We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cryptosporidium nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cryptosporidium nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We traveled to the this resort in early November with a group of approximately 30 people for a destination wedding and had a good time. The problem came when we arrived home and all became sick with a nasty parasite called Crytosporidium. Some got it worse than others with a few violently sick for several weeks. I ended up severely dehydrated and had to go to the emergency room 3 times. There is no known cure for this parasite and is referred to as the "wasting disease" because you can lose so much of weight in a short period of time. Unfortunately the resort has chosen to deny or ignore those who have tried to call and let them know they have a problem. If they are not willing to acknowledge there is a problem then you can assume they are probably not doing anything to correct it. I would not recommend travel to this resort especially if you are older or have any health issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBPacifica, Director General at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

In Pueblo Bonito Pacifica it's always a pleasure to provide great service for our guests. We would like to share with you that our guests’ health and safety is of the upmost importance to our company.

Pueblo Bonito Pacifica adheres to strict regulations that keep us in compliance with government sanitation regulations, and our hotels are awarded the "Distinctive H" for Hygiene award each year, that are made without previous warning to the hotel periodically. This rating guarantees that our hotels meet the proper hygiene standards in regards to overall hotel cleanliness, room sanitation, kitchen practices and the handling of food (including the ice production). We provide ongoing training to our staff, kitchens, warehouses, and suppliers, guaranteeing the use of only products with the best quality.

In order for our guest to feel more comfortable we also made some pool tests that showed our pool water is not contaminated by any parasite or bacteria. We have proof that guarantees we have impeccable conditions for the hotel hygiene including our pool and every restaurant.

We will continue to comply to strict sanitation regulations and ensure that our staff uses the absolute care when handling food.

We strive to always improve our standards and the excellent service we provide daily.

Sincerely,

Pueblo Bonito Pacifica General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,876
    726
    241
    105
    65
See reviews for
223
2,033
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

First of all let me say this was a story of two sides. It began by them not having the room we reserved over a year ago. We were told that it was due to a plumbing problem, but later came to find out it was due to a dedication of a new golf course and they needed the rooms. So they moved us for two nights to their family resort, which would have been good if we were traveling with our kids. We had to fight to get the services that we were supposed to but we ended up getting all of them. This really annoyed my wife and I but in the end we dealt with it.

When we finally arrived at Pacifica it was wonderful, exactly what we wanted and needed. We could have not asked for a more pleasant experience. I would love to return but I am very hesitant that they will try the same thing again. Wow the place was amazing I would book with caution, and hope they don't do the same to you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week here at the end of November. Booked several months ago and looking forward to an adult only vacation with friends. When we tried to check in, there was no availability and they moved us to the sister resort, Sunset Beach, which is a timeshare and not all-inclusive. Very nice room but had to constantly argue that we were all-inclusive. Moved to Pacifica after 2 nights which was much better. Great food and lovely pool. Octavio at the pool was great! Had a lot of fun at the fiesta for the Mexican revolution. View from our room was awesome and had a great time the rest of the week. Spent the last few nights listening to the waves which was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Piper343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is an adult only resort.
I went with my sister in law in May of 2012.
It is a quiet resort, so if you are looking for a night life this is not the place for you.
The beach is unswimmable, but the large crashing waves are a sight to see.
The food is gourmet... nothing I have ever seen in an all inclusive before.
The drinks are high end as well, they don't skimp here.
I had a very luxurious, relaxing, pampered get away..Would love to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ccm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My family came to this resort thinking that it would be safe to eat, drink and enjoy our nephews wedding. Guess again! All 30 people that attended the wedding ended up very sick and five people ended up in the ER!! One of them for nine(9) days and one ended up having to have surgery!! I wonder if we send the bill to the resort if they would be willing to pay for their pain??

I have been to many different all-inclusive resorts and this is despicable and words that I feel our not appropriate to use!! If anyone is thinking of a destination wedding to this resort, please be advised of this blog!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arranged for a one week stay: all-inclusive, adult-only. We arrived after lengthy travel, and were told no space available - so they put us up in related location: not-all-inclusive and not adult-only. We had to travel back and forth between this new location and where our dinners were arranged on the original resort. Although there was provided transportation, they didn't tell us where to pick it up....so we missed the bus (so to speak), and had to take a cab to dinner. Then returning to the substitute resort, they didn't tell us we had to sign up for the bus. We had to take a taxi again. Then, everytime we ordered room service we had to explain that we should not have to pay for it---we were supposed to be in the all-inclusive resort. That was frustrating to have to go through. I didn't pay for an all-inclusive vacation to have to argue with them.
After two nights we got transferred to our assigned resort, and we were pleased with the service and the resort. We just weren't pleased with the initial service. Especially ZOAR. That's his name. Less than helpful. Sadly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As owners at PB Sunset Beach, we decided to extend our vacation from there and moved to Pacifica 11/4-11/9. The room (king bed) was very small and crowded, but we were not able to get a bigger space as they were booked. This property is touted as an adults only holistic resort. I remember visiting the grounds before during previous stays at Sunset Beach and it was just that, very serene and peaceful. My recent stay there can only support the all adult part. Every day at the main pool music would blast. Lots of loud obnoxious patrons, enjoying their all inclusive alcohol. No more serenity at this place, so don't expect it if you come here. I was amused at the "pool party" they held on Wednesday. Led by Adriana, the activities director, she got everyone around the pool involved in trivia games, and other participation games that entertained the whole crowd.

On the upside, the pool service here was top notch. The servers seemed happy and were very attentive. Lila and Paola were excellent and deserve much recognition. We tried all inclusive at this place and were satisfied with the quality of the food available. I'm not a big drinker so the price of all inclusive wasn't a good value for us. The food and service at Siempre was outstanding. The food at pool service was very good. Room service food, not so much. I ordered pizza one night expecting the same brick oven thin crust I received at Sunset Beach-got a doughy disc frozen pizza instead. The other room service food was subpar.

All in all I would love to stay here again if I was able to get a room with a kitchen like we have at Sunset Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LSN2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
2.9 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#16 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa

Property: Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
Address: Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa is an enchanting oasis of natural beauty and relaxation, located on a 2.5 Mile stretch of pristine white beach on the Pacific Ocean, just one mile from lively downtown Cabo San Lucas. This boutique resort offers a deluxe all-inclusive plan providing gourmet a la carte dining, enhanced guest services and a wide range of amenities. Pacifica features five restaurants, five bars, two pools, an award-winning spa and luxurious accommodations in a calm, adults-only environment. Fashionably decorated guestrooms and suites include furnished patios and balconies with stunning views of the ocean and sunsets. Designed for the sophisticated and discerning guest, Pueblo Bonito Pacifica has everything needed for a fun and relaxing vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort And Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Holistic Retreat & Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing