We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fabulous time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Had a fabulous time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My hubby and I spent a week in late September and loved every minute of it!! We will definitely be back. I have seen posts that say the food is not good and the rooms and grounds are dirty. I did not see anything like this. There were always plenty of people cleaning and the wait staff were always there to get you something to eat/drink. There were always plenty of great choices on the buffets to eat and our room (bedding, towels and all) were always clean. We were happier with the buffet choices than with the specialty restaurants, but the Sante Fe was really good! Our only bad food choice was the Japanese. The food tasted great but it made us pretty sick. I do wish they had better wine choices, but there were plenty of other things to drink.
It is true that you can't swim from the beach at the resort, but that is true of most of the resort beaches in Cabo. The pools more than make up for not being able to swim in the ocean.
Be careful when booking tours through the hotel. Be sure to ask how long the tour is and whether that includes travel time to/from the destination. We got stuck on a 6 hour tour that we didn't think would ever end.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and it made us really close to anywhere we needed to go. However, it also m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,876
    2,053
    728
    427
    328
See reviews for
1,165
2,912
66
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at The Riu Palace for 7 days. The rooms were clean & OK.We had a Ocean Front Right in the middle of the Hotel Overlooking the outdoor bar & a main pool.
The TV reception was poor At best,No we did not go to watch tv,but when you turn it on you hope to get a clear picture. The staff tried 4 times to correct it but never did.
The food was good the bar service was excellant. The restaurant reservations are a nightmare.
We did not feel that either one we ate at was worth the time or trouble.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our long-awaited family vacation was a disappointment. The rooms were dirty, musty, and damp. The rooms were very uncomfortable - old matresses, old towels, and simply not clean.

The food was mediocre (Japanese was nice), and drinks were awful The wine was simply not palateable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I don't want to come across like one of those impossible to please people who literally gripe about everything. What I want to do is just give some basic info so folks can decide for themselves. This was actually our second visit to this particular resort. We visited about 2 years ago and weren't particularly interested in returning until we landed tickets to Sammy Hagar's birthday bash and decided to give it another go.

Some reasons for not wanting to return, are the follows: (1) as much as we love the view of Land's End, you cannot swim on this particular beach it's just too treacherous; (2) we hated how local vendors/sellers covered the beach in front of the hotel waiting to pounce on you as soon as you tried to get near the water; (3) the beach area where you lay is incredibly disappointing with no view of the water's edge; (4) the walls in the rooms are paper thin and you can hear "everything" going on in the hallway; (5) the food really isn't very good (including the specialty restaurants); and (6) forget about dessert, their offerings look beautiful but are completely tasteless.

I say all these things because we have been to RIU Palace Mexico in Playacar several times and loved that property. Exceptional service, incredibly clean inside and out, fantastic palm-treed beach, swimmable beach (though the pools are small), amazing food, everything this particular RIU isn't. Being a RIU Class cardholder meant something to them and they were great about leaving little extras in your room as a thank you.

Yes, it's lovely. Yes, it's huge. Yes, the view is exceptional. But we found the place woefully understaffed, the crowd was fairly obnoxious (drunk ugly Americans) and problems with things not being as clean as they should be. Yes, we saw a mouse in the hallway working over an ice cream spill that had been there since the day before. I also found it odd that the cleaning staff refused to restock towels when they cleaned the rooms. Instead, you would get a knock at your door anytime from 5:30 - 10:00 p.m. with new towels.

Perhaps there was a bit of resort fatigue going on but should we ever return to Cabo, it won't be to this particular resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank homeowner E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

we have been to this hotel twice. I love it!. the food is good and the service is excellent! If you pay for a ocean view you may get a side view of the ocean, we were moved to a front ocean view the next day. The pools are clean and the room service is excellent. Only thing I didn't care for was the the fact that to eat at one one of the specialty restaurants you needed to make the reservations on the same day as early at 7am in the morning which i though was crazy I am on vacation I am trying to sleep late each day. I did it because it was my husbands birthday. 7am and she tells me they can not accomodate a group of 4 in my party. I was very upset since I had follow all the rules. I soke to the supervisor I explained how awaful this was and she quickly took care of it. So don't be shy to bring a matter up to a supervisor If you don't get what you need. You are paying high for a good service you should get one.

Room Tip: ask to be moved if you get a side ocean view. If you paid for an ocean view you should get a fronta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oconparra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

First, I am not a negative person. I have a hard time saying bad things about anybody, or anything. The resort is beautiful. Truly. The staff is excellent. They are constantly cleaning, grooming, painting etc. The pools and bars are great.

HOWEVER, the second full day we were there my wife and I ate at the Krystal. Their "finest restaurant." The only thing in common that we had was the beef tips. 4 hours later my wife and I started the diarrhea and vomiting carrousel. That lasted 8 hours. 8 hours until we could keep a sip of water down. Then we were down that entire next day until the following morning at 8am. 32 hours out of action. Add to that, for the rest of the week we stuck to the buffet and ate basically only rice, potatoes and rolls. Not exactly what we were looking for in an all inclusive.

We went to the desk to tell them about the incident and they said a manager would call us. That never happened. The rest of the week we met dozens of couples who said that either they go very sick, or talked to somebody else that got very sick. Literally every couple knew of SOMEBODY besides us that got sick.

While its a pretty place and very relaxing, I would not recommend it because of the food issues they obviously have.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

After staying many times at the Santa Fe we thought we would upgrade to the Palace. Room smelled of bad Mildew, when a request was made to relocate the front desk staff was rude and begrudgingly relocated us. Once again bad smell, relocated to a third room which was not as bad but very disappointing. Staff was good with the exception of the front desk staff who need to check their attitudes.
Love Cabo but would not stay at the Riu Palace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mendozs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#40 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,560 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing