We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”
Review of Cabo Trek

Cabo Trek
Book In Advance
More Info
$550.00*
and up
Private Tour: Snorkeling in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: CABO TREK is a small company dedicated to family friendly watersport activities such as Whale Watching, Scuba Diving & Snorkeling. Join our small groups and enjoy the Ocean experience like never before with our Marine Biologists and PADI certified Instructors. WHALE WATCHING: The only educational WHALE WATCHING tour in Los Cabos with a certified marine biologist and underwater audio/video technology onboard. Come visit us at our marina storefront inside the Tesoro Hotel! Perfect for families and photographers alike, who would like an unforgettable experience with the largest animals on earth. WHALE SHARK SNORKELING: by joining us for one of our research trips, participants get the opportunity to interact with the whale sharks in their natural habit, learn about the scientific research that is being undertaken, contribuite to the conservation of these majestic sharks and have a great time doing it. MAGDALENA BAY 2 DAY EXCURSION: Lopez Mateos as known as Magdalena Bay is one of the few places in the world where you can have a very intimate whale watching experience: the whales over the years have become very used to have curious humans coming from very far to see them! 2 days tour with overnight stay and 2 whale watching tours. Tour can be customised and extended. SCUBA DIVING & SNORKELING: Scuba Diving is an incredible experience in Cabo San Lucas. Our PADI certified Instructors will take care of you during the whole duration of the tour. Whether you want to explore the waters of Cabo San Lucas, the Corridor or eventually the Marine Park of Cabo Pulmo, we always try to find the best solutions for your needs. All the tours are totally private guaranteeing you dedicated attention by the instructors to make the experience as enjoyable, safe & fun as possible. NEW!! CABO TURTLE HUTCHERY: A tour out of the ordinary that involves a night under the stars as we camp on the pacific side. Part of the adventure will be a 2 to 3 hours night walk trying to find where turtles have laid their eggs or even better observe them while they find a secret spot to keep them safe. You'll be a great help for our conservation efforts, a great occasion to share quality time with your family while learning more about Cabo's Wildlife. You'll be inspired by the endless knowledge our university trained marine biologist and PADI Certified Instructors, Frankie, Marilia and Philipp, boasts as they share all there is to know about Los Cabos Nature. Rest assured that your tour: Whale Watching, Diving or Snorkeling will be nothing short of the experience of a lifetime and our professional photographer is there to capture every moment of your trek. If you're feeling adventurous we're happy to organize special, private tours of whale watching and your choice of scuba diving or snorkeling.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I think the title says it all but I will expand a bit more for those that like a little explanation.

Cabo Whale Trek is not the lowest price excursion but I was drawn to them because of what I read. They bring education as well as an amazing show. Our guide Frankie has a passion for whales and the environment and it comes out even before you board the boat. By time you come alongside the breaching whales you cannot help but feel the same passion as Frankie for these wonderful mammoths of the sea.

The wind was up and the seas rough but Frankie said that is the kind of weather the whales like to play in and he was right! The captain was masterful as he maneuvered far from shore where he had spotted a couple breaching. It took some time, and we were soaked from the spray but once we arrived it was truly incredible.

My recommendations, grab your jacket and be prepared to return as if you took a saltwater shower. Don't worry... the captain knows what he's doing. Ask Frankie plenty of questions, he gets more excited the more you ask. Finally, don't cheap out on this excursion... a few extra bucks go a long long way!

Thank you to Captain Alberto for navigating through rough seas to the finest show in Cabo... Thank you Frankie for your passion and enthusiasm, and thank you Cabo Whale Trek for the UNFORGETTABLE experience of a lifetime.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboWhaleTrek, Manager at Cabo Trek, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Our whale watching tours have been UNFORGETTABLE not only for our guests but for our staff as well. We love seeing the northern pacific population of humpback whales thriving here on the winter mating grounds. Frankie really does have a passion for these animals, not only as the guide of the tour, but in his career path. Frankie plans to return for his Master’s soon in marine ecology to continue studying the aquatic world and how it is affected by humans.

You guys were troopers as well! The sea conditions were windy and rough, but this is where to find the show. Basically, the conditions that are the most formidable are the same conditions the whales LOVE to breach in. But of course we never put ourselves in situations which are dangerous or too heavy. Our expert captain Gilberto knows how to masterfully navigate the waves while our guests watch the show.

Although we are not the cheapest tour in town, like you said, I consider ourselves the most comprehensive, educational, and fun whale watching tour in all of Los Cabos. Our professional service and track record proves this fact over and over. Thanks again for your kind words, and like I told you before, if you think of any more questions about the whales just send us an email and we will find you the answer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SO CAL
Level Contributor
221 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“BEST WHALE WATCH EXCURSION IN CABO!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I learned more about these beautiful creatures and their habits than in all previous whale watch excursions we have ever been on in Cabo and we have tried many.

Having a whale specialist on board was so interesting. In fact on our cocktail sunset cruise two days later we kept many passengers regaled with the things we learned from our tour. We sounded professional lol.

We saw so many whales in every position that it was a once in a lifetime experience.

Anyway totally disagree with previous post. When you get the opportunity to follow these whales for an hour or more watching all of their antics versus heading out with no promise of a sighting you are just short changing yourself.

We were so close we could hear the spray from the whale breathing but still far enough away to be respectful and safe.

The boat looks new, very clean and comfortable and we could not have had a more exciting time; unless of course the whale jumped I our boat.

Loved this. Skip those big boats who have little chance of keeping up with whales.

We will be back next year. DOWN WITH SEAWORLD!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nshugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboWhaleTrek, Manager at Cabo Trek, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks so much for your recommendation to the Tripadvisor community. It’s always nice hearing the kind words to satisfied customers. I’m also glad that some the knowledge Frankie shared with you all was able to be passed on to others. This is the KEY to why we started our educational whale watching tours; to inform the community about these magnificent animals and do so while providing the highest quality of service.

Gilberto, the captain of our new super panga, is one of the best captains here in Cabo San Lucas. He always puts us in great position to photograph these wonderful creatures and follows all OWC guidelines very strictly to protect both the whales and our guests.

We always do our best to show our guests as many possible behaviors during our 2.5 hour tours, but much of this just depends on the whales. Throughout February the level of activity has been very high, with 90% of our tours seeing breaches.

Look forward to seeing you next season. DOWN WITH SEAWORLD!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“educational, and relaxing”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

the guide Frankie is an american, he is very knowledgeable regarding the sea life in cabo san lucas, and his crew did try very hard to put us on the whales. We did see a mom and her baby
but I personally felt like we should have veered off from them we pretty much just stayed by them for the whole tour. We should have went looking for the big male whales, as they are the ones that tend to"put on the show". right when it was time to go we did see a male off in the distant, and we did zoom over to him and were able to see him do some amazing flipper slapping and swimming on his back.
I have been whale watching in cabo for the past three years and all the tours are pretty much the same irregardless of boat size and price, the length is always around 2-2.5 hours. all the boats looks for the whales and then drive over to them when one is spotted.
the price of this tour is pretty high at 80-90 dollars a person, but it is very educational and
they do work hard for you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank teamHNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboWhaleTrek, Manager at Cabo Trek, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for posting a review for all those who use Tripadvisor to learn a bit more about our tour. I am a bit confused as to the 3 star rating after reading your review. It seems as if the service you received was adequate, the whales just weren’t very active on this particular overcast day. Hopefully some of the statements below can clear some things up.

Although we have a whale sighting guarantee, we cannot guarantee what whale behaviors we may see or how many whales we may see, mainly because we are watching the whales in the wild and this is completely unpredictable. During your tour, the entire group was able to encounter 5 different whales very close and some guests even saw one of the whales breach.

Since the activity on this tour was a bit slow, we actually extended the tour an extra 20 minutes at no extra cost so everyone could see a big male pectoral slapping at the surface.

I am sorry you felt we should have left the group of whales we were following, but our captain was on the radio checking if any other whales were in the area with no luck. Some other whale watching boats had not even seen one whale.

As well, I believe our tour is MUCH different than other tours in the area. Especially being the only tour with a marine biologist and underwater audio/video capability onboard. Among many other things that set our exceptional comprehensive whale watching tour apart from the others. Along with that, our pricing parallels our service and is on par with the service you receive.

I hope that you join us in the future to find some active whales and be a part of High Quality Whale Watching here in Los Cabos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Tour and even More Awesome People”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our experience exceeded all expectations. Our guide was very knowledgeable and taught us a great deal about the whales and their habits. We ended up seeing nine (9) whales on our excursion. I would recommend Cabo Whale Trek to anyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gdewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboWhaleTrek, Manager at Cabo Trek, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We greatly appreciate your kind words and are glad we could share with you a little about the ocean and our passion. Both our Trek biologist Frankie and our professional captain Gilberto, do everything they can on a daily basis to make sure clients see the beautiful creatures they came to see up close and personal. (While following all OWC guidelines of course) Our average has been around 8 whales per day so it sounds like the tour was right on par! Thanks again for the recommendation and hope to see you on your next Cabo Trek!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best in12 years!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent! Frankie was extremely knowledgable and highly qualified. I've been on whale watching tours for many years and this was by far the best. Not only did we see many whales , but we actually learned something about them and their behavior. At the end of our tour we watched two males battle it out, with more breaches and flipper smacks than we could count. I Highly recommend this new company!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teri K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboWhaleTrek, Manager at Cabo Trek, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Glad to hear Frankie was able to provide you guys with some good information, I guess we don’t need to fire him after all! :) We are the only whale watching tour in Los Cabos with a certified marine biologist onboard every tour, and it shows when Frankie starts talking about the magnificent creatures.

As well, we have a whale sighting guarantee for all of our tours, but we have never even been close to not seeing any whales at all. We have an average of 6.5 whales per trip so far this season and plan to keep it that way. Thank you again for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabo Trek also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Cabo Trek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing