downtown Cabos San Lucas every night. Great shops, restaurants and night life - check out Edith's and Mambo Cafe!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    479
    144
    87
    46
See reviews for
427
583
42
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2005

Ok - I am trying to write something different than all the other favorable posts for the Sheraton, but let me tell you....YOU WILL HAVE AN INCREDIBLE TIME AT THIS RESORT!!!!! The grounds are gorgeous, tranquil, clean, the staff is incredibly helpful and trustworthy (perhaps the biggest plus), and the food is great. Ok, yes, the food can be pricey but you WILL spend less than any all-inclusive where the food is below average...we stayed at the Riu Palace for 3 days and quickly came back to the Sheraton for the remainder of our honeymoon.

If you walk 1 minute to the little market, you can buy beers for $2 and snack items for cheap. Trust me, you will love this resort.

And also, one big note, the Internet Pictures do not do this resort justice...it is incredibly beautiful.

Another also, we were married at the Sheraton on a Monday and totally loved it. We saw that there were several weddings on a Saturday there (July 4th weekend). Just trust us, pick a day besides Saturday to get married so your wedding won't compete with two others. Remember every day is a "Saturday" in Cabo. Your guests will love the resort. Ours are still talking about it.

Feel free to email me with any questions....

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Apple_du_lac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2005

We just got back tonight from a 7 day stay at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. It was an amazing experience to say the least. The hotel itself is just beautiful - decorated with Mexican style/flare. The pools are incredible and lots of fun. We met several other couples and made new friends. The beach there is beautiful too. Yes, the ocean is definitely rough, and some days you aren't allowed in the water, but it really doesn't detract from the experience at all. We were not bothered by time share people at all. We were met with some pressure at the airport when first arriving in Los Cabos, but big deal. You politely say no and move along.
We did both a daytime snorkel trip to Santa Maria Beach and a sunset cruise around the arch - both on the La Princessa. Both were loads of fun and beautiful trips. I would recommend trying a different boat/ship for the sunset cruise as the La Princessa catamaran's aren't big enough to go far enough out onto the Pacific Ocean due to the waves. But it was still a great time. Cabo was beyond what I had hoped for and I truly don't understand how some people have been so critical. Yes, hotel food is expensive, but that's pretty much a given at any resort. The staff and service was impeccable. I've been to other carribean resorts and had horrible service and horrible attitude. EVERY one we encountered in Cabo - from the hotel staff to the people at restaurants to small time merchants - all were incredibly nice and polite to us.
Can you tell I loved it there? I would go back in a heartbeat.
I would recommend for dinner in town go to the Trailer Park (the original - be sure to specify), Edith's and Margaritavilla. Edith's was pricey but the food was outstanding and the service couldn't have been better.
We tried to go to The Office but it was PACKED. We heard it was booked for days - so keep this in mind if you try to go for dinner. We did hear it was great food and a great time....
In all, it was an amazing trip. Highly recommend Cabo and the Sheraton...

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2005

The grounds and landscaping were very pretty and well maintained. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The view of the sea was lovely and it was very nice to walk on the beach. The restaurants were abyssmal and expensive. Breakfast was fairly reasonable at $12.95, but the food was so bland and the service was lackidaisical at best. In fact, the overall service was conducted in a curiously flat and disinterested manner. The food seemed to have been processed through a "deflavoizer" at Girasole and Tomatos. I began to wonder if the employees were treated well, as almost without exception the employees reacted to any request in a flat disintersted manner and there was never a sense of urgency. Even at the poolside bars, the waiters just ignored you.Was it because the tips were added into every tab at 15%? Do the employees get the tip? Do customers tip less because of the automatic gratuity? I won't return.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2005

Stayed June 5th-8th at Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar, Dreams from June 8th-12th and Westin Resort & Spa, San Jose Del Cabo June 12-14th. First, need to tell you the definition of Cabo San Lucas is home of Time Share sales. You can't get away from it. Each hotel has time share sales and will try and get to you one way or another. In fact, we rented from Alamo and it started at their counter. After finding out that in Mexico if you decline the insurance you are obligated to pay $5 additional per day, we decided the $150 from the Time Share guy would help pay for the rental. Hence, we ended up going to a presentation at Pueblo Bonita (where they made their 90 minute presentation and let you go in peace). But, back to the point...Time Share presentations are everywhere and you can't escape them. Just a word of advice hold out for at least $250 becasue you can get it. WE ended up doing another presentation at Mayan Palace and received $250 but, unlike Pueblo Bonita it was a horrific experience - worse then buying a car - they wouldn't let us leave after 90 minutes until the Manager cam over and made his case and then when he was done turned us over to Mr. Slick who tried again to sell us a 5 year deal - bottom line they want payback for their $250 (si in fairness we listened as annoyed as we were). Also, don't let anyone fool you about Cabo being a beach destination. Yes there are beached but, don't expect to swim in them at most of the hotels (including the 3 in this review). It is impossible to swim as you would be taking your life in your hands. Yes, you can drive to a couple of palces and go swimming but, who wants to leave their beach front hotel to do that. All the hotels mentioned overcompensate by building lavish beautiful swimming pools. The Sheraton by far had the best pools that had to cost a small fortune. I can tell you absolutely their were no faults with the SHeraton (expect to pay lots for all your meals). Dreams has the potential to be 5 stars but, they need to get their act together. Inconsitency would be the theme a t Dreams. At times service was great, others lousy. Food was decent but, not gourmet. The Westin was architectually the most incredible hotel to be seen in Cabo. Words can't describe it. Even if you are not staying there take the time to look at it and the layout of the timeshares (again food prices were expensive). Food in Cabo downtown was good at every restaurant we ate at, none jumped out as being a must with the exception of The Office (must go on Thrsday or Sunday for maximum thrill). No bargains to be had - Costco is same price as U.S. with the exception of Liquor. Best place to buy all your food (grocery items) at CCC (ask anyone where it is) or even better, 1/8 mile past CCC is real great supermarket with incredibly cheap prices (forgot the name - starts with an S). Driving in Cabo was easy and enjoyable - felt safe the entire time. Did a 4 hour ATV Tour (read the fine print you actually go on ATV for 2 hours - rest is transportation time) but had an incredible time (women better wear a sports bra or support as you are going to feel it).All in all had a great time but not sure we would go back because we rather stay at hotels beachront where you can actually go in the water and since there are no shortage of such places maybe Cabo isn't really for us.

Helpful?
17 Thank woody999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2005

My husband and I just returned from our June 2 - 7th trip at the Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar. We absolutely loved it. The service people are beyond reproach. The bartenders, waiters, front desk people etc.. all excellent. One night we were very late leaving for dinner in town. The front desk lady called Mi Casa for us because we were running so late. She said not to worry that they would remain open for us. It was our second dinner there as it was some of the most tasty food any of us have ever had. We ate at all but one of the resort restaurants. Tomatoes was excellent for breakfast, the buffet but would skip it for other meals. De Cortez was a real treat. Not only are you sitting as close to the beachfront as you could be without swimming but the food was amazingly desirable. The wait staff very friendly and accomodating. My husband had the steak with three sauces I had the scallops etc.. wonderful experience in every way. We arrived at De Cortez at 5:30 and ate through sunset. So beautiful. This was our 10th anniversary dinner. The hotel grounds are pleasing to the eye, nose and ear. The landscaping is breathtaking and with the bevy of flower types different smells illuminated from every direction. It was calm, peaceful and memorable. My husband and I are in our 30's we went with a few friends and while we relaxed or shopped downtown during the day we really lit up at night. Our favorite club by far was El Squid Roe. You must go with an open mind because it sure got interesting. Whether you go to join in with the outrageous fun or just people watch (as there is much to see) you will have a blast either way. Went to the Gigglin Marlin had been told how great it was but wasn't majorly impressed. Cabo Wabo was alot of fun my husband, a drummer, even went up on stage and played a song. However, by far El Squid Roe, the best. Our favorite place to have a before going to town drink and quiet night drink was the Tequila Bar. The view is so beautiful and bartenders really fun. Lots of other couples and singles in and out so the conversation was good too. All and all this resort was a trip we had planned and needed for a very long time. It could not have been better. I will say, that Cabo and all the resorts it seems are quite expensive we went $1000.00 over our budget for 6 days. That does include shopping, eating and drinking. We orig. wanted to stay within a $1600 - $1800 dollar budget for spending money. I believe we spent about $400.00 shopping. We brought home terrific pottery, jewlery etc... I would definitely recommend this resort. Feel free to ask any questions. By the way we didn't have time for the booze cruise but wish we had heard it was outrageous. Next time.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holmagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2005

We expected the time-share hard sell in the airport and on the street, but not at the Sheraton, a hotel that cost more than $200 a night, even with a discount travel club rate during the off season. As soon as we checked in (both times, as we had a split stay), a hotel employee was waiting to tell us about the "welcome package." She started with helpful information about the hotel and the area, then we figured out she wanted us to spend about 90 minutes of our limited vacation time listening to a scheduled time share pitch the next morning (though she disguised it as a complimentary breakfast and hotel tour). When we said we were not interested, she followed us out of the lobby and asked us to reconsider. Then we got a message in our room that night asking us to reconsider. Then a call at 8:30 a.m. the next day (waking us up) asking us to reconsider. So much for relaxation.
The grounds, pools and the buidlings were beautiful, but the rooms were just O.K. (except for the beds, which were incredibly comfortable). We actually found a former guest's underwear and lingerie in the armoire, and the mini bar was locked for some reason in our second room.
The food and drinks in the Mexican restaurant (one of three main restaurants on the grounds) were truly horrible and the service was awful. The service at the bars and poolside was marginal. The food and service at the restaurant Tomatoes was better, but nothing special.
The front desk employees seemed disorganized, though the bellhops and concierge were good. We were not able to get into our room on time (check-in was at 3; we couldn't get in til almost 4), making us late for evening plans in town.
The beach was lovely to sit on, but you should not swim in the waters, no matter what they tell you. According to some hotel employees we chatted with on the beach, three guests had to be rescued in the past month when they were swept out to sea and onto the rocks and coral. They reccommended guests not swim, even when the yellow flag was out. Despite this, I overheard another employee giving the time share tour telling a family with children it was "normally fine to swim" as at least five-foot swells crashed just yards away.
There are better hotels in the area for the price range, and ones with a lot less hassle. Others in our party stayed in three other hotels (the Fiesta Americana, the Westin, and the Hilton) and had no complaints and no time-share sell.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
5.4 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
15.5 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
12.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
4.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Property: Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Address: Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, the Sheraton Grand Los Cabos, Hacienda del Mar captures the feel of Old Mexico. A full complement of guest services is offered on premises to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing