We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the chaos! Spectacular resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Away from the chaos! Spectacular resort.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking for a great spa and resort away from the party, this is the place to be!

I can't say enough about the wonderful staff. Moses, Ophelia, and Alex are just a few! Cabo wasn't our favorite, yet we would return to this resort in a heartbeat.

The resort is nestled into a little cove which is about 15 minutes of a drive from downtown. For the Cabo nightlife and shopping I would suggest renting a car. If you want clean beaches (no swimming in the ocean here), good food, clean rooms, high quality drinks, fantastic spa, and awesome staff then this is the place to go.

We went to the 90 minute time share presentation and weren't pressured to buy once they realized we weren't interested. They gave us coupons for marlin fishing, spa credit, and shuttle back to the airport even though we didn't purchase. A result of fishing had us bring about four pounds of marlin back to the resort which the chef and staff of Sushi (resort restaurant) were thrilled to prepare in eight different ways for us to try.

I would definitely recommend this adult only resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,296
    841
    284
    124
    78
See reviews for
281
2,436
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Pueblo Bonito Pacifica resort and have come away with a very favorable impression. This was our first visit to Cabo and we were quite pleased with our choice.
The location of the resort is more remote than a lot of hotels you would find. It is by itself with no real neighbors on either side directly facing the Pacific. That wiped out any thoughts of an ocean dip since the waves are quite severe. But the beach is great for walking and looking for shells. The resort offers shuttle services that will take you to the sister properties; one just above the Pacifica and the other 2 in town.
We arrived early, around 11:00 and weren't surprised that our room wasn't ready but we were prepared to begin our vacation. A quick check in and we were sent to the welcome desk for our braclets. Here we encountered our one major disappointment at the hotel in the person of Christina. She offered no information on the resort at all and when we asked where we could change or find the restaurants, she replied that "what you see is what you get" and went back to reading her book. Thankfully, she wasn't representative of the rest of the staff who for the most part were all friendly and helpful. Thumbs down for Christina.
Pacifica is a small resort and the rooms are not huge but they are quiet, clean and comfortably furnished. The bathroom vanity area could have used a bit more of a modern touch but again, clean and well kept. There was no couch in the room, only 3 chairs a desk and a small table.
Being small, there aren't a lot of dining options with Siempre being the main restaurant for dining. Fortunately they have an excellent menu with a good variety of foods and all that we had were quite good. Plus you have the option of visiting sister resorts which expands on your choices.
The bar is also quite small and not what you would normally expect from a "lobby bar".
There's not much in the way of entertainment offered at night, so this is definitely a great spot if you want to have a quiet stay.
One thing they offered was a fire pit area which was one of the best touches we've encounted at any resort. Several gas fire pits are arranged in a circular area beside the beach surrounded by comfortable chairs and tables. At night a bar is set up and it's a great spot to relax after dinner.
We tried the spa and it too was an excellent experience and worth taking the time to visit.
And finally, we would also recommend trying the beach cabanas. They are an extra cost, ($30), but we thought well worth it. Again for some quiet times, your own shaded bed and 2 lounge chairs it was wonderful. Include the waiter service for food and drinks and it was a great investment, so much so that we ended up booking them for 3 days.
We used room service on several occasions and found that they were very quick to respond.
One other negative note that was mentioned in other reviews was the condition of the tiles in the main pool area. Many are falling off, faded or chipped and it's not what you would expect. It really did detract from the appearance of the pool and we were suprised that it had gotten as bad as it is. This really is something they need to deal with but overall it doesn't affect your use.
We will likely be going back with friends.

Room Tip: We had room 1146 which received morning sun. Also nice because the way the buildings are built, we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayan-fan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I want to start of by saying I never take the time to write a review good or bad, but we were so dissatified with our experience I felt it was necessary. If good food is an important part of your vacation this is NOT the resort where you want to stay. Out of the 4 nights we stayed at Pacifica for dinner we never had a decent meal. The sushi restaurant took over 2 hours to serve the rolls and when they finally arrived they tasted like they came from a grocery store. El Siempre was a little better, but the same slow service. On two separate occasions at El Siempre I was served something completely different from what I ordered, but after waiting 2 hours no way I was sending it back. The theme night buffet on the beach was a complete joke and inedible. The only saving grace for food was heading to the sister resort and eating at sunset which we did the remaining time we were there, but what a hassle to have to wait for a van then wait for a golf-cart to take you to dinner.

The resort is also in need of an overhaul. The missing tiles aren't a minor issue in my opinion. There is an entire wall missing tiles, and guest cutting their feet and hands on missing tiles is a problem. Bite the bullet drain the pool and fix it! The rooms are also in need of an overhaul. Our room had a half inch gap in the door frame and with the heavy wind at the resort we constantly had dirt and paint scrapings blowing under our door and covering the floor of our room.

Now with all that being said Pacifica has it's positives as well. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Partidos bar by the lobby is a great place to sit and have a drink. Pacifica also had a wide variety of beer which was a nice change. Its very peaceful and quiet by the pool when you are laying out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt_9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Matt,
Unfortunately, Sunset Beach and Pacifica are based on different concepts, to appeal to the different tastes of vacationers. We thank you very much for sending us your comments and we will take them into strong consideration as we continue to improve our services and operations. We truly apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

Best,
Angel S., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This resort looks great on the internet, but it's all down hill from there. We arrived at mid-day to find the pool area already occupied by inebriated guests, doing their best to fully utilise the "all-inclusive" bar menu. Terrible dance music was playing at maximum volume making it impossible to escape the noise. We ordered a couple of chicken sandwiches from one of the cafes on site, only to find it was processed chicken, another pitfall of the "all-inclusive" hotel, and certainly not what you'd expect for $450 a night. Needless to say we threw the sandwiches out. The rooms were quite basic, with a poor excuse for a bar fridge. The room also had an unpleasant odour to it. On our first night we booked a table at the main restaurant, what a mistake that was. The food was absolutely atrocious, the beer was watered down, and the wine would strip paint. The service at the restaurant was the worst i've ever experienced. Anyone who's familiar with the old English television sitcom Fawlty Towers will know what i mean. The wait staff were so bad we started referring to them (amongst ourselves of course) as "Manuel", a waiter in that sitcom who is forever confused and forever making mistakes. Every dish we ordered was basically left untouched, i still cringe when i think of that food. Despite booking for 5 or six nights we left the resort after one night, forfeiting our money, which is pre-paid off course. Another clever trick from the "all inclusive" hotel. The worst hotel experience i've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Patrick M,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us and also would like to take the opportunity to tell you that since the last year you stayed with us to date we've done and been doing many changes in all aspects of the hotel's operations, such as staff training, changes on the menus, TV replacements, and room updates keeping the minimalist concept. We apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you and invite you to visit us again.

Best Regards,
Angel S. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

STAFF: The staff is great. Friendly, accommodating, smiling, impressive service and teamwork - particularly from the gentlemen at the front entrance (Javier and Manuel, mi amigos), Octavio serving the pool during the day, and the evening serving team at Siempre (Regulo!). I celebrated my birthday during our stay and I will tell you, I felt like a celebrity. The staff really lit it up for me all day – flowers, cakes, candles and singing, beautiful Spanish compliments, and many hugs. Instead of “happy birthday” they all said “congratulations” to me, which I thought was lovely.

ACTIVITIES: The activities team is ever-present near the pool and beach area during the day, if that’s your thing (beach volleyball, poker, darts, pool bingo, water aerobics, etc.). Adriana and Yosh are friendly and easy-going, and Esteban is muy pero que muy guapo and I strongly recommend joining him for water aerobics because he takes his shirt off. Muy caliente.

RESORT: The resort is well-designed and so easy to manage. You can see everything from your room and then walk there in 3 minutes flat. By comparison, at the nearby Sunset Beach you have to take “people movers” around the resort and our 2 hours there left us feeling a bit like frazzled cattle. Back at the Pacifica, the fitness centre was great by hotel standards for sure. Cardio machines with TVs, weighted cable machines and a large set of free weights up to about 80 lbs, medicine balls, etc. and it was clean. In fact, every area on the resort was very clean and very well-kept. The two pools are right next to each other but you truly get a different experience from each. Our room was 2nd floor and larger than most hotel rooms I’ve been in. Good washroom and large shower, good closet space and dressers, blackout drapes, the balcony was huge and awesome. The beds and bedding were like a good man, firm yet indulgent.

FOOD: We were a group of 4 women and reviews on the food ranged from ‘good’ to ‘amazing’. It really just depends on your tastes and your personal barometer for good food. We tipped our servers and other staff members with whom we spent any length of time. I don’t know if reasonable tipping increased the attention level we received, but if so it was worth it. Where we come from tipping is a way to convey your appreciation and at the Pacifica la servicio estaba muy buena.

LESS THAN STELLAR: Some pesky flies here and there, and little finches too. Service around the pool is slow but consistent. If you want something quickly just get up and help out. Yes, some of the tiny pool tiles are missing throughout the main pool, which is less about visual appearance than safety. My friend cut her thumb while entering the pool one day, which was extra disappointing since it meant sitting out water aerobics with Esteban that round. The plastic cups from the pool bar, which also serves the poolside Horizons Grill and the evening buffet, were somewhat dirty. Dirty is good for jokes and dancing but not for dishware. I had been looking forward to evenings at the Fire and Ice Martini Bar, which is down by the pools and beach and features little fire pits. But that place was Deadsville almost every night so we didn’t hang out there, unfortunately. We spent some time in the lounge inside Siempre and it was beautiful and the staff was great, of course, but there’s an odour that I’m guessing was some sort of chemical cleanser used on the floors. The smell reminded me of a clean outhouse, and while a clean one is best I don’t like the smell of anything outhouse related when I’m getting my groove on. So the nightlife at the resort was pretty dull but that’s exactly as advertised so no room for complaints. I’m just putting it out there for you guys to do with what you want.

And that’s it. More than you needed to know but helpful, I hope. I can hardly wait to return to the Pacifica for another memorable vacation.

Room Tip: The view from all rooms is interesting, ocean-view or not. Suite 1225 was pretty much the perfect lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having never been to Cabo before (except as a stop on a cruise), I was unaware of the vast difference between "downtown" Cabo and the secluded Pacific Ocean side. If you are a couple looking for quiet day and nights, this is the place for you. If you are a couple that wants action, daily activities, water sports, crowds, then this is NOT the place for you.

Here are the PRO's for selecting this resort:
1. Again, if you prefer space and quiet - this is it. There are plenty of lounge chairs around the pool. It is not packed. The beaches are not masses of people, its actually pretty empty since you can't go in it at all. There are no annoying vendors walking the beach.
2. It is an absolutely beautiful property. Meticulously landscaped, beautiful view. pleasant "spa" like architecture and smells.
3. The pool is a pleasant temperature and clean. Waiters are available to get you drinks and even food by the pool.
4. There is a shuttle service if you do want to go to town or a sister resort.

Okay... Here are some things that you need to be aware of and that the property should work on.
1. Water in the room was warm at best. Even when they said they fixed it, we never really got a hot shower. You may want to check the water temp of your room right as the bellman brings you there.
2. Mini-fridge in the room only keeps things cool. It does not make things cold. Again, check the temperature of what is in there before the bellman even leaves. If they put sodas and water in there warm when they stock it, they will never get cold. They need to stock it with things that are already cold.
3. Waiter service is EXTREMELY slow and sometimes your orders are even forgotten, especially around the pool. Even tipping generously doesn't seem to help this problem.
4. There is no itinerary in your room or a map of the resort. So, you should spend some time really checking things out. For instance, there is a deli in the gift shop. No one tells you, but it is part of the "all-inclusive" package. The way they have it set up, it looks like the sandwiches and pastry there are part of the shop, but you can grab a packaged sandwich or coffee and donuts anytime. This would be great to know if you're leaving for the day. Stick some stuff in your bag and save some money.
5. THERE IS NOTHING TO DO AT NIGHT!! They really need to get something going. A piano bar or a lounge to dance would be great. Really all you have to do at night is sit by the fire pit (bring a sweater or a blanket) or go to one of the bars and watch t.v. I've never been to a resort that doesn't provide some sort of entertainment in the evenings.
6. There is no late night snack bar. You can order room service, but that is all that is available. That being said, the room service food was very good.
7. Food is okay - it would be nice if the restaurant changed its menu. It is the same exact menu every night, and unfortunately, the buffet is so bad, you really have no other option than to eat in the restaurant every night. You can go to other properties to eat. We ventured to P.B. Los Cabos (I think that's the name) for lunch one day and it was the best lunch the whole trip. Their drinks far surpassed the Pacifica, as did their waiter service.
8. It is a long ride from the airport. If you are getting a shuttle, you will be the last drop off and the first pick up. So, you do lose some of your vacation time with that.
9. They are very strict on dinner reservations. Even though the place is half-full, you can't just show up and get a table. This didn't happen to us, but another couple we met there were gone snorkeling all day and came in late and just went to the restaurant. They said they were treated horribly, lectured on making reservations, waited for 15 minutes to be seated at a table that had been empty the entire time. Keep in mind HALF of the tables are always empty. The table they were seated at was in the back by the door -- there were better tables with views that remained empty the whole time they ate dinner. Silly.
10. It gets really cold at night. We went in June, and every night I had a sweatshirt on and was still cold.
11. If you do take a taxi to town, it will run you about $14 to the mall/marina area. They say there is a shuttle available, but for some reason when we showed up at 10:00 a.m. to take the shuttle, they said we couldn't get on until 3:00 p.m. However, when we went to come home, we went to the P.B. Rose and got right on the shuttle to come back to the Pacifica. Keep in mind though that they take you to a shuttle "hub" where you have to get off and wait for the smaller shuttle to the Pacifica. This can be time consuming -- the $14 cab ride was a much better deal.
12. Birds everywhere! Cute, but pesky. If you turn your back on your food for a second, they will be on it like flies -- literally. I know they are cute, but they also carry mites and germs, so be careful. We even were served a platter of fruit that had bird droppings on it. YUK! Oh, and one day I was getting orange juice and a bird was IN THE BOWL OF GRANOLA!

All that being said, I would come to this resort again, but better prepared. When we visited town and the sister resorts, I cannot express to you the amount of people and crowds there. The chairs are scrunched right next to each other. The chairs on the beach are a joke. They were packed in like sardines and roped off, so that the vendors don't bother them. But, there was a constant back and forth of vendors walking right in front of the rope (which is right at the foot of the lounge chair), so literally inches away from you ALL DAY as you try to see the beach, which you can't because they were standing right in front of your chair! Crazy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful resort with no kids. Good food, excellent service, comfy beds. I read reviews on this property before we went, and here's what I'll tell you: there are some people who will always find something to complain about. This place is awesome. Rent a beach bed for the day - 30.00 well spent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowerchick67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
5.8 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.5 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
2.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa is an enchanting oasis of natural beauty and relaxation, located on a 2.5 Mile stretch of pristine white beach on the Pacific Ocean, just one mile from lively downtown Cabo San Lucas. This boutique resort offers a deluxe all-inclusive plan providing gourmet a la carte dining, enhanced guest services and a wide range of amenities. Pacifica features five restaurants, five bars, two pools, an award-winning spa and luxurious accommodations in a calm, adults-only environment. Fashionably decorated guestrooms and suites include furnished patios and balconies with stunning views of the ocean and sunsets. One of the most exciting and recent additions at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica are, The Towers at Pacifica a new ultra-luxe resort-within-a-resort, offering 47 new exquisite guest rooms and suites. Also, a new oceanfront gym, and Península, a new beachfront restaurant and bar, featuring traditional Baja Cuisine and creative mixology. New enhanced services accompanied the expansion as well, such as pool butlers for poolside and beach service, and fantastic culinary experiences, such as the Hook & Cook activity. Designed for the sophisticated and discerning guest, Pueblo Bonito Pacifica has everything needed for a fun and relaxing vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort And Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Holistic Retreat & Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing