We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a long story short but it was one of the worst vacations that I have had. My husband and I were here for 7 days with a party of 40+ for our wedding. We get in to check in and none of us have the rooms we had paid for..... over a year and in a half ago, they wanted to put us all in twin beds, they didn't have us down as a wedding party and had the nerve to tell my husband and I who paid for the honeymoon package and room that we would only be getting twin beds... after hours of fighting rooms were finally figured out but it was twin beds pushed together for everyone, no one got their king suites. Then the wedding planner told us wrong information, did not show up til the morning of the wedding, and did not bring my the flowers I order, took then three days to get my mother in laws dress back to me. It was a nice resort, beautiful facility but the management was rude, staff was rude to our party, I would NEVER stay here again or recommend this place to another bride.

VERY UNHAPPY BRIDE

Room Tip: AC didn't work for almost 4 days, twin beds push together to make a king suite, room service was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ashgoodsell42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,532 - 2,538 of 6,811 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Having been to all inclusives AND boutique hotels all over the world, one knows that you can't really compare them head to head. With that said, I can say that the RIU Palace stands right up there with the best all-inclusives we've been to in the Carribean. The staff kept the enormous grounds immaculate. The food was great with a wide selection in the buffet each eveing. As with all "All-Inclusives", the food can get old after a while, but with all you can eat whenever you want it...who could go wrong!! The junior suites were par for the course with a small couch area to chill when needed. The only drawback was I don't think there are many King size beds. Instead they push two twins together which makes for a fiasco with the sheets. All in all we would definitely go back. We were there with two rooms and two grown sons 18 and 21 years old.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DOCJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The food was outstanding and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. I took my family with two other families and we all had an amazing time. I would recommend using the excursion packages from the hotel. We went on to both trips and saw Wells and dolphins and made it to the down town area for shopping a couple of times.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddOkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just returned from this resort last week and I feel compelled to let everyone know that it was absolutely wonderful! We consider ourselves experienced all-inclusive travelers (approx 13 hotels), and this place offered the best service and food we have come across yet.

Some of the positive things that stick out in my mind:

- Great pool side service and with a smile!
- Staff were all generally very happy and polite
- Grounds were immaculate (they were ALWAYS cleaning/sweeping/wiping)
- Lunch and breakfast food was a bit repetitive, but still very good; dinner was REALLY good and plenty of variety
- the only a la carte we went to (Gourmet Krystal) was excellent (we just ran out of time to try more of them)
- although we did tip, we didn't feel like we HAD to in order to get good service - which we really appreciate.
- also appreciated the 'brand' name alcohol (you do have to ask for it, though)
- 90 min free wifi/day was great - we were even able to get reception by the pool

A couple of 'less positive' things that stick in my mind:

- this resort is LARGE. Although there are ramps instead of stairs where possible, be prepared to walk!
- I'm not sure if it was just the week we were there, but I have never seen such early risers!! The prime chairs around the pools were reserved at the crack of dawn (or so it seemed)! We were up between 7-8 am every day and still had to search for chairs anywhere near the swim up bar or pool. Although there is a small sign by the towel hut saying that they don't allow chairs to be reserved (and that your property will be removed), they clearly don't enforce it.

All in all, an excellent resort for couples and family. It's not a 'party' resort in the evening, but you can always head into town for the nightlife via a short cab ride ($14).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nleggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel is very nice and it has an excellent location. If you are thinking to go to Los Cabos and you don't want to expend a lot of money try a hotel like this in Cabo San Lucas, but what really was amazing the customer service. They are very nice and take care of you.

Room Tip: Try Ocean views. They are no less expensive than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This resort was one of the best resorts I have ever been too! The food was amazing- there was always a great selection at the a la carte's and in the buffet.

The pool areas were both beautiful, and the infinity pool looking out onto the beach was gorgeous and definitely made up for the fact that the Ocean is quite cold and not ideal for swimming.

Service was perfect (from the housekeepers to reception to restaurant and bar staff) and has definitely raised my standards for resorts.

Entertainment staff was also a lot of fun, and were very personable and great and getting people up and moving- especially Jenny, Alejandro and Angelo!

Definitely a 5-star!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our vacation was booked online through Itravel2000 because they have PDP. The price did drop a couple of weeks before we left; I put in a claim and had a future travel voucher credit within 5 days. It was a direct Sunwing flight from Edmonton. We left on time and got home 30 mins early. Yeah for Sunwing. The airport in Los Cabos has a money exchange and a liquor store that you can use on your arrival if you need. Even though we went directly to the Palace the bus ride was almost an hour long, but the bus was very modern and comfortable and has a bathroom in case you drink several cervasa. We had read about checking in on the bus and thought it was brilliant until we realized it doesn’t happen until you arrive at the resort. While they are taking your luggage off you have to stay seated while someone from the resort gets on the bus and hands out your room keys and wristbands, we would have rather been standing in the loby with a fresh drink than sitting on the bus waiting longer. We paid for an upgrade to an ocean view room b/c it is very important to us. We were assigned room 3037 and were very disappointed in the view. To the left and straight ahead we saw the resort and to our right we saw trees, there was a tiny opening where we could see a sliver of the ocean. Huge disappointment and we noticed lots of rooms had better views than that. We were going to complain and ask for a change, but we noticed it looked like we didn’t have a neighbor on one side so we decided to stay put for one night and see how the room was. The room was standard but very clean, The AC worked well, the ceiling fan was quiet and the blackout curtains were good. The safe was broken so we kept our valuables locked in our luggage stored in the closet and had no problems. The bed was very hard so we asked for a mattress topper, had to ask 3 times but finally got it and it made a huge difference. The hallway noise was worse in this resort than any other we have been to. We got neighbors on the 3rd day but they were very quiet so we stayed where we were even though we didn’t have an ocean view. The wi fi was a problem, I had full signal strength and could get anywhere on the internet except for webmail and facebook. They likely had it blocked. After 3 days of complaining we were finally able to access web mail and face book. We have been on quite a few AI vacations to Cancuun, PV, and Varadero. This was our first time to Cabo and we loved it and even though there were some issues with the Palace over all it was a wonderful vacation and we would return and we would recommend the Palace to family and friends. The food and service were very good, the room and resort were very clean. We saw a few flies and mosquitos, but no other bugs at all. When you go to the buffet to eat if you want to escape the clatter of the dining room you can sit outside before you enter the dining room, or if you go in the dining room and across the other side of the room there are doors that open to a courtyard. I think a lot of ppl don’t realize it’s there and we found it to be a very nice quiet setting to enjoy our meals in. Antonio was our server there often and he provided the most excellent service. He worked very hard to please everyone. We tipped him generously for all his hard work. Another worker that stood out for us was Fernando at the bar at the theatre. He put on a show himself with his bartending skills and it was fun to watch him at work. The service around the pools was also very good. Being spring break the resort was very busy, there was a mix of various ages there a few young kids, not many, even fewer teenagers, very few spring breakers and lots of middle age ppl . The towel game was definitely on and all the “good” spots were gone very early in the morning. But we wandered to the pool about 10 am were always able to find a spot to sit. The water in the pool was a very comfortable temperature, not cold at all. If you love the beach this may not be the place for you. It is very sloped and a few ppl were swimming in it at times but it isn’t very safe. You have to go to Madonna beach or lover’s beach if you want to swim. Note that there is no shade and no washrooms at lover’s beach. We went over to the Santa Fe resort a couple of times and it was party central there with spring break going on so we were very happy to not be staying there. However we walked through the buffet and noticed it was almost identical to the food we had at the palace and a maid let us look in the room she was cleaning so if it was a different time not so busy we would consider staying at the Santa Fe but only if we could guarantee being in building 7 as all the other buildings are behind the Palace and a ways from the beach and infinity pool. All in all it was a very good time and we would return.

Room Tip: We struck out with our ocean view 3037 very disappointed, next time we might pay for Ocean Front, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelcanada9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
8,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $285 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing