We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Wonderful Hotel to stay at in Cabo San Lucas. Rooms were big, food was good. scenery and all aspects of the hotel were great! Staff were for the most part good, the activity individuals were awesome, very friendly, made you want to play the games or be part. Bar tenders awesome, ask for anything, they will give you. The gardeners were hardly seen, but I requested a coconut, they kept on saying they would bring it but didn't, that is my only compliant. Regardless of all this, I was there for 3 nights and could have stayed for longer, literally felt like paradise.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms are awesome! walk out to your balcony and see water everywhere and sand beneath yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,849
    2,021
    710
    416
    321
See reviews for
1,138
2,868
66
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for two weeks at this resort and the only way to describe it is to break it into categories: The Good - All the staff were great, friendly and always helpful. The food for the most part was very tasty. Our favorite was the lunch served at the San Jose restaurant. Healthy choices when you're there for two weeks. However the Japanese restaurant was awful. For an older hotel it was being cleaned 24/7 so very clean throughout the main areas of the hotel. The ocean views are fantastic and loved that it is a beachfront resort. Vince from Epic Tours was awesome. Extremely helpful and thanks to him we had some of the best excursions ever!! The Bad - Although Housekeeping did a great job of cleaning our room the room was extremely musty and after two weeks even if you didn't wear the clothes you brought they stank! Hot water is very limited and the water pressure is just as bad. You need to shower at odd hours in order to actual get the soap out of your hair. The noise was brutal all night on average we got about 3 hours sleep. Slamming doors, people screaming and shouting all hours of the night. One night someone smashed their room service plates on the hall tile floors while another person just a couple of balconies down was throwing up over theirs onto the beautiful garden. That was pleasant - not! The pool was clean but run down a few people cut themselves on broken tiles. The swim up bars were fun but no fault of the hotel the crowd in them for the most part rarely left all day and pretty much become a disgusting pee pool. Then the Smoke it was brutal! Okay I understand that people tend to smoke more on vacation but there is no smoking regulations whatsoever. Unfortunately I'm allegoric to it and usually there are designated areas but not at this resort. My husband even had to use his inhaler one night it was so bad. The only place you can't smoke is inside at the main restaurants and the disco but the amount of smoke outside is brutal and you can almost cut the smoke cloud as you walk out. We were limited to watching the entertainment and sitting around the activity pool due to the amount of cigarette smoke. Sadly we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunset44422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

As a new member to trip advisor I had to write a review on behalf of The Riu Palace. It's been a while since I've been but was by far one of the most memorable resorts. Cabo itself was a blast but this hotel fits everyone's needs. Food was great swim up bar a blast. As well as the sante fe next door which we used also. Rooms are clean and fully stocked with water, drinks etc. I can't wait to go back next winter! And the staff was awesome! They deserve to be tipped. Can't say enough about this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Boston8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This resort is spectacular--very opulent with every conceivable amenity and million-dollar views all around. We were also very pleased with the service--the staff were all friendly, courteous, and happy to help.
What wasn't great was being woken up numerous times nightly by various noises in the hallway (carts, rolling luggage being pulled along, intoxicated loiterers, loud music, etc.). Sleeping was a challenge to begin with as the bed would make a 'crunching' sound every time one of us would roll over or move slightly.
Although we had an overall great time, and didn't let our lack of sleep slow us down during the day, we are unlikely to return to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This turned out to be a great adult family vacation! I know I paid a bit more to be at the Palace, but all 6 members agreed that it was well worth it because we checked out the Santa Fe and it was soooo crowded. We were always greeted warmly by all staff, even when we didn't tip (not always easy to tote dollars around in a swimsuit!). We were there for 5 nights and were able to get reservations at decent times at the ala carte restaurants for 4 of the nights.

We were very happy with our rooms too. They were just the garden suites, but where the rooms were afforded us a partial ocean view from our little balconies. Further, the rooms were on the side of the hotel where there was no neighboring property, so it was nice and quiet! It was rather ironic because this is the side of the resort where they have the "active" pool (more music, activities, etc), Regardless, I guarantee that it is quieter and more peaceful in the rooms on this side that face the walled garden,

The only slight drawback to the room is the TV size and orientation of it in the room. It's not easy to view it in bed, but we were generally otherwise occupied to concern ourselves with the TV! The beds are actually 2 double beds, but they will put them together and put something between them so they link up comfortably to a big king. Mattress was a little hard for me, but I asked for a topper, and they brought me a very nice one, and the bed was very comfy after that.

Wash cloths seemed to be in shortage, but we usually travel with our own scrunchie, so that was no issue either. They also do a turn-down service nightly, which was nice.

While the food was not what I would consider outstanding, it was always pretty good. Only issue with the steakhouse was that the food did not arrive very warm. Rather enjoyed all the other restaurants. Service was super in all the restaurants, including the main buffet.

NOTE: We saw 4 beach weddings while we were there and they seemed to have it down seamlessly.

FINAL NOTE: cruise ships coming in and anchoring can impair the view across to the island/arch somewhat. Thankfully we only had to deal with them twice. Also, don't go shopping at the marina when they are in...horrid crowded.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Pro's:
Japanese and Steakhouse food were very good
Lots of space to sit by the pools, good drink service around the pool
Seemed somewhat family friendly
Clean facilities
Beautiful view of the ocean and "Land's End" rock formation, right on the beach
Easy to get a taxi immediately

Con's:
Staff is either not knowledgeable about things at the hotel (restaurants, entertainment, downtown Cabo, basic questions, etc) or they feign ignorance, very unhelpful...and it's not a language barrier either, as both my husband and I speak Spanish fairly well
Would NOT have a wedding here, wedding planner was flaky
2 separate beds, even for the wedding couple...and beds are ROCK HARD
Drinks are watered down, you can drink all day without feeling a thing (which I'm fine with, but not as good for some people)
Food in the buffet was OK, Mexican food restaurant was bad
Sand on the beach is very rough, hard to have a casual "stroll" on the beach as it's like quicksand and hard to walk on

My husband and I joined our family for a vacation in Cabo to celebrate my mother's wedding. She and her fiancee had been in contact with RIU Palace months in advance of their wedding to plan the details. Upon arrival, the front desk staff had no idea they were there for a wedding, and said the wedding planner was not available. Long story short they arrived on a Saturday and were not contacted until Wednesday morning by the wedding planner for a Thursday afternoon wedding. They also had their keys to their room de-activated midweek, and the front desk staff, including the manager, were not apologetic and found it amusing.

It was impossible to book any reservations at the restaurants. We arrived at 1pm on Sunday, and could only book at 2 of the restaurants at 9:15pm for the duration of our trip (through Thursday). The one time we ate at a restaurant (besides the wedding dinner) it was EMPTY, ie they only allowed about 25 or so people at a sitting...probably why we couldn't book at a restaurant. You pay quite a bit of money to stay here to not be able to eat at the restaurants.

If we return to Cabo (and we really loved the actual city, ocean, beaches there, etc) I'd stay somewhere that's not an all-inclusive, its really not worth the money. When we stayed at a RIU in Jamaica, you really didn't leave the resort except to go snorkeling/zip-lining etc so it's best to stay at an all-inclusive. But in Los Cabos there is so much to explore and the local food is SO GOOD that it's a better idea to stay somewhere else (with better customer service and better beds!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara_logue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We just returned from our one week stay at Riu Palace in Cabo and we enjoyed it very much!!

This is the most beautiful resort we have seen. The grounds are gorgeous, 2 large heated pools are beautiful. Beach is very nice but not swimmable.

Food is excellent, huge variety, fresh, lots of seafood. Buffet was one of the best we've had. We loved Japanese restaurant and after reading reviews decided not to go to other restaurants.

Staff was excellent, huge thank you to Leonel, Nelsin, Yesenia and to all hard working Riu staff!!

There is nothing to complain! Perfect place to stay and we will go back.

Room Tip: The south wing is quieter. They do not read your requests for rooms and you can't choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allie12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,474 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
9.0 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Res...
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing