We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Nearby Hotels
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$464
$453
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$389
$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$473
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$823
$632
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$288
$202
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$398
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$607
$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$440
$301
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (7,156)
Filter reviews
7,156 results
Traveler rating
3,257
2,245
814
461
379
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,257
2,245
814
461
379
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantspecialty restaurantsactivity poolquiet sideocean viewquiet poollunch buffetmake reservationswater taxiall inclusive resortlovers beachbeds pushed togetherlobby barall inclusivesstand in linesteak restaurantmain buffet
Filter
Updating list...
6,313 - 6,318 of 7,156 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
houston, texas
17
Reviewed August 10, 2005

Hi, we just got our pictures back from our Cabo trip and had wonderful memories. The staff was very organized and friendly. When we arrived they were very quick to check us in and familiarize us with the floor plan of the resort. We had a great view of the courtyard and waterfront from our second floor room. The room itself was beautiful. My husband kept commenting about the tile - it was all around the RIU. The place was very well kept, very clean. In the early mornings you could hear the waves crashing on the beach, very relaxing. We never went thirsty or hungry. To me the food was fabulous. Breakfast was great, anything you wanted they had and more. The fruit was sweet and fresh every day. We ate buffet each evening and had to take evening walks to be able to breathe we were so full. We were lucky enough to share rides into town each time. Friendly place. Great place for a romantic getaway or travel with a group of friends. Not much for the kids to do except swim. If you have questions about "What to do?", the staff is eager to suggest. ENJOY, we did.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2005

First – let me tell you that we read all of the reviews on tripadvisor before booking at the RIU Palace. Second, you should know that I have stayed at many world class hotels – several Ritz Carlton’s, Four Seasons, Shangri-La, Little Nell, The Savoy, St. Regis, and other top hotels.

The bad reviews on this site are expecting Champagne at a bottled water price. I read about many issues with the safes, the food, the service, etc – but these people are forgetting what they paid for the hotel and that the hotel is in Mexico. It’s not fair to compare this hotel to one that is much more expensive and in a different location. We talked to a couple who complained that the food wasn’t as good as they are used to in the States – but they admitted that they lived in Manhattan and dined at fine restaurants all the time.

I think that this is a wonderful hotel, and that it is an amazing value. For a double occupancy junior suite it has been around $220 a night (2 adults - $110 each), all inclusive of drinks, food, etc. The food was good (for Mexico), the fruit and veggies were fresh, and the drinks were good once you added an extra shot from the bottles of alcohol in your room. The beds and pillows were firm and very comfortable. We tipped $5 on the first day to get additional shampoo, bottled water and Pepsi light in the fridge – and they set us up. We witnessed the staff cleaning the light fixtures in the dining room, the top of ½ walls between balconies, and countless other maintenance items. We had a few problems with our room when we first arrived and the staff quickly repaired them – and even called later in the week to be sure everything was still going well.

Others we talked to were given better rooms than their originals because they simply asked for new rooms. The hotel took care of moving their luggage to the new rooms and followed up with them as well. The hotel is working hard to resolve bugs from opening a new hotel with a new staff – and surveyed the guests individually in the dining area to learn about problems and how to address them. We saw many rooms that were “trashed” by guests who acted like they were on Spring Break – it isn’t easy to maintain rooms by inconsiderate guests.

Anyway, we loved this hotel at the price we paid and met many others on the trip who felt the same. Perhaps others should consider paying more to stay somewhere else or vacation in the US.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas
18
Reviewed August 10, 2005

We had the most amazing time of our lives in Cabo. Staying at the Riu was a very nice luxury hotel, the hotel was beautiful and the hotel staff was great. Carlos the Concierge was mucho helpful in making sure we had the best time while we were there.. We owe alot to him.. He made sure we did all the fun and entertaining things there are to do in Cabo.. It was absolutely amazing. Ignore all the negative reviews you read about this place as I cant see why anyone would say anything negative. It is absolutely a 5 star hotel.... The rooms were great the service was great, the food was yummy.. I could go on and on.. I highly recommend the Riu Palace if you ever decide to visit Cabo San Lucas.. Make sure you stop by and see Carlos the Concierge~ He will do you right!!!!

Adios!!

Jill
Dallas, TX

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
14
Reviewed August 9, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Riu Aug. 6-9. We specifically chose Cabo because it is only a 2-hour flight from Houston. We then chose the Riu because we wanted an all-inclusive and the price was right. The hotel is on a beautiful piece of property. We loved the beach and the sand and water were gorgeous. We were able to swim every day in the water. Yes, there is a slight riptide but it is not unsafe. There were quite a few people in the water but it was never packed. The water was warm, crystal clear, and we loved it. There are plenty of beach chairs and occasionally a waiter will bring drinks out to the beach. Our room overlooked the beach and it was heavenly to sit on our balconey listening to the waves. The property, view, and beach are what make this hotel spectacular. Our room was clean and spacious. We never had any problems with security.

The food is average. The breakfast and lunch buffets are fine. The restaurants are below average. We were told when we checked in on Saturday that the earliest reservation available was Monday. We fussed a bit and were able to get reservations for Sunday and Monday. It was not worth it. We were only there for 3 nights so not a big deal. If we were staying longer, I would have gone into Cabo and ate dinner elsewhere. In the end, our digestive systems are healthy and it was a relaxing 4 days, 3 nights. The alcohol is also average. Could not find a real good cocktail no matter how hard we tried; requested brand names, asked for doubles, etc. But the Corona beer is plentiful and the wines are good. The bottled water and sodas are also plentiful.

The evening entertainment was fun. We would go again for a long weekend getaway and we would also take our children. For a 2-hour flight and for a relatively inexpensive all-inclusive, it is a nice beach get-away. You are not paying 5-star all-inclusive prices. You get waht you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2005

This hotel was a joke from the moment we arrived. They told us that since we didn't have our orbitz print-out we had to go to their internet cafe and print out a copy...even though it was closed. The food couldn't be any worse. We wanted to order dominos every night we were there. And the service? I have never seen worse. The power went out for two hours between 7pm and 9pm and we could not eat at the hotel and when I asked if they were going to pay for us to eat downtown they said, "Of course not." When I asked if they could do something about the dog and rooster pen outside our window, they responded, "Of course not." Did I mention room service? Don't order 5 beers and expect them to get there in less than 1.5 hours...but they may come with random towels after one hour. This place is a complete joke. DO NOT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kimmie5666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews