We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome, Awesome, Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awesome, Awesome, Awesome”
Reviewed April 24, 2005

I have no idea where these complaints are coming from about the RIU.Either rival resorts or people who will NEVER have a fun vacation. We just got back from the Riu on saturday april 23rd. My wife and I went with another from Rochester, NY. The second day we were there we met Ryan and Kim from Buffalo. The six of us stayed together the whole entire week and hand a wonderful time. Kim loves cheesey dance music and Ryan digs tequila and hot dogs. Paul loved hangin in the pool and Tricia loved the Coca De Rosa fruity drinks.

The pools were seperated by quiet pool, activity pool, kids pool or the pool we were at which was the I am here to have a good time, keep'em coming pool. We never waited for a drink and ate and drank as much as we wanted. We tipped a bit here and there the service was great. The drinks were cold, continuous and strong. The food was plentiful and eatable.

The 5-7pm reservation time slots are the primo times and that is what everyome waited in line for. We made reservations for 7:30 for the specialty places about a half of an hour after the reservation system started and there was NEVER a line. Eat later, no waiting.

The rooms were big, clean, stocked, beatiful view and best of all the beds were firm. My back never felt better.

The food was fine all three meals were very well prepared and the service was great. The entertainment was fine, but that area was just a pit stop before we went out. The disco was fun and I actually took over as DJ for about 2 hours. The staff there was so much fun.

The ATV rides and snorkeling cruise is well worth it. Pancho Panza is a wonderful restauranrt with a great atmosphere. We went there twice and I would go there again. Very good prices, the owners are there every night, small band playing, right in the marina. Can't beat it. Mi Casa was solid. The office was so much fun. Rambo is a stud. Ask him to show you what is under his apron. He will show you then you get a shot of tequila. Entertainment all night the food and drinks kept coming.

Cabo Wabo and Squid row are two fun places. Kim loved Squid row, it was her paradise. Fun places to be at. Paul was crushed at Cabo wabo as was Ryan the ssecond time. Lay off the tequila.

All in all we met some great people and it was all because the RIU made us feel so relaxed. Redneck and Roy from Vancouver. Mullet MAn from, I have no idea?PArts unknown. Kim and Ryan from Buffalo, two great people whom We will see soon.

We had it all: some spring break nudity, non stop fun and activities, festivals, meeting good people, sun, and all of that equals a great trip. I will go to CAbo San Lucas again and most definantly stay at the Riu.

Enjoy the pictures! We stayed in room 4116.

p.s. the people who were mistakenly put in our room or we were mistakenly put in your room. We did not see a thing when we came in, but your wife looked good. HaHa! inside joke, just part of the vacation package!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
41 Thank Stoshiebones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,872
    2,042
    722
    427
    326
See reviews for
1,161
2,898
66
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,570)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2005

Lovely vacation but...
We just returned from a 1 week long stay at the Rui Palace. The accommodations were great and the staff was wonderful! However...
We were extremely disappointed with Cabo San Lucas and will never return because it did not meet our expectations. The beach has a strong undertow with huge crashing waves that make it impossible to go into the water. In addition it is not flat but on an incline with soft sand that made walking on the beach extremely difficult. There were only a dozen or two people sunning on the beach and only a handful of high school kids in the water the entire time we were there-very much a pool culture place.
12-15 vendors parked themselves on the beach from 8-5 each day with continuous interruption and horse back riding occurred all day long on the beach with horses doing what they do , as well.
We found the town to be anything but upscale - bars, bars, sleazy shops,only a couple of nice stores(no duty free), more bars. Great place to visit if you are a college student or thirty something. Very, very American.
Last year we stayed at the Rui Palace on the Mayan Riviera and enjoyed the hotel, beach and Mayan ruins/culture much better. The tourists were more international-nice mixture of Europeans, South Americans, Asians, Canadians and some Americans.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a week in Cabo (our third trip to Cabo in the last year!). The first 4 nights of the trip were paid for by his company and we stayed at the Marquis (awesome resort). We then moved to the Riu and were extremely disappointed. Without belaboring the whole story, following are the lows:

1.) changed rooms 5 times in two days due to lack of air conditioning, then we were put in a room that was already occupied, then in a room that was dirty, then in a room that was on top of the disco. By the 3rd day we couldn't take anymore.

2.) you have to WAIT IN LINE at 6:00 each evening to make reservations for one of 3 restaurants on the property for the next night. We found this to be embarrassing and crazy at best.

3.) We could only stomach one meal in the steak restaurant.....we then ordered pizza.

4.) Our friend left his wallet on the bed when he went to dinner (hind sight is 20-20) and $100 was stolen.

5.) Crowded, crowded, crowded.

If you are looking for a relaxing stay and good service and food, look somewhere else. We couldn't wait to get out of this hotel and did so a day before we had planned.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket,Ontario
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2005

we just got back from the riu we were there April 12 to April 19 ,our experience was so wonderful i dont even know where all the complaints are from.We had a great time the service was excellent freindly and very efficient.The room was very clean and the view from our balcony was great the bar fridge was fully stocked every day(tips help)they supplied us with extra towel because we had our kids with us,our kids had a great time and brought back with them excellent memories.They are fussy eater but they managed to find lots to eat.The cleaning staff are always working to keep the resort so spotless.We loved the area,it was gorgeous.We did a catamaran snorkling tour to Santa Maria bay and we managed to see some whales (mama and baby)on our trip.
The only thing you need to know is that the beache is very rough and not swimmable, do not expect to enjoy the sea when you are on this trip unless you make a trip to a swimmable beach.
we will consider to go back to mexico and the riu one of these days.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank allouzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2005

We stayed for four days in early April and as mentioned on many posts here, the grounds are very nice. Our maid service was prompt every morning (we gave her a nice tip on the first morning...) and our bar was always stocked. The room overall was nice although each morning around 5am the strongest stench of sewage would waft through the room. It was almost unbearable at times. Also, the rooms are supposed to be non-smoking but the previous guests must have been chain smokers as the room reeked of cigarette smoke. We were located on the south end of the building facing the bay and Lands End so the view was nice and they did not have a comparable room for us to switch to so we ended up just dealing with the smells. I was there on a company-sponsored trip and the company had sent us welcome champagne but the hotel did not deliver it until late on day 2, warm, with no ice or glasses.

As to be expected at an all-inclusive, the food is not why you go there. The breakfast buffet is the best bet. We ate at the "steak house" one night and it barely qualified as food. I would skip it and eat in town. Our friends mentioned that they thought the Italian restaurant was a better call.

The pools are great and we had no trouble on any of the four days in securing a chair and umbrella even though the hotel was sold out. The "entertainment" each night (except for the mexican folk dancing) looked to be extremely cheesy - something out of very bad Vegas nightmare. Our group avoided the nightly entertainment like the plague but alot of folks were watching it. If you like horrible knock-offs of a Vegas revue then this is your kinda place....Skip that and head into town to the Nowhere Bar and have a beer at The Worlds Smallest Bar as well.

Overall, if you go in with high expectations you may be disappointed. If you read the reviews here and go in knowing that the service/food will be spotty and just enjoy the overall beauty of Cabo and the hotel grounds you'll enjoy your stay. If you've been to Mexico before then you know they do things their own unique way in their own unique timeframe. Just go with the flow, have a Corona at the Office, and you'll have a great trip!

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank schmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2005

I just returned from the Riu this evening.
I am afraid that I do not have great news to report. When I am on vacation, I want things to be easy. I do not want them to be an effort.
There were a bunch of little things that were wrong that add up to an unsatisfactory experience. Here they are in not particular order:

***Reservation System for non-buffet restaurants discourages visiting.
***Poor water pressure in rooms.
***TV is not programmed correctly...(I had to enter the channels by hand. Pushing channel up and channel down did not get half of the channels.)
***although breakfast was really good, the rest of the meals were mediocre at best.
***Despite the fact that we left the "clean up room now" tag at 10am on the doorknob, the maid came by at 6pm.
***first room we were sent to had not been made up yet and had a view of a dirt pile.
***only blue and white cabs allowed on property. The blue cab I took had no clue where my destination was and he missed the exit on two separate occaisions. This turned a 10 minute trip to a 30 minute nightmare.
***Beds are terrible. They are hard as a rock.

Positives:
***Breakfast was always good.
***Tino and his bartenders at the Baja Sur pool bar were great.

Suggested Visits:
***Esparanzas---spa and the restaurant both are incredible--bring your wallet.

Helpful?
12 Thank maverickintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 19, 2005

We just returned from the Riu, and were extremely disappointed. First, of all the Bar was not stocked when we first arrived in the room, and had 1/2 used sodas in it. The food was absolutely terrible and the only restaurant available was a buffet. We soon learned throughout the trip, they would recycle the buffet food and even if it was sitting out in 85 degree weather for 6 hours, they would put it back on there carts and bring it out for the next meal. I am into recycling but not if its going to give me somanila. The only thing safe was the pizza, french fries, and hamburgers which I didn't go all the way to Cabo to have. The worst part was the restaurants, you had to wait in line the night before some people up to 2 hrs. to book a reservation for the next night, so of course when we got there we couldn't eat in the restaurants and were stuck w/ buffet again. When we finally got into a restaurant probably the 3rd night, the restaurant was empty, and we learned why, the food was terrible and they rushed you out of there so fast your head would spin. We didn't eat there anymore after that....The drinks were fine but thats as far as it went. For the price, its not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,482 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#40 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
7,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,198 reviews
18.8 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing