We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We are just packing our bags right now and sadly leaving this wonderful resort. We did a week all-inclusive here which was our first ever and judging from what we saw at other resorts would not go anywhere else. The resort is beautiful, well kept in a stunning setting. 10 minutes from the party of cabo San Lucas if you choose or 20 minutes from the much nicer cabo San Jose, this resort is perfectly situated on the corridor with a beautiful beach wonderful ocean water which currently we were able to swim in with no problem. The pools in the resort are also stunning. All our food was included which was great and the quality was superb. De Cortez restaurant is a true 5 star which must be experienced and Luis took great care of us repeatedly. The breakfast at tomatoes had everything you could ask for and Javier was kind along with the other staff. All the staff at this resort were so helpful and outgoing. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable, not that we spent much time in it. The sushi bar was also surprisingly good and the fish as fresh as any I have. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    496
    152
    87
    50
See reviews for
446
614
42
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Hills, KS
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Sheraton Hacienda del Mar is a well maintained beautiful property. If you don't mind an older quiet crowd and a beach front that is for experienced swimmers, this hotel is a perfect choice. Here are some reasons a Starwood Preferred member may want to stay here:

Starwood Amenities - We used suite nights for a guaranteed room upgrade which was a very good value. We opted for the free continental breakfast as our welcome amenity which provided us with a generous selection of breads, fruits, cereals at Tomatoes Restaurant. We were given the option to upgrade to the full breakfast buffet for a $9.00 charge. Free WiFi is provided for platinum members, as well as a 20% discount on all spa treatments. A free daily tequila shot in the tequila bar for Platinum status was an added surprise. An unexpected welcome gift of cheese and wine was brought to our room upon arrival. Overall, this hotel does a very good job of recognizing Starwood loyalty.

Property - The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The hotel is beach front and provides a gorgeous sea view. Unfortunately, the beach is sometimes not swimmable due to rough waters. The hotel swimming pools more than make up for it. The pools are well designed and maintained. The property's classic yet modern hacienda style architecture provides for a picturesque setting, yet you still feel like you're in Mexico. Well done Sheraton!

Rooms- Our one bedroom suite included a full kitchen, large jacuzzi tub, two balconies, two flat screen TVs, two full bathrooms, & a full size refrigerator. There are very few true ocean front rooms. Most have partial ocean or garden views. The Bvlgari toiletries, robes, and slippers provided for our suite stay were wonderful touches of added luxury. Free bottled water was provided daily. On a constructive note, the pillows were below Sheraton standards and were heavy and flat.

Customer Service - Hotel customer service was outstanding. All staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. The hotel receives high marks in this category. The is a sign of a well managed team.

Gym- If you like a good workout when vacationing, you're in luck. The Hotel has a first rate gym. Six ellipticals, eight treadmills, free weights, newer weight lifting machinery, and a separate exercise studio.

Overall, The Hacienda del Mar is among the best Sheraton Hotels worldwide. The hotel could easily be elevated in the Starwood hierarchy to Luxury Collection status due to it's high level of service and standards. It's important for us to mention that we felt safe and secure during our entire stay in Los Cabo, so don't hesitate to travel here. This hotel is a great value and we highly recommend it, however it still does not compare to places like Esperanza or The One and Only. Here are a few helpful hints if you are staying here soon:

1. Rent a car - The hotel is not centrally located. You will need a car to get around town. Self and valet parking at the hotel is free. It's easy to navigate through Los Cabo and San Jose. Take out added car insurance just in case. We rented from Dollar and recommend it.
2. Costco - Make a stop at Costco on your way in to buy drinks, wine, and snacks. It's just a 10 minute drive from the hotel. Stop at an OXXO convenience store for soda and snacks. We did not care to shop at Vinoteca for wine and preferred Costco's selection better.
3. Pool Chairs - Get up early to watch the sun rise and get your prime chase lounge location. The towel stand opens at 7am. The best locations are taken early. Make sure to spend one day lounging on the sandy beach close to the water's edge.
4. Cash and Points- Consider using cash and points for your stay. It's a great deal at $60 a night and 4,000 points per night. Good news, the Sheraton Hacienda does NOT charge an added resort fee.
5. Breakfast - Opt for the continental breakfast as your platinum amenity. It's a good value. Food selections change daily and it's delicious.
6. Restaurants - Hotel restaurants are good, however, enjoy dinner off site a few nights. Try Maro's (in Los Cabo), Meson del Angel (in San Jose), or La Cocina del Mar (at the Esperanza Hotel - one of the best and most beautiful settings in the world - seriously, this place is gorgeous). Our favorite on-site restaurant was Girasoles.
7. Bring Binoculars - During the fall and winter months whales migrate south and pass right by the hotel beach front. Bring binoculars to get a birds eye view!
8. Poolside Happy Hours - Enjoy two for one prices for any drink on the menu costing $116 pesos between the hours of 11am - noon daily.
9. Visit El Arco - Make sure to visit El Arco and Lover's Beach. Take a glass bottom boat from the Marina which will cost $12 per person. Take your own food , drinks, & towels since there is no retail or services available.
10. The Hotel Lookout Tower - Make sure to climb the hotel tower for the best vista views at sunrise or sunset. Assess is available on the 21st floor of the hotel main building. Carefully climbing the two spiral staircases.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BOLDMissionHills_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We are staying at the Sheraton Hacienda hotel and are thrilled with this resort. It is gorgeous and the service is second to none. Everything about this resort is first class and Cabo is so beautiful.
We went to a timeshare presentation today and met two of the finest salesmen. We have been on many timeshare presentations but have yet to meet more professional sales agents than we met today. We dealt with Miguel and Justin and they were amazing.
We didn't purchase today for personal reasons but hope to come back next year and would like to own here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel and had a beach front room which was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnow20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Unlike any other Sheraton you have ever been to! This Sheraton is exceptional in every aspect. More like a 5-star resort in both quality and service. The property itself is gorgeous in the way its laid out and location on the spectacular beach, just 10-15 mins from downtown Cabo. The rooms are divine with nice touches and amenities. The fitness center is hands down the nicest hotel fitness center I've ever been to, and there are 3 swimming pools (one is an infinity pool overlooking the beach and ocean) each with their own happy hour so you won't miss a one. But what really puts this place over the top is their outstanding customer service. Each and every employee, from the front drive to the front desk, restaurants, pool staff, spa and fitness center and housekeeping, are truly astounding. They are genuinely friendly, personable, professional and sincerely care. I did not want to leave this property 9 days later. I felt like I was part of a family and I will definitely be back.
Azahlia, Lupita, Guillermo, Victor, Vanessa Q, all the valet and bellman (too many names to mention!), and so many others - thank you SO much for making me feel at home and for making this one of the best vacations I've ever had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiHoPlatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently returned from a one week stay at Hacienda del Mar/Sheraton resort. We have been going there for 12 years, with family, and it just gets better. Four couples this time--3 owners and 1 guest couple who ended up buying. Beautifully landscaped grounds,comfortable accommodations and wonderful, caring service. From check in, where front desk personnel are professional and attentive (under the watchful supervision of Front desk manager Rolando Pech), excellent maid service and helpful concierges. Girasoles is one of their moderately priced restaurants and always has very good and wide variety of food choices. WiFi available in several places. There's a new pool associated with the 3 new buildings (16, 17 and 18) that has the most refreshing water and waterfalls on the site. There are several other pools, one with an infinity pool overlooking the Sea of Cortez. The only negative was the AC in our penthouse was not functioning well the first couple of days and after several visits by different mechanics it was resolved and all was good from there on. We all ate at de Cortez restaurant the last night of our stay and the steaks and sea bass were excellent. We used our $25 gift cards to offset some of the cost of this fairly pricey restaurant. FYI-- if you want to bring your own wine--the corking fee is in the $20-$25 range. We've eaten at Pitahayas ONCE and price is pretty much prohibitive.

This place is a keeper and we'll be back in November, 2013.

Room Tip: Higher up is better and you have a better chance of getting an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashidad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This resort is beaiutiful. The beach is amazing. Everything is spread out. The staff is very nice and friendly. I lost my luggage and they were very helpful to me. They helped get me items to use since I didn't have anything. They helped get by bag back. There were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTraveler2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently returned from a two week stay at Hacienda del Mar/Sheraton resort. We have been going there for 15 years and it just gets better. Beautifully landscaped grounds,comfortable accommodations and wonderful, caring service. From check in, where front dest personnel are professional and attentive (under the watchful supervision of Front desk manager Rolando Pech), to friendly, attentive room attendants, helpful, concierges (both hotel and pool) who had great activity and dining suggestions and readied our pool lounges every morning. Pool attendants Francisco and Guillermo took care of our every need. We very much enjoyed the restaurants and bars (each bar had a happy hour where drinks were two for one. Sirenas pool bar, Tomatoes restaurant and Girasoles (Mexican with the best margaritas and quesadillas ever and very happyand professional service, especially Bartolo, our kindly waiter). Terrific health club and spa, several pools with an infinity pool overlooking the Sea of Cortez. Wonderful resort, but the thing that sets it apart are the staff. Two weeks wern't long enough - can't wait to return next year!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biffie322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
15.5 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
574 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,025 reviews
12.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,563 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Property: Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Address: Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, the Sheraton Grand Los Cabos, Hacienda del Mar captures the feel of Old Mexico. A full complement of guest services is offered on premises to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing