We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've had better experiences at other Sheraton's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I would qualify this Sheraton hotel as average, overall.
The rooms show wear and tear and are extremely noisy - you hear neighbors at both sides talking and walking around, you hear stomping sounds from above and every flush of every toilet in the vicinity of your room - around you. I stayed in a garden view room.
The service is basically friendly and the food just average. With just one exception, I consumed all meals on premises and cannot recall one outstanding dish or event. WIFI in my case was included but very slow -good enough for basic email but tedious for larger downloads .
The room had a nice coffee machine, no instructions to operate and after trying on two occasions i gave up for lack of engineering skills. A not very user-friendly piece of equipment.
The beach is stellar but you are warned not to swim in the ocean because of high waves and strong currents.
It may have been a spectacular place in it's heyday - not any longer. It needs work.
One more item that bothered me - the fitness center opens at 7 am and if you are here for an event or conference, it is a bit late - most functions and events start at 8-9 am leaving little time for a good workout, shower and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewaldbiemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. Our goal at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar is to provide a stellar guest experience through our AAA Four Diamond Award-winning amenities and world-class service that we strive to deliver with heart. We want you to know that we genuinely appreciate any and all constructive feedback from our guests that might help us serve you better -- and that our manager is happy to discuss and promptly address guest issues. We are sorry for any reason that caused you not to enjoy your stay. However, with regard to our accommodations, our resort regularly undergoes renovative work, the most recent in 2012 to update our guest rooms and several facilities, including our gym and Kids’ Club. Among our most recent, ongoing improvements includes the debut, just this month, of a brand new menu at our Five Diamond De Cortez Mezquite Grill (of which we look forward to hearing our guests’ comments!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing getaway and found it at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. The resort is beautiful and the location just outside of Cabo is far enough away to be relaxing, but close enough that a short cab ride will take you into the center of town. The landscaping, pools and beach are incredible. The staff is exceptionally friendly and made great recommendations for Cabo restaurants. The rooms were comfortable, although slightly dated. Ours was an ocean view which was amazing. We could fall asleep and wake up to the sound of waves crashing on the shore. Girasoles and Pitahayas were both outstanding restaurants, and while the service was great at Tomatoes, the food was very average for the price.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed our unique slice of Cabo paradise by the beautiful Sea of Cortez and our commitment to providing exceptional service with heart! When Cabo calls you again, we hope to have the opportunity to host another relaxing and positively memorable getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar for 6 days at the end of April. This was our second visit. The most amazing thing about this resort is the spectacular beauty. The resort grounds are immaculate. The landscaping in just amazing with palm trees and flowering plants of every type. The layout and architecture are Mexican style with a European flair. The rooms are large and clean. This place is not your typical Sheraton, it is much more of a 5 star resort.

We stayed in an oceanfront room which I highly recommend as it is great value for the money. Opening your screen doors directly to oceanfront is wonderful. Cabo has perfect weather this time of year. Hot dry days and cool nights, with barely a cloud in the sky. The pool areas at this resort are nicely laid out. The beach is beautiful but is too rough for swimming.

There are several restaurants on the property. We liked De Cortez and Pitihayas for dinner although they are pricey for Cabo. The Mexican restaurant Girasoles is wonderful with excellent food and a great friendly staff. Very quiet and relaxing with Ocean views. I would not recommend Tomatoes. In town we had great dinners at Hacienda Cantina y Cocina (Mexican) and La Dolce (Italian).

Overall I would give this resort my highest recommendation. If you want a relaxing sun and swim vacation at a beautiful resort with superb weather and great service, it is for you.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room. It is not much more money and is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcmsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

It is always our aim at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar to to help make your time with us delightful and relaxing, so we greatly appreciate your feedback! Indeed, the members of our grounds staff are glowing to hear your kind compliments about our extensive grounds, as they, like every member of each of our staffs, put their heart into helping create what we hope is a wonderfully memorable and unique Cabo experience. We hope that you will come stay with us again and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for a week at the end of april, me, my fiancee, and a few friends. The Resort is Spectacular! From the moment we checked in, til the sad moment checking out, Manuel doing both and taking excellent care of us through out our stay. The entire staff was outstanding, remembering our names, where we were from, and overall VIP service. The grounds and ocean views are wonderful, we absolutely loved the waves! Big, powerful, awe inspiring waves that we loved watching crash the beach all day. Multiple pools including an Infinity pool on the beach with an ocean view, and Delpines which has golf, ocean, and gardens views with a swim up bar. Food prepared by Sirenas Bar is really good for lunch and served at the three pools. The fish tacos were my favorite, if your craving a burger after 6 days of mexican food? the burgers are awesome! Multiple Happy Hours at the different bars at different times through out the day are a great deal-two for one drinks starting at 11am to noon at Sirenas and on the beach. The ocean is definitely swimmable & FUN! depending on mother nature of course. Not recommended for children but we don't have em, and if you can swim, there is a safe area protected by rocks and a life guard on duty all day. Or many pools! Me and Fiancee actually loved the waves and would sit out each night with a glass of wine and watch the Full Red Moon rising over the crashing waves, Absolutely Spectacular! De Cortez Restaurant is down near the beach and has live music Weds-Sat with a great Duo performing Jazzy R&B music. Food is ok, steaks are really good, lobster not so much, Very nice wine cellar. David at the Tequila was awesome, great cocktails and a really nice premium tequila flight, big shots! Sports Bar was ok, closes at 10pm while most west coast games are still on. The sushi is fresh and really good plus it has a pool table. Tomatoes Restaurant is best for breakfast, you can order off menu or get the buffet, depends how hungry you are? The Buffet does come with fresh made omelets and make your own Bloody Mary or Mimosa bar which a nice touch and start to your day. Go to town! The Valet guys are great helping with transportation, Oswaldo and the Gentlemen are quick and helpful. $20 for a cab to town for 4 people, and $5 more for each extra person. $50 for cab to airport for up to 4 People. Also easy to get taxi back to hotel from town, same price. This is the best part about the Sheraton, its close enough to town with shops, restaurants, watersports, boat rides, bars, beach party's but far enough away to RELAX too! Not to mention the Golf! Cabo del Sol golf course is Top Notch, bring your sticks and extra balls. They even let my Fiancee come drive the cart for $34 rider fee. Course was slow, we didnt see another person til hole 14, so beautiful and relaxing. Go Enjoy!

Room Tip: Buildings 24 and 25 are closer to the beach and its nice hearing the waves crash all night long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentinekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Our entire staff thanks you for your comments, which are most kind, indeed! We are so happy to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. It is truly our pleasure to welcome and serve our guests and we look forward to having you return to relax and create more wonderful vacation memories with us at the resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm a Starwood guy. This is not an average Sheraton or even Sheraton vacation property. The grounds are very nice, and well maintained. Everything is clean, the rooms, the linens, and the pools. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms, especially the bathrooms are more what I would expect in the Westin part of the chain. The restaurants are spendy but clean and decent food. The whole place operates on a dollar economy. This is a resort, a little American oasis, not really Mexico. On the plus side, you can drink water from the tap.

The beach is nice but the surf is a little much, especially if you have little kids. it actually isn't bad to swim in but it would toss a child around.

It's well worth it to rent a car and get out and explore. Cabo is very safe and the worst thing you have to contend with are annoying hawkers, very iffy directions and mile markers and drunk kids in the spring break area of CSL.

Room Tip: Many upper floor "garden view" rooms have ocean or partial ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alaskanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at our beautiful Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. Beyond providing world-class service with heart, it is our goal to do whatever we can to please our guests and make them feel at home, so our entire staff thanks you, both for your kind words and for sharing your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I went here to simply relax, catch some sun and do a whole lot of nothing. Success. The resort is quite large especially with the timeshare part - but there is quite a bit of pools on the property to select from. Our first day we didn't realize there were other pools (our fault) so we spent that day on the beach. By day 2, we found the Delphine pool and swim up bar - nice touch. There were two destination weddings going on while we were there - no big deal - and if anything fun to see everyone partying it up.

Special shout out to Front Office Manager Emmanuel Vega. Our flight wasn't leaving until close to 7pm that night and he graciously extended our checkout to 3pm. I really appreciated his high level of service and he did it without out even asking. First Class Emmanuel.

Pros about this hotel: we loved the shrimp tacos (@ sirenas bar) and the shrimp caesar salad (@tomatoes restaurant). pina coladas were excellent @ pool/swim up bar. Bartenders David and Enrique @ Tequila bar were some of our favorite people - great drinks, good conversation and just nice peeps.

Cons: no swimming in the beach, the waves are huge and will crush you. The food gets a bit old...we went off site to Cabo and the Trailer Park a few nights - well worth the change in scenery and food. The hotel's shuttle is a good deal ($10 RT) but if you need to take a taxi, you'll pay upwards of $30 OW for it. We paid $50 USD just to get a taxi from the hotel to the airport...yikes. Beyond that, it was fine. The room is a bit dated, but fine...we spent most our time outside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivingtheCaliDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing about your stay with us at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. We are so happy that you enjoyed a relaxing stay, very much appreciate your kind words and hope that you will return again to our unique corner of Cabo paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I travelled to San Jose Del Cabo to stay with some relatives, and broke up our trip by staying at this resort for three days and three nights in Mid-April, 2013. I was somewhat leery of the expenses we might incur, given some of the reviews I had read prior to the trip. If you are reasonably informed leading up to your stay, you will have a very pleasant experience, as my wife and I did.

Upon check-in I was informed that the resort was placing a hold on my credit card of roughly $600 USD (approximately $200 USD per night). The process went fairly quickly and we were directed to the concierge desk. As you likely know, the concierge desk informs you of all the resort has to offer, but will also pitch the timeshare breakfast/tour to you, as the timeshare is actually co-located on the resort. The gentlemen was nice enough about it - we only had to tell him politely twice that we weren't interested in it. After that, we were shown to our room and did not have any other hassles in terms of a sales pitch for the duration of our stay on the property.

Pools: The property is well-planned and in immaculate condition. There are three pools that overlook the ocean, with another two pools located further back in the property (one is in the timeshare area). There was ample seating at the pools for the time we were there. The resort makes a conscious effort to limit the holding of prime chairs with towels with their signage...but let's face it - you can't effectively enforce courtesy.

Beach: While many highlight the beach as a weakness of the resort, I found it to be quite the opposite. The beach has a sharp incline towards the water which causes some pretty unpredictable and dangerous wave action. For the most part, the beach was off-limits for swimming. However, as a result, there was nearly nobody hanging out under the palapas down there, which meant a semi-private beach area for my wife and I. The wave action was nice to watch and really relaxing - at least for me. Further, the beach property is quite lengthy, due to the size of the resort property. You can spend a lot of time walking out there.

Restaurants: We went to Girasoles each day. For $16.50 USD per person, we were able to order as many dishes off the breakfast menu as we wanted, with included coffee and mimosas. There is a beautiful view of the Sea of Cortez and we were usually set until dinner time. We only went out for one dinner when we were there, and it was the fancier one (can't recall the name). They had a special on Saturday evenings for an assortment of Asian Tapas - well prepared and delicious for about $40 USD each. The prices were equivalent to an above-average steakhouse back home. Other times we had nachos and tacos either by the pool, on the beach or via room service. They were all slightly expensive, but not prohibitively so.

Bars: There are happy hours available beginning at 11 am each day until 5 pm for the pool/beach area, and until 10 pm in some of the restaurants. The happy hours rotate, so become familiar with them if you plan to have a few drinks during your stay. Two-for-one drinks are much more affordable than paying full price.

Shuttle: There is a shuttle that runs into Cabo San Lucas for $10 round-trip per person. The shuttle takes you to the mall, which is very north-americanized. If you're a gringo target like me (white guy with a straw hat and back pack), you will be mauled by locals trying to sell you things the second you go to explore the touristy city of Cabo. We spend about 1 hour walking around the area and decided to hop on the next shuttle back. You're likely not going to get an authentic Mexican experience visiting Cabo, nor will you save a great deal on meals - again, it really is quite touristy.

Tips: Pack a bottle or two of liquor to save yourself some money. We stopped at the Costco close by before coming and picked up some very inexpensive bottles of booze.

If you're not interested in the timeshare, just don't do it. Why waste so much of your precious vacation time to be pressured into a purchase you don't want to make?

While the resort accepts Mexican Pesos, it is in your best interest to pay in US dollars, as there calculations give you an unfavorable rate if using Pesos.

If you're in the SPG program, cash and points is pretty reasonable for this property (only $60/night for the room itself).

That's about all I can think of. We had an amazing time and would definitely look to stay here again when travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelboski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar and very much appreciate your comments. While we understand that strong waves, as they prevail,can be disappointing for those who would like to swim in the ocean close to the resort, we consider the sparkling Sea of Cortez with its dramatic surf and our white sand beaches a natural part of our environment and encourage our guests to enjoy its beauty, as you have, along with our extensive swimming and lounging pools. We look forward to welcoming you again -- and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
4.3 mi away
Villa la Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.7 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
956 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,931 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#39 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,056 reviews
12.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Address: Corredor Turistico KM 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $212 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar captures the feel of Old Mexico. Our hotel in Los Cabos, Mexico features a full complement of guest services to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. We present perfect accommodations in a spectacular setting on the oceanfront near Lovers Beach and the Arch of Cabo San Lucas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing