We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Positano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Positano Hotel
Ranked #58 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Just spent some time at the Positano Hotel in Cabo. The management is extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfasts included in your stay are delicious, and the garden is lovely. The pool area and the gardens are manicured and restful, and the entire area, including palapas and lawn chairs, was a delight in the January weather. I found my room to be airy and the beds comfortable, all very clean with amenities like and in room safe and individual balcony, ceiling fan and television.

There are only a few rooms, ALL of the rooms are on the second floor, which makes this hotel a poor choice for people who cannot use stairs, but positive of that location is that one has a distant sea view from the second floor. The sunsets from the balcony were splendid and the breezes on this site are heavenly.
The noise from the highway was unpleasant for me, but had the advantage of being a site of many great taco stands and an immediate stop for the many buses to the center of town and to beaches.
Positano Hotel is very good choice and a safe and comfortable place to enjoy as your base in Cabo.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boydranchitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 42 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

I don't understand, I booked this hotel after reading all the great reviews and omg! What a nightmare! While it is true that Vito and Jonathon are nice that's where the truth of the matter ends. Yes, Vito will cook you some Italian food under duress, but he charges an arm and a leg. And yes, rooms are decent but quiet? Hardly! The sound of the busy highway right outside the front doors has kept me awake since we've been here. I'm so exhausted I can't even enjoy myself. If they would release us from the booking we would be out of here so fast...but Vito doesn't care, he has my money and he is not letting it go. If you are looking for peace and quiet, DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: A good room would be somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RubyJane60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I stayed three nights with a friend at this beautiful small hotel in May 2011.The hotel is very nice ..beautiful grounds well kept pool and Garden.There is one pool table pool side and Big Palapa resting area. I Had a junior suite ¨ischia¨very quite and CLEAN with Wonderful terrace nice size bathroom and plenty of clean towels; the room has a small electric kitchennet , king size bed nicely furnished. we were told matresses were new so we test it out first night and WOO its totally TRUE... Beds are VERY comfortable

we had a wonderful and very relaxing vacation staying at positano hotel

Room Tip: we stayed in ( ischiia) room # 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbacecilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We booked a room at the Positano Hotel that came in a package flight and hotel through Expedia. We did not have great expectations because sometime photos online don’t show you the reality of the size and quality of the place.

The patio-garden and nice-sized pool are beautiful and would be great for a family gathering or event. The room was ample, air-conditioned, clean, and well maintained with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. The each room has a refrigerator, microwave, cook stove, sink, and dishes if you want to do some light cooking. While the hotel is located next to the busy highway, the rooms are well insulated for sound. There is parking in front of the building.

We had great customer service by Jonathan and Vito. They provided breakfast (yogurt, watermelon, and toast) and were helpful in giving directions to beaches and restaurants. The hotel is located close to Cabo San Lucas (10 min) and to the prettiest beaches along the corridor (10-15 min). It is also close to Costco and Walmart. You’ll need a car to get around, but we didn’t never had problems finding parking in Cabo San Lucas.

The location is nice because it is away from the craziness of the bars, crowd, and timeshare/activities representatives found downtown, but still close enough to get to restaurants, activities, and sites.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnnydwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

It was our first time going to Cabos. The crew (Vito, Johnathan, and the woman that cleaned our rooms) helped make our visit to Cabos the best vacation ever! They were always working to keep this small hotel clean and well maintained. The pool area was always clean and well landscaped. I loved interacting with the staff. They really did treat us like friends! I had caught some fish after fishing the Sea of Cortez. I brought it back to the hotel and offered some to Vito. He was so grateful, he cooked up an authentic italian dinner for me and my friends! Amazing! Hope I get to visit them again!

Room Tip: The go cart track is noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dooddiggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I went to Cabos to celebrate my 28th b~day with my friend Paola and we stayed at Positano Hotel for a week. We loved it so much since we get there. Our suite was big and really clean. I really felt like I was in my own house. Everyone is so nice at the hotel and very helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel because of the great price, amazing service, really nice people, quiet place, great location and If I ever go back to Cabos I'll stay here again. Thanks to everyone at the hotel Positano, but specially to Jonathan and Vito for making us feel like we were in our house. P.s. Vito made a pasta for us and it was soo good.:)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicaNica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We had a great time and this hotel was PERFECT for what we needed. Here is just a heads up for others:
The rooms are large with high ceilings, terra cotta tile floors, white linens, and pops of color - perfect for hot weather - you will not feel cramped at all. Plenty of places to plug stuff in like cell phones, etc. All rooms have a small kitchenette with a table and chairs. The kitchenette was wonderful. We made our own coffee each day and there was a larger than normal minifridge to store snacks and water (or even enough to make a dinner). The cleaning lady provided us with a coffee maker after seeing our make shift one which was really thoughful. The bad economy has hit everyone - the free breakfast had much to be desired so I wouldn't necessarily depend upon it. Go and get your own stuff and use your kitchenette. Also the restaurant the website talks about was closed (however we were there during the low season so check first). There was not even a bottle of water to buy.
The pool and gardens are BEAUTIFUL! But again no one was serving drinks or anything like that. Go get your own stuff. Our neighbors told us they used the BBQ and fridge at the pool and made their own dinner.
Each entrance (front door and out to the balcony) is a sliding glass door which brought the breezes and light in wonderfully, but if you are worried about security I could see this as being a problem for some. We didn't bring laptops or expensive electronics or jewelry so it didn't worry us and there was a safe to store our passports.
I was also a little surprised by the go-cart park near by, but as long as you aren't hanging around the hotel during the day - the noise won't bother you - it's all closed up by 9pm. Also you probably only hear it while your on the balcony and probably not when you are down by the pool.
The bathroom is basically open to the room (the ceiling doesn't close at the top) so not all that private, but I really appreciated the almost open air shower - you aren't closed into some mildewy bathroom - the water in Cabo smells a bit sulfury so the less closed in you are the better.
Jonathan, at the reception desk was VERY helpful. Letty was the house keeper who brought us things without us asking. So if you want a place for a great price and not all the frills you don't want to pay for this is the hotel for you. Also easy parking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charliesmom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#46 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cabo Pedregal Hotel
Cabo Pedregal Hotel
#67 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites
El Ameyal Hotel & Family Suites
#54 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#37 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Melida
Hotel Melida
#63 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabo Inn Hotel
Cabo Inn Hotel
#43 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Positano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Positano Hotel

Address: Km. 3.7 Carretera Transpeninsular, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $80 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Positano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vito and Virginia Parlato invite you to their charming Mediteranean-style boutique hotel, located 3.7 km from downtown Cabo San Lucas on the tourist corridor. Suites Terrazas de Positano offers 8 fully-equipped suites each with a lovely terraza and magnificent view to Medano Bay and Lover's Beach. Come enjoy the tranquility, the many amenities and the warm atmosphere provided by your hosts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Positano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terrazas De Positano
Positano Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing