We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no free wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“no free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Really? Marriott Rewards, Hilton Rewards and even airplanes now offer this courtesy to their customers. We rented two rooms for 10 night...and no free wifi?! Three other families were talking about it at the pool and commenting also what a rip off! The manager wouldn't budge. We stayed at the Starwood St. Regis in Deer Valley - they comped the wifi! Not that we are on vacation to use wifi - but everything we did we needed our email confirmation etc. They give you 30 minutes in the lobby free each day but who wants to haul their laptop to the lobby and back again to their room. So silly especially when travel is a luxury in this economy. Have to tip my hat to other reward programs rather than Starwood.

The place is nice - not the cheapest - not the finest but very good. We've stayed at the Hilton too and found it a bit more staff friendly. Didn't have many other major problems...a bit crowded and in a noiser spot but overall a good hotel.

If I could give it 3 1/2 I would due to the overages for fees!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qsd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    478
    144
    87
    46
See reviews for
427
583
42
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar early March 2013 for a week. We wanted an all inclusive. We were unaware that this hotel has both all inclusive as well a la carte.
At this place you have 3 restaurants and you're instructed you can go to any of the 3 you'd likd.
Tomatoe's is the everday place for breakfast lunch and dinner. Here it's usually buffet sty;e. If you try to order off the menu , they steer you back to the buffet because your an all-inclusive. The other 2 are more dinner restaurants and finer dining. Problem is when you go to those 2 you're again treated like a 2nd class guest. As soon as they see your wrist band they advise you that "oh this is the menu you can order from" and "oh you'll have to pay extra for this wine." Coincidentally we tried 3 yimes to get into the one restaurant and even thought they weren't busy we couldn't even get a reservation.
That wrist band labelled us.
It most certainly wasn't cheap to stay there but it is one I'll never go back to!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I used starwood points to stay at the Sheraton from March 2nd – March 9th. This is our third time staying at this resort and after this trip we concluded that we would not stay anywhere else when we go to Cabo. We have never written a review about the Sheraton before this, but this time we did something different and stayed half of our trip at the Westin and half at the Sheraton, just to change things up bit for no other reason than to experience something different. After our experiences at both resorts, we felt we needed to give the Sheraton some credit for being a great resort.

In our experience, Westin’s tend to be a little nicer than Sheratons, but this is not the case in Cabo. The Sheraton is a far better resort. The staff is friendlier and more helpful, the pool areas are bigger and better configured so that you can find somewhere quite to lounge without kids playing (my wife and I prefer not to be around kids on vacation), the food is a little better, the food/drink service at the pool is better, the beach has better sand and the water is less rough, the grounds are better kept and have more vegetation, the resort layout is better and more logical, daily parking is free, and the overall location is a little better (for traveling between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo). The Westin really disappointed us and we regret not staying at the Sheraton for our whole trip. I suppose the only nice thing the Westin might have over the Sheraton is basically there was no sign of any timeshare salespeople during our stay, and there are no beach vendors. But to be honest, the timeshare people at the Sheraton only hangout by the front desk in the main lobby and will leave you alone with a firm “I’m not interested.” And the beach vendors will leave you alone for the most part if you just ignore them. I will gladly put up with these inconveniences verses the deficiencies at the Westin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTobyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

An excellent experience from arrival to departure. We brought a group of family and friends to celebrate my birthday and the staff was excellent. They all seemed to know it was my birthday and were very helpful to my husband, who was organizing our stay. The infinity pool was a favorite gathering spot, but the adult pool seems to be a well kept secret. We almost had it as a private pool for our group with 2 very attentive and personable bartenders. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieMae919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great location - beach and pool area are fantastic. Service was a bit hit or miss, and didn't like the timeshare push as you were checking in... Overall it was a good stay - you are outside of town, so away from the loud spring breakers, cruise ship people, etc. However, hotel was pretty full so getting a spot at the pool was difficult. Even though the signs state that you cannot "reserve" a spot, almost all of the chairs were "reserved" by people putting towels, shoes, etc. in them by 8am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hacienda del Mar for 3 nights in March. The hotel was in a beauiful location, it was so pretty. We arrived in the early afternoon and our room was not ready(which was fine because checkin was not until 3) so they told us to come back in a few hours. We went and have lunch and 3 hours later our room still was not ready. we were tired and really just wanted to get into our room. at about 3:30 they gave us our keys. You have to sit down with someone who talks to you about a timeshare but if you just say no they don't puch it. We had booked a garden view room which was loveley and acually had views of the water so that was very nice. The beds were very comfortable and bottled water was provided each day. The food was good but pretty expensive and drinks were about $13. we had a discounted rate for the room so that was ok but if we had payed full price it would have been better off with the all inclusive package as you could drink and eat as much as you wanted to. All in all it was a lovely stayand I would go back and bring my kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This property is gorgeous, but don't expect any hospitality, beginning with the second you check in. Before they give you directions to your room, the front desk hands you off to a "concierge" who just wants to sign you up to take a timeshare tour. That begins what is typical for your whole stay. They do what they do but will not go one step further to accommodate, and proceed to nickel and dime you the remainder of your stay. Want a sauna after your workout? $15.00. Wi-fi? Hurry, you have 30 minutes on one device before you have to shell out some money. Shuttle? Cheaper to take a cab on your time instead of their $10 per person scheduled shuttle. And on the beach go get your own drink if you don't want it completely melted by the time it gets to you. One beach restaurant has good drinks, not so great food, while the other has good food, not so great drinks. Position yourself in the middle and get it yourself. I've stayed other places but sadly, they were booked. Won't be back here despite the beauty and location.

Room Tip: Best tip would be to choose a room at the Hilton, but if you have to stay here, save the ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
5.4 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
15.5 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
12.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
4.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Property: Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Address: Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, the Sheraton Grand Los Cabos, Hacienda del Mar captures the feel of Old Mexico. A full complement of guest services is offered on premises to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing