We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a ocean front villa (under $200 per night) and the view was amazing. Great value, great beach, good pools and grounds and overall a better hotel than I expected.
Downside was I thought the food and drinks were expensive. Maybe it is the current dismal $USD, I dont know. Cabo across the board seems more expensive than it should be.
There are rotating drink specials and happy hours acorss the 6 or 7 bars so if you are diligent and dont mind walking the property, you can grab 2 for 1 on beers, margs, other cocktails and food specials pretty much the entire day. There was also a great breakfast/brunch buffet everyday that was well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    456
    134
    83
    44
See reviews for
407
548
40
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having been to Cabo a couple time before and loving the Hilton, I am now wondering why we even took the chance by staying here but hind sight is always 20:20. The 3 nights for 2 plus resort credit reeled us in...you definitely get what you pay for. The staff is accommodating but not friendly and in no way go out of their way to treat you like a guest. Our room was never clean before 4PM and we had to inevitably call for clean glasses and coffee for the morning. I travel a lot and have never been in a hotel where I had to change my own toilet paper...big deal?...yes, when you're paying of it. The only plus is the vicinity to town, otherwise run forest, run...and run fast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel ground is beautiful and meticulously kept. The view of Sea of Cortez was perfect. The beach is clean. We rented a car and had to drive around twice to find the entrance road to the hotel. The hotel website needs to spell it out clearer.

I emailed the hotel two weeks before arrival to ask a couple of questions. I never got a reply.

Once we got there, staff were all friendly and wonderful.

The room itself was dated and dark. We booked an ocean-view room. It turned out that you can't see the ocean from the room itself. You have to go on the balcony. It should be advertised as such.

At night, there was clicking sound coming from outside the room. I couldn't locate where it came from. It sounded like HVAC pipe noise. It woke me up several times at night even with my ear plugs in. It wasn't a restful vacation as I had hoped.

We went to most of the restaurants on site since we got a credit. They were all good but overpriced.

Now the timeshare presentation. When we checked in, we were directed to a "welcome" desk, which turned out to be the timeshare company. The guy was very nice introducing us to the restaurants and local interests and activities. He didn't force us to go to the timeshare presentation, but pointed out we would get a free breakfast, plus $150 restaurant credit and discounts on many activities. Since we love food and like to get out and explore, the savings was tempting. He said the timeshare presentation would be 75 minutes. So we signed up. It turned out to be 2.5 hours! The manager guy came in after we didn't jump on it and slashed the price by 1/3. Wondered how he could do that. Timeshare doesn't fit our live style anyway so we declined. We did save some money but wasted half a day. We didn't like the fact that the hotel seemed to be connected with the timeshare company and gave them two desks right in the check-in area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyCWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

REMEMBER THAT YOU ARE IN MEXICO!!

This is a gorgeous property IF you get the room you want and can get far enough away from loud Americans who have NO sense of respect for people who want to have a romantic, quiet vacation.

Overall, we liked this place, we think it lacks in certain areas and excels in others.

1) we changed room three times, after paying for an ocean view, the first room looked at another building, even after I specifically asked while checking in for the VIEW room. The second room was in the elevator shaft, we did not sleep the whole night, really horrible especially when this is the second room we asked for, and the staff 'knows' where they are putting you, after waiting an HOUR to get this room, we got such attitude from the desk woman, even though we speak Spanish, really poor service. At 7am I went to speak to the manager who FINALLY gave us a room in a "villa' that was quiet with no elevator and a view of the ocean. Mind you we had to wait another 3 hours, for this room to be ready, even though it was empty and clean.
2) the food and drinks are VERY expensive...if you have a budget, this is not the place for you. Luckily, we were there to splurge, and we did. Food was excellent but the fair was pretty much the same, shrimp, lobster, meat, however presentation was exceptional.
3) The Spa services were DELIGHTFUL, this was a highlight!
4) There were so many LOUD children and even more inconsiderate Americans. It was quite annoying that people have no concept of what a real vacation is, to have 7 children directly in front of you on a mile long beach SCREAMING at the top of their lungs, with a drunk father watching them almost drown in this potentially deadly / rough ocean was a joke. On another occasion some men decided to have a little football game in the middle of the beach, there is a huge beach...Please, be considerate & go where no one is sitting we just wanted PEACE, not a middle aged testosterone farce. (It was obvious they wanted attention and were from the midwest states, Texas and so on, over and over again I find Americans, RUDE. This was not the only time in our 5 days that people were too loud too drunk and inconsiderate.
5) IF YOU WANT TRANQUILITY ::: this is NOT the place for that.
6) we had to ask daily for the coffee to be replenished, you can have TONS of shampoo but no coffee, be mindful and watch your valuables.

Room Tip: Do your research and look at the rooms before you choose one, they are NOT as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This facility is literally on a private beach 1/2 mile long...the pools (2 infinity pools + others) are overlooking the ocean...the complex is 10 miles from Cabo so figure a $ 10 cost round trip per person and a $ 16 cost to the airport per person. Auto rental available on site...about $ 75 for a small car including insurance per day...the grounds are impeccable, lush and border a golf course...the ocean is warm from May-Dec though you are advised not to swim in it due to the undertow of the water...meals and beverages are expensive here...you can shop at Walmart about 5 miles south to temper costs...when you package everything together, it makes the trip here worth the visit and memorable...

Room Tip: Newer units in Bldgs 16, 17, 18 are further from the ocean Complex is shared with Sheraton Hacienda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJS95602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My friend and I visited Los Cabos in August for 6 days. We stayed here as part of a mediocre location while we visited other hotels for possible wedding guests accommodations. This resort ended up being a very good contender for our guests to stay. The location is off the beaten path, yet not too far away from the Marina (10 minutes by car). We were not harassed by timeshare personnel, the food was good, the service was really good, the pools and swim up bars were great! Also, the rooms were way more spacious and well kept than we had expected. We booked a Garden View room and saw a few of the suites etc. The rooms here are very spacious and the resort grounds are well kept. You definitely can't beat the value for the amenities here.

Room Tip: Even on the ground floor (Garden View room) it was very spacious, quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sim12012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have visited the Sheraton Hacienda on numerous stays to Cabo. The hotel complex which is a series of 3 or 4 story villas all connected by winding cobblestone pathways with flowing fountains and glittering palm trees. You first see the dramatic sprawling property from the highway. At night time the glowing buildings give a truly Mexican feel as if you were entering a small village in itself.

The staff here are just amazing. They win over your heart and give you a feeling that your family. Everybody knows me by name and great me with genuine warmth and happiness to see me.

The front desk Manager and agent gave me a wonderful suite on te top floor of the main building. The view from my enormous balcony was of the entire pool area and beautiful beach beyond. The manger told me this was her favorite suite in the entire hotel.

The winding infinity pools are very attractive and well laid out. the beach are is very clean and the beach attendants assist you immediately as soon as you step on the sand. Asking you where exactly to place your chairs and Umbrella.

Cabo is a pristine strip of beach in an area with the most perfect climate. Sunny dry weather is a guarantee each and every time. While there are more meticulous and luxurious hotels throughout the area. For the cost of under $200, The sheraton and its wonderful staff is a great option and its proximity to the downtown area and the Marina makes it even better.

Room Tip: Well I certainly prefer the suites in the main hacienda. As a platinum member your given the best of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
4.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Property: Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Address: Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, the Sheraton Grand Los Cabos, Hacienda del Mar captures the feel of Old Mexico. A full complement of guest services is offered on premises to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing