We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Contente is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Contenta Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 27 Cabo San Lucas B&B and Inns
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa Contente is”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent a delightful week at CC earlier this year. I had some distractions when we got home so am just now getting around to writing this. The place really is as wonderful as everyone says! We stayed in "Cardon" on the first level, it's large and airy, and very comfortable. The bathroom was especially nice with lots of room to spread out. We particularly liked the open air shower. Needed the AC only intermittently, preferring instead to open the very large windows and use the ceiling fan. WiFi is available throughout the property, but sometimes we needed to step out our door into a comfortable common room to give it a boost. The WiFi repair guy was there most of one day trying to get the wireless connection up to full strength.

The dogs added a wonderful hominess to CC although I think they'd leave non dog people alone. We sought out their company while we were there.

A special part of our week was getting to know the people of CC and the other guests. Lori is adept at bringing people together, it clearly matters to her (and to Craig as well, but he wasn't around nearly as much as Lori) that everyone feels at home. She's a gracious hostess, and offered all kinds of assistance and advice, but she never interfered, same for Craig. We especially enjoyed meeting Betty, Lori's mother. Dora cooked breakfast most days - her English is far better than my Spanish. Dora is just as warm and friendly as Lori, Craig, Betty.

Breakfasts were delicious and presented beautifully. The table settings were colorful with different dishes and cloth napkins every day. Usually 2 or 3 hummingbirds (one morning there were 5) ate their breakfast nearby as we ate ours. There's a fridge for guests and you can use the kitchen to reheat leftovers, and the wine set up makes the sunset glass or two very easy. You just take the bottle you want and leave money in an envelope on the fridge. I spent a lot of the week reading, and divided my time between the various terraces and sitting areas, indoors and outside. Never got around to using the hot tub, maybe next time.

The only hitch we had all week was right at the very beginning. Here's a word to the wise - when you turn off the main road to drive back to CC, you will turn into what looks like a little parking lot but it's really a road. We drove past it a few times, and kept wondering how we were missing the turn off. CC is down this unpaved road, more of a lane actually, and you will enter the grounds of CC through the gates where Lori and Craig park their SUVs. The landscaping throughout the property is quite stunning, and this particular gate has a rose bougainvilla. arch above it.

Casa Contente is a home away from home, in all the best ways!
.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite (Cardon) is spacious and quiet, and we'll definitely stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
96
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
GB Fl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed Jan 2013. Attentive hosts who give you privacy. Really open up their home. Breakfasts are varied, tasty and healthy. Delightful property. Heated Pool. Wifi. Quarter mile down dirt road to home. Very nice homes in the area. We always felt safe. Short drive to downtown. Would definite stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It is no wonder that every review of Casa Contenta is excellent. We found it even better than expected. A beautiful oasis with the loveliest hosts. Stunning interiors. Breakfast with hummingbirds. Chirping parakeets during the day. Pool and hot tub with gorgeous views. Rooftop terrace with fire pit for sunsets. The best B&B experience we've ever had. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronlev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I'd like to think we're a pretty easy going family. But the truth is, when we get a chance to take a family holiday we're at our best when things go right. You travel a long distance looking for paradise, you want to find blue skies, endless sunshine, beautiful things to see, nice people, good food, comfy beds. If any of those fall short, and you have to compromise, it doesn't go unnoticed even if you take it all in your stride. So when you find a place where it all works like a well oiled machine, but still remains relaxed and friendly - that's truly something special.

Casa Contente is that sort of place. It's a beautiful house; big and light and open and designed for living well. You just immediately feel at home, but without any of the responsibility. Perfect! Our flight was late and we didn't arrive till after midnight, but Craig provided clear and easy directions, and everything was laid out for us so my 14, 19 and 20 year old sons could collapse in their rooms upstairs, while Robin and I took our big room on the ground floor. We woke up to the smell of coffee and breakfast wafting through the house, put on the cotton kimonos provided in our rooms and went upstairs to meet our hosts, their staff of two and the 2 other guests staying Christmas week. We were so tired from travelling, we spent the day by the pool (waiting for my lost luggage to be delivered from the airport) taking in the beautiful view of Cabo San Lucas, leaving only for lunch at Asi & Asado the local taco place that Craig & Lori recommended, which became our favorite of many well loved restaurants in Cabo. All the recommendations they gave us were just as they described. Beautiful beaches, impressive local restaurants, and some incredible Japanese branded tequila! Craig & Lori are interesting and warm people; they're also professionals, and give you the space you need, but they somehow manage to make you feel like old friends at the same time. Dore and Chuy, the two women who look after the house, are so sweet, hard working but unobtrusive and pleasant to be around. Everything was so well pitched to make us feel comfortable and happy. And we were.

Now, flying back up to the East Coast through terrible snow storms, I'm dwelling on how long it will take me to save up for another trip. Thinking I'd like to explore a bit farther afield, take a boat up the Sea of Cortez, drive up the coast to La Paz, or beyond. Or maybe we'll find ourselves back on Santa Maria beach, eating fresh mango on a stick, snorkelling, reading, taking photos, playing on the beach, snoozing in the sun. Sounds good to me!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAKLondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

great place to stay, very relaxing. Beautiful house with the terraces. Located on the edge of Cabo San Lucas, towards San Jose del Cabo. Very close to several beaches. Breakfast is great, service and hospitality even better. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My first trip to Cabo – an all expenses paid “appreciation vacation” from my boss!!! He’s been going to Cabo for years and treated us to all his favorite places. We also added some new experiences for all of us. We traveled from 5/11 to 5/26 staying in 5 different towns. Our group included my boss, his fiancée, my significant other and me!

We started out in Cabo San Lucas and stayed at Casa Contenta. Lori & Craig have created a wonderful bed & breakfast! Four levels that make you want to explore every nook & cranny – statues, artwork, shells, plants books – not to mention the architectural details throughout the house. The views from the first level garden to the ever expanding vista on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th levels provide picture postcards of the area. You can see the Arch and Scooby Doo from here! Lots of space to do your own thing – spend time in the sun around the two pools or in the shade - multiple seating areas. We enjoyed the 4th level each night around the huge fire pit – music, stories, laughter, plans for the next day, beautiful starry sky. The breakfasts were awesome - beautiful presentation! - Ranchos Huervos, Baja French Toast, fresh fruit and fabulous fruit smoothies – Mango was my favorite!

We had the place to ourselves, but the layout of the bedrooms and common areas lends itself to being able to enjoy your own space or sharing stories with other travelers who may be around. Lori was a great resource for activities, restaurants, etc, but was always eager to hear about new places we had found. Pasha was a hit - very friendly dog who loved to share her frog with us.

Favorite meals in Cabo San Lucas:
• Hacienda Beach House – The four of us shared two awesome entrees served in lava-like pots: One was a seafood stew that included octopus – very tender, the other stew included chorizo, chicken, and vegetables – both included wonderful sauces. Finished off the meal sharing their two best desserts: Quattro Leches Cake and Chiurros served with Chocolate and Caramel Dipping Sauces.
• Asi & Asado – Best Tacos! Seafood, Pork, Beef, Chicken – Everything we tried was great!
• Maria Jimenez – Very small place, excellent service & food: Grilled Chicken Breast, Chile Rellenos were both great, Mango Sauce was spectacular!!!

Favorite activities in Cabo:
• Parasailing
• Surf Fishing with Wesley Brough
• Casa de Colores – Traditional Mexican Cooking Class – Donna shares her passion for cooking: What to look for when shopping for ingredients, spices, cooking utensils, etc. Great hands-on class! – Best Dang Roasted Tomato Salsa, Gucamole, Taco Soup with Corn Dumplings and Meatballs, Chile Rellenos & Squash Flowers dipped in a light egg batter, Flour Tortillas – everything was delicious if I do say so myself! For dessert, we had a taste of Coconut Ice Cream with Cajeta (Caramel Sauce)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue and Green Rooms on the first floor. Lots of space - very quiet, peaceful, rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were looking for a nice, week long, relaxing getaway at a warm local and Casa Contenta sure hit the spot.

Whenever we travel my wife and I always try to find the small, charming Inns and B & B in which to stay and we certainly would place Craig and Lori's place in Cabo San Lucas at the top of our list.

The house and rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated and the hosts do a spectacular job of making you feel at home and truly relaxed. The house just makes you want to hang out at the pool and on the deck while reading either your own materials or some of the many books dotting the property. The free wifi allows one to stay connected if necessary, which in today's busy world is always a nice touch. Any one of the 5 rooms is perfect, well decorated, clean and sports a large, lovely bathroom.

The house offers beautiful gardens and an open, airy lay out with a great view of both the magnificent sunsets and the city of Cabo San Lucas. The roof patio with the big fire pit and lounge chairs makes for truly wonderful evening sundowners before heading out for any one of the many excellent restaurant recommendations from Craig.

One of the highlights of our stay was each and every breakfast. Beautifully prepared and present on the outside deck, it never failed to disappoint! Service is unobtrusive and very well done with our rooms cleaned and ready by the end of breakfast each day. Craig's very convenient self-serve wine cooler is also and a great bargain and incredibly convenient.

My wife and I had a terrific week at Casa Contenta and will no doubt find our way back there as soon as the need for some serious relaxation and sunset watching hits us once again.

Kudos to Craig and Lori for being such fine hosts and creating such a wonderful oasis.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem equally comfortable and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springbokny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.1 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,201 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
884 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
892 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
350 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Contenta Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Contenta Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Contenta Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Modelo- El Tezal | BCS, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located one mile from both the ocean and the nearest golf course, and situated in the small enclave of Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, our Casa Contenta Bed & Breakfast Inn is the perfect paradisical refuge at the edge of the known world, "Lands' End", the tip of the magnificent Baja Peninsula. A place where like-minded, adventurous spirits take comfort in relaxation and activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Casa Contenta Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Contenta Luxury b&b
Casa Contenta Luxury Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Contenta Bed & Breakfast Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing