We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Cabo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Elmvale, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cabo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The scenery from the Riu Palace is outstanding! The resort is absolutely spotless, and yes the rooms are dated, but don't get too hung up on it. They are still lovely. I don't know what it is about the construction of the resort that makes the hallway noise so easy to hear in the rooms, but we did wake up several times during our stay with revelers enjoying their walk back to their rooms in the early a.m. This noise, is really the biggest disappointment we had with the Riu palace. If you want to minimize it, get a room farther away from the main elevators and public areas. The fewer the people that walk by, the less noise you'll have to deal with.

Aside from that, I don't know what else you could find to complain about at this resort. One very warm pool if that's what you prefer, a colder pool if you don't. Activities if you want them, quieter areas to read and relax if you don't. The strongest plus this resort has, is their staff who really seem to enjoy working there, and go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. It is a shame that there aren't some designated non-smoking areas, as the sheer number of smokers made it uncomfortable for others at times.

I wouldn't likely return to this resort again, but only because I like a resort that has some quieter areas to walk along treed and flowered walkways and put some distance between yourself and the busier areas when it is desired. The Riu Palace is huge, and you will do a fair bit of walking to go from your rooms to the pools, the restaurants, and the lobby but it is all in hallways and on stairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidivallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,876
    2,054
    729
    427
    328
See reviews for
1,166
2,913
66
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in room 3053 and it was lovely. THe buffet is super with any and unlimited variety. THe activities on the left side of the resort are lots of fun and if you want a quieter, area, go to the pool on the right side of the resort. Both sides are mirror images of each other.

Make sure you enjoy dinner at the main restaurant (don't bother with the steakhouse for a reservation). The main dining room is huge and wonderful with excellent servers. We especially enjoyed the service from Hugo and Rosita.

THe lunch buffet is also wonderful with anything from grilled to deep fried burgers, fish, pulled pork, lamb, chicken etc.

Dinner also provides sushi, Asian, Mexican, American, seafood..it's just wonderful.

Wines by Diavolo...the chardonnay is terrible however the Santa Isabella white is fine with dinner. Mimosa and plain champage were my favourite cocktails.

Of course all the poolside drinks are yummy too...Miami Vice, Bahama rum...they are electric blue, bright pink and for St. Paddy's day they were day-glow green.

Service around the pool is excellent, just remember to tip the people at least $1 or $2 for each round. The staff work so hard to please everyone.

THe shows are also very nice; wonderful entertainment and plenty of family fun for everyone.

It's especially nice how the pool bars close at 6 pm so there's no noise or yahoos running around. In the evening the shows are over by 10 or 11 pm and then that place closes down. Then if the young and singles want to stay up the disco opens at 11 pm and it's behind double heavy doors with awesome soundproofing because I never once heard any music after 11 pm.

The spa is super too. Lovely ladies did our mani and pedis; the exercise room is air conditioned and looks out over the sea at Los Arcos. Just heavenly!

Just one caveat: don't have the RIU do your laundry bec the cost is exorbitant :((

Overall, we loved the Riu and we are a family with a 12 year old. We will be back for sure :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the 3000 range are on the same level as the lobby; perfect! Then down a few flights to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HwyGal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oshawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Mar 15-22 - honest review, excellent from arrival to departure, food/shows/hospitality and staff / pools were great, staff constantly cleaning, rooms were immaculate and mini bar well stocked all week :) absolutely beautiful resort, had b-day celebration at buffet and when we went back to room that night it was fully decorated with balloons and towel animals (not requested) ! amazing views from balcony, comfy bed, not overly large hotel just the right size to get around would definately recommend and go back ..

Room Tip: higher floor better view, we had 3159 ocean view, quiet, friends had 1060 view of grounds, pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly222012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed from March 7th to the 14th. Check in was a little unnerving but once we found our room and we were able to relax then the resort turned out very nice. Weather was a little cool the first couple of days but each day it warmed up nicely. It is true how hard the employees work. Did not notice a difference if you tipped or not. Room was always clean, there were times in the late evening that you could hear doors slamming but once we went to sleep it was very quite. We were hoping to upgrade when we first got there, but the resort was booked. As it turned out with no more time that we spent in the room, I am glad we did not spend the extra money. We will likely try another Riu resort in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueEllen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This a beautiful resort and close to town. You do not need pesos. Cab drivers, business owners, street vendors use any type of currency. You can take the bus into town for $1 versus $7-10 for a cab. If it is nice you can walk along the beach into town. Although everything is included, the mixed drinks are very sweet with very little alcohol. Also the alcohol the use is inexpensive, so if you like a particular brand buy it when you arrive and this applies to wine too. The breakfast is the best meal offer. All rest of the restaurants seem to offer the quality of food, (good not great). Make sure you make dinner reservations for stay, when you arrive.

Room Tip: Ask at desk if you can have a room away from college students, unless you are college and like to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darlenelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

As our taxi drove up to the entrance of the Riu Palace I knew that it would be a more than sufficient home for a week. Though the rooms seemed a little bit dated, they had everything you could possibly need; a balcony, amazing view, comfy bed, clean bathroom, awesome 4 spirit dispensing mini bar and plenty of towels. Did I mention the view...wow! Manicured lawns, fountains, palm trees, gardens, and swimming pools everywhere! Entertainment included pool bars, Pasha nightclub (over 18 - all ages), tourism/activities desk, free internet, water sports desk, massages, gym, and stage performances at night.There were 4 restaurants; Japanese, Mexican, Steakhouse, and the breakfast/dinner dinning hall. Also, tip your waiters and your wine glass will never run dry ;-) The place is big and guest age demographic was a nice mix - you could have a great time in a mid-twenties group like us, a couple on vacation, on a family holiday or flying solo. The taxi's are pretty expensive so don't be afraid to get them to drop the price a bit. Take a day trip into town and go to the cheap bars and flea markets.

Room Tip: Booked the restaurants on arrival otherwise you may miss out. The locals are good at wrangling wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodreamfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited the Riu Palace with a group of 10 to celebrate a birthday! We planned a special private event, which was costly, but quite lovely.

The rooms were spacious and clean, though the beds were a bit hard. The food was wonderful, the available liquors were premium, and the location was the best on the beach!

A day trip to Lover's Beach is a must, and the water taxi's are easy to use. Just be sure to negotiate a round trip price prior to departing. Shop on the beach for jewelry and keepsakes, not at the hotel. The prices triple at the tables they set up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 40WeeksOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#40 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,559 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing