We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will only return to Cabo if we stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon in Cabo. From the moment we arrived we were totally impressed!!! The atmosphere is so relaxing and welcoming! We loved every minute of our stay here! While the hotel was pretty full, there was never an abundance of people at the pool or elsewhere! The cheesecake sold in the little cafe on the bottom floor for about $4 a slice (LARGE slice) is by far the best I have ever tasted - I think we had 3 pieces while we were there for 3 days! The food at the pool is great and almost cheaper than going out to eat in town!! We loved all the amenities in and around the resort. This is the only place in Cabo that you will not find anyone on the beaches trying to sell you stuff! It is so peaceful and quite! One morning I woke up and sat out on our porch (all rooms are ocean view) and watched the sunrise, it is definately something I will remember and cherish the rest of my life. The price of this hotel is amazing - when we stayed in town at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar it was only about $25-30 a night cheaper than this one, yet we HATED the Sheraton and would have willingly paid the extra money to return to here!! It's a little piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TiffLeigh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,762 - 3,768 of 3,991 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2006

We stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Pacifica for three nights over the July 4th holiday after staying three nights at the Hilton Los Cabos (which was excellent, but no availablility after three nights). Here's our review of Pueblo Bonito Pacifica...

HOTEL DESIGN:

Instead of making the rooms face the beautiful beach, they chose to make the rooms face inwards towards the pool – or, if you’re below the 3rd floor (where they tried to check us into when we first arrived) – you’ll get a view of the backside of the restaurant.

The drive down to the hotel is beautiful (but we really have to credit mother nature on that one), and so is the lobby fountain.

Other reviews mentioned the spa/essential oil scent wafting through the air in the lobby. We actually liked it. It settled our nerves every time we needed to go deal with the front desk people. Otherwise, that lobby would be full of screaming guests. We actually think this (relaxing lavender and patchouli aromatherapy) is a way to keep people from freaking out over the bad service.

SERVICE:

The room we were first checked into faced the backside of the restaurant, where the sound of the waves was drowned-out by the restaurant’s air-conditioning ducts – so we couldn’t see or hear the ocean. After staying in a gorgeous room overlooking the ocean at the Hilton Los Cabos, I nearly cried. We went back to ask to be moved to another room that doesn’t face the restaurant’s air conditioning ducts, and they told us to told us to come back at two hours later at 5:00pm. We came back at 5:15pm, and the new people at the front desk had no clue what was going on. (There was no handover of the issue.) They told us to come back later after they have someone go make up the room. All of this time, our bags were with the bellman. I didn’t mind hanging out by the pool though. At least we had a better view of the ocean there.

We had dinner one night at the main restaurant (yes, the one that blocks guest room views of the ocean). It’s casually elegant inside. The chef was very good, but our server sucked big time. He shows up at the table and says: “Ready to order?” as if we were at the local Burger King. Not a “Hello, my name is…” and “The specials this evening are…” or anything that you’d expect from a halfway decent place. After the guy took our order, he was almost non-existent. Came by to pour our water once, then left our bottle on a separate table for us to look at from afar for the rest of the night. He finally stopped by to take one of our two plates, but never asked if we needed anything. He never offered the dessert menu either, but at that point we just wanted to get out of there.

Another night we got a note saying that they were turning off the hotel's electricity the next day from 10:00am – 6:00pm for some maintenance work. They shut the power down in 95F-100F degree heat on July 5th. The room keys wouldn’t work and neither did the air conditioner (or the running water for some reason). My husband had to wait for me in the room so that I could get back in after my facial at the Sunset Beach spa (they didn’t turn their power off). I would have been nice for the Pacifica to tell us about this in advance.

TIME SHARE STUFF:

After we checked-in, a friendly hotel representative sat us down in the lobby, welcomed us to the Pacifica, and offered us $200 in spa and food/drink credit to attend the time share presentation the next morning at the sister property, Sunset Beach. With that, we were also eligible to book any tours (snorkeling, sunset cruise) at up to 60% off. She said she would be in the concierge office if we needed to reach her – so I assumed she was the concierge at the Pacifica. The next day’s time-share tour was fine… although way longer than the 90 minutes they promised. Back at Pacifica, my husband wanted to book some excursions for us, so he went to the concierge. They told him he needed to get on the shuttle back up to Sunset Beach to book the tours at the other hotel and you had to pay cash. This was frustrating, because we had just spent 3 hours up there and no one told us we had to book all of our activities up there and not at the hotel where we were staying. I called the Pacifica hotel manager and talked to him about this (and some other things) – I thought it was ridiculous that my husband had to trek back over to the other hotel to book excursions.

Adding insult to injury, on our hotel bill, we found a phone charge for my call through the operator to speak with the hotel manager.

THE GYM AND SPA:

Don’t come to this hotel expecting a nice gym like you would expect at a “holistic spa.” It’s a small windowless room on the basement floor of the hotel. It reminded me of the bare-bones gym room we had in the dorms in college.

I skipped the spa at Pacifica and went to the Sunset Beach spa to use my spa credit. Service on check in wasn’t up to spa standards (confusion on booking, gave me a locker with no supplies/robe inside, no one walked us through the spa to show us where to go so a few of us were wandering about trying to figure things out ourselves) but the esthetician was excellent. Book a facial with Matilda at Sunset Beach spa (not Pacifica). She’s good. (But if you go there, expect to have hordes of time share tours coming in and out of the “relaxation” room while you wait for your treatment. Not relaxing at all.)

FINAL TIDBITS:

While we were at the check-out desk, there were four other couples checking out – two of them were complaining about service issues, and the hotel staff on the other side of the counter were either arguing with them or just looking at them like they could care less.

Nothing was done in any of these cases to make any of us want to come back. The whole purpose of this place is to get you up the hill to the sister property Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach for a time-share presentation. But if you don’t buy, they don’t care if you don’t come back to Pacifica. That leaves rooms available for new bodies to come through and go to the time-share presentations at Sunset Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank karimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

This is a gorgeous new property - Beautifully designed with amazing vistas, well maintained grounds and gardens. (except for the pool repair situation while we were there - we were only offered 1/2 hr massages, NO deductions or refunds). Rooms are a bit on the small side but very well appointed with modern furniture and ceiling fans, nice big shower, ok water pressure. "Pillow menu" was a nice touch. VERY VERY clean (and I'm picky). Food was superior to any hotel we've stayed in recent memory. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. The spa concept was carried out well - beach "beds", nighttime fire pits, huge jacuzzi - but the low point - "lavender" scent in the lobby and shuttle van was way overdone.

Location is some what remote and there is no possiblity of walking anywhere towards town because it is set down the side of a very large cliff, overlooking the Pacific (too-rough-to swim or wade into) Ocean. The hotel does provide free shuttles all day to its 2 other properties (one of which, Rose, is within walking distance to town) or a cab can be had easily for $12us into Cabo. The properties are well coordinated, we used the swimming beach at Rose; towel service and signing priviledges were extended to us.

Overall we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the hotel and the Pacific - it was perfect for us on our (no kids!) romantic get-away.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank cj530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

I just want to publish a review for anyone that will be staying there between now and the end of June. The main pool is being worked on. It is completely emptied and is sometimes noisy - meaning jack hammers being used in it. We were not warned of this before we got there so I want to make sure others are aware.

The scent and the surroundings are very tranquil. The architecture is awesome and the crashing waves are incredible. It is not crowded at all. Did a couple's massage and basically we each had the men's and women's spa to ourself. Definitely laid back. Not a party scence.

I was disappointed with the main pool and disappointed I wasn't warned ahead of time. Would be curious of what others thought who discovered the main pool was closed upon arrival.

Stayed: June 2006
11  Thank SissyBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
112
Reviewed June 20, 2006

After much research of where to spend our honeymoon, we decided on the Pacifica. We had a fabulous time!! The resort is absolutely gorgeous -- it's a great place to go if you want to kick back and relax. The food is great, rooms are clean, staff is friendly and attentive and the pool is beautiful. The resort isn't located on the main strip between San Jose and Cabo (where most of the hotels are) which makes it nice and secluded. We were there in June and the weather was perfect. The resort felt practicly empty compared to the sunset and rose.

When you get into Cabo, don't be fooled by the people when you step off the plane...there is someone that greets you and asks you where you are staying. Once you tell them, they will direct you to someone who tries to get you to come listen to their timeshare presentation. Skip that one, and just head to the hotel. We'd recommend listening to the timeshare presentation at the Pacifica...you only have to give them a couple hours of your time (and you get a free breakfast) and in return we received $150 food voucher, $50 spa voucher, 6 free drink tickets and 2 free tickets to lover's beach. We found it to be worth our time!

Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and stress free honeymoon or vacation!!

Stayed: June 2006
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2006

I went to Pacifica with a friend for a girls' getaway - we were delighted with this place and even more delighted when we sampled other nearby resorts.

The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. No tub, but a nice shower with glass door. Simple things that made a difference: magnifying mirror, sep. door for toilet (so someone could use bathroom while someone else was in the shower), lots of towels. The bed was very comfortable. The room was visited twice daily by housekeeping but if the "do not disturb" sign was out, no one disturbed us.

Room service - I didn't find it pricey ($15 for a nice omelette, rolls and bacon) and the food was absolutely wonderful. Never took more then 20 minutes to arrive. Room service is available 24 hours.

There were two pools, both heated, and plenty of lounge chairs. Servers by the pool were accomodating but not pushy. The outdoor hot tub was huge and had a glass enclosure to save you from the (sometimes overly) cool ocean breeze. There were also lawn chairs and *beds* on the beach, but you cannot swim in the water (and seeing how loud and high the waves crashed to shore, I wouldn't even think about it!) If you want to swim in the ocean, they provide a shuttle to their sister resort w/ swimmable ocean - Pueblo Bonita Rose.

There are no kids allowed at Pacifica, which is a good thing if you are going to relax and get away. We took the shuttle over to Pueblo Bonita Rose and wow - thier pool area was crowded with kids dunking each other and there wasn't an available lounge chair in sight. The beach are was less crowded than their pool, but there were vendors hawking henna tattoos, etc, all over the beach. - the Pacifica is hard to get to on foot, so there were no vendors there at all.

The staff at the Pacifica was top notch. Everyone spoke some English and seemed genuinely happy to work there. I had the best massages in my life at their spa (ask for Connie, she's great!) and the equipment in their workout area (treadmills, ellipticals, weight machines, bikes) was all pretty new. High speed internet is available in every room - if you need a cable, just ask the concierge.

The only fault I can find with the Pacifica is that there is no gift shop (only a spa gift shop), so if you have a craving for a Snickers, better stock up while in town. There is an in-room minibar, but it has only alcohol / soft drinks / water, no snacks. Yes, they do a very soft sell of their timeshares when you arrive, but since we were travelling without our husbands (if you're married, you need to have your spouse there to attend timeshare presentation) we were told we weren't eligible to buy, but were still given coupons for free drinks.

Other than those minor issues, I *highly* recommend this hotel. There isn't a more peacful resort in Cabo!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank softcoverbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dalllas, Texas
12
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Beautiful, clean property with attentive staff. Spa/treatments were excellent although a little pricey. Only complaint was prepaid transportation from their internet reservations. It took two hours to get to hotel, and we were advised we had to leave the hotel four hours before our return flight (we declined and made our own reservations) No refunds however.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
2.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
2.6 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#18 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4,408 reviews
12.5 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $385 - $869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa is an enchanting oasis of natural beauty and relaxation, located on a 2.5 Mile stretch of pristine white beach on the Pacific Ocean, just one mile from lively downtown Cabo San Lucas. This boutique resort offers a deluxe all-inclusive plan providing gourmet a la carte dining, enhanced guest services and a wide range of amenities. Pacifica features five restaurants, five bars, two pools, an award-winning spa and luxurious accommodations in a calm, adults-only environment. Fashionably decorated guestrooms and suites include furnished patios and balconies with stunning views of the ocean and sunsets. One of the most exciting and recent additions at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica are, The Towers at Pacifica a new ultra-luxe resort-within-a-resort, offering 47 new exquisite guest rooms and suites. Also, a new oceanfront gym, and Península, a new beachfront restaurant and bar, featuring traditional Baja Cuisine and creative mixology. New enhanced services accompanied the expansion as well, such as pool butlers for poolside and beach service, and fantastic culinary experiences, such as the Hook & Cook activity. Designed for the sophisticated and discerning guest, Pueblo Bonito Pacifica has everything needed for a fun and relaxing vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort And Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Holistic Retreat & Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing