We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for many reasons, location, food, drinks and great staff. The staff there made the vacation with prompt and courteous attention to every detail. The weather was great. The attention to detail from the staff was exceptional. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out every need was taken care of.

Room Tip: Bring lot of sun screen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,874
    2,050
    726
    427
    328
See reviews for
1,164
2,907
66
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 6 wonderful days/nights in early February. It was our first time at an all-inclusive resort. We LOVED every minute! The food is amazing, the drinks are fantastic and the service is beyond the best. The room was huge- absolutely spacious and spotless. The entire resort was so clean because the staff was continually cleaning.

The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and were always ready to help.

The resort has two sides- one side has the pool where there are activities (water aerobics, volleyball, darts) and the other side has the quieter pool. We stayed on the quiet side. Our room/patio looked out into the courtyard above the pool. From our patio was a view of the pool and ocean. From the pool we were able to see whales!

We did not go to the shows, because we were able to sit on our patio and listen. That was great!

Evenings were cool, so bring a light jacket. No need to dress up.

The photos on the website do not do this resort justice- it is even more beautiful that the photos!

I hated to leave and can't wait to return! You won't be sorry staying here!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, stay on the side that does not have the activity pool (I think it's th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Good:

- buffet was quite expansive and had a lot of great options (especially dinner). You can get food 24 hours a day - great!

- pools are huge, and the quiet pool is the nicest temperature while still refreshing.

- pool-side service was good once we established a relationship (read: tipped well enough) with the servers. TIP: bring fresh fruit from the buffet and they'll blend up delicious smoothies (with alcohol if you want) at the pool bar.

- housekeeping was very consistent.

- resort is spotless.

- if you're oceanside, you may have a great view of the arc.

The Bad:

- very loud (they desperately need to invest in some rubber wheels if they insist on trucking maintenance carts down tiled hallways at 1am. This happened more than once). Also, you can hear everything that your neighbours are up to. EVERYTHING. Eg: I knew my neighbours names but never saw or met them.

- beds aren't terrible, but careful you're not getting a 'king' room with 2 beds pushed together. Not so sexy for you and your partner!

- please do yourself a favour and stay away from the "wine".

- Japanese a la carte was a disaster. Every single person I spoke to about it at the resort had the same opinion as us on this.

- prepare to get up early to find chairs in a decent spot. By 9am we couldn't even find a single chair. TIP: pay one of the staff a couple bucks and they'll bring you everything (2 chairs, umbrella, table) to any spot you want. We had better success when we carved out our own spot poolside.

- keep your valuables locked up tight - in our group we lost an iPhone and 2 camera's out of the room. Also, it should be noted that I locked my key in my room and literally just asked for a key at front desk - no ID, nothing and they handed it over. Another time I couldn't get my key to work and a housekeeper came by and just opened my door for me. Convenient at the time for me, but didn't inspire much confidence in their security measures. No wonder things go missing.

RECAP:

All in all, it was an ok hotel, but there are so many better options out there. I will not be returning and will be spending my dollars elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor on the quiet pool side (if you're standing in the lobby facing the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shawna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I previously reviewed this resort in 2011, see this link:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g152515-d503041-r117960622-Riu_Palace_Cabo_San_Lucas-Cabo_San_Lucas_Los_Cabos_Baja_California.html

Things can change in 2 years time, so I am writing an update. We recently stayed there from Feb 7-21, 2013.

The food is still absolutely excellent. So is the service and the cleanliness. Drinks are great too, and the staff is friendly and helpful.

This time I paid for an Ocean View Junior Suite. I thought it would have a view of the ocean and the rocks at Land's End. Unfortunately it was on the opposite (east) side of the property, and instead of looking at Land's End, it looked the other way. We could actually see some ocean but it was a disappointment. The view was a little bit of ocean being worked by shrimp boats, but mostly desert and sand where the 3 guys that rent ATV's sleep on the beach every night around a campfire. Don't ever waste your money on this "upgrade."

Also, the last time we were there, the mattresses were hard and worn out. This time, the mattresses were hard, worn out, and overdue for replacement.

Don't take this as being all negative about the Riu though: Read the 2011 review and all those good points still apply. However for the reasons above I am lowering my rating from 5/5 down to 4/5.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

There is nothing more I could have wanted from my stay at the Riu. Nothing at all. If someone has a complaint there is no way that they stayed at the same hotel.
If you go there, get Hugo as a waiter, he literally was running up the stairs to get an energy drink as they did not have any in bar. He went totally out of his way to satisfy me as a customer.
All the staff in the main lobby were great as well.
Food was the best i have had at any resort and changed on a daily basis.
The vendors on the beach were not over bearing and actually quite helpful and affordable for a water taxi over to Lover's Beach. For $15 per person there is no need to pay the $35 for the tour as it is the same thing.
A big thank you to the staff at the Riu for giving me a 5 star experience

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SenorBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our party of four spent a week at the Riu Palace resort in San Lucas and we enjoyed every minute of it!
The place is huge but there's two wings to the hotel and each are offering the same comfortable services around the pools so the number is split in two right there.
The ocean is too dangerous in front of the hotel so you can't swim in it but it is possible to do so if you walk about 15 minutes on the beach to get to a safer, protected and swimmable area. Be warned, the sand is a bit rough under your feet and there's a slope so it's not a relaxed, smooth walk but it is very feasible.
The staff is highly efficient, polite and very helpful. Mario and Silverio are sweethearts and they both highly deserve a special mention. We spent our "happy hours" in the Ventana that overlooked the ocean, entertained by a pianist, drinking incredibly good Martinis, that was really nice.
The rooms are clean and comfy, ours had an ocean view and opened on an inner court.
The food was good and there was a good variety at the buffet. The specialty restaurants were also good (have to sadly admit that, strangely enough the mexican restaurant was a bit of a let down).
Could get loud sometimes at night but it gets quite quiet around eleven.
The shows are nice and entertaining, the Michael Jackson one is pretty well done.
Was a bit chilly at night so bring a few sweaters!
To conclude, I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo90Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a fantastic place to visit. The view of the arch and the whale watching right from the pool were fantastic. The staff were excellent and most had a decent understanding of English. The food was great and the buffet was never lacking. The lunch buffet was great as well although repetitive. The one thing I wasn't prepared for was the number of kids at this resort, from toddlers right up to teens. The rooms were very clean and the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view room. We didn't when we booked with our travel agent we didn't and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foremoe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#40 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,558 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing