We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
274 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband, son & I stayed at the Riu Palace. I emailed ahead of time requesting our ocean view room and restaurant reservation requests. Upon arrival, we were taken to our room with
a very "angled" view of the ocean. The unacceptable part was a king size bed with a couch that does not fold out into a bed. If the 2 beds were pulled apart, they would "barely" be double beds!
NOT OK!! We went back to the front desk, told them the room was unacceptable! We wanted a room with a king size bed and a couch that folds out into a bed. We also wanted a room with a nice view of the ocean! We then were given a great room with a nice view, very convenient!! We were very fortunate because our king size bed was great--NO crack in the middle. It was comfortable!! My husband asked to have the rum switched out for a bottle of scotch instead (we did this at the Riu Palace in Costa Rica--amazing place!!) The front desk told us they wouldn't do it unless they charged us an extra $60. My husband told them they do this in Costa Rica at the Riu Palace-they said, This is not Costa Rica-this is Mexico! Well they got that right!! The front desk lacks in customer service!! They were rude!! We contacted our Delta Vacation rep and told him about our initial room problem and the liquoir issue. Amazing--within 1 hour we had scotch in our room!! The key to a good room is don't accept the one that is first assigned to you if you don't like the room for one reason or another!! We never stood in line for a restaurant reservation-we told one of the front desk managers about the rudeness and lack of customer service; they took care of our reservations for us. We loved the buffet the first few days for dinner but later in our stay, the food was not as good. The staff are very hard working and friendly! The bartenders in the sports bar on the Terrace were great. Wendy was so kind and friendly. The pools were fun-I always got up early so I could get chairs in a good location-so did many people. The view of the Cabo San Lucas arch and beach are beautiful. The beaches are steep-hard to take a walk. There is a strong undertow so swimming is not encouraged and it can be dangerous!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room-not on the first floor. Decide if you want to be closer to the activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,913
    2,072
    737
    429
    331
See reviews for
1,182
2,945
66
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,597)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Big hotel- all inclusive
Tons of drunk people -it's Mexico :)
But I cannot express to you how horrible their beds are! two twin beds pushed together to make king bed- that means someone sleeps on the crack !! Ugh. And they are so darn hard-omg no Bueno
Food is decent -their alcohols cheap-but it's all inclusive
Beach is rough- walk done 15 minutes to calm waters
Stay at villa del palmar or pueblo Bonita instead. Nicer rooms -better beaches and you can walk to downtown Los Cabos. My 2 cents :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosaliegb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Amazing resort!!! Loved everything about this place. The drinks were amazing , food delicious and endless and pool was stunning!! Mini bars were restocked daily... Only downfall is your not able to go into the ocean because of the high tides :(

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginiatucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

First the positives. The service is outstanding. From the front desk to the bartenders to the wait staff to the room service to the hard working people cleaning 24/7. The food was very good. The buffet might be the best buffet at an all inclusive that I have ever had. The specialty restaurants were very good as well. The location is an easy cab ride to downtown and you can walk in both directions on the beach for a good distance. Now for the negative and it isn't that awful. First we had an awful problem with mosquitos in the room. I killed about 40 the first night. I believe because we were on the bottom floor. Didn't hear any problems from anyone on the higher floors. The shower was a bit dangerous The bed was not very comfortable. I have had much better rooms. All in all I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I would not stay on the bottom floor again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This boy and I returned to Cabo for 5 nights after our first stay two years ago at the sister property Sante Fe.
Our room, a garden suite with a partial ocean view, was clean and well-stocked throughout our trip. We spent little time in the room aside from sleeping.
The two pools allow you the choice of party pool and relaxation pool. We sat by both and had no complaints.
The lobby bar is a great spot for pre-dinner cocktails and has the best view!
The food is considerably better than all the all-inclusives we've been to. Breakfast has a wide variety and lunch features many options including Mexican specialties. We enjoyed all of the a la carte restaurants with the exception of the Mexican restaurant since we had usually eaten that for lunch. We went to Mysaki twice as it didn't require reservations and the food was delish. Krystal was a fabulous meal that rivaled our favorites at home. I would suggest if you are having a "special night" to make a reservation here. The boy enjoyed the lamb, and I the tenderloin. The Steakhouse was also very good but not up to par with Krystal. The method for reserving a la cartes is not as efficient as other resorts we've been to. We were able to make two reservations the first day but did have to go back for the others. It would be helpful to do them all at once but it was not totally unbearable.
The pride and joy of this hotel is the staff. As with any customer-facing position, if you treat them with respect they will do the same in return. We felt that each of the employees we interacted with did their utmost to make sure we were taken care of, our needs were met and we were having a good time. They are the hardest working staff I have seen, especially the entertainment staff who work the pool all day and then put on the shows at night. The shows were fun and funny. Not Broadway epic but worth watching with a nightcap. Order your booze by brand and if they are weak, as for a double. They are happy to oblige.
Cabo is a wonderful location and the Palace does it justice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a typical Riu, much like their other ones. The buffet was a little better than the others (Jamaica, Costa Rica). They did keep the grounds clean. The beach is pretty, but the sand is course and you couldn't get in the water when we went since the current was too strong. It is close to downtown (about 10-15 minute taxi) and they are relatively cheap. When we went it was 14$ one way unless you had more than 4 and it was 3$ per person. The beds are hard, so you can ask for a mattress topper when you check in. Room service food was gross.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed Apr 3-10.this was our first stay in a riu and also our first time in cabo.we had a fabulous time. I was a little nervous, having read some of the previous reviews. My expectations were surpassed . The hotel itself is spotless, the staff cleans day and night. Our room was very nice (granted we didnt go to Mexico for the hotel room). The mattress wasn't nearly as hard as I was expecting. Our king bed was actually a king mattress, not two beds pushed together. The self serve bar in the room was a nice touch although a little unnecessary. ..we used it once.the fridge was stocked daily.
The pools, albeit cold, were enjoyable. Plenty of room for everyone.
The lounge chairs were a source of irritation though. There are signs prohibiting reserving chairs, but it is done anyway. If you want a good chair right in front of the pool or facing the ocean. ..I recommend keeping your towels from the day before and reserving your chairs at 6 30am.if you aren't out by 8am....you'll be hard pressed to get a chair at all.
The staff at the bars were great and its easy to tell they enjoy their job.
And the liquor is top shelf and plentiful.
No watered down drinks here.
We didnt eat at any of the a late carte restaurants, the buffet was excellent.
We sat in the same serves section everyday (Hugo. ..we loved him).although im sure the rest of them are awesome too.
The town itself was very enjoyable and safe ( although the vendors can be annoying).
"Vivo aqui" helped ( "I live here").it got most of them to leave us alone.
All in all we had a great week and wont hesitate to return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EricaS-yeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,645 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Cabo San Lucas - Colonia El Medano - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing