We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway for Two” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Guttenberg, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway for Two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Pacifica, and in a single word, it was heavenly. We are expecting our first child in July and wanted to find a quiet, relaxing resort to enjoy each other's company before the baby arrives. We are in our mid-thirties and were among the younger guests, most of whom were couples as well.

Although the beach is non-swimming, the pool area was a serene place to spend our mornings and afternoons - with the exception of having to endure a couple of PDA (public displays of affection) sightings. The only sounds you hear are the crashing of the waves in the Pacific, the water running off of the edge of the infinity pool and the occasional indistinctive conversation from the other guests. The food served poolside from Aire restaurant is the best we've ever experienced from a pool bar. The quality of the food is top notch and priced reasonably given the generous portions. Granted, we did not drink alcohol during our stay, which I can imagine can considerably drive up your tab.

We took advantage of the free shuttle to the Pueblo Bonito Rose to try out a swimming beach, and the difference between the two resorts was rather glaring. The Rose and the Blanco (Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos) are more typical family resorts with music playing over the outdoor speakers, children splashing and young adults playing pool volleyball. The Sea of Cortez, although swimable, is still a bit rough, and there are beach vendors constantly trolling the hotel areas. The smell of gas from the boats and jet skis is pervasive and easily overpowers the sea air.

As far as the dining options at Pacifica, we were not incredibly impressed by the main restaurant at the resort, Siempre. The food was good, but slightly higher priced than a comparable dinner back in the States or even in other restaurants in Cabo. (Please see my restaurant reviews for Nick-San, Edith's, Market and La Nao.)

I had a pre-natal massage at the Armonia spa on the resort, which was enjoyable, but nothing spectacular. The decor of the spa itself is overly plain, and unlike other hotel spas, they don't offer use of a sauna or spa pool.

The staff at Pacifica is very ameniable and kind. We especially enjoyed the hospitality and geniality of the staff at the Activities Center, where at no additional cost, you can enjoy free activities (ping pong tournament, beach walks, blackjack, etc.) and classes (cooking, Mexican wine, towel folding, etc.).

I believe we were one of the very few couples who did not participate in the free breakfast and "presentation" at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach resort for the timeshare spiel. It is possible to politely and persistently decline, although understandably being hounded from the moment you pick up your bags to until you are safely in your hotel room grates on your nerves.

A couple of lessons learned from our experience:
1. Surviving the Airport "Guantlet" - After baggage claim, you pass through the rental car counter area and then through frosted automated sliding glass doors which open into a room FILLED with people trying to get you to talk to them. DO NOT display any clues about which car rental company you are using or hotel you are staying at by carrying around anything with their logos, they will use the information to convince you they are affiliated with those companies. Just keep walking toward the exit until you are outside of the airport.
2. They Are Everywhere - Just because you've survived the airport guantlet and made it safely to the off-airport car rental agency doesn't mean it's over. There was a very kind gentleman talking to my husband while I obtained our car. We were told by the car rental agent to ask him for directions to our hotel, which he gave us but only after trying to get us to sign up for a "free breakfast" at the Westin.
3. Free Breakfasts for a $20 Deposit? - After checking into our hotel, the front desk directed us to a concierge-looking desk in the lobby for our "welcome package." (He gave our room keys to the bellhop instead of us.) The welcome package was nothing more than a folio of local brochures, and the women at the desk tried various hotel credits and free sunset cruise bribes to try and get us to sign up for the free breakfast at the Sunset. When I told her we'd consider it (we weren't really) and she started to sign us up for the next morning, she asked us for a $20 deposit. That gave me the perfect out, since I told her we were not going to commit ourselves to something 'free' with a deposit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyno503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,204
    820
    275
    121
    77
See reviews for
271
2,356
52
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,029)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

We've stayed in some really great places over the years and have found no better service than at the Pacifica. On our first morning at the hotel we walked around the grounds, which are beautiful, and sat down for food at the pool bar. We didn't know what time they opened for service, but saw staff working in the Aire and thought we'd try them out. We asked if they were open and were told that we were 30 minutes too early. We were ready to go to the Galleria Cafe or Siempre restaurant when one of the staff came over and offered to go get us breakfast and bring it to us by the pool. Talk about service! Laura was our server at the big pool and she was always attentive and helpful without being intrusive on our lounge time.
We also had an 80 minute couples massage in the spa. We try to get a massage whenever possible on vacation and the one we had at the spa was unparalleled. Quite a luxurious experience!
The room and bed were comfortable and we tried the "pillow service" that allowed us to choose from 5 different pillow types. It allowed us to each select the perfect pillow. Awesome!
The lighting in the bathroom wasn't very good and was a bit dim, but the alabaster light fixtures were really beautiful.
The Pacifica's location on the beach is great. Although it's not swimmable, the pools were more than enough for us and the big crashing waves and wide expanse of sand made for a really romantic location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestboogeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Pueblo Bonito for a much-needed break over the Thanksgiving holiday. After hours and hours of research (thanks to all the other Trip Advisor Members who provided great info), we settled on Pueblo Bonito.

We have been all over Mexico, to Hawaii, Barbados, Bahamas, Jamaica, and many other places, and this resort now tops our list and we would return in a hearbeat.

Pueblo Bonito is impeccable, the service fantastic, and food delicious.

Keep in mind that this is not the resort you go to if you're looking to party. What is great about it is that if you want to go downtown, you take the free shuttle, get your fill and come back to your oasis. It is quiet and peaceful, but don't let the word "holistic" scare you- there's a wine bar and a pool bar, and plenty of tasty snacks if you want to indulge a bit!

Decide before going how much time you want to spend trying to get free stuff by attending time share sessions. We did one and that was enough. If you attend the one at Pueblo's sister resort, you will get spa and restaurant vouchers for your stay at Pacifica. Beware of the airport "help" that acts like they are directing you to get your shuttle/rental car. They are most likely directing you to a salesman who is going to try and sign you up for a timeshare session. As long as you know your game plan from the start, you will not be taken advanage of.

The resort is definitely not cheap. To save a few dollars, buy your snacks and drinks downstairs at the convenience store. The portions at the poolside restaurant are very generous and can be shared. Since it is not an all-inclusive, you will obviously pay for every little thing, and it adds up. The tradeoff of no kids, no loud music, and no interruptions was well worth it to us.

This resort allows you to enjoy all of Cabo at your own pace. We did yoga in the morning, played ping pong and relaxed by the pool one day, rented a jeep and drove up the coast another day, and went downtown for yet another adventure on another day. I would definitely return and highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

This was a beautiful resort! My husband and I just spent 5 days here and can't wait to go back! We were looking for a place to get away and relax....Pacifica is the BEST place to do this at. The service, staff, rooms, and the food were all top notch! Everyone was so helpful with questions, making dinner reservations, and taking the time to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. If you are really looking for a peaceful resort that is for adults only, this is the place to go...all you could hear by the pool was the ocean waves and the wind. The food was very good and reasonable priced (not the "resort" price we expected) and the spa was awesome! We ventured out to the Rose resort (sister resort) and though it was nice, it was packed with kids, rafts, music, etc....we made a mad dash back to our peaceful relaxing getaway. They did try to get us to take the "tour" of the condos/timeshare and offered us great discounts on food/spa to do so, but we just didn't want to give "our" time up, when we declined....they were fine with it and didn't push. Restaurants outside the resort to enjoy: Panchos & Mi Casa...about a 10 min. $10 cab ride.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoqualmiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

Just got back from the Pacifica and we loved every second of our stay. We booked this trip last minute on hotwire and got an amazing deal. Six nights and airfare for $750 a person. So for us it was a great value. Everything about this resort is designed for relaxation. The secluded beach was great because there was security and no one ever trying to sell anything, unlike the beaches in town where you are harassed all day long. We were taken such good care of here I felt like at times we were the only people staying at the resort. We saw several whales right out in front of the hotel. The food was good and decently priced. Service was great. If you are looking for a romantic place to relax and spend some time in the sun, this place is perfect. The spa is top notch. We sat through a 90 minute time share sales pitch and got $200 bucks credit for food and bev as well as $100 for the spa. If you want to go into town its best to just get a cab. It takes less than 10 minutes and is only 12 dollars. Waiting around for the free shuttle is lame. I am recommending this place to all my friends and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dread575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

Most of the reviews are fairly consistent in saying the hotel is beautiful, peaceful, elegant and romantic. It is. I won't repeat all the good things. I was disappointed, however, with the lack of variety of restaurants. There was the upscale and overpriced Siempre and there was the pool restaurant. The store selling sundry items really doesn't count as a restaurant. The pool food was good, but we got tired of the same items. We went into town for one meal a day, which worked out well, as there were a number of good moderately priced restaurants in Cabo. But, it was an effort to get to town by the hotels' shuttles. First, you have to book from the Pueblo Bonito Sunset to the Pueblo Bonito Rose. Shuttles between the two run hourly. Then you need to catch a shuttle form the Pacifica to the Sunset, which run every half hour. (I have mobility issues, and walking is limited.) Once at the Rose, you need to catch a taxi to a restaurant. Then all of this needs to be repeated in reverse. If all goes well, it takes an hour to get to a restaurant in town; at worst, 2 hours.
Also, not only is the push to do the time share talk a pain, but Siempre staff do their version of selling up. We had a late lunch one day and weren't really very hungry for dinner. We chose not to do wine, which was very expensive. And we always drink tap water, We ordered the entre only and thought our waiter was displeased that we didn't order wine, bottled water, a salad or dessert and his lack of service to us showed. However, all the other hotel staff were terrific.
In answer to the question of whether I would recommend this hotel to a friend, the answer is yes, with reservations.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilkyCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

I have never written a review before but I felt compelled to write this after our stay at the Pacifica this past week. It is beautiful, quiet and serene. They greet you with a cool, scented cloth and from that moment on you are pampered and tended to. The servers knew our names after just one meal. They greeted us warmly every day . We ate and drank at the pool each day, being taken care of by Carlos, Marco, & Christian. We had a couples massage on the beach that was absolutely delicious! We ate at Siempre our last night and felt as though we had the place to ourselves. Delicious food, total attention...even a poncho placed over my shoulders for the cool breezes while we dined outside. We were not obligated to take the "ownership" tour but decided to do it after they kept upping the ante. It took longer than they said it would...but it didn't get ugly or uncomfortable. As a result, we received $200 resort credit, $100 spa credit, and 50% off of a sunset dinner cruise we took out of Cabo. It definitely paid us well for our time. I read another review that referred to the noise above them. Yes, the last two nights someone was above us and we could hear noise from their activity. The floors are tile and stone so the noise does not get muffled. However, we did not find this a big problem. I also read reviews stating that the food was so-so and very expensive. I have to disagree. We thought the food was fabulous and reasonable. I question whether these people have travel/resort experience. Yes, Siempre was expensive...but OUTSTANDING both in taste and presentation. If you don't want to spend the big money...use other restaurants. "Aire" was great and reasonable. The cafe had inexpensive items for breakfast so we bought and took up to our balcony each morning. We dined one night at the sister resort, Pueblo Bonito Sunset, which is reached by shuttle. We ate at "Nao". It was an Italian buffet and delicious. It was pricey for a buffet...something like $30/per but it was not a typical buffet. Outstanding!!!! I would not recommend the Pacifica for anyone who wants action and needs to be entertained. This is a totally relaxing "zen" kind of resort. Please be aware that you can not swim in the ocean here...too dangerous. But the pools are wonderful! And the beach lounges, beds, and pool lounges are all comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
5.8 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
2.5 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
2.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa is an enchanting oasis of natural beauty and relaxation, located on a 2.5 Mile stretch of pristine white beach on the Pacific Ocean, just one mile from lively downtown Cabo San Lucas. This boutique resort offers a deluxe all-inclusive plan providing gourmet a la carte dining, enhanced guest services and a wide range of amenities. Pacifica features five restaurants, five bars, two pools, an award-winning spa and luxurious accommodations in a calm, adults-only environment. Fashionably decorated guestrooms and suites include furnished patios and balconies with stunning views of the ocean and sunsets. One of the most exciting and recent additions at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica are, The Towers at Pacifica a new ultra-luxe resort-within-a-resort, offering 47 new exquisite guest rooms and suites. Also, a new oceanfront gym, and Península, a new beachfront restaurant and bar, featuring traditional Baja Cuisine and creative mixology. New enhanced services accompanied the expansion as well, such as pool butlers for poolside and beach service, and fantastic culinary experiences, such as the Hook & Cook activity. Designed for the sophisticated and discerning guest, Pueblo Bonito Pacifica has everything needed for a fun and relaxing vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort And Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Holistic Retreat & Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing