We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Really enjoyed our visit to the Riu Palace. Check-in went smoothly with a competent, friendly receptionist in a lovely lobby and we welcomed the cold drinks brought to us. We had a beautiful ocean-front room on the first level. Large room and bathroom directly overlooking the beach. Awesome to wake up to a beautiful sunrise every morning. Bed and sheets are low end, but nice bath sheets. Management seems to be very good at this resort, because the hotel is spotless, and the wait staff is very attentive and friendly. Hallways could be loud and kind of dark. Nice to be able to walk to downdown Cabo. Hotel is situated in a beautiful spot on the ocean. The main dining buffet was wonderful with a huge variety of choices and beautifully arranged. Attractive and elegant dining room. Appreciated that we could eat fresh fruits and vegetables with every meal, something we don't always do in Mexico. Food was great, but wine wasn't. Riu Santa Fe was nice to visit, but we appreciated staying at the Palace which was quieter, and less crowded. The friendly staff really made this a nice vacation.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,078 - 3,084 of 6,732 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed early April 2013 for 7 days. Very beautiful buildings and grounds, immaculate gardens and lawns with very hardworking staff cleaning all day. The room was nice and clean with no smells or bugs,great maid service (although disappointed I didn't get ONE towel animal our whole stay), faced the Santa Fe and had a sideways view of the ocean which was lovely. The drinks were typical resort drinks, I found the Tecate beer un-drinkable along with the wine, but I did ok with mojitos and vodka sodas. Stuck to buffet food which was also pretty typical of most resorts - think imitation mashed potatoes - tried the sushi restaurant, being from BC it definitely didn't come close to good fresh sushi goodness. The service at every level was impeccable.
My one big issue was the beach where you can't swim and you can't sit under an umbrella and sip your drink, Cabo has the opposite of calm clear waters so your only option is really sitting by and swimming in the pool which is great for most, but one sober day I was dangling my leg in the water and saw it in just the right light. I knew I was swimming with mucho urine but the tiny pieces of skin floating everywhere made me stay on my lounger the rest of the trip.
One more thing: TIP these people. Your maid, bartenders, food service, guys dragging your bags, etc.

Room Tip: Avoid the lobby/disco/buffet areas. Any room will expose you to the few dorks who come screaming thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tecates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here March 11-15, 2013 with my mom. The resort wasn't overly crowded but not completely dead either. I have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts before and considered this one just average.

check-in process: took about 15 minutes wasn't too bad. The person that checked us in didn't tell us where to go so we had to walk around for a few minutes until another person staying there helped us out on where to go.

rooms: stayed in a graden view room on the 2nd floor on the very end so noise wasn't really a problem except for when the drunks came through at 3am yelling. All the halls do echo so noise can be a big problem depending on where your room is located. Our room was sooo musty and humid the whole time we were there (bring spray to make it smell better). It was kinda miserable. The first day we realized that our sliding wouldn't close all the way so it was keeping the air conditioner from coming on. Also our fridge was leaking water all on the floor. We called maintenance and they fixed it for us about an hour later. Beds are very uncomfortable and the shower can be hard to get in and out of. The rooms definitely need an update.

pool: People start putting their towels out at 7am (possibly earlier). We were told not to put them out before then or the staff could take them. If you don't get out there early it's hard to find a good spot. During the day they served tacos with chicken, beef, and shrimp. They were very good! One day they had drinks served in a pineapple that were also good.

restaurants and making reservations: probably one of the worst experience here is making reservations for the restaurants. You have to make them everyday at 7am and the times to choose from suck! We made reservations for the mexican restaurant and the steak house luckily at the same time. I don't think they are supposed to let you do that. You're only supposed to be able to book 1 restaurant a day. The times we got stuck with were 8:30 and 8:45. We were very disappointed when we arrived to both restaurants. The mexican restaurant wouldn't even let you come inside the building till the exact time of your reservation. When we went in we noticed only 5-6 tables of people there. Making everyone waiting in line to get in wondering why we ended up with the time we did. It really made no sense. We also went to the Japanese restaurant and the buffet. They were both wonderful. The breakfast buffet was great also. Lots of variety.

drinks: they were ok. you have to ask for the kind of liquor you want (Bacardi, absolute, etc.) if not they will use the cheap kind. Around the pool area they keep the drinks coming. They also have a guy walking around with a cart to make you drinks.

night shows: we saw the Michael Jackson, Mexico, and Grease show. The MJ and Mexico show got kinda boring after a while but man the Grease show was wonderful!!! If you want a good seat to the shows get there early!

Overall we had a descent stay but I probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mallary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Riu Palace in Cabo was great! Everything was extremely clean, the service was great, food was good. We liked it so much in 2011 that we returned in 2012. We had no trouble getting pool chairs, etc... like other people have noted and we stayed a week from Saturday to Saturday each time. I saw many people complained their rooms were musty smelling. The rooms were VERY clean, but with just about any resort in Mexico, the rooms have a funky smell. We've noticed this at many resorts across Mexico and it appears to be the norm. We just pack a wall flower and its all good. Although I gave the overall rating a 5, I gave service a 4. Not because of poor service, because the staff is awesome. The only reason I gave a 4 is because of the restaurant reservation system. You can only make reservations for the restaurants the morning of the day you wish to dine. If you aren't there before 7:00 AM, you won't get any of the GOOD restaurants. That is fine for the early birds, but I like to sleep in on vacation and the reservation system was frustrating. The food was great though! Couldn't ask for more in an all inclusive. Glad we stayed at the Palace instead of the Santa Fe though. I'm 40 and like to drink, party and have fun... Just not like a 20 year old tool. Sante Fe was full of tools and it was nice to be able to retreat to the Palace without the mayhem following. We only went to the Santa Fe once during our stay at the Palace as there was really no need to go there. The Palace had everything we needed and was nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speeddeemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Palace, Mar 28 to April 4, 2013. room 2123 and 2124
Having stayed at many all Inclusive resorts thrughout mexico and carribean, including many 5 star, and upgrading where possible, we are not strangers to the experience.
First the good points.....
Service is very very good, liquor service, bars, restaurants were all exceptional. Staff is very friendly and attentive. This was one of the best traits we noticed.
Location to town is also very good. A 20 min walk on the beach puts you in the heart of Cabo.
Now our concerns. We experienced a slow, painful and improper check in. There was something bothering the girl and she wasn't so friendly. We also believe she was in the middle of going off shift, so she wasn't attentive. We we not given any direction where to go to our rooms, no explanation on the free internet and one set of keys was not given to us. There was literally no conversation, and no smile. We don't put the hotel at fault as all those checking in around us was very fast and efficient. She was having a bad day.
The beds are not good, in fact terrible. We had my girlfriend and myself and my girlfriends 10 year old in our room.. The pushed together double beds were not good and not comfortable. We upgrades to an ocean view suite, but the room is very small, and since we were on level 2, the ocean view is not good thru the foliage. We are used to a better room for the price we paid. We are not sure if complaining gets you a better room or not but it looks like all the rooms are the same size. A real king or queen bed and a sofa couch would have been way better.
We received notes every morning about the towels needing to be returned every day. As 50 percent of the pool loungers were reserved by 6:30 every morning we new everybody ignores these notes and keeps the towels overnight. So did we.
It mentioned in our documentation that we can use the services of the connected Santa Fe, but after checking it is only the buffet and bars, the a la carte restaurants cannot be booked by people staying at Palace. Major disappointment as we rather enjoy most a la carte in resorts such as these. We did have 2 good a la carte dinners at the Japenese and the steak place. We didn't partake in the other 2. We would have loved trying the Italian on the Santa Fe side. Also the process of standing in line at 7 am every day to book an a la carte for that day only, is another rule. Lineups are not our idea of a vacation. You should be able to book all of your a la cartes at one sitting, like most other hotels. the saving grace here is the buffet is great with both outdoor and indoor service and food was really really good and the staff treeted us like gold.

In a nutshell, Resort very good, room not so good, rules not so good. Fun Vacation however, Great restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RobbFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at Riu Palace Cabo last week of March; first week of April. The hotel, lobby, bar, lounge, grounds and rooms are beautiful and kept super clean.

The hotel was full but we had no problems getting into all of the a la carte restaurants at times that suited us, including Krystal, which was the only one we had to line up for in the morning.

Steakhouse: Excellent service by our waiter Omar "Sharif". Steak and lobster cooked exactly as we ordered. Second visit the chicken and ribs were superb!

Mexican: Tortilla soup and Tex Mex Fajitas were very good

Japanese: Sushi was excellent, grouper and beef dishes as well. Great service by Hector

Krystal: Leek soup and beef dish were both excellent. Superb service by Ruth

Buffet: One of the best we have ever seen, and we've seen a lot. Breakfast and dinner the food choices were extensive. If you couldn't get in to the a la carte's, it wouldn't really matter as the buffet is that good! Special mention to Araceli, Irma and Iris who started our days with their superior service and sweet smiles.

The Main Bar / Lounge: Affords the most awesome views of the Sea of Cortez, Lands End, the beach and the lovely cruise ships that enter the harbour. We spent many hours in this location. Hats off to the bar staff Lulu, Janet, Alex, Eduardo and most of all Waldo who definitely earns his title of Bartender Extraordinaire!

The Main Pool / Quiet Side: Great to sit at the end of the Infinity Pool and view the ocean. Always looked after by the pool bar staff but especially Jonathan who also earns the title of Bartender Extraordinaire!

Our Room: Thank you to Paola who put us in Ocean View Junior Suite #3059. Had a great view and was convenient to all amenities. Fridge stocked every day with the drinks we asked for. Free WiFi was great and we had no problems using it. Maid service was excellent. Only issue was the noise in the hallway due to our proximity to the stairs and the coming and goings of other guests. After we stuffed some towels in the cracks of the door, the noise became bearable.

As we always say, it is the staff at a resort who make or break your stay. Without exception, every single person we dealt with at the Riu Palace treated us as if we were special and management should be proud of these people. For this reason alone we would return; so when you add the beautiful hotel, awesome views, great food - well you can figure it out.

PLEASE NOTE: The beachfront just outside the hotel has a steep incline and there are some pretty wicked undertows in the ocean. We witnessed many people including kids being badly bowled over by the waves. We strongly advise parents to keep an eye on their children. If you walk down the beach just a short way towards the town, there are lots of safe areas to swim.

We highly recommend this resort and will return. Thanks Riu Palace!

Room Tip: An upper level ocean view room away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KKat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just had an amazing holiday at the Riu Palace. The rooms were spotless and our maid Irma left towel art on our bed and flowers every day.

We went down for breakfast to be greeted by Alonso who had a permanent smile on his face. He looked after us for our two weeks and gave us excellent service. I would also like to thank Conny in the breakfast buffet for her service as well.

We enjoyed all of the restaurants but have to say the Crystal was not worth getting up at 7:00 in the morning for reservations. We had better food and service at the other restaurants.

We received excellent pool service from our waiters Ramon and Paul. They were very efficient and moved very fast in the hot sun to bring beverages to the pool area.

Silveris Choch went out of his way to stop and always see how we were doing no matter where he saw us. He was respected by staff and customers. Esmeralda and Lulu from the lounge also made our vacation very enjoyable.

We had a great vacation with a fabulous view from our room. We enjoyed watching the whales from the lounge. We have travelled lots but I have to say the service at the Palace was the best service we have received.

We will return again to see all of our friends we have made at this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CorinneC460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
956 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa la Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#42 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
7,958 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $266 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing