We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$332
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$564
$431
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$468
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$245
$204
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)
$700
$669
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$485
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,221)
Filter reviews
4,221 results
Traveler rating
2,742
930
320
143
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,742
930
320
143
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssiempre restaurantpueblo bonitobeach bedsbutler servicesushi restaurantsunset beachmain restaurantpillow menutime sharesister propertiesvip loungeswim up barla fridafree shuttlefish tacoscouples massageall inclusive package
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,868 - 2,873 of 4,221 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The resort is located about 1 hour from the airport. We drove right through downtown Cabo and then wound through the mountains down to the resort. It feels like we were entering a private, secluded estate.

Upon arrival we were greeted by smiling faces with a cool towel and drink. Check-in was a breeze. The bellhop escorted us to our room which was impeccably clean and looked brand new. The room has tile floors, white flowing curtains over the sliding glass doors that lead to a large balcony. The light in the room is best described as moody. Romantic in the evening but a little dark if we were trying to unpack or get ready in the evening. The shower was very large with a great shower head that felt like a soft rain. Water pressure and temperature was good. However, we could not really figure out how to keep the water INSIDE the shower. It leaked underneath the glass door and flooded the bathroom every single time we used it. There was no bathtub in the room.

The resort is small but beautiful. Many people in the reviews complain about the tiles falling off in the pool area and this was a concern of ours before we left. Once we arrived, however, we barely noticed it. A staff member said they plan on repairing it in September or October but will have to drain the pool. I am sure that will result in several "I went to Pacifica and they had drained the pool for our entire stay!" reviews. Can't win, right? We were also told that the resort was getting an updated fitness center, an expanded couples spa area, a new activities building, and a new deli and boutique. They also just recently added a charming canopied area with hammocks.

The resort offers beds on the beach for $30/day. It was the only cost we incurred at the resort during our entire stay (other than a few local calls). They are very competitive though. We claimed our bed at 9:30am but because we weren't on it at noon they gave it to someone else. We were surprised when we asked the couple on our bed to leave and they told us they paid for it! We had to settle for beach chairs that day instead.

The service at the resort, while very friendly and extremely accommodating, is very slow. Room service took 45 minutes to an hour. They would often leave off something from our order (salad dressing, condiments, forks, etc.) and by the time they came back the food was cold and no bueno. Admittedly I am used to a fast pace and probably could have adjusted a little better to the slower pace of the resort but it did get annoying at times. We waited 30 minutes for a coffee with Kahlua two different times. Dinner at Siempre took 2 1/2 hours.

The food is about a 3 out of 5. Siempre is great. The buffet was good on grill nights. Their sushi restaurant is not fresh and had an extremely limited menu (no salmon for example). We figured out the best meals were Siempre or room service for breakfast, lunch on the beach, and dinner either at Siempre or in our room. Fortunately you can take a shuttle to the Sunset resort just up the hill where there are even more dining options. We loved the options at Bistro.

The alcohol is free-flowing and they will give you premium brands and double shots upon request. They were able to make nearly every drink I requested.

A word on tipping. The advertisements tell you that gratuity is included but the staff encourages tipping everywhere in subtle ways. We were never treated differently for not tipping, however. (or maybe we were hence the slow service!)

We highly recommend this resort for a romantic, relaxing, kid-free vacation. It is close to downtown, intimate, beautiful, and the staff will treat you like royalty.

Room Tip: We had an oceanview room on the 3rd floor. Our friends upgraded to an oceanfront suite but it was on the first floor so we actually had a better view. All room face the ocean so just get a room on the 3rd-5th floors and your view will be perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank phototravelerMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Pacifica for our honeymoon and I couldn't have been happier with our choice. It is a very laid-back, relaxing atmosphere. Not made for partiers who are looking for late-night shows/activities, which is exactly what we wanted for this trip. On the nights that we did want to go out, we just went into town (hotel shuttle is free every hour to the PB Rose, and taxi is only $12) and felt very safe the whole time. Cabo is very clean and makes sure to cater to tourists. Also, the water is clean throughout the whole city so don't waste money on bottled water, even when you're outside the resort.

The food and drinks at the Pacifica were very good, and service was excellent most of the time. If you tip well, the servers will treat you like royalty if/when you come back a 2nd time. We usually gave 20% (they still give you an itemized receipt w/ the food costs even though it's all-inclusive so you can calculate it out) Outside the Pacifica, I would recommend Fellini's Italian restaurant at the Rose. Make a reservation on the balcony so you can overlook the ocean and the arch as you eat.

Also, make sure to rent a Beach Bed one day. Absolutely worth the $30. Anytime you need food or drink you just put your flag up and a waiter will come and get you anything you need. This is something that can really only works due to the fact that Pacifica's beach is very private. There aren't any kids running around or any vendors trying (pleading) to get you to buy their junk. Just the ocean waves crashing on the shore. Very,very relaxing atmosphere.

Couple other tidbits: be sure to bring a jacket/hoody, it does get chilly at night. The wind can get quite strong. And as for the time-share presentation, we weren't bothered with it since we weren't 30 years old. Overall amazing trip and great resort. This is the first all-inclusive I've been to where I wouldn't mind coming back and staying at this exact hotel all over again.

Room Tip: It's worth it to upgrade to an ocean-view room. It doesn't cost much more, and the views are spectacular.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica. With the exception of a couple complaints, we really enjoyed our stay here. The cabanas on the beach are awesome. We had a couples massage on the beach and I also had one at the spa. The views from everywhere in the resort are breathtaking. The beds were very comfortable. I didn't even mind that we couldn't swim in the ocean. There was a huge swell for a couple of days while we were there and it was so amazing and awesome to watch and listen to the 20' plus waves. The wind picks up now and then and it is a very cool breeze which I find refreshing. If you like to be warm all the time, you might not like this place. It does warm up during the day and then you get lots of cool breezes which I love. The only thing I didn't like about this resort was the food. I live in Southern California so we have lots of good Mexican food here. Naturally, going to Mexico, I expected the best. The food was very bland and had very little flavor. I had to beg for jalapenos to add to my lunch every day and I had to beg for tabasco sauce (that's all they had) every morning for my eggs. We ate dinner once at Siempre and that was definitely better food. The pool needs lots of tiles replaced which bothered me. This was our first trip to Cabo and I would stay here again. If you want good service by the pool or cabanas, give tips to the servers and they will treat you well. Jonathan was the best!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent a very relaxing 1st week of June at the Pacifica. Overall, the small resort comes as advertised - secluded on the pacific side of Cabo. It's extremely quiet and would appeal to those seeking a week (or two) or rest and relaxation. This is a plus 21 resort and it's reflected in the atmosphere throughout the grounds.
Although temperatures hovered in the mid 90's a breeze made it feel quite comfortable by the pool and on the beach. However, that same wind does pick up when the sun sets and it can get chilly - note the blankets that are made available to those sitting outside for late dinners. The resort also features several well placed wind barriers in order to protect visitors.
The rooms are standard and comfortable - all with sizeable balconies to relax on after a hard day at the pool. Our room featured a large standup shower - the water would take some time to heat up. The bar fridge is stocked each day. The resort also features 24 hour room service as part of the all inclusive - it's a fantastic perk for whenever you may get a hankering...
The Siempre restaurant offers an impressive dining experience with an emphasis on service - our favourite is "Regulo" who did an outstanding job for us. You can also order off the menu at breakfast or enjoy the buffet - ask for "Blancca" - she has a great personality and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.
The Pacifica also offers a free shuttle to their sister resorts - we explored the Sunset Beach that was just a few minutes away. We also took the shuttle in to town to the other Peublo resorts - it's only a 15 minute walk back to the marina - a cab is about 12 dollars from the marina to the Pacifica.
Of note, when you check in you will be directed to the "welcome desk" where you get your bracelet - this is also where you get pressured to hear about a time share - stay strong! if you decide to go accept no less than 400.00 in spa money.
Overall, a very relaxing week with outstanding food and drink.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a spoon at breakfast - or you may have to stir your coffee with a knife!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwo_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Dwo Roberts,

Thank you so much for your friendly comments and for taking the time to write your review, we feel very glad to hear that you had such a relaxing time during your stay at Pacifica, and that you also had time to visit our sister resorts. Looking forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Best Regards,
Angel S., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

First off, even though the resort is quite beautiful, we were extremely turned off by the time share breakfast invitation we received immediately following check-in. After traveling all day, the only thing on our minds was vacation...not two women trying to bribe us with a free breakfast...after all we paid for an all inclusive package....first negative. The resort is relaxing, clean and excellent inside hotel staff. The staff by the pool bar on the other hand seemed to congregate quite frquently together and one basically had to break up their conversations to place an order....second negative This happened each day we were there with the exception of the last day when a super on the ball female staffer was extremely attentive and friendly. We did not get her name but she was the only one wearing glasses. The food was pretty decent pool bar food but drink mixers seemed watered down. The Siempre restaurant was consistently well staffed and food was fine. The beef filet was an excellent choice on the menu. I was curious to try the parrotfish on the menu. Waiter warned it smelled and was he ever correct...it had the worst fishy stinky odor and we immediately had it whisked away... third negative. Once again, I ordered the filet. Also, more fine dining options on property would be nice.. fourth negative. The beach was clean and as a couple we love to walk the beach. Even though it is a pubic beach it is quite secluded. We were not allowed to walk the entire stretch of the beach though. A beach attendant from the hotel stopped us part way and said we were not allowed to walk further because it was a private beach. This was not posted only a public beach sign was posted. He said the beach belonged to the home owner at the top of the bluff (large white house with platforms). We then found out that this was the developer's home. He is claiming the beach as his own and no one is allowed to walk that section of the beach....fifth negative.

There are so many other all inclusive hotels we would return to and even though this one is beautiful, relaxing and clean...we left Pueblo Bonito Pacifica with the feeling of not ever returning. We were more disappointed than pleased. My husband and I always have a good time on vacation and we continued to compliment the resort to one another....but to us the negatives out weighed and we cannot recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We had oceanfront ground floor. Listening to the waves hitting the shore at night was awesome.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Debra,

We appreciate your preference, comments and feedback about our resort, which help us improve the quality of our service we strive to provide each day. As you mentioned above our beach is not a private beach, and only for security measures and our guest's safety we suggest not to swim in the ocean because of the strong currents, is not a safe beach and we wouldn't put our guests in any risk. We also advise everyone to not climb the rocks also for safety matters.

We really hope to welcome you anytime in the future, we thank you for your friendly comments about our staff and we'll make sure to pass your recognition to them.

Best Regards,
Angel S., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews